Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a bracket at each end of the horizontal support member” (claim 10), note this is in addition to the “at least one bracket” in claim 1 as currently claimed. Every claim element must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the limitations “at least one bracket” and how this element differentiates from the other claimed elements, in particular being in along a common plane. The specification and figures indicate “100” (figure 3) as the bracket which is an arrow that points to a conglomeration of elements. The “the at least one bracket” is claimed separately and distinctly from the “horizontal support member”, “retaining member”, and in later claims “end plates” etc. By virtue of being sperate and distinct from theses elements they are not the same, and therefore it is unclear what elements specifically are required by the “at least one bracket” and how these the horizontal support member and the at least one bracket are configured to extend along a common plane.” Further it is unclear if the lateral brace would be a part of the at least one bracket or not. The claims will be examined as best understood, with the bracket comprised of the subcomponents including the horizontal support member, flexible retaining member etc.
Regarding claim 10 the issue of claim 1, above, are further compounded with an additional bracket being claimed. This claim will not be examined under prior art as it is unclear how two brackets would be possible at ends of the horizontal support with the amendments to claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, “the at least one bracket” lacks proper antecedent basis. As explained above it is unclear what element(s) are specifically part of the bracket and therefore what the lateral brace needs to be spaced apart from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wisler (6,422,339) in view of Grant (20060070802).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Wisler discloses a system for forming a scaffolding comprising: at least one bracket securable to a vertical surface of a building; a horizontal support member supported by the at least one bracket (generally shown figure 2; note 112 above), the support member adapted to support a worker support platform (26) on a horizontal support surface (10d) thereof, the horizontal support member and at least one bracket configured to extend along a common plane (plane generally including 10a,b, and d); a lateral brace (10c) extending out of the common plane to the vertical surface of the building at a position spaced apart from the at least one bracket (10c extends the building in fig.1; note that the vertical surface of the building is positively required by the claim), but lacks specifically disclosing a flexible retaining member adapted to pass over a worker support platform supported on the horizontal support member so as to retain the worker support platform on the horizontal support surface.
Grant teaches that it is known in the art to use a flexible retaining member (50) adapted to pass over a worker support platform (46) supported on the horizontal support member (34) so as to retain the worker support platform on the horizontal support surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a flexible retaining member similar to that of Grant in the scaffolding system of Wisler to improve safety by reducing the chances of the support platform falling or slipping of the support member.
Regarding claims 2, Wisler discloses the at least one bracket includes first and second end plates (portion of 10a and outer lip of 10d which will sandwich 26; see fig. 3) with the horizontal support member extending therebetween.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Wisler discloses wherein the horizontal support member has an adjustable length (10d is “horizontally extendable support arm”).
Regarding claims 5-8, Wisler discloses end plates (12 and lip of 10d) with a wall plate (12) having bores (22) for securing to the vertical surface of a building and extending below (see 36 in figure 3) the horizontal member.
Regarding claim 9, Wisler discloses an angular brace (10c).
Regarding claim 13, Grant disclose the strap secored to either end of the horizontal member (see 48 in figure 3).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wisler (6,422,339) in view of Grant (20060070802) in view of Mobbs (3419108).
Regarding claims 14 and 15 Wisler in view of Grant disclose the claimed invention as
described above, but fail to specifically disclose the flexible retaining member comprises straps
extending from each of the end plates secureable to each other with a connector and the
flexible retaining member has an adjustable length.
Mobbs teach that it is known in the art to use adjustable straps with an adjustable buckle (78 and 84; C4 L 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wisler and Grant to include the adjustable strap of Mobbs to increase versatility and allow for a variety of sized and shaped worker support platforms to be easily integrated into the scaffolding system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is also made of record that Garcia (5,799,750) also discloses the newly claimed lateral brace (see 47, figure 3) and could be used similar to Wisler in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J TROY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637