Claims 1-3,5-8, and 10-22 are pending.
Claims 4 and 9 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3,5-8, and 10-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 5-8, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berliner et al., US 20230189175 A1., in view of Kim et al, US 20230051098 A1., in view of Matsumura et al, US 20240284193 A1, and in further view of Zhang et al, US 20240121829 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Berliner discloses an apparatus comprising: processing circuitry configured to([0144] via specialized processor circuitry):
cause, during a first time period, transmission of a first synchronization signal using a first beam associated with a first coverage area and a second beam associated with a second coverage area, wherein the first beam and the second beam are simultaneously-active and spatially-multiplexed([0076] [0093-0094] Fig. 4-6 - The first and the second SSB transmissions are sent using spatially separated beams. The UE 115 receives a second SSB transmission; Fig. 7 illustrate beam diagrams for a set of SSBs);
cause, during a second time period, transmission of a second synchronization signal using a third beam associated with a third coverage area, wherein the first time period and the second time period belong to an SSB transmission cycle([0093-0094] [0130] Fig. 4-7 - The second SSB transmissions are sent using spatially separated beams; The second SSB transmission has a second corresponding RACH occasion in the third slot. The third SSB transmission has a third corresponding. The first and the second SSB transmissions are sent using spatially separated beams. A single SSB index (e.g., SSBO) can be transmitted over multiple directions during a time period.),
and communicate with a user equipment (UE) in the first coverage area based on the first synchronization signal([0096] Fig. 4-6 A UE, communicates with a first SSB transmission during a first slot).
Berliner does not disclose a first beam associated with a first coverage area and a second beam associated with a second coverage area or based on a synchronization signal.
However, Kim does disclose a first beam associated with a first coverage area and a second beam associated with a second coverage area or based on a synchronization signal(Fig. 8, steps 803- 805, [0096],[0137-0139] A plurality of beams each associated with a particular coverage area/cell/subcell and SSB)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner with a first beam associated with a first coverage area and a second beam associated with a second coverage area or based on a synchronization signal as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing SO would be to provide more efficient power consumption at the user terminal. (Kim, [0005-0006])
Berliner and Kim do not disclose wherein the first time period has a length during which beam coverage is available to the first coverage area and the second coverage area and unavailable to the third coverage area, wherein the second time period has a different length during which the beam coverage is available to the third coverage area and unavailable to the first coverage area and the second coverage area,
However, Matsumura does disclose wherein the first time period has a length during which beam coverage is available to the first coverage area and the second coverage area and unavailable to the third coverage area ([0086] [0134] When beamforming is applied to a synchronization signal/reference signal to ensure coverage, this enables the signal to reach in a specific direction while making it difficult for the signal to reach in directions other than the specific direction. The transmission duration (time length) of the second SSBs per cycle of the second periodicity may be equal to the transmission duration (time length) of the first SSBs per cycle of the first periodicity.),
wherein the second time period has a different length during which the beam coverage is available to the third coverage area and unavailable to the first coverage area and the second coverage area ([0086] [0129] When beamforming is applied to a synchronization signal/reference signal to ensure coverage, this enables the signal to reach in a specific direction while making it difficult for the signal to reach in directions other than the specific direction. The transmission duration (time length) of the second SSBs per cycle of the second periodicity may be different from the transmission duration (time length) of the first SSBs per cycle of the first periodicity.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner and Kim with wherein the first time period has a length during which beam coverage is available to the first coverage area and the second coverage area and unavailable to the third coverage area, wherein the second time period has a different length during which the beam coverage is available to the third coverage area and unavailable to the first coverage area and the second coverage area as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to improve coverage by taking account of overhead. (Matsumura, [0008])
Berliner, Kim, and Matsumura do not disclose and wherein the length of the first time period is based on a type or a class of UEs served in the first coverage area and the second coverage area;
However, Zhang does disclose and wherein the length of the first time period is based on a type or a class of UEs served in the first coverage area and the second coverage area([0055][0084] [0108]The determination of the association between the first RO and the second RO is performed at least according to an SSB. The SSBs consists of a primary synchronization signal/secondary synchronization signal (PSS/SSS) and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) for the UE to synchronize to the DL, obtains the cell ID, and acquires the system information. The lengths of the first period, the second period, and the RO association period are the same. In the RO association period, each SSB is associated with one first type RO at different time point. The first RO is configured for a first type of UEs, the second RO is configured for a second type of UEs. For example, the first type of UEs can be RedCap UEs or coverage enhanced UEs, and the second type of UEs can be legacy UEs.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner, Kim, and Matsumura with and wherein the length of the first time period is based on a type or a class of UEs served in the first coverage area and the second coverage area as taught by Zhang. The motivation for doing so would be to avoid negative effects due to the RO seperation. (Zhang, [0131])
Regarding claim 2, Berliner discloses the apparatus wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send, during the first time period, the first synchronization signal using a first set of K simultaneously-active and spatially-multiplexed beams ([0093]-[0094] [0103] Fig.4-7 illustrate beam diagrams for a set of SSBs; the first and the second SSB transmissions are transmitted using spatially separated beams.),
wherein the first coverage area and the second coverage area belong to a first set of K coverage areas from M coverage areas, K and M being positive integers ([0042] [0093] - [0094] The base station can support a plurality of different cells/coverage areas. Fig. 4-6 - The first and the second SSB transmissions are sent using spatially separated beams.).
