DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5 and 7-22 are pending in the present application.
Claims 2-4 recite brassinosteroid compounds that are present in addition to the homobrassinolide already present in claim 1. The examiner recommends Applicant amend the claims to recite “further comprising” or “further includes” to more clearly state that claims 2-4 comprise a combination of homobrassinolide and an additional brassinosteroid.
Instant claims 10-11 recite “mg/l or ppm”. The recitation of two different units of measurement is redundant and unnecessary. The examiner recommends deleting one of the units from the claims. Similarly, the recitation of “at least one” followed by “and combinations thereof” is redundant since the recitation of at least one includes combinations.
Claims 18-20 contain the status identifier “Original”, but they were each amended to delete “wherein at least one brassinosteroid”. The claims should contain the status identifier “Currently Amended”, or recite all the text as it was recited in the original claims. See MPEP 714(II)(C). The examiner recommends that the claims state, “wherein the at least one brassinosteroid”.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 9 April 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 11,998,009 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 7 of 8, filed 9 April 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109251082 A) in view of Naeem et al. (Journal of Plant Interactions, 2012), Godrej et al. (US 4,605,430), Rahman Nia (US 2009/0075818 A1), Sakurai et al. (Plant Growth Regulation, 1993) and Kaur et al. (Environmental Science and Pollution Research, 2017) has been withdrawn.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the instant specification states that examples of brassinosteroids include brassinolide (dolicholide) (Tables 1-2; pg. 7 and 12). Thus, the specification indicates that brassinolide and dolicholide are the same compound. However, the specification further states at least one brassinosteroid selected from the group consisting of brassinolide, brassinone, dolicholide, and homobrassinolide, indicating that brassinolide and dolicholide are different compounds. The specification also states that brassinolide (dolicholide) has a chemical formula of C28H46O6 (pg. 7), and also states that brassinolide is a plant growth hormone having the chemical formula C28H48O6 (pg. 9). Thus, the specification contradicts itself regarding the molecular formula of brassinolide. It is therefore unclear whether Applicant defines brassinolide to be the synonymous with dolicholide, and whether Applicant is defining brassinolide to have a chemical formula of C28H46O6 or C28H48O6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Instant claim 2 states, “a brassinosteroid, having the chemical formula C28H48O6”; claim 21 states, “the at least one brassinosteroid further comprises 24-epibrassinolide having the chemical formula C28H48O6”; and claim 22 states, “a single brassinosteroid consisting of a compound having the chemical formula C28H48O6”. The chemical formula C28H48O6 includes numerous brassinosteroids that are not contemplated or recited in the instant specification, such as 3-epibrassinolide, 24-epibrassinolide, cholestane-6-one, 26-hydroxycastasterone, 3-epi-1α-hydroxycastasterone, 6α-hydroxycastasterone, etc. Therefore, the recitation of a brassinosteroid having the chemical formula C28H48O6 in instant claims 2 and 22 includes compounds that do not have explicit written support in the instant specification. The recitation of 24-epibrassinolide in claim 21 does not have explicit written support in the instant specification because the only mention of a brassinosteroid with the chemical formula C28H48O6 was in reference to brassinolide. The specification did not provide adequate written support for the recitation of 24-epibrassinolide in the instant claim.
Claims 2, 5, 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 2 states that the brassinosteroid [further] includes a brassinosteroid, having the chemical formula C28H48O6. Instant claim 22 states a single brassinosteroid consisting of a compound having the chemical formula C28H48O6. The specification states that brassinolide (dolicholide) has a chemical formula of C28H46O6 (pg. 7), and also states that brassinolide is a plant growth hormone having the chemical formula C28H48O6 (pg. 9). This is the only recitation in the instant specification of a brassinosteroid having the chemical formula C28H48O6. It is unclear what compounds are within the scope of the instantly claimed brassinosteroid having the chemical formula C28H48O6. Also, it is unclear whether Applicant intended to define brassinolide as being synonymous with dolicholide and having a chemical formula of C28H46O6, or if Applicant intended to define brassinolide as having the chemical formula C28H48O6.
Similarly, instant claims 5, 9 and 13-15 each recite both brassinolide and dolicholide, and claim 16 recites brassinolide, but it is unclear what is intended by brassinolide.
For the purposes of applying prior art, a brassinosteroid with the chemical formula C28H48O6 is being construed as being brassinolide, and the compounds brassinolide and dolicholide are construed as having the following structures:
.
