DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 01/16/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 12, 14, 19 have been amended and claims 8-9, 16-17 and 24 have been canceled. Thus, claims 1-7, 10-15, 18-23 are presently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
In light of the amendment to claim 1 to clarify the pre-set configuration and the second configuration, the examiner has withdrawn the previous 112(b) rejection.
In light of the amendment to claims 12 and 14 to correct the antecedent basis for “the one or more connectors,” the examiner has withdrawn the previous claim objections.
The examiner has maintained that claims 1, 10 and 19-22 describes an “anchoring means” or “delivery device” or “expandable structure” as positively invoking 112(f).
The amendment to claim 1 and 19 to include “the annuloplasty device comprises an integrally formed anchoring means extending inwards of the annuloplasty device” and “dimensions of the second configuration are greater than dimensions of the pre-set configuration of the annuloplasty device” has overcome the previous rejections to Cartledge WO2008/097999 in view of Olson US 2015/0223820. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cartledge et al. U.S. Publication 2007/0016287 A1 in view of Metcalf et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0188092 A1 and further in view of Zerkowski et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0212826 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 14 was amended (07/15/2025 and in the current listing of claims filed on 01/16/2026) to recite “the one or more connectors comprises one or more arms.” The specification provides support for “the connector structure comprises a plurality of ribs 108, the rib 108 may be coupled to the distal end of the arm 104” (see paragraph [0163] in applicant’s publication). Furthermore, the recitation to “arms” as seen in the figures and the specification is directed to an expandable structure of the delivery device comprising one or more arms. There is no support in the figures or description for the connectors to comprise one or more arms.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “delivery device,” “expandable structure,” and “anchoring means” in claims 1, 10, 19-22.
The specification describes the "delivery device" at [0151]" with reference to Figures 10, a delivery device 101 configured to be detachably coupled to the annuloplasty device 1, 20, 30, wherein the delivery device 101 comprises a structure 102 configured to expand from a first configuration to a second configuration, wherein the dimensions of the second configuration are the substantially the same or greater than the dimensions of the pre-set configuration of the annuloplasty device 1, 20, 30."
The specification describes the "expandable structure" at [0017] "The expandable structure of the delivery device may comprise a shaft and one or more arms"
The specification describes the "anchoring means" at [00198] "may be hooks or pegs or other means which may be pushed into the tissue of the annulus"
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cartledge et al. U.S. Publication 2007/0016287 A1 in view of Metcalf et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0188092 A1 and further in view of Zerkowski et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0212826 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Cartledge et al. discloses a system for delivery 1800 of an annuloplasty device as seen in Figures 90-104 for restoring a heart valve annulus from a dysfunctional configuration to a working configuration, wherein the annuloplasty device comprises an anchoring means 1870 extending from the annuloplasty device and for anchoring the annuloplasty device to the heart valve annulus (paragraph [0257]), the system 1800 comprising: a delivery device configured to be detachably coupled to the annuloplasty device 1865, wherein: the delivery device is configured to rotate the annuloplasty device so as to adjust the position of the anchoring means before detachment of the annuloplasty device from the delivery system (as seen in Figures 91-93 and paragraph [0248]). However, in the embodiment used in the rejection above, Figures 90-104 does not expressly disclose the anchoring means extending inwards of the annuloplasty device. In an alternative embodiment as seen in Figures 85-89, Cartledge teaches an annuloplasty device 1710 comprising an anchoring means (e.g. clips/barbs) 1712 that are straight and lie flush against or recessed within the lower face 1714 of the annuloplasty device 1710 (paragraph [0241]) for the purpose of having deployable anchoring clips for affixing the implant to the tissue surrounding an annulus to adjust the size of the annulus (paragraph [0241]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Figures 91-104 of Cartledge to further include anchoring means that lie recessed with the lower face of the annuloplasty device as shown in Figures 85-89 for the purpose of having deployable anchoring clips for affixing the implant to the tissue surrounding an annulus to adjust the size of the annulus. However, Cartledge et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the annuloplasty device is configured to expand from a pre-set configuration corresponding to the working configuration of the heart valve annulus and wherein the delivery device comprises an expandable structure configured to expand from a first configuration to a second configuration; dimensions of the second configuration are substantially greater than dimensions of the pre-set configuration of the annuloplasty device. Metcalf et al. teaches a delivery device 300 in the same field of endeavor for delivery an annuloplasty device 302 to an annulus (abstract), the annuloplasty device 302 assumes a pre-set configuration (e.g. at rest configuration) which is smaller in diameter than a second diameter, which is an expanded diameter for the purpose of reducing the diameter of the annulus of the heart valve and bring the anterior and posterior leaflet into closer proximity to improve coaptation of the leaflets (paragraph [0039], [0043] and [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cartledge’s annuloplasty device to further include a first configuration that is a pre-set configuration and second configuration that is an expanded state, the second configuration has a greater dimension than the pre-set configuration as taught by Metcalf for the purpose of reducing the diameter of the annulus of the heart valve and bring the anterior and posterior leaflet into closer proximity to improve coaptation of the leaflets. However, Cartledge et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the annuloplasty device comprises an integrally formed anchoring means for anchoring the annuloplasty device to the heart valve annulus. Zerkowski et al. teaches an annuloplasty device in the same field of endeavor for repairing a defective heart valve, wherein the annuloplasty device 101 comprises anchoring means 106 extending inwards of the annuloplasty device (paragraph [0080]) and formed from a material of the circumferential walls 107 of the annuloplasty device, thereby forming an integrally formed anchoring means that is formed from a continuous piece of material forming the annuloplasty device (paragraphs [0080-0082]) for the purpose of forming a robust and strong anchoring means (paragraphs [0080-0082]) that does not require bulky stitching or knotting or additional fixation point (paragraph [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cartledge’s anchoring means to further include a material that is formed from a continuous piece of material forming the annuloplasty device for the purpose of forming a robust and strong anchoring means that does not require bulky stitching or knotting or additional fixation point.
