DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
The amendment filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 3-5, 10, 11, 13, 14, and 16 have been canceled and claims 17-20 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, and 15 are under examination in the instant office action.
Rejections withdrawn
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 11/25/2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn. Upon reconsideration the rejection of claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, 14, and 15 over Fuchs et al. (WO 2019/243496 A1) is withdrawn by the examiner from the previous Office Action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Rejections maintained
The following rejections of the claims are remained for reasons of record and the following. The rejections are modified based on the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hernandez et al. (US 2007/0243271 A1).
Hernandez et al. meet all of the limitations of claims 1, 2, 12, and 15. Hernandez et al. disclose topical composition for skin around the eyes (abstract and paragraph 21), and exemplified a cream (the instant claim 15) comprising, by weight,
87.57% water, 5.00% lecithin, 0.01% sodium hyaluronate, 0.20% polysorbate-20, and 0.25% soy phospholipids (paragraph 31), i.e., 0% by weight of propylene glycol and 0% by weight of glycerol (paragraph 31).
With regard to the purified water (the instant claims 1 and 12), mere purity of a product, by itself, does not render the product unobvious. In the instant case water taught by Fuchs et al. is used as a carrier in a topical composition while the claimed purified water is also used in a topical composition and thus have the same utility. Please refer to MPEP 2144.04 VII:
pure materials are novel vis-à-vis less pure or impure materials because there is a difference between pure and impure materials. Therefore, the issue is whether claims to a pure material are unobvious over the prior art. In re Bergstrom, 427 F.2d 1394, 166 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1970). Purer forms of known products may be patentable, but the mere purity of a product, by itself, does not render the product unobvious.
Factors to be considered in determining whether a purified form of an old product is obvious over the prior art include whether the claimed chemical compound or composition has the same utility as closely related materials in the prior art, and whether the prior art suggests the particular form or structure of the claimed material or suitable methods of obtaining that form or structure.
Hernandez et al. do not specify the claimed osmolality and pH and being non-irritant to skin and being nontoxic to eye tissue in the instant claim 1. Osmolality, pH, being non-irritant to skin, and being nontoxic to eye tissue of a composition are the result of the components in the composition are the result of the components in the composition. With the composition taught by Hernandez et al. being the same as the claimed composition with being obvious to have water being purified water, the composition disclosed by Hernandez et al. would have the same claimed properties as the claimed composition. MPEP 2112.III:
Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. “There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102.”
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicants argue that Hernandez et al. do not teach the composition comprising propylene glycol and glycerol and thus the composition taught by Hernandez et al. would not have the claimed osmolality.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. Osmolality is the number of particles of solute per kilogram of solvent while the composition disclosed by Hernandez et al. in paragraph 31 contains:
0.10% Methylparaben which accounts for 6.6 mOsm/kg ((0.1% x 1000 g / 152 g/mol) x 1000 = 6.6 mOsm/kg); 0.50% Triethanolamine which accounts for 33.6 mOsm/kg ((0.5% x 1000 g / 149 g/mol) x 1000 = 33.6 mOsm/kg); 0.30% Germall II which accounts for 10.8 mOsm/kg ()0.3% x 1000 g / 278 g/mol) x 1000 = 10.8 mOsm/kg); 0.25% 90% Polyphenol Green Tea Ext. which accounts for 6.0 mOsm/kg (290-458 g/mol taking the midpoint for calculation → 374 g/mol → (0.25% x 90% x 1000 g / 374 g/mol) x 1000 = 6.0 mOsm/kg); 1.00% Cucumber Extract which accounts for 55.5 mOsm/kg (Sugars (Glucose/Fructose) with MW of about 180 g/mol → 1% x 1000 g / 180 g/mol) x 1000 = 55.5 mOsm/kg); and 0.10% Chamomile Extract (very low osmolality). Thus, the total osmolality is 6.6 + 33.6 + 10.8 + 6.0 + 55.5 = 112.5 mOsm/kg which is within the claimed 80-500 mOsm/kg.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-9, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Trumbore et al. (US 2014/0017182 A1).
Trumbore et al. teach a topical composition in form of liquid (the instant claim 15) and claimed a composition, in claim 10, comprising
about 85.85% by weight of water (the instant claim 12),
about 3% by weight of glycerin (glycerol) and about 3% by weight of propanediol (propylene glycol) (the instant claim 1),
about 2% by weight of sodium hyaluronate,
about 1% by weight of lecithin (phosphatidylcholine, the instant claims 1 and 2) (claim 1).
Trumbore et al. also teach the composition further comprising about 0.5-1.5% by weight of an antioxidant such as ascorbic acid (vitamin C), tocopherols (vitamin E), etc. (the instant claim 6) (paragraph 45 and claim 5), and skin active agents having desirable topical effect including retinoic acid (vitamin A) and a composition comprising about 4-12% skin conditioning agent or emollient and a composition comprising about 3-9% emollient (paragraph 49 and 61 and claims 5 and 8), i.e., about 1-3% by weight of skin conditioning agent (4-3=1 and 12-9=3). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art can readily envisage a composition comprising about 0.5-1.5% by weight of ascorbic acid, about 0.5-1.5% by weight of tocopherols, and 1-3% by weight of skin active agents such as retinoic acid (the instant claim 7).
