DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a final office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 06/11/2025. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 5 and 6 newly added. Claims 1-6 are pending review in this action.
The 35 U.S.C. 112, 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 06/11/2025 with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under Takahashi et al. US20180269443A1, in view of Zhang et al. US20160329545A1 and Sato et al. US20180114960A1 have been fully considered but are moot because the amendment has overcome the prior rejection.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection of amended claim 1 is made in view of Sato; see discussion of claim 1 below (i.e., pages 3-7 of this office action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. US20180114960A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a power storage device (“battery pack”, [0016]) comprising a plurality of power storage modules 1A-E having a shape elongated in one direction ([0016]), located adjacent to other power storage modules 1A-E in an orthogonal direction orthogonal to the one direction and the upward/downward direction (Sato FIG. 5). While Sato does not explicitly disclose a configuration having a first and second adjacent power storage module with this elongated shape, Sato discloses that the power storage device may suitably comprise any number of power storage modules ([0035]). As such, if the function of additional battery modules besides the first and second module was not desired, it would be obvious to remove them (see MPEP 2144.04 II), resulting in a power storage device comprising a first power storage module 1A having a shape elongated in one direction and a second power storage module 1B having a shape elongated in the one direction and located to be adjacent to the first power storage module in an orthogonal direction orthogonal to both the one direction and an upward/downward direction; see Annotated Sato FIG. 5 below.
Modified Sato further discloses a case that accommodates the first and second power storage module (“receiving case, not illustrated”, [0035]).
Modified Sato discloses a first attachment member 7 (“fixing bracket”) that serves to couple one end portion of the first power storage module 1A in the one direction and one end portion of the second power storage module 1B in the one direction to each other ([0043], Annotated Sato FIG. 5) and to attach the one end portion of the first power storage module 1A and the one end portion of the second power storage module 1B to the case ([0055]).
Annotated Sato FIG. 5
Sato further discloses a monitoring unit 25 (“battery monitoring board”) received in a board-receiving part 75 of the first attachment member 7 (FIG. 2, [0067]). As at least a portion of the first attachment member 7 is positioned above the monitoring unit 25 (see Annotated Sato FIG. 2 below), and the attachment member 7 is provided within the case ([0035]), the monitoring unit is broadly and reasonably interpreted as being disposed within the case beneath the first attachment member.
Sato discloses the monitoring unit 25 having a connector 23 (“voltage detection line”), the first attachment member 7 defining an opening for accessing the connector (Annotated Sato FIG. 2)
Sato further discloses single fixing brackets 5 fixed to end portions of the battery module having the total terminal positive 42 and total terminal negative electrodes 44 ([0016], Annotated Sato FIG. 5), i.e., the ends of the battery modules with the highest and lowest negative potentials. In a configuration with a first and second battery module 1A, 1B, the single fixing brackets 5 are adjacent to each other on the other end of the first and second power storage module 1A, 1B opposite to the first connecting member 7 (see Annotated Sato FIG. 5).
Annotated Sato FIG. 2
Sato further discloses that adjacent brackets such as single fixing brackets 5 and first connecting members 7 are further connected with a coupling bracket (“dovetail joint structure”) ([0059-0060], FIGs. 4A-4B). In an embodiment illustrated by Sato FIG. 4A, 4B, an adjacent single fixing bracket 5 is provided with a coupling bracket being a dovetail tenon 58 connected to a dovetail hole 79 on an adjacent first attachment member 7 ([0059]). While not appearing limited to configurations without single fixing brackets 5 placed adjacent to each other on the other ends of the battery modules (Sato [0035] indicates any number of battery modules may be suitably used, including two battery modules having two adjacent fixing brackets 5, see Annotated Sato FIG. 5), Sato does not explicitly provide a configuration of a single fixing bracket 5 comprising a dovetail hole for use with a coupling bracket, such that two adjacent single fixing brackets 5 may be coupled.
However, Sato discloses a desirability to allow for movement between other ends of battery modules opposite to the first attachment member 7 fixing the ends of the battery modules ([0059, 0061]), in order to provide length tolerance of the battery modules ([0062]). Furthermore, single fixing brackets 5 and first attachment members 7 are demonstrated to have similar function, being fixed to end portions of battery modules ([0091]) and being movable relative to adjacent brackets in a one direction ([0088]). As such, in seeking to provide length tolerance of battery modules in the battery module of modified Sato, it would be obvious to provide a dovetail hole in one of the single fixing brackets 5, such that the adjacent single fixing brackets 5 are coupled to each other with a coupling bracket (see Annotated Sato FIG. 5). Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success as Sato discloses a desirability to maintain movability of other ends of the battery module opposite to the first attachment member 7 in the one direction, and due to the similar structure and functions of Sato’s single fixing brackets 5 and first attachment members 7.