Regarding Claim 2, Cartledge et al. discloses wherein the expandable structure 1860 comprises a shaft 1810 and one or more arms 1830 (paragraph [0246] and as seen in Figures 90, 93 and 95), each arm being pivotably connected 1842 to said shaft 1810 (as seen in Figures 90, 93, 95 and paragraphs [0246-0248]).
Regarding Claim 3, Cartledge et al. discloses wherein the arms 1830 are configured to fold radially inwards into the first configuration (as seen in Figures 92 and 100).
Regarding Claim 4, Cartledge et al. discloses wherein the arms 1830 are configured to expand radially outwards into the second configuration (as seen in Figures 90, 93, 95 and paragraphs [0246-0248]).
Regarding Claim 5, Cartledge et al. discloses wherein the expandable structure 1860 further comprises an actuator 1815 configured to control expansion of the expandable structure (paragraphs [0245], [0247]).
Regarding Claim 6, Cartledge et al. discloses wherein the actuator 1815 comprises an actuating rod which is slidable relative to a longitudinal axis of the shaft 1810, and a plurality of stretchers 1845 coupled to the arms 1830 and the actuating rod (as seen in Figure 90 and paragraph [0247]).
Regarding Claim 7, Cartledge et al. discloses wherein the shaft 1810 comprises one or more lumens, the actuating rod (the tubular portion of the actuator 1815) being housed in at least one of the lumens of the shaft 1810 (as seen in Figures 94-96 and paragraph [0245]).
Regarding Claim 10, Cartledge et al. discloses wherein the delivery device includes one or more connectors 1890 for detachably coupling the expandable structure 1860 to the annuloplasty device 1865 (as seen in Figure 90 and paragraphs [0248-0249]).
Regarding Claim 11, Cartledge et al. discloses wherein the one or more connectors 1890 comprises a detachable loop connector or hook connector (the suture can form loops around the annuloplasty device, see Figures 90).
Regarding Claim 18, Cartledge et al. discloses further comprising the annuloplasty device 1865 (as seen in Figures 90-104).
Regarding Claim 19, Cartledge et al. discloses a method for restoring a heart valve annulus (abstract and paragraphs [0014], [0018]), comprising delivering an annuloplasty device 1865 for restoring the heart valve annulus from a dysfunctional configuration to a working configuration with a delivery device 1820 coupled to the annuloplasty device 1865 (as seen in Figures 90-104 and paragraph [0248]), wherein the annuloplasty device comprises an anchoring means 1870 extending inwards of the annuloplasty device and for anchoring the annuloplasty device to the heart valve annulus (paragraph [0257]), the system 1800 comprising: a delivery device configured to be detachably coupled to the annuloplasty device 1865, wherein: the delivery device is configured to rotate the annuloplasty device so as to adjust the position of the anchoring means before detachment of the annuloplasty device from the delivery system (as seen in Figures 91-93 and paragraph [0248]), rotating the annuloplasty device so as to adjust the position of the anchoring means before detachment of the annuloplasty device from the delivery system 1820 (as seen in Figures 91-93 and paragraph [0248]), decoupling the delivery device 1820 from the annuloplasty device 1865 (as seen in Figure 103-104 and paragraphs [0247-0248]). However, in the embodiment used in the rejection above, Figures 90-104 does not expressly disclose the anchoring means extending inwards of the annuloplasty device. In an alternative embodiment as seen in Figures 85-89, Cartledge teaches an annuloplasty device 1710 comprising an anchoring means (e.g. clips/barbs) 1712 that are straight and lie flush against or recessed within the lower face 1714 of the annuloplasty device 1710 (paragraph [0241]) for the purpose of having deployable anchoring clips for affixing the implant to the tissue surrounding an annulus to adjust the size of the annulus (paragraph [0241]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Figures 91-104 of Cartledge to further include anchoring means that lie recessed with the lower face of the annuloplasty device as shown in Figures 85-89 for the purpose of having deployable anchoring clips for affixing the implant to the tissue surrounding an annulus to adjust the size of the annulus. However, Cartledge et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the annuloplasty device is configured to expand from a pre-set configuration corresponding to the working configuration of the heart valve annulus and wherein the delivery device comprises an expandable structure configured to expand from a first configuration to a second configuration; dimensions of the second configuration are substantially greater than dimensions of the pre-set configuration of the annuloplasty device. Metcalf et al. teaches a delivery device 300 in the same field of endeavor for delivery an annuloplasty device 302 to an annulus (abstract), the annuloplasty device 302 assumes a pre-set configuration (e.g. at rest configuration) which is smaller in diameter than a second diameter, which is an expanded diameter for the purpose of reducing the diameter of the annulus of the heart valve and bring the anterior and posterior leaflet into closer proximity to improve coaptation of the leaflets (paragraph [0039], [0043] and [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cartledge’s annuloplasty device to further include a first configuration