Trumbore et al. also teach a composition comprising about 0.8% by weight of phenoxyethanol (the instant claims 8 and 9) (claim 7).
Trumbore et al. also teach a composition comprising about 2.5-7.5% by weight of a surfactant including polysorbate 20 (the instant claim 1) (claim 5 and paragraph 36).
Trumbore et al. also teach a composition comprising an anti-irritant (the instant claim 1) (claim 8).
With respect to the art rejection above, it is noted that the reference does not teach that the composition can be used in the manner instantly claimed, [skin moisturizing]; however, the intended use of the claimed composition does not patentably distinguish the composition, per se, since such undisclosed use is inherent in the reference composition. In order to be limiting, the intended use must create a structural difference between the claimed composition and the prior art composition. In the instant case, the intended use does not create a structural difference, thus the intended use is not limiting.
With regard to the purified water, mere purity of a product, by itself, does not render the product unobvious. In the instant case water taught by Trumbore et al. is used as a carrier in a topical composition while the claimed purified water is also used in a topical composition and thus have the same utility. Please refer to MPEP 2144.04 VII.
Trumbore et al. do not teach polysorbate 20 in the composition of claim 10, a dependent claim of claim 1.
The deficiency is cured by Trumbore et al.’s teachings of a composition in claim 5, dependent claim of claim 1, which comprises about 2.5-7.5% by weight of a surfactant and surfactants including polysorbate 20 and lecithin in paragraph 36.
It would have been prima facie obvious at the time of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings in claim 5 and 10, and paragraph 36 to add polysorbate 20 to the composition in claim 10 as an additional surfactant. It is generally considered to be prima facie obvious to combine compounds each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to form a composition that is to be used for an identical purpose. The motivation for combining them, i.e., adding polysorbate 20 to the composition in claim 10 comprising lecithin, flows from their having been used individually in the prior art, and from them being recognized in the prior art as useful for the same purpose. Furthermore, nonionic surfactants including polysorbate 20 was not previous claimed in claim 1. Please refer to MPEP 2141 I.:
“[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.”
Trumbore et al. do not teach the same claimed amount of sodium hyaluronate (about 2% by weight of vs the claimed 0.005-0.01% in the instant claim 1).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.
The claimed range of sodium hyaluronate is 0.005-0.01% w/w and the range of sodium hyaluronate taught in the prior art is about 2% by weight and therefor, close enough to the claimed range. Furthermore, 0.005-10% by weight of polymeric moisturizer including sodium hyaluronate is disclosed as suitable in the instant speciation and previously claimed in claim 5 dated 02/12/2024 and thus the criticality of 0.005-0.01% w/w of sodium hyaluronate over about 2% by weight of sodium hyaluronate taught by Trumbore et al. is not established.
Trumbore et al. do not specify the claimed osmolality and pH and nontoxic to eye tissue in the instant claim 1. Osmolality, pH, and being nontoxic to eye tissue of a composition are the result of the components in the composition. With the composition taught by Trumbore et al. being obvious to the claimed composition and being the same as the disclosed composition, the composition taught by Trumbore et al. would have the same claimed properties as the disclosed composition. MPEP 2112.III.
Response to Applicants’ arguments:
Applicants argue that the allegation of 2% by weight of sodium hyaluronate taught by Trumbore et al. being close enough to the claimed 0.005-0.01% by weight of sodium hyaluronate (2% is 200 times of 0.01%) is not supported and the instant specification discloses 0.005-10% by weight of one or more polymeric moisturizer and 0.005-10% by weight of sodium hyaluronate is not dislcosed.
However, this argument is not deemed persuasive. Trumbore et al. teach about 2% sodium hyaluronate in the composition in claim 10 and sodium hyaluronate being a moisturizer in paragraph 39-42 while the claimed 0.005-0.01% by weight of sodium hyaluronate is disclosed as a moisturizer in the instant specification paragraph 8. Thus, about 2% of sodium hyaluronate taught by Trumbore et al. and the claimed 0.005-0.01% by weight of sodium hyaluronate have the same properties and therefor about 2% and 0.005-0.01% are close enough, i.e., the difference is not enough to change the properties of sodium hyaluronate in the composition. Also 0.005-10% by weight of a polymeric moisturizer consists essentially of sodium hyaluronate is disclosed as suitable in the instant speciation paragraph 7 and 8, i.e., 0.005-10% by weight of sodium hyaluronate as the polymeric moisturizer and thus the criticality of 0.005-0.01% w/w of sodium hyaluronate over about 2% by weight of sodium hyaluronate taught by Trumbore et al. is not established. Please refer to MPEP 2144.05.II.A:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.
“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG YU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614