Berliner does not disclose a beam associated with a coverage area belonging to another set of coverage areas.
However, Kim does disclose a beam associated with a coverage area belonging to another set of coverage areas (KIM, Fig. 8, steps 803-805, [0096],[0137 -0139] A plurality of beams each associated with a particular coverage area/cell/sub-cell and SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner with a beam associated with a coverage area belonging to another set of coverage areas as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more efficient power consumption at the user terminal. (Kim, [0005-0006])
Regarding claim 3, Berliner disclose the apparatus wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send, during the second time period, the second synchronization signal using a second set of K simultaneously-active and spatially-multiplexed beams ([0096] Fig. 4-6 - The first and the second SSB transmissions are sent using spatially separated beams.),
wherein the third coverage area belongs to a second set of K coverage areas ([0042] The base station can support a plurality of different cells/coverage areas.).
Berliner does not disclose a beam associated with a coverage area belonging to another set of coverage areas.
However, Kim does disclose a beam associated with a coverage area belonging to another set of coverage areas (KIM, Fig. 8, steps 803-805, [0096],[0137 -0139] A plurality of beams each associated with a particular coverage area/cell/sub-cell and SSB.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner with a beam associated with a coverage area belonging to another set of coverage areas as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more efficient power consumption at the user terminal. (Kim, [0005-0006])
Regarding claim 5, Berliner discloses the apparatus wherein sending the first synchronization signal using the first beam and the second beam ([0102] [0103] Fig.4-6 - The transmission of the two SSBs at 900 and 901 corresponds to a transmission of spatially separate SSBs; The first and the second SSB transmissions are sent using spatially separated beams)
includes sending simultaneously a first instance of a synchronization signal block (SSB) on the first beam and a second instance of the SSB on the second beam ([0103] [0107] The first and second SSB transmissions are spatially separated; Fig. 4-6 the first and the second SSB transmissions are sent using spatially separated beams).
Regarding claim 6, Berliner discloses the apparatus wherein sending the second synchronization signal using the third beam includes sending a third instance of the SSB on the third beam ([0093-0094] [0130] Fig. 7 illustrate beam diagrams for a set of SSBs; The second SSB transmission sent a second corresponding RACH occasion in the third slot. The third SSB transmission sent a third corresponding.).
Regarding claim 7, Berliner discloses the apparatus wherein processing circuitry is further configured to: send, using the first beam and the second beam, system information associated with a random access procedure ([0112] Fig. 6 - The base station 105 may send a first RACH occasion using a first beam, and monitor the first RACH occasion using a second beam).
Regarding claim 8, Berliner discloses the apparatus wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send, during a third time period, system information associated with a random access procedure, the system information sent using a fourth beam ([0093-0094] [0111] Fig. 7 illustrate beam diagrams for a set of SSBs; Fig. 4 - the base station 105 may send a third SSB transmission and a fourth SSB transmission during the first slot; the fourth SSB transmission share a second corresponding RACH).
Berliner does not disclose a fourth beam associated with the first coverage area.