Instant claim 5 depends from claim 1 and states that the at least one brassinosteroid further comprises at least one additional brassinosteroid selected from the group consisting of brassinolide, brassinone, dolicholide, homobrassinolide, and combinations thereof. Claim 1 already states that homobrassinolide is present in the biostimulant concentrate, but claim 5 recites it again as being further included. Therefore, it is unclear whether claim 5 can comprise homobrassinolide as the only brassinosteroid, or if it must comprise a combination of homobrassinolide and at least one brassinosteroid selected from the group consisting of brassinolide, brassinone and dolicholide.
Instant claim 9 recites “an array of brassinosteroids” and also recites “and combinations thereof”. It is unclear if the recitation of an array requires a combination or if the recitation of “and combinations thereof” indicates that the biostimulant concentrate can comprise a single brassinosteroid or a combination.
Instant claims 10-13 depend from claim 9 and do not clarify whether the biostimulant concentrate requires a combination of brassinosteroids or includes a single brassinosteroid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welebir (US 4,411,685) in view of Rahman Nia (US 2009/0075818 A1) and Sakurai et al. (Plant Growth Regulation, 1993).
Regarding instant claims 1-5 and 9-22, Welebir teaches a substantially water-soluble concentrate solution of 1-triacontanol, a polar organic solvent, metal ions, other plant growth substances and water (Abstract; col. 1, ln. 13-20; Claim 1). The polar organic solvents aid in the solubilization of the 1-triacontanol in water (col. 2, ln. 28-68). The plant growth substances are preferably auxins, including brassinosteroids such as brassinolide and its analogs (col. 5, ln. 35-48; col. 6, ln. 39-42; Table 11). Welebir also teaches formulations comprising Tween 20 (Formulations 1 and 11). Welebir teaches that a concentrate can be formed by mixing together one part by weight (grams) of 1-triacontanol with up to about 5,000,000 parts by volume (ml) of the polar organic solvent, most preferably about 1 part by weight (grams) of 1-triacontanol to about 40 to 140 parts by volume (ml) of solvent (i.e., about 7-25 grams per liter) (col. 2, ln. 36-47). The concentrate may contain the other plant growth substances, and the concentrate is then dissolved in a large quantity of water (col. 2, ln. 39-57; col. 6, ln. 50-61). The other plant growth substances may be dissolved in the concentrate (col. 2, ln. 55-56; col. 6, ln. 56-59). The formulations comprise plant growth stimulants, such as brassinolide, in an effective concentration of between 10-6 molar and 10-4 molar (col. 6, ln. 39-49).
Welebir teaches a concentrate comprising 100 µg quantity of 1-triacontanol dissolved in 20 ml acetone and 20 ml water. Any additional plant growth substance to be added was then dissolved in the concentrate (col. 9, Formulation 4).
Welebir does not explicitly disclose compositions comprising a stabilizer, as instantly claimed. However, Welebir teaches that the compositions comprise metal ions, such as copper ions (col. 4, ln. 25-33).
Also, Rahman Nia teaches nano silver for preservation of agricultural products and treatment of diseases in the agriculture field. Nano silver active material enhances the quality of agriculture, increases shelf-life and quality of agricultural products, preservation and treatment of diseases that come with microorganisms on seeds or killing pathogens using seeds for living, disinfecting soil and green houses, and growing and increasing root and leaves in their numbers and size ([0001], [0004]-[0005]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare concentrate compositions according to Welebir comprising 1-triacontanol and a brassinosteroid, an organic solvent solubilizer, nano silver and water. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include nano silver in the compositions of Welebir in order to prevent growth of microorganisms that cause diseases in agriculture and to preserve the compositions, as reasonably suggested by Rahman Nia.
