Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is hereby made of receipt and entry of the communication filed on Jan. 29, 2026. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 12, 14, 16, 18-20, 23-25, 30-32, 34 and 40 are pending and currently examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(Previous Rejection – Partially Maintained) Claims 1-4, 6-7, 12, 14, 16, 18-20, 23-25, 30-32, 34 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Base claims 1 and 19 recite the limitation “online denaturation” and “online desalting and denaturation” which render the claims not clear. The specification does not define these terms. It is not clear how to interpret the word “online” when used in describing desalting/denaturation in the process of a two-dimensional liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry (2D LC-MS). E.g., it is not clear if the word “online” means that the desalting/denaturation must be performed in the “pipeline” (or closed loop) comprising all of the specified steps.
To facilitate examination, the limitation of “online desalting/denaturation” is interpreted as encompassing a desalting/denaturation process that is integrated in any manner in the claimed 2D-LC-MS process.
It is noted any interpretation of the claims set forth above does not relieve Applicant of the responsibility of responding to this rejection. If the actual interpretation of the claims is different than that posited by the Examiner, additional rejections and art may be readily applied in a subsequent final Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Previous Rejection – Withdrawn) Claims 1-4, 6-7, 12, 14, 16, 18-20, 23-25 and 30-32 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 2021/0041451 A1, published on Feb. 11, 2021; submitted in IDS filed on Mar. 7, 2023) and Daud et al. (US 2023/0204595 A1, published on Jun. 29, 2023; PCT filed on Dec. 30, 2020).
(Previous Rejection - Withdrawn) Claims 34 and 40 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 2021/0041451 A1, published on Feb. 11, 2021; submitted in IDS filed on Mar. 7, 2023) and Daud et al. (US 2023/0204595 A1, published on Jun. 29, 2023; PCT filed on Dec. 30, 2020), in view of Wang et al. (Molecular Therapy: Methods & Clinical Development, 2019, Vol. 15, pp 257-263; submitted in IDS filed on Mar. 7, 2023).
The above rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment filed on Jan. 29, 2026.
(New Rejection) Claims 1-4, 6-7, 12, 14, 16, 18-20, 23-25 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 2021/0041451 A1, published on Feb. 11, 2021; submitted in IDS filed on Mar. 7, 2023) and Daud et al. (US 2023/0204595 A1, published on Jun. 29, 2023; PCT filed on Dec. 30, 2020), of recording in the previous Office action, in view of Shen et al. (Anal. Chem. 2015, 87, 8555−8563).
Base claim 1 is directed to a two-dimensional liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry (2D LC-MS) method for identifying viral protein constituents of a sample of viral particles, comprising:
(a) subjecting the sample of viral particles to first-dimension chromatography to separate intact viral capsid components of the sample;
(b) subjecting at least a portion of the intact viral capsid components to online denaturation to yield individual intact viral proteins;
(c) subjecting the intact viral proteins to second-dimension chromatography to separate the intact viral proteins; and
(d) determining the masses of the separated intact viral proteins using mass spectrometry to identify the viral protein constituents of the sample of viral particles.
Base claim 19 is directed to a two-dimensional liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry (2D LC-MS) method for identifying viral protein constituents of a sample of adeno-associated virus (AAV) particles, comprising:
(a) subjecting the sample of AAV particles to a first-dimension anion-exchange chromatography to separate intact viral capsid components in the sample, wherein the intact viral capsid components comprise intact empty viral capsids and intact full viral capsids comprising a heterologous nucleic acid molecule;
(b) selecting a portion of the intact viral capsid components for online desalting and denaturation;
(c) subjecting the selected portion of the intact viral capsid components to online desalting and denaturation to yield individual intact viral proteins, wherein the intact individual viral proteins comprise VP1, VP2, VP3 and at least one variant of VP1, VP2 or VP3;
(d) subjecting the intact viral proteins to a second-dimension reverse-phase liquid chromatography or hydrophilic interaction liquid chromatography to separate the intact viral proteins; and
(e) determining the masses of the separated intact viral proteins to identify the viral protein constituents of the sample of AAV particles.
The step (a) of both claims specifies subjecting a sample of viral particles to a (first-dimension) chromatography to separate intact viral capsid components of the sample, reading on a process for obtaining isolated/purified viral particles to be applied to the succeeding steps.