However, Kim does disclose a fourth beam associated with the first coverage area (Fig. 8, steps 803- 805, [0096], [0137 -0139] A plurality of beams each associated with a particular coverage area/cell/subcell and SSB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner with a fourth beam associated with the first coverage area as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would be to provide more efficient power consumption at the user terminal. (Kim, [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 22, Berliner and Kim do not disclose the apparatus wherein the SSB transmission cycle repeats across groups of coverage areas, wherein a length of the SSB transmission cycle varies between at least two groups of the groups of coverage areas.
However, Matsumura does disclose the apparatus wherein the SSB transmission cycle repeats across groups of coverage areas, wherein a length of the SSB transmission cycle varies between at least two groups of the groups of coverage areas ([0134] [0162] [0164] The transmission duration (time length) of the second SSBs per cycle of the second periodicity may be equal to the transmission duration (time length) of the first SSBs per cycle of the first periodicity. A UE in the coverage area (first area) of the first SSBs may follow at least one of SSB related operations 1 and 2 below. The UE that can detect a first SSB may detect a second SSB and transmit a PRACH in a PRACH occasion corresponding to the second SSB. The accuracy of beam (QCL) information obtained from the second SSB is higher (more exact) than the accuracy of beam information obtained from a first SSB.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner and Kim with the apparatus wherein the SSB transmission cycle repeats across groups of coverage areas, wherein a length of the SSB transmission cycle varies between at least two groups of the groups of coverage areas as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to improve coverage by taking account of overhead. (Matsumura, [0008]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berliner et al., US 20230189175 A1., in view of Kim et al, US 20230051098 A1., in view of Matsumura et al, US 20240284193 A1, in view of Zhang et al, US 20240121829 A1, and in further view of Bruhn et al, US 20240196272 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Berliner, Kim, Matsumura, and Zhang do not disclose the apparatus wherein the length of the first time period is further based on at least one of: a quantity of the UEs, a mission status of the UEs, or a network policy.
However, Bruhn does disclose the apparatus wherein the length of the first time period is further based on at least one of: a quantity of the UEs, a mission status of the UEs, or a network policy(TABLE-US-00001 IE/Group Name Presence Range IE type/ref. Also used as the averaging window length for all measurement object if supported. [0196][0200] The second network node can report aggregated traffic status information for several UEs on a per network slice basis. The second network node can report UE-associated traffic status information as part of UE-associated signaling to a neighbor network node, e.g., as part of the Handover Preparation procedure. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner with the apparatus wherein the length of the first time period is further based on at least one of: a quantity of the UEs, a mission status of the UEs, or a network policy as taught by Bruhn. The motivation for doing so would be to improve an SSB beam coverage gain of a system. (Gao, [0006])
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berliner et al., US 20230189175 A1., in view of Kim et al, US 20230051098 A1., in view of Matsumura et al, US 20240284193 A1 as applied to claim 1 above., in further view of Xu et al, US 12114287 B2.
Regarding claim 10, Berliner discloses the apparatus wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a random access message ([0105] Fig. 5&6 —The base station 105 may receive a RACH occasion message from the UE 115 for the first SSB transmission during a corresponding RACH occasion.)
The combination of Berliner, Kim, Matsumura , and Zhang do not disclose a random access message that includes an identifier of the first coverage area.
However, Xu does disclose a random access message that includes an identifier of the first coverage area ([0114] A new transmission addressed to the cell radio network temporary identifier (CRNTI) of the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner, Kim, and Matsumura with a random access message that includes an identifier of the first coverage area as taught by Xu. The motivation for doing so would be to provide improved paging indicator signaling for an idle or inactive UE, thereby reducing UE power consumption and signaling overhead. (Xu, column 35, lines 64-67).
Regarding claim 12, Berliner discloses the apparatus wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: send, during the first time period, to the UE using the first beam ([0097][0109] Fig. 4-6 - The UE receives a second SSB. The first and second SSB transmissions are received using spatially separated beams. The first and the second SSB transmissions are transmissions are sent using spatially separated beams).
The combination of Berliner, Kim, Matsumura, and Zhang do not disclose a paging occasion to the UE .