Regarding the concentration of triacontanol and brassinolide, Welebir teaches that a concentrate can be formed by mixing together one part by weight (grams) of 1-triacontanol with up to about 5,000,000 parts by volume (ml) of the polar organic solvent, most preferably about 1 part by weight (grams) of 1-triacontanol to about 40 to 140 parts by volume (ml) of solvent (i.e., about 7-25 grams per liter) (col. 2, ln. 36-47). The concentrate is diluted with water in a ratio of triacontanol-organic solvent solution to water of 1:10,000 to 1:1 parts by volume (col. 3, ln. 1-5), and the effective concentration of 1-triacontanol is at least 1 mg of 1-triacontanol per acre, advantageously, 5 to 20 mg per acre (col. 3, ln. 49-53). Welebir also teaches that the plant growth stimulants, such as brassinolide (480.7 g/mol), may be included in the concentrate, wherein the effective concentration of plant growth stimulants is between 10-6 molar and 10-4 molar (i.e., 0.4807-48.07 mg/l of brassinolide).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare concentrate formulations according to Welebir comprising 1 part by weight (grams) of 1-triacontanol and 40 to 140 parts by volume (ml) solvent, wherein the concentrate further comprises water and a brassinosteroid, such as brassinolide and its analogs. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare a concentrate that has a concentration that allows for an effective concentration of 1-triacontanol (at least 1 mg of 1-triacontanol per acre, advantageously, 5 to 20 mg per acre) and brassinolide (0.4807-48.07 mg/l) after dilution with water, as reasonably suggested by Welebir.
Welebir does not explicitly disclose a concentrate comprising homobrassinolide in a concentration of at least 9.7 ppm in the concentrate. However, Sakurai et al. teach that brassinosteroids having growth promoting activity include homobrassinolide, brassinolide, dolicholide, 24-epibrassinolide and brassinone (Abstract; Figure 1; Table 2; pg. 153, col. 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare the concentrate solution according to Welebir comprising a single brassinosteroid or a mixture of brassinosteroids, including homobrassinolide, brassinolide, dolicholide, and brassinone. Such would have been obvious because Sakurai et al. teach brassinosteroids having plant growth promoting activity include brassinosteroids, such as homobrassinolide, brassinolide, dolicholide, 24-epibrassinolide and brassinone.
Such would have been obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary because it is generally prima facie obvious to use in combination two or more ingredients that have previously been used separately for the same purpose to form a third composition useful for that same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been taught individually in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 646, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to substitute functionally equivalent brassinosteroids disclosed by Sakurai et al. The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. One such rationale includes the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. See MPEP 2143.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 April 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Welebir discloses a concentrate with 1 g triacontanol in up to 5,000,000 mL solvent (0.0002 g/L or 0.2 ppm; col. 2, In. 39-57), diluted to 0.00002-0.0002 g/L (col. 3, In. 49-53)—a 10,000-fold disparity from Applicant’s range.
The examiner respectfully argues that Welebir teaches that a concentrate can be formed by mixing together one part by weight (grams) of 1-triacontanol with up to about 5,000,000 parts by volume (ml) of the polar organic solvent, most preferably about 1 part by weight (grams) of 1-triacontanol to about 40 to 140 parts by volume (ml) of solvent (i.e., about 7-25 grams per liter) (col. 2, ln. 36-47). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a concentrate according to Welebir comprising 1 gram 1-triacontanol and about 40 to 140 ml of solvent (i.e., about 7-25 grams per liter).
The examiner respectfully points out the following from MPEP 2144.05: “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed.Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Applicant further argues that Welebir’s brassinolide (0.4807-48.07 ppm; col. 6, In. 39-49) overlaps Applicant’s total brassinosteroid range but lacks homobrassinolide or the >9.7 ppm minimum (Spec., Tables 1-2).
The examiner respectfully argues that Welebir teaches that the plant growth substances and growth-stimulating agents include brassinosteroids, such as brassinolide and its analogs (col. 5, ln. 39-48). Welebir further teaches an example comprising 1-triacontanol and a brassinosteroid (2α,3α,22α,23α-tetrahydroxy-24α-methyl-B-homo-5α-cholestan-6-one, a brassinolide analog) (Table 11). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare compositions according to Welebir comprising a brassinosteroid. Sakurai et al. teach that brassinosteroids having growth promoting activity include homobrassinolide, brassinolide, dolicholide and brassinone (Abstract; Figure 1; Table 2; pg. 153, col. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to prepare compositions according to Welebir comprising a brassinosteroid, such as those taught by Sakurai et al.
Such would have been obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary because it is generally prima facie obvious to use in combination two or more ingredients that have previously been used separately for the same purpose to form a third composition useful for that same purpose. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been taught individually in the prior art. In re Kerkhoven 626 F.2d 646, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to substitute functionally equivalent brassinosteroids disclosed by Sakurai et al. The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. One such rationale includes the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. See MPEP 2143.
