Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 3/25/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that Group II (13-15) cannot be made from a materially different apparatus (see pages 2 and 3 of the response filed on 3/25/2026). The examiner finds this remark persuasive and has withdrawn the restriction requirement. All claims will be examined.
Examiner’s Comment
Note that the preliminary amendment claim set filed on 7/11/2022 omits claim 2. For the purpose of examination, the examiner has treated claim 2 as canceled.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 3-11 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3-11, line 1 of each claim: the examiner suggests rewriting “The filter of claim” to --The frequency-dependent microwave filter of claim-- to provide consistency in the claim language.
Claim 4, line 2, the examiner suggests rewriting “the gas” to --the gas cell-- to provide consistency in the claim language.
Claim 15, line 6, the examiner suggests rewriting “an inhomogeneous” to --the inhomogeneous-- to avoid an antecedent issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 7, 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4, lines 3-4, note that the claim recites two alternatives for “the at least one chemical element” however, the claim uses “preferably” for each alternative, therefore causing ambiguity in the claim as to which one is required. Clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret that either alternative meets the claim limitation.
Claim 7, line 3, note that the claim recites “the waveguide preferably comprising a wire” causes ambiguity in the claim since it is unclear if the waveguide “preferably” has to include a “wire”. Clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret that “the means for feedthrough” merely comprises a waveguide.
Claim 11, lines 4-7, note that the claim recites two alternatives for “the optical pump” however, the claim uses “preferably” for each alternative, therefore causing ambiguity in the claim as to which one is required. Clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret that either alternative meets the claim limitation.
Claim 12, line 3, note that the recitation of “a filter of any one of the claim 1” causes ambiguity in the claim, since only “one” filter is defined in claim 1 (i.e. there isn’t more than one filter defined in claim 1, therefore the recitation of “any one” causes ambiguity in the claim). Correction is required.
Claim 15, lines 2 and 8, note that the claim recites “an enclosure”, “a filter medium” and “feedthrough of a microwave signal” which are already defined in claim 13, from which this claim dependent from, therefore causing ambiguity in the claim since it is unclear if claim 15 is reciting the same features defined in claim 13 or separate and distinct features. Correction is required. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret that the recited “an enclosure”, “a filter medium” and “feedthrough of a microwave signal” in claim 15 are the same features recited in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camaro et al. (NPL “Long-Term Behavior of Rubidium Clocks in Space”, Cited by Applicant) in view of Yano (US2012/0056778 A1)
In regards to claims 1, 13, and 15, Camaro et al. teaches in Fig. 1 a frequency-dependent microwave filter, comprising:
An enclosure (Microwave Cavity) comprising a filter medium (Rb Filter Cell) including atoms in an optically pumpable solid, the at least one constituent being excitable to an initial energy state (non-active state);
A field generator (Solenoid Windings) configured to generate a magnetic field within the enclosure;
A 6.8 GHz microwave signal through the enclosure; and
An optical pump (Rb rf-Discharge lamp) configured to periodically excite the at least one constituent of the filter medium to the initial energy state in alternation with the microwave signal through the enclosure.
In regards to claim 3, based on Fig. 1, the enclosure comprises a gas cell (Resonance Cell: Rb and Buffer gas).
In regards to claim 4, based on Fig. 1, the gas cell (Resonance Cell: Rb and Buffer gas) comprising at least one chemical element (Rubidium).
In regards to claim 5, based on Fig. 1, the gas cell (Resonance Cell: Rb and Buffer gas) further includes a Buffer gas which necessarily includes nitrogen.
In regards to claim 10, based on Fig. 1, the field generator (Solenoid Windings) comprising a electromagnetic.
Camaro et al. does not teach the specific as to how the 6.8 GHZ microwave signal is feedthrough, therefore Camaro et al. does not teach: in regards to claim 1, means for feedthrough of a microwave signal through the enclosure; in regards to claim 7, the means for feedthrough comprising a waveguide; in regards to claim 13, a feedthrough of the microwave signal; in regards to claim 15, means for feedthrough of a microwave signal through the enclosure.
Yano teaches in Fig. 1 an introduction/feedthrough waveguide section (10). Yano teaches in paragraph [0040], that the introduction/feedthrough waveguide section is designed/sized to handle GHz microwave signals.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Camaro et al. and have used a waveguide to provide the means for feedthrough for the 6.8 GHz microwave signal because such a modification would have been one of the available choices to choose from to handle a RF microwave signal in the GHz range as exemplary taught by Yang (see paragraph [0040]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 9 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11 and 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843