that is a pre-set configuration and second configuration that is an expanded state, the second configuration has a greater dimension than the pre-set configuration as taught by Metcalf for the purpose of reducing the diameter of the annulus of the heart valve and bring the anterior and posterior leaflet into closer proximity to improve coaptation of the leaflets. However, Cartledge et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the annuloplasty device comprises an integrally formed anchoring means for anchoring the annuloplasty device to the heart valve annulus. Zerkowski et al. teaches an annuloplasty device in the same field of endeavor for repairing a defective heart valve, wherein the annuloplasty device 101 comprises anchoring means 106 extending inwards of the annuloplasty device (paragraph [0080]) and formed from a material of the circumferential walls 107 of the annuloplasty device, thereby forming an integrally formed anchoring means that is formed from a continuous piece of material forming the annuloplasty device (paragraphs [0080-0082]) for the purpose of forming a robust and strong anchoring means (paragraphs [0080-0082]) that does not require bulky stitching or knotting or additional fixation point (paragraph [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cartledge’s anchoring means to further include a material that is formed from a continuous piece of material forming the annuloplasty device for the purpose of forming a robust and strong anchoring means that does not require bulky stitching or knotting or additional fixation point.
Regarding Claim 20, Cartledge et al. discloses coupling the annuloplasty device 1865 to an expandable structure 1860 of the delivery device 1820 (as seen in Figure 90 and paragraphs [0249-0250]).
Regarding Claim 21, Cartledge et al. discloses inserting the delivery device 1820 into a delivery sheath 1810, wherein the expandable structure 1860 is in a folded configuration (as seen in Figures 91-93 and paragraph [0245]).
Regarding Claim 22, Cartledge discloses expanding the expandable structure 1860 into a second configuration (open, expanded) that corresponds to the working configuration (open and expanded configuration of the annuloplasty device, see paragraph [0249-0250] and as seen in Figures 93-104).
Regarding Claim 23, Cartledge et al. disclose releasing the annuloplasty device 1865 (as seen in Figures 90-104). However, Cartledge et al. does not expressly disclose releasing the annuloplasty device into the pre-set configuration corresponding to the working configuration of the heart valve annulus. Metcalf et al. teaches a delivery device 300 in the same field of endeavor for delivery an annuloplasty device 302 to an annulus (abstract), the annuloplasty device 302 assumes a pre-set configuration (e.g. at rest configuration) which is smaller in diameter than a second diameter, which is an expanded diameter for the purpose of reducing the diameter of the annulus of the heart valve and bring the anterior and posterior leaflet into closer proximity to improve coaptation of the leaflets (paragraph [0039], [0043] and [0079]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cartledge’s annuloplasty device to further include a first configuration that is a pre-set configuration as taught by Metcalf for the purpose of reducing the diameter of the annulus of the heart valve and bring the anterior and posterior leaflet into closer proximity to improve coaptation of the leaflets.
Claim(s) 12-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cartledge et al. (referred herein below as Cartledge I) in view of Metcalf et al. and further in view of Zerkowski et al. as applied in the claim rejections above and further in view of Cartledge et al. WO 2008/097999 A2.
Regarding Claim 12, 13, 15, Cartledge I does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more connectors comprises one or more ribs, wherein the one or more ribs comprises a distal end coupled to the distal end, or adjacent a distal end of an arm, wherein the rib or arm comprises a connector outlet, said connector outlet being pivotably coupled to the rib or arm. Cartledge et al. teaches a delivery system 300 in the same field of endeavor for delivering an annuloplasty device 320, the delivery device includes one or more connectors 368, the one or more connectors 368 comprises a hook connector (the end lip portion forms said “hook”) or detachable loop 334, 336 to couple to the annuloplasty device 320, wherein the connector 368 comprises one or more ribs 318, wherein the one or more ribs 318 comprises a distal end coupled to the distal end, or adjacent a distal end of an arm 310, wherein the rib 318 comprises a connector outlet 370/332, said outlet 370/332 being pivotably coupled to the rib 318 or arm 310 (paragraph [00133]) for the purpose in aiding in the controlled expansion of the delivery device to control the size and shape of the annuloplasty device 320 (paragraphs [0134-0136]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cartledge’s expandable structure further comprises one or more connectors having or more ribs, wherein the ribs are coupled to the arm and has a connector outlet pivotably coupled to the rib or arm as taught by Cartledge for the purpose in aiding in the controlled expansion of the delivery device to control the size and shape of the annuloplasty device.
Conclusion
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774