Jin teaches an invention relating to methods for determining the serotype of a virus particle and/or determining the heterogeneity of a virus particle (e.g., an AAV particle). See Abstract. Jin teaches that the invention provides a method to determine the serotype of a viral particle comprising a) denaturing the viral particle, b) subjecting the denatured viral particle to liquid chromatography/mass spectrometry (LC/MS), and c) determining the masses of one or more capsid proteins of the viral particle; wherein the specific combination of masses of the one or more capsid proteins are indicative of the virus serotype. See [0010]-[0011]. Jin teaches that the liquid chromatography can be reverse phase liquid chromatography, size exclusion chromatography, hydrophilic interaction liquid chromatography, or cation exchange chromatography. See [0012].
Jin teaches that the invention provides a method to determine the serotype of an adeno-associated virus (AAV) particle comprising a) denaturing the AAV particle, b) subjecting the denatured AAV particle to liquid chromatography/mass spectrometry (LC/MS), and c) determining the masses of VP1, VP2 and VP3 of the AAV particle; wherein the specific combination of masses of VP1, VP2, and VP3 are indicative of the AAV serotype. In some embodiments, the calculated masses of VP1, VP2 and VP3 are compared to the theoretical masses of VP1, VP2 and VP3 of one or more AAV serotypes. See [0017].
Jin teaches that a viral particle, such as an AAV particle, may be denatured using detergent, heat, high salt, or buffering with a low or high pH. In certain embodiments, an AAV particle may be denatured using acetic acid or guanidine hydrochloride. The skilled artisan will recognize that a variety of methods useful for promoting and/or monitoring protein denaturation are available in the art and may suitably select a denaturation method compatible with liquid chromatography/mass spectrometry. For example, if heat denaturation is used, care may be applied to avoid protein precipitation and reverse phase column clogging. Similarly, high salt denaturation may be coupled with a desalting step prior to LC/MS or LC/MS/MS. In other embodiments, high pH denaturation, low pH denaturation, or denaturation using organic solvents is used. See [0099].
Jin teaches that AAV particles may be isolated or purified using one or more of the following purification steps: equilibrium centrifugation; flow-through anionic exchange filtration; tangential flow filtration (TFF) for concentrating the AAV particles; AAV capture by apatite chromatography; heat inactivation of helper virus; AAV capture by hydrophobic interaction chromatography; buffer exchange by size exclusion chromatography (SEC); nanofiltration; and AAV capture by anionic exchange chromatography, cationic exchange chromatography, or affinity chromatography. These steps may be used alone, in various combinations, or in different orders. See [0192].
Accordingly, Jin teaches/suggests a method for identifying constituents of capsid proteins of AAV (i.e., VP1, VP2, and VP3) of different serotypes, comprising: (a) subjecting a sample of viral particles (e.g., cell culture product of AAV) to a first(-dimension) chromatography (such as anionic exchange chromatography) for isolating/purifying AAV particles (i.e., intact viral capsids), (b) subjecting a (selected) portion of isolated/purified AAV particles (intact viral capsids) to denaturation (which may include desalting) to produce disassembled viral structural proteins VP1, VP2 and VP3 in a mixture, (c) subjecting the mixture of disassembled structural proteins to a second(-dimension) chromatography (which may be reverse phase liquid chromatography, size exclusion chromatography, hydrophilic interaction liquid chromatography, or cation exchange chromatography) to separate the different viral structural proteins, and (d) determining the masses of the separated intact viral proteins to identify the viral protein constituents of the sample of viral particles by MS.
However, Jin is silent on if the denaturation (and desalting) process to disassemble AAV capsid proteins is performed “online.”
Daud teaches an invention relating to methods to characterize the VP1, VP2 and VP3 capsid proteins in an adeno-associated virus (AAV) particle using liquid chromatography mass spectrometry, and/or ultraviolet (UV)-visible spectroscopy. The methods generally include the steps of (a) subjecting an AAV particle to liquid chromatography to denature and then separate the VP1, VP2 and VP3 capsid proteins, and (b) subjecting the separated VP1, VP2 and VP3 capsid proteins produced in step (a) to UV and mass spectrometry to determine the ratio and masses of the VP1, VP2 and VP3 capsid proteins in the AAV particle. In another aspect, the disclosure provides an AAV composition comprising a post-translation modification. The disclosure also provides methods for characterizing the purity of AAV compositions using liquid chromatography mass spectrometry. See Abstract. Daud teaches that, in some aspects, the capsids on the AAV particle is denatured into the individual VP1, VP2 and VP3 proteins in the column of the liquid chromatography. In some aspects, the capsid proteins are separated by the liquid chromatography. See [0010].