In the configuration of modified Sato shown in Annotated Sato FIG. 5, the other end portions of the first and second power storage modules 1A, 1B are coupled by fixing brackets 5 attached with the coupling bracket (see Annotated Sato FIG. 5). The single fixing brackets 5, connected to ends of the battery modules ([0017]), are further attached to the case ([0047]). As such, the combination of the single fixing brackets 5 and the coupling bracket is broadly and reasonably interpreted as the second attachment member, wherein the second attachment member serves to couple the other end portion of the first power storage module 1A in the one direction and the other end portion of the second power storage module 1B in the one direction to each other, and to attach the other end portion of the first and second power storage modules 1A, 1B to the case, wherein the first power storage module 1A and the second power storage module 1B each include a plurality of power storage cells 4 (“stacked battery cells”) arranged side by side in the one direction ([0036]).
Sato further discloses the second attachment member, comprising the coupling bracket (“dovetail joint structure”), allows for the ends of adjacent brackets 5 to be movable relative to each other in in the one direction ([0059], FIGs. 4A, 4B), while end portions of the battery modules 1A, 1B connected by first attachment member 7 are fixed in place ([0061]).
While Sato does not explicitly describe this movement as “flexural rigidity”, the instant specification notes that flexural rigidity may be defined as rigidity acting when the other end portion of one power storage module moves in a direction relative to the other end of other power storage module in a plane orthogonal to the upward/downward direction (Instant specification, pp. 6 ln. 7-14), such as in the one direction (see Annotated Sato Fig. 5); as such, Sato’s second attachment member is lower in flexural rigidity than the first attachment member.
Regarding claim 2, modified Sato discloses the power storage device according to claim 1, wherein the second attachment member includes a first bracket 5 that serves to attach the other end portion of the first power storage module 1A to the case, a second bracket 5 that serves to attach the other end portion of the second power storage module 1B to the case ([0047], Annotated Sato FIG. 5), and a coupling bracket (“dovetail joint structure”) that couples the other end portion of the first power storage module 1A and the other end portion of the second power storage module 1B to each other ([0059-0061], FIG. 4A, B, Annotated Sato FIG 5). As the connection mechanism is configured to allow for movement of the battery module ends in the one direction ([0059-0060], FIGs. 4A, 4B, Annotated Sato FIG. 5), while the first attachment member 7 fixes the ends of the battery modules 1A, 1B and prevents movement ([0060-0061]), Sato’s coupling bracket is lower in flexural rigidity than the first attachment member 7.
Regarding claim 3, modified Sato discloses the power storage device according to claim 2. Sato discloses the coupling bracket includes a first connecting portion, being the connection of dovetail tenon 58 to first bracket 5 connected to the end portion of the first battery module 1A ([0049], [0044], see Annotated Sato FIG. 3A and 3B below). As such, the coupling bracket includes a first connecting portion providing an indirect connection to the other end portion of the first power storage module 1A, and is broadly and reasonably interpreted as connected to the end portion of the first power storage module.
Sato further discloses the coupling bracket of modified Sato includes a second connecting portion, being the connection of dovetail hole to second bracket 5 connected to the end portion of the second battery module 1B (Annotated Sato FIG. 4), the second connecting portion providing an indirect connection to the other end portion of the second power storage module 1B and is broadly and reasonably interpreted as connected to the other end portion of the second power storage module.
Annotated Sato FIG. 3A and 3B
Support for both of these interpretations comes from pp. 8 lines 20-21 of the instant specification reciting “first bracket 510, second bracket 520, and coupling bracket may be formed as a one-piece member”, indicating that the coupling bracket with first/second connection portions does not necessarily need to be a separate member from the first and second brackets.