However, Xu does disclose a paging occasion to the UE ([0113] Paging occasion informs the UE that it has data for the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner and Kim with a paging occasion to the UE as taught by Xu. The motivation for doing SO would be to provide improved paging indicator signaling for an idle or inactive UE, thereby reducing UE power consumption and signaling overhead. (Xu, column 35, lines 64-67)
Claims 13-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berliner et al., US 20230189175 A1., in view of Gao et al, US 20230138567 A1., in view of Matsumura et al, US 20240284193 A1., in further view of Kim et al, US 20230051098 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Berliner discloses One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that upon execution by one or more processors cause operations comprising ([0115] The apparatus may include at least one processor, and a memory coupled to the processor. The apparatus may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium having program code recorded thereon and the program code may be executable by a computer for causing the computer to perform operations.):
processing a first synchronization signal on a first beam ([0096] [0107] Fig. 4-6 - The first SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beams; the first SSB transmission is transmitted during a first subslot of the first slot.),
wherein the first beam associated with a first coverage area in which a user equipment (UE) is located (Fig.4-6 - A beam is associated with a plurality of different cells/coverage areas inside a UE.),
wherein the first synchronization signal is received from a network node during a first time period ([0096] [0107] Fig. 4-6 - The first SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beams; the first SSB transmission is transmitted during a first subslot of the first slot.);
causing communication with the network node based on the first synchronization signal ([0096] The first SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beam.);
and processing a second synchronization signal on the first beam ([0096] [0107] Fig. 4-6 - The second SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beams; the second SSB transmission is transmitted during a second subslot),
wherein the second synchronization signal is received from the network node during a second time period ([0096] [0107] Fig. 4-6 - The second SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beams; the second SSB transmission is transmitted during a second subslot),
wherein the second time period is at a time interval away from the first time period, wherein the time interval corresponds to completion of synchronization signal transmissions by the network node across a plurality of coverage areas using simultaneously-active and spatially-multiplexed beams ([0042] [0096] Fig. 4-6 - The first and second SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beams; A beam is associated with a plurality of different cells/coverage areas inside a UE),
Berliner does not disclose wherein the first time period and the second time period belong to a transmission cycle,
However, Gao does disclose wherein the first time period and the second time period belong to a transmission cycle ([0164][0193] The first SSB beams and the second SSB beams may be sent simultaneously.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner with wherein the first time period and the second time period belong to a transmission cycle as taught by Gao. The motivation for doing so would be to improve an SSB beam coverage gain of a system. (Gao, [0006])
The combination of Berliner and Gao do not disclose wherein the first time period has a length during which beam coverage is available to the first coverage area, wherein the second time period has a different length during which the beam coverage is available to the first coverage area, and wherein the beam coverage is unavailable to the first coverage area during the time interval.
However, Matsumura does disclose wherein the first time period has a length during which beam coverage is available to the first coverage area ([0086] [0134] When beamforming is applied to a synchronization signal/reference signal to ensure coverage, this enables the signal to reach in a specific direction while making it difficult for the signal to reach in directions other than the specific direction. The transmission duration (time length) of the second SSBs per cycle of the second periodicity may be equal to the transmission duration (time length) of the first SSBs per cycle of the first periodicity.),
wherein the second time period has a different length during which the beam coverage is available to the first coverage area, and wherein the beam coverage is unavailable to the first coverage area during the time interval ([0086] [0129] When beamforming is applied to a synchronization signal/reference signal to ensure coverage, this enables the signal to reach in a specific direction while making it difficult for the signal to reach in directions other than the specific direction. The transmission duration (time length) of the second SSBs per cycle of the second periodicity may be different from the transmission duration (lime length) of the first SSBs per cycle of the first periodicity.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner and Gao with wherein the first time period has a length during which beam coverage is available to the first coverage area, wherein the second time period has a different length during which the beam coverage is available to the first coverage area, and wherein the beam coverage is unavailable to the first coverage area during the time interval as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to improve coverage by taking account of overhead. (Matsumura, [0008])
Berliner, Gao, and Matsumura do not disclose wherein the length of the first time period is based on a type or a class of UEs served in the first coverage area,
However, Zhang does disclose wherein the length of the first time period is based on a type or a class of UEs served in the first coverage area([0055][0084] [0108]The determination of the association between the first RO and the second RO is performed at least according to an SSB. The SSBs consists of a primary synchronization signal/secondary synchronization signal (PSS/SSS) and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) for the UE to synchronize to the DL, obtains the cell ID, and acquires the system information. The lengths of the first period, the second period, and the RO association period are the same. In the RO association period, each SSB is associated with one first type RO at different time point. The first RO is configured for a first type of UEs, the second RO is configured for a second type of UEs. For example, the first type of UEs can be RedCap UEs or coverage enhanced UEs, and the second type of UEs can be legacy UEs.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner and Kim with wherein the length of the first time period is based on a type or a class of UEs served in the first coverage area as taught by Zhang. The motivation for doing so would be to avoid negative effects due to the RO seperation. (Zhang, [0131])
Regarding claim 14, Berliner discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the operations further comprise: processing system information associated with a random access procedure, the system information received, from the network node on the first beam and during the first time period ([0096] [0105] Fig. 4-6 - The first transmissions are received from a base station using spatially separated beams; the base station 105 may receive a RACH occasion message from the UE 115 for the first SSB transmission during a corresponding RACH occasion.).