Accordingly, Daud also teaches a process of characterizing AAV capsid proteins VP1, VP2 and VP3 by liquid chromatography and mass spectrometry (MS), including a process of obtaining individual VP1, VP2 and VP3 by denaturing the viral particles (capsids). Daud teaches that denaturing process can be done “in the column of the liquid chromatography”, indicating that it is contemplated and practiced to denature AAV particles “online” for obtaining disassembled VP proteins. See the interpretation of “online denaturation” in the 112(b) rejection above.
However, Jin and Daud are silent on performing the studies on a two-dimensional liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry (2D LC-MS) system, which is considered as an assay that combines two liquid chromatography processes and a mass spectrometry in one integrated system.
Shen reports the development and validation of a robust LC-MS assay capable of quantifying therapeutic protein immunoglobulin A1 protease (IgAP) in human serum in the presence of pre-existing anti-IgAP antibodies. The procedure included sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS) denaturation and chemical reduction of serum proteins to dissociate ADA-drug bindings, followed by tryptic digestion of protein pellets and subsequent LC-MS analysis of the surrogate IgAP peptide using stable isotope labeled peptide internal standard. Substantial enhancements in the sensitivity and selectivity were achieved by the combination of online two-dimensional reversed-phase LC (2D-LC) operated in high and low pH buffers, respectively, for efficient enrichment and quantitation of the surrogate peptide by multiple-reaction monitoring (MRM) mass spectrometry. See Abstract.
Shen teaches that an automated two-dimensional reversed-phase LC system (2D-LC) operated at high and low pH, respectively, was employed for enhanced separation of the surrogate peptide from matrix interference. The 2D-LC configuration (Figure 1) consisted of a Waters UPLC as the first dimension (Milford, MA) connected to a Shimadzu Nexera UHPLC as the second dimension (Columbia, MD,USA) through a six-port, two-position valve (Valco Inc., Austin, TX). See page 8557, left column, last para. Shen teaches that the 2D-LC system was coupled to an AB Sciex API 5500 Qtrap mass spectrometer equipped with a TurboIonspray source (Concord, Ontario, Canada) for peptide quantitation. The column eluent was ionized in the positive ionization and analyzed by the Qtrap analyzers in the MRM mode. See page 8557, right column, last para. Fig. 1 of Shen is shown below:
Accordingly, Shen teaches the concept and practice of combining two liquid chromatography processes and mass spectrometry into one interconnected system for automation.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Jin, Daud and Shen to arrive at the invention as claimed. One would have been motivated to do so, e.g., to combine the processes of AAV particle denaturation, chromatography and mass spectrometry in one integrated system to streamline and/or automate the overall process.
Regarding claims 4 and 23, Jin teaches that non-limiting examples of AAV capsid proteins of the invention include VP proteins of any of the following AAV serotypes: AAV1, AAV2, AAV3, AAV4, AAV5, AAV6, AAV7, AAV8, AAVrh8, AAVrhSR, AAV9, etc. See [0177].
Regarding claims 6, 16 and 20, Jin teaches that AAV particle assembly may be measured using various assays known in the art, including without limitation, measuring particle production amount and/or rate, quantifying capsid production (e.g., after purification using any of the methods described herein), assaying production of complete vectors vs. empty capsids, measuring transduction efficiency, imaging or structural analysis to observe particle formation (e.g., using electron microscopy), production of AAV capsid proteins (e.g., as assayed by Western blotting), and the like. See [0164].
Regarding claims 12, 13, 24 and 25, Jin teaches that the accurate masses of VP1, VP2 and VP3 of each AAV serotype are unique and can be used to identify or differentiate AAV capsid serotypes. These methods are based in part on the discovery described herein that direct LC/MS of different types of AAVs after denaturation may be used to monitor the protein sequence and post-translational modifications with accurate mass measurement in the intact protein level. Further, acetylations of N-termini of VP1 and VP3 may also be identified and/or monitored in different AAV serotypes. See [0098].