Applicant further argues that Sakurai identifies homobrassinolide (Table 2, pg. 156) without concentration specifics, and Rahman Nia’s nano silver ([0004]- [0005]) preserves products, not triacontanol or brassinosteroids (Spec., pg. 4). These substantial differences in concentration and composition undermine the Examiner’s prima facie case. Applicant further argues that Welebir’s copper ions (col. 4, In. 25-33) enhance growth, not stability, and Rahman Nia’s antimicrobial focus does not rationally extend to stabilizing Applicant’s specific compounds.
The examiner respectfully argues that Sakurai et al. teach various brassinosteroids, including homobrassinolide, brassinolide, dolicholide, 24-epibrassinolide, brassinone, etc. (Abstract; Figure 1; Table 2; pg. 153, col. 2). Sakurai et al. teach that various external stresses has been evaluated with a view to finding practical applications in agriculture. In maize seedlings, BRs enhanced the greening of etiolated leaves at low temperatures in light and promoted the growth recovery after a chilling treatment. By treatment with homobrassinolide, an increase of tap-root mass under drought stress and an increase in sucrose content and sucrose yield were observed; there was no effect under non-stress conditions. Under stress conditions of high temperatures, BRs were shown to activate total protein synthesis in wheat leaves (pg. 153-154).
Sakurai et al. teach that effectiveness in increasing yields of crops and enhancement of stress resistance of crops against drought, chilling and agricultural chemicals has been reported (pg. 156, Concluding Remarks).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to prepare compositions according to Welebir wherein the composition comprises brassinosteroids selected from the group consisting of brassinolide, dolicholide, 24-epibrassinolide, homobrassinolide and brassinone. Such would have been obvious because Sakurai et al. teach that the brassinosteroids are functionally equivalent and are suitable for increasing yields of crops and enhancement of stress resistance of crops against drought, chilling and agricultural chemicals. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the brassinosteroids in amounts within the effective range taught by Welebir, wherein the brassinosteroids are effective for stimulating plant growth and enhancing tolerance to stress.
Regarding the instantly claimed stabilizer configured to maintain stability of the triacontanol and the brassinosteroid in the biostimulant concentrate, Welebir teaches compositions comprising metal ions for agricultural application, wherein the metal ions markedly increase the growth-stimulating effect of 1-triacontanol when applied to plant life resulting in crop yield increases (Abstract). Rahman Nia teaches nano silver for preservation of agricultural products and treatment of diseases in the agriculture field. Nano silver active material enhances the quality of agriculture, increases shelf-life and quality of agricultural products, preservation and treatment of diseases that come with microorganisms on seeds or killing pathogens using seeds for living, disinfecting soil and green houses, and growing and increasing root and leaves in their numbers and size ([0001], [0004]-[0005]).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to include nano silver in the compositions according to Welebir in order to enhance the quality of agriculture, increase shelf-life and quality of agricultural products, preservation and treatment of diseases that come with microorganisms on seeds or killing pathogens using seeds for living, disinfecting soil and green houses, and growing and increasing root and leaves in their numbers and size, as reasonably suggested by Rahman Nia.
In response to applicant's argument that Rahman Nia’s nano silver preserves products, not triacontanol or brassinosteroids, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant further argues that scaling triacontanol from 0.2 ppm to 2000-15,000 ppm lacks any basis in Welebir or Sakurai, which offers no concentration guidance.
The examiner respectfully argues that Welebir teaches that a concentrate can be formed by mixing together one part by weight (grams) of 1-triacontanol with up to about 5,000,000 parts by volume (ml) of the polar organic solvent, most preferably about 1 part by weight (grams) of 1-triacontanol to about 40 to 140 parts by volume (ml) of solvent (i.e., about 7-25 grams per liter) (col. 2, ln. 36-47).
Applicant argues that Welebir’s dilution emphasis (1:10,000; col. 3, In. 49-53) and low-dose efficacy (5-20 mg/acre; col. 3, In. 49-53) discourage Applicant’s high-concentration approach. Sakurai reinforces this with low-dose brassinosteroids (Abstract), suggesting high concentrations are impractical. This teaching away negates obviousness.
The examiner respectfully argues that Welebir specifically teaches a concentrate preferably comprising about 7-25 g/L 1-triacontanol.
Applicant asserts that their specification (Tables 1-2) shows stable concentrates at 2140-3610 ppm triacontanol and 52.9-69.7 ppm brassinosteroids, including 9.7-44.9 ppm homobrassinolide, outperforming Vitazyme® (0.012-0.019% triacontanol, 0.0022-0.0059% brassinosteroids; Spec., pg. 2). This stability at high concentrations is unexpected given Welebir’s dilution paradigm.