Sato further discloses a low-rigidity portion formed between the first and second connecting portions, being the connection between the dovetail tenon 58 and dovetail hole (annotated Sato FIG. 4B). This connection allows for movement between connected brackets in the one direction and is thus lower in flexural rigidity than the first attachment member ([0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Sato discloses the power storage device according to claim 3, wherein the low-rigidity portion is shaped to protrude outward in the one direction with respect to the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion (protrusion in one direction of low-rigidity indicated with dotted dashed line in Annotated Sato FIG. 3A and 3B), which allows for movement of the ends of brackets 5 joined by the coupling bracket to be movable in the one direction ([0059]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of He et al. US20210175572A1.
Regarding claim 5, modified Sato discloses the power storage device according to claim 1. While Sato discloses that the case requires at least vertically provided bolts to fix the first attachment member 7 and the single fixing bracket 5 of the second attachment member to the case ([0047], [0055]), Sato does not further illustrate a structure of the case, such as the inclusion of a bottom wall, a circumferential wall extending upright from the bottom wall, and a flange protruding outwardly from an upper end portion of the circumferential wall, each of the first attachment member and the second attachment member being attached to the flange.
However, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide this structure, as such a modification does not inherently modify the function of Sato’s power storage device or case; see MPEP 2144.IV B. In particular, secondary reference He directed to a power storage device (“battery pack”, He, abstract), teaches a comparable design comprising power storage modules 400 (“cell array”) having an elongated shape and comprising a first 207 and second attachment member 208 (“first, second end plate”) on an end and other end of the power storage modules ([0157]; positioning of attachment members shown in FIG. 12 for a related embodiment), wherein the case includes a bottom wall 211 (“bottom plate” [0106], FIG. 9), a circumferential wall extending upright from the bottom wall 211, (not labeled, see Annotated He FIG. 15 below), and a flange 215 (“first connection surface”) protruding outwardly from an upper end portion of the circumferential wall ([0130-0131], Annotated He FIG. 15), each of the first attachment member 207 and second attachment member 208 being attached to the flange ([0137, 0138]). As He’s flange allows for the use of threaded connection members, i.e., bolts, to fix the first attachment member 7 and the single fixing bracket 5 of the second attachment member to the case (Sato [0047], [0055]), the use of He’s case design would not modify the function of modified Sato’s case, and it would therefore be obvious to use a case comprising the claimed features in modified Sato’s power storage device (see MPEP 2144 IV B).
Annotated He FIG. 15
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of He as applied to claim 5, further in view of Kim KR20140044710A (see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sato discloses the power storage device according to claim 5. While Sato discloses related considerations of reinforcing structural elements of the power storage device such as the use of sidewalls 53, 73 to reinforce the first and second attachment members ([0045], [0051], FIGS. 3A, 3B), Sato does not further disclose a reinforcement bracket disposed between the circumferential wall and the power storage module and fixed to each of the bottom wall and the flange of the case.
Secondary reference Kim is directed to a battery case (Kim, abstract), with similar features of a bottom wall (“bottom portion”), a flange (“rim portion”) for attaching a power storage module (Kim, abstract). In particular, Kim teaches a structure of a case 110 (“insert steel part”) including a reinforcement bracket 120 (“lightweight cover part”) disposed on the inner (“upper side”) of the side of the case ([0042]), including between a circumferential wall and the power storage module 30, and is fixed to the inside and outside of the case 110 including each of the bottom wall 111 (“main body portion”) and the flange of the case ([0042-0043], see Annotated Kim FIG. 6 below. Advantageously, Kim’s reinforcement bracket 120 restricts unwanted movement of the case 110, improving stability ([0044]), and allows for overall improved rigidity and durability of the power storage module while using lightweight materials ([0020]).
Annotated Kim FIG. 6
Furthermore, Kim’s case is shown to comprise vertically provided bolts 50 to fix an attachment member of a power storage module 30 to the case 110 (Annotated Kim FIG. 6), and is thus compatible with Sato’s power storage device which requires the vertically provided bolts to fix the first attachment member 7 and the single fixing bracket 5 of the second attachment member to the case (Sato [0047], [0055]).
As such, in seeking to improve the rigidity and stability of modified Sato’s case while using lightweight materials, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a reinforcement bracket disposed between the circumferential wall and the power storage module and fixed to each of the bottom wall and the flange of the case as taught by Kim. Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success as Sato envisions methods of reinforcing other structural members of the power storage device such as the use of sidewalls in the first and second attachment members, and as Kim teaches the feature of vertically provided bolts to fix an attachment member of a power storage module as required in the structure of Sato’s power storage device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 8/26/2025