Regarding claims 18 and 30, Jin teaches that AAV particle stability may be measured using various assays known in the art, including without limitation differential scanning fluorescence (DSF), differential scanning calorimetry (DSC), other thermal denaturation assays, susceptibility to proteolysis, imaging or structural analysis to observe denaturation (e.g., using electron microscopy), transduction efficiency or another functional assay on AAV particle compositions kept for a designated time interval at a particular temperature (e.g., room temperature, or 4° C., for thermal stability) or treated at a particular pH (e.g., pH stability), and the like. See [0163].
Regarding claim 31, Jin teaches that mass spectrometry (e.g., used in LC/MS as described herein) may refer to electrospray ionization mass spectrometry (ESI-MS). See [0102].
(New Rejection) Claims 34 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 2021/0041451 A1, published on Feb. 11, 2021; submitted in IDS filed on Mar. 7, 2023) and Daud et al. (US 2023/0204595 A1, published on Jun. 29, 2023; PCT filed on Dec. 30, 2020) in view of Shen et al. (Anal. Chem. 2015, 87, 8555−8563), as applied above, and further in view of Wang et al. (Molecular Therapy: Methods & Clinical Development, 2019, Vol. 15, pp 257-263; submitted in IDS filed on Mar. 7, 2023).
Claims 34 and 40 further specify that the intact viral capsid components of the sample subjected to anion-exchange chromatography are separated by a mobile phase comprising bis-tris-propane (BTP), tetramethylammonium chloride (TMAC), and magnesium chloride at certain ranges of concentrations and time durations.
Relevance of Jin, Daud and Shen is set forth above. Jin further teaches that AAV particles may be isolated/purified by anionic exchange chromatography. See [0192]. However, Jin and Daud are silent on mobile phase conditions as claimed.
Wang teaches that the authors used AAV serotype 6.2 (AAV6.2) as an example to show the development of a QC-friendly anion exchange chromatography (AEX) assay for the determination of empty and full capsid percentages. The reported assay requires several microliters of material with a minimum titer of 5x1011 vg/mL, and it can detect the presence of as low as 2.9% empty capsids in AAV6.2 samples. Additionally, the method is easy to deploy, can be automated, and has been successfully implemented to support testing of various in-process and release samples. See Abstract. Wang teaches that the separation was accomplished on a CIMac AAV full/empty-0.1-mL column (BIA Separations, Ajdovscina, Slovenia) using a salt gradient, delivered from four channels of the quaternary pump. The mobile phases were A, water; B, 1 M tetramethylammonium chloride; C, 20 mM MgCl2; and D, 250 mM Bis-tris propane (pH 9.0). A linear gradient was set as 62%A/10%C/28%D at t0, 37%A/25%B/10%C/28%D at 25 min, and 72%B/28%D at 30 min. The column was equilibrated at the initial condition for 6 min between injections. The separation was monitored by photodiode array detector at 260 and 280 nm and fluorescence detector with 280-nm excitation and 340-nm emission. See para spanning pages 261 and 262.
Accordingly, Wang teaches a method of separating AAV particles by anionic exchange chromatography and mobile phase conditions using the agents as claimed.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to combine the teachings of Jin, Daud, Shen and Wang to arrive at the invention as claimed. One would have been motivated to do so to use the mobile phases taught in Wang in the AAV particle separation in the studies taught in Jin and Daud. As to the claimed concentration ranges of BTP, TMAC and MgCl2 and ranges of time, one of skill in the art would have found it obvious to obtain them through routine experimental optimization based on settings and requirements of each specific study unless there is evidence that the claimed conditions are critical.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on Oct. 8, 2025 have been fully considered. Arguments regarding withdrawn rejections are moot. Applicant’s arguments related to the current rejections are addressed as follows.
To the 112(b) rejection, Applicant argues that, under MPEP 2164.01, a patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. Applicant thus choose not to address the term “online denaturation”.
It is noted that even though the term “online” is well known and often used the art of LC-MS assays. A clear and exclusive definition about it has not been found. The examiner has proposed an interpretation in the rejection body for Applicant to clarify. E.g., the limitation “online denaturation” is interpreted as encompassing a denaturation process that is integrated in any manner in the claimed 2D-LC-MS process.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NIANXIANG (NICK) ZOU whose telephone number is (571)272-2850. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 5:00 pm, EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MICHAEL ALLEN, on (571) 270-3497, can be reached. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NIANXIANG ZOU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1671