The examiner respectfully argues that Welebir teaches concentrates as instantly claimed.
Applicant asserts that Claims 9-12 and 14 require a 40:1 to 50:1 ratio (Spec., pg. 8), absent in Welebir (~0.004:1).
The examiner respectfully argues that Welebir teaches a concentrate comprising 1-triacontanol in a concentration of about 7-25 grams per liter. Typical ratios of the 1-triacontanol-organic solvent solution to water may vary from 1:10,000 to 1:1 parts by volume, preferably 1:1000 to 2:100 parts by volume, depending upon the desired concentration of the 1-triacontanol in the final solution (col. 3, ln. 1-5). Welebir further teaches that plant growth stimulants, such as brassinosteroids, may be added to the concentrate prior to dilution with the water (col. 2, ln. 55-56; col. 6, ln. 56-59; Formulation 4), and the plant growth stimulants are especially effective at concentrations between 10-6 and 10-4 molar (i.e., 0.4807-48.07 mg/l of brassinolide) (col. 2, ln. 36-47). Therefore, the plant growth stimulants, including brassinosteroids, can be added to the concentrate in a concentration that provides between 10-6 and 10-4 molar brassinosteroids in the final solution. The concentration of plant growth biostimulant is thus up to 10,000 times more concentrated in the concentrate prior to dilution with water for use. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine through routine experimentation the effective concentration of brassinosteroids to include in the concentrate with 1-triacontanol to yield an effective final solution when diluted with water for use.
The examiner respectfully points out the following from MPEP 2144.05: “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969); Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed.Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Applicant argues that claim 21’s 24-epibrassinolide is untaught by Sakurai (Table 2).
The examiner respectfully argues that Sakurai et al. specifically teach 24-epibrassinolide as one of the brassinosteroids found in plants (Fig. 1, #12; pg. 153, 155).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Welebir (US 4,411,685) in view of Rahman Nia (US 2009/0075818 A1) and Sakurai et al. (Plant Growth Regulation, 1993) as applied to claims 1-5 and 9-22 above, further in view of Kaur et al. (Environmental Science and Pollution Research, 2017)
The teachings of Welebir, Rahman Nia and Sakurai et al. are discussed above.
Welebir does not explicitly disclose compositions comprising citric acid.
However, Kaur et al. teach plant growth regulator compositions comprising castasterone, a plant growth regulator, combined with citric acid (Abstract). The co-application of castasterone and citric acid improved root length, shoot length, fresh weight and dry weight of seedlings, reduced oxidative stress by enhancing the activities of antioxidant enzymes, etc. (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant claims to prepare compositions according to Welebir further comprising citric acid. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a sufficient concentration of citric acid for improved root length, shoot length, fresh weight and dry weight of seedlings, reduced oxidative stress by enhancing the activities of antioxidant enzymes, etc., as reasonably taught by Kaur et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 April 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kaur uses citric acid to enhance growth with castasterone (Abstract), not to stabilize triacontanol and brassinosteroids at pH 3.0-4.0 (Spec., pg. 4). Welebir lacks citric acid or pH control (col. 5, In. 35-48). Applicant further asserts that Kaur’s growth focus does not suggest pH stabilization in Welebir’s dilute system, and no reference bridges this purpose. Applicant also asserts that citric acid stabilizes the concentrate at pH 3.0-4.0 (Spec., pg. 2), an unexpected benefit over Kaur’s growth enhancement.
The examiner respectfully argues that Kuar et al. teaches the co-application of castasterone and citric acid improved root length, shoot length, fresh weight and dry weight of seedlings, reduced oxidative stress by enhancing the activities of antioxidant enzymes, etc. (Abstract). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include citric acid in the compositions according to Welebir in order to improve root length, shoot length, fresh weight and dry weight of seedlings, reduced oxidative stress by enhancing the activities of antioxidant enzymes, etc.
Also, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Regarding the pH of the biostimulant concentrate, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine the optimum concentration of citric acid and pH of the concentrate to improve root length, shoot length, fresh weight and dry weight of seedlings, reduced oxidative stress by enhancing the activities of antioxidant enzymes, etc.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/N.W.S/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/Mina Haghighatian/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1616