Regarding claim 15, Berliner discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the operations further comprise: processing a third signal of a different type than the first synchronization signal and the second synchronization signal ([0096] [0107] [0130] Fig. 4-6 - The first transmissions are received from a base station using spatially separated beams; the first SSB transmission is transmitted during a first subslot of the first subslot; The second SSB transmission has a second corresponding RACH occasion in the third slot.),
wherein the third signal is received from the network node on a second beam and during a third time period ([0130] The second SSB transmission has a second corresponding RACH occasion in the third slot.),
and wherein the third time period is between the first time period and the second time period ([0109] [0130] The base station 105 may transmit a third SSB transmission during the first slot; The second SSB transmission has a second corresponding RACH occasion in the third slot. The third SSB transmission has a third corresponding).
Regarding claim 16, Berliner discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the third signal indicates system information with a random access procedure ([0099] [0124] The UE 115 establishes a communication link with base station 105 by conventional operations; The third SSB transmission has a second corresponding RACH occasion in the second slot).
Regarding claim 18, Berliner discloses a method comprising:processing a first synchronization signal on a first beam ([0096] [0107] Fig. 4-6 - The first SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beams; the first SSB transmission is transmitted during a first subslot of the first slot),
wherein the first beam associated with a first coverage area in which a user equipment (UE) is located (Fig.4-6 - A beam is associated with a plurality of different cells/coverage areas inside a UE),
wherein the first synchronization signal is received from a network node during a first time period ([0096] [0107] Fig. 4-6 - The first SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beams; the first SSB transmission is transmitted during a first subslot of the first slot.);
causing communication with the network node based on the first synchronization signal ([0096] The first SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beam);
and processing a second synchronization signal on the first beam ([0096] [0107] Fig. 4-6 - The second SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beams; the second SSB transmission is transmitted during a second subslot),
wherein the second synchronization signal is received from the network node during a second time period, wherein the second time period is at a time interval away from the first time period ([0096] [0107] Fig. 4-6 - The second SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beams; the second SSB transmission is transmitted during a second subslot),
wherein the time interval corresponds to completion of synchronization signal transmissions by the network node across a plurality of coverage areas using simultaneously-active and spatially-multiplexed beams ([0042] [0096] Fig. 4-6 - The first and second SSB transmissions are received from the base station using spatially separated beams; A beam is associated with a plurality of different cells/coverage areas inside a UE),
Berliner does not disclose wherein the first time period and the second time period belong to a transmission cycle,
However, Gao does disclose wherein the first time period and the second time period belong to a transmission cycle ([0164][0193] The first SSB beams and the second SSB beams may be sent simultaneously),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner with wherein the first time period and the second time period belong to a transmission cycle as taught by Gao. The motivation for doing so would be to improve an SSB beam coverage gain of a system. (Gao, [0006])
The combination of Berliner and Gao do not disclose wherein the first time period has a length during which beam coverage is available to the first coverage area, wherein the second time period has a different length during which the beam coverage is available to the first coverage area, and wherein the beam coverage is unavailable to the first coverage area during the time interval.
