DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 1/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Berger et al. (US 3,401,052).
With regard to claim 1, Berger et al. discloses a laundry appliance, comprising: a cabinet 6 that defines an opening (Figs. 1-2, at 13), a rotating drum 18 accessible via the opening and operably coupled to the cabinet 6; a fluid emitting feature 122 proximate the rotating drum 18, wherein the fluid emitting feature 122 is configured to dispense a fluid into the rotating drum 18, and wherein the fluid is configured to contact foreign particulates in the rotating drum 18; and a housing 81 proximate the rotating drum 18 and including a foreign particulate filter 84 configured to collect the foreign particulates (Fig. 1), wherein the fluid and rotation of the rotating drum 18 direct the foreign particulates toward the foreign particulate filter (Fig. 1, see flow arrows).
With regard to claims 4-5, Berger et al. discloses a controller (Fig. 5, control system) communicatively coupled to the fluid emitting feature 122, wherein the controller is configured to actuate the fluid emitting feature 122; wherein the controller activates the fluid emitting feature 122 to deliver the fluid at an initial phase of a selected drying cycle(col 8, lines 64-73).
With regard to claim 7, Berger et al. discloses wherein the fluid includes at least one of gas and an anti-static solution (col. 3, lines 39-40 disclose treating of fibrous articles with water, water is considered as anti-static solution).
With regard to claim 9, Berger et al. discloses wherein operation of the fluid emitting feature 122 occurs within a pre-programmed laundry cycle (col. 8, line 36 - col. 9, line 28).
With regard to claim 10, Berger et al. discloses wherein the fluid emitting feature 122 is activated upon selection through an interactive portion 191 of a user interface 11 (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US 3,401,052) in view of Bae et al. (US 2011/0162224 A1) .
With regard to claims 2-3, 6, Berger et al. further discloses a fluid container 156, wherein the fluid is delivered into the rotating drum 18 via the fluid emitting feature 122; a fluid supply conduit 124 that extends between he fluid container 156 and the fluid emitting feature 122 (col. 7, line 54- col. 8, line 3). However, Berger et al. does not explicit the fluid container disposed within the cabinet. Berger et al. also does not disclose wherein the fluid container includes a plurality of reservoirs that each contain a dedicated fluid, and wherein the plurality of reservoirs each include a dedicated fluid supply conduit that is in communication with the fluid emitting feature. Bae et al. disclose a laundry appliance comprising a fluid container 100 disposed within the cabinet 11 (Fig. 4); wherein the fluid container includes a plurality of reservoirs 110, 120 that each contain a dedicated fluid, and wherein the plurality of reservoirs 110, 120 each include a dedicated fluid supply conduit 113, 123 that is in communication with the fluid emitting feature 140 (Figs. 5-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laundry appliance of Berger et al. to dispose the fluid container within the cabinet and to include a plurality of reservoirs that each contain a dedicated fluid, and wherein the plurality of reservoirs each include a dedicated fluid supply conduit that is in communication with the fluid emitting feature as taught by Bae et al. in order to provide a compact laundry appliance and to treat laundry with different treating solutions.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US 3,401,052) in view of Olofsson (US 2013/0319448 A1).
The laundry appliance of Berger et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 8 except for the anti-static solution is a water-vinegar mixture. Olofsson teaches a concept of using water-vinegar mixture as anti-static solution (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laundry appliance of Berger et al. to use water-vinegar mixture as anti-static solution as taught by Olofsson in order to obtain a predictable anti-static treating result by the water-vinegar mixture solution.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US 3,401,052) in view of Pasad et al. (US 5,461,742).
For claims 11-14, Berger et al. further discloses bursts of gas are directed into the rotating drum (see gas flow arrows in Fig. 1); wherein the bursts of gas are configured to dislodge the foreign particulates from clothing items contained within the rotating drum 18; wherein the bursts of gas are generally directed toward the foreign particulate filter 84 for capturing foreign particulates (Fig. 1). The laundry appliance of Berger et al. as above includes all that is recited in claims 11-14 except for wherein the fluid emitting feature includes an air emitting nozzle that directs bursts of gas into the rotating drum, wherein the gas and the anti-static solution are delivered into the rotating drum via dedicated nozzles, and wherein the anti-static solution is dispensed into the rotating drum before the gas is dispensed into the rotating drum; wherein the anti-static solution and the gas are delivered simultaneously as an anti-static mist. Pasad et al. discloses a laundry appliance 104 comprising the fluid emitting feature includes an air emitting nozzle 128, 138 that directs bursts of gas into the rotating drum 112 (Fig. 3), wherein the gas 105, 129 and the anti-static solution 106, 130 are delivered into the rotating drum 112 via dedicated nozzles 128, 138 (Fig. 3, by controlling opening/closing of valves 109, 111, 131, 132), and wherein the anti-static solution is dispensed into the rotating drum before the gas is dispensed into the rotating drum (Fig. 3, by controlling opening/closing of valves 109, 111, 131, 132); wherein the anti-static solution and the gas are delivered simultaneously as an anti-static mist (Fig. 3, by controlling opening/closing of valves 109, 111, 131, 132). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laundry appliance of Berger et al. to provide the fluid emitting feature with an air emitting nozzle that directs bursts of gas into the rotating drum, wherein the gas and the anti-static solution are delivered into the rotating drum via dedicated nozzles, and wherein the anti-static solution is dispensed into the rotating drum before the gas is dispensed into the rotating drum; wherein the anti-static solution and the gas are delivered simultaneously as an anti-static mist as taught by Pasad et al. in order to efficiently treat the laundry. As to the limitations, “wherein the bursts of gas are configured to dislodge the foreign particulates from clothing items contained within the rotating drum”, “wherein the anti-static solution is dispensed into the rotating drum before the gas is dispensed into the rotating drum”; and “wherein the anti-static solution and the gas are delivered simultaneously as an anti-static mist”,
they are viewed as functional or intended use limitations. As MPEP 2114 states, “[a] claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim”. In this case, the limitations above do not add any structural limitations to the claims and the laundry appliance of Berger et al. as modified Pasad et al. discloses all the structural limitations. Additionally while not disclosed, the laundry appliance of Berger et al. as modified by Pasad et al. is capable of being used for perform above claimed functions.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berger et al. (US 3,401,052) in view of Kim et al. (US 7,325,330 B2).
The laundry appliance of Berger et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 15 except for wherein the anti-static solution is delivered to the rotating drum as steam. Kim et al. discloses a laundry appliance comprising an anti-static solution (Fig. 3 discloses supply water, water is considered an anti-static solution), wherein the anti-static solution is delivered to the rotating drum as steam (Fig. 2, water is supplied from pipe 24 to a steam generating device 30, spray nozzle 35 sprays steam from the outlet of the steam supply pipe 33 into the rotating drum 70 (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laundry appliance of Berger et al. to deliver the anti-static solution to the rotating drum as steam as taught by Kim et al. in order to improve the laundry treating efficiency.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY