DETAILED ACTION
WITHDRAWN REJECTIONS
1. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the previous Action are withdrawn.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8 – 14, 16 – 18, 20 and 22 – 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0038533 A1) in view of Tholstrup et al (U.S. Patent No. 3,165,492) and Baystar and MatWeb Material Property Data Sheet and MatWeb Material Property Data Sheet (ExxonMobil) as evidenced by Babrowicz et al (U.S. Patent No. 2010/0256590 A1).
Best et al disclose a film (paragraph 0103) comprising a first component that is a polymer that is HDPE and a second component that is a polymer that is LLDPE (paragraph 0062) and conventional additives (paragraph 0089). The amount of LLDPE is 20% by weight (paragraph 0063). The HDPE and LLDPE are thermoplastic, because extrusion is disclosed (paragraph 0089). The melt flow rate of the HDPE is 0.1 to 1.0 dg/min (paragraph 0051). A multilayer film is also disclosed comprising layer structure ‘A/B/A’ (paragraph 0099). Each layer ‘B’ comprises the first polymer and second polymer (paragraph 0095) and each layer ‘A’ comprises HDPE (paragraph 0093). An outer layer and inner layer comprising HDPE and intermediate layer comprising the first polymer and second polymer are therefore disclosed. The intermediate layer comprises at least 50% by weight of the film because the thickness ratio of the layers is 20/60/20 (paragraph 0092). The film is biaxially oriented (paragraph 0089) and the machine direction is disclosed as one of the directions (paragraph 0110) and the film is stretched (paragraph 0111).
Best et al fail to disclose a super hexene LLDPE having the claimed melt flow rate and an anti — stick additive having a melting point of at least 115 degrees Celsius in the amount of about 1% to about 4% by weight and high density polyethylene that is bimodal having the claimed melt flow rate.
Tholstrup et al teach a film comprising ethylene bisoleamide for the purpose of lowering blocking tendency and also reducing the coefficient of friction (column 2, lines 1 – 40).
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide ethylene bisoleamide in the film of Best et al in order to lower blocking tendency, therefore sticking tendency, and reduce the coefficient of friction as taught by Tholstrup et al. The amount of ethylene bisoleamide taught by Tholstrup et al is 0.1 to 2% by weight (column 2, lines 56 – 62). Babrowicz et al provide evidence that the melting point of ethylene bisoleamide is above 121 degrees Celsius (paragraph 0009).
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the additive disclosed by Best et al to comprise ethylene bisoleamide in the amount of 0.1 to 2% by weight. The amount of HDPE, which is the remainder of the film, would therefore be greater than the amount of LLDPE.
Baystar teaches film comprising high density polyethylene that is M6410 for the purpose of obtaining compatibility with linear low density polyethylene (first page). Baystar is in the same field of endeavor, which is films as evidenced by first page.
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the inner and outer layers disclosed by Best et al to comprise high density polyethylene that is M6410 in order to obtain compatibility with linear low density polyethylene as taught by Baystar. A high density polyethylene that is bimodal, having the claimed melt index would therefore be obtained.
MatWeb Material Property Data Sheet (ExxonMobil) teaches a film comprising high density polyethylene that is 7845 for the purpose of obtaining a high density polyethylene recommended for blending with linear low density polyethylene (7845.3; first page). MatWeb Material Property Data Sheet (ExxonMobil) is in the same field of endeavor, which is films as evidenced by first page.
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the intermediate layer disclosed by Best et al to comprise high density polyethylene that is 7845 in order to obtain obtain a high density polyethylene recommended for blending with linear low density polyethylene as taught by MatWeb Material Property Data Sheet (ExxonMobil).
MatWeb Material Property Data Sheet teaches the use of super hexene having a density of 0.5 g/10 min that is SC74858 in the making of films for the purpose of obtaining films having excellent toughness and high strength (first page).
It therefore would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art for the LLDPE disclosed by Best et al to comprise super hexene LLDPE in order to obtain excellent toughness and high strength as taught by MatWeb Material Property Data Sheet. The claimed MD ultimate tensile strength would therefore be obtained.
With regard to Claims 4, 6 and 8 – 11, the first component is therefore a second polymer and the second component is a first polymer.
With regard to Claims 12 — 14, 16 – 18 and 20, because the slip agent disclosed in the specification is taught by Tholstrup et al, the claimed melting point is obtained.
With regard to Claims 22 – 23, the claimed ultimate tensile strength would therefore be obtained.
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
4. Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections of the previous Action have been considered and have been found to be persuasive. The rejections are therefore withdrawn.
However, Applicant argues, on page 6 of the remarks dated July 17, 2025, that in the examples Best et al disclose an ultimate tensile strength less than the claimed ultimate tensile strength. This is not persuasive because the invention is not limited to the examples.
/MARC A PATTERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782