However, Matsumura does disclose wherein the first time period has a length during which beam coverage is available to the first coverage area ([0086] [0134] When beamforming is applied to a synchronization signal/reference signal to ensure coverage, this enables the signal to reach in a specific direction while making it difficult for the signal to reach in directions other than the specific direction. The transmission duration (time length) of the second SSBs per cycle of the second periodicity may be equal to the transmission duration (time length) of the first SSBs per cycle of the first periodicity.),
wherein the second time period has a different length during which the beam coverage is available to the first coverage area, and wherein the beam coverage is unavailable to the first coverage area during the time interval ([0086] [0129] When beamforming is applied to a synchronization signal/reference signal to ensure coverage, this enables the signal to reach in a specific direction while making it difficult for the signal to reach in directions other than the specific direction. The transmission duration (time length) of the second SSBs per cycle of the second periodicity may be different from the transmission duration (time length) of the first SSBs per cycle of the first periodicity.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner and Gao with wherein the first time period has a length during which beam coverage is available to the first coverage area, wherein the second time period has a different length during which the beam coverage is available to the first coverage area, and wherein the beam coverage is unavailable to the first coverage area during the time interval as taught by Matsumura. The motivation for doing so would be to improve coverage by taking account of overhead. (Matsumura, [0008])
Berliner, Gao, and Matsumura do not disclose wherein the length of the first time period is based on a type or a class of UEs served in the first coverage area,
However, Zhang does disclose wherein the length of the first time period is based on a type or a class of UEs served in the first coverage area([0055][0084] [0108]The determination of the association between the first RO and the second RO is performed at least according to an SSB. The SSBs consists of a primary synchronization signal/secondary synchronization signal (PSS/SSS) and a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) for the UE to synchronize to the DL, obtains the cell ID, and acquires the system information. The lengths of the first period, the second period, and the RO association period are the same. In the RO association period, each SSB is associated with one first type RO at different time point. The first RO is configured for a first type of UEs, the second RO is configured for a second type of UEs. For example, the first type of UEs can be RedCap UEs or coverage enhanced UEs, and the second type of UEs can be legacy UEs.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner, Gao, and Matsumura with wherein the length of the first time period is based on a type or a class of UEs served in the first coverage area as taught by Zhang. The motivation for doing so would be to avoid negative effects due to the RO seperation. (Zhang, [0131])
Claims 17,19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berliner et al., US 20230189175 A1., in view of Gao et al, US 20230138567 A1., in view of Matsumura et al, US 20240284193 A1 as applied to claim 13 above., in further view of Xu et al, US 12114287 B2.
Regarding claim 17, Berliner discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media wherein the third signal indicates ([0099] [0124] The UE 115 establishes a communication link with base station 105 by conventional operations; The third SSB transmission has a second corresponding RACH occasion to the UE.)
The combination of Berliner, Gao, Matsumura, and Zhang do not disclose a paging occasion.
However, Xu does disclose a paging occasion ([113] Paging occasion informs the UE that it has data for the UE.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner and Kim with a paging occasion as taught by Xu. The motivation for doing so would be to provide improved paging indicator signaling for an idle or inactive UE, thereby reducing UE power consumption and signaling overhead. (Xu, column 35, lines 64- 67).
Regarding claim 19, Berliner discloses the method further comprising: causing transmission, to the network node, of a random access message that includes the first coverage area ([0042] [0112] A UE is associated with a plurality of different cells/coverage areas; Fig. 6 - the base station 105 may monitor a first RACH occasion using a first beam).
The combination of Berliner, Gao, Matsumura, and Zhang do not disclose a random access message that includes an identifier of the first coverage area.
However, Xu does disclose a random access message that includes an identifier of the first coverage area ([0114] A new transmission addressed to the cell radio network temporary identifier (CRNTI) of the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner, Gao, Matsumura, and Zhang with a random access message that includes an identifier of the first coverage area as taught by Xu. The motivation for doing so would be to provide improved paging indicator signaling for an idle or inactive UE, thereby reducing UE power consumption and signaling overhead. (Xu, column 35, lines 64-67).
Regarding claim 20, Berliner discloses the method further comprising: operating, during a third time period, wherein the third time period is between the first time period and the second time period ([0109] [0130] The base station 105 may transmit a third SSB transmission during the first slot; The second SSB transmission has a second corresponding RACH occasion in the third slot. The third SSB transmission has a third corresponding.).
The combination of Berliner, Gao, Matsumura, and Zhang do not disclose in a sleep state of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle
However, Xu does disclose in a sleep state of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle ([113] During the IDLE state, the UE enters the sleep mode defined in its discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Berliner with in a sleep state of a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle as taught by Xu. The motivation for doing so would be to provide improved paging indicator signaling for an idle or inactive UE, thereby reducing UE power consumption and signaling overhead. (Xu, column 35, lines 64-67)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419