DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 2-26 remain pending in the application. Claim 1 was previously canceled. Applicant's amendments have overcome the objection to the Specification and each and every rejection of the Claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 10 October 2025; however, upon further consideration new rejections are set forth as explained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-13, 15-18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn (US 2020/0114880) in view of Schmidt et al. (US 2018/0272998) and Ostergren (US 2017/0349150).
Regarding claim 2, Hahn discloses a mixing valve to dispense fluid onto a target area of a surface of a vehicle (1, see par. 2), comprising:
the mixing valve (4/5/8/10/11/12, see par. 33) adapted to be fluidly connected to a pressurized fluidic supply system via a fluid distribution system (par. 30; fig. 1) and disposed proximal to the target area (par. 27; fig. 1), the mixing valve including a housing (the mixing valve is housed in a vehicle; see par. 12 – “the channels and nonreturn valves can be implemented as an integrated component”; par. 23 – “arrangement in a vehicle”) with a mixing portion (5/15) having a single conduit extending to an outlet orifice (7, see fig. 1), a first valve conduit (10) having a first inlet (fig. 1), a first check valve (12) disposed in the housing (par. 12 – “nonreturn valves can be implemented as an integrated component”), a first control valve (14) disposed in the housing between the first check valve and the mixing portion (fig. 1), a second valve conduit (8) having a second inlet (fig. 1), and a second check valve (11) disposed in the housing (par. 12 – “nonreturn valves can be implemented as an integrated component”);
wherein the mixing portion is fluidly connected by the single outlet conduit to the outlet orifice (fig. 1), the first valve conduit is fluidly connected to the single conduit (fig. 1), the second valve conduit is fluidly connected to the single conduit (fig. 1), the first control valve is fluidly connected to the first valve conduit (fig. 1), the first check valve is disposed upstream of the first control valve (fig. 1), and the second check valve is disposed in the second valve conduit (fig. 1).
Hahn does not disclose firstly, that the first inlet and the second inlet are both disposed in the housing, secondly, that the mixing valve includes a second control valve in the second conduit fluidly connected to the second valve conduit and disposed within the housing between the second check valve and the mixing portion and downstream of the second check valve, and, thirdly, a heat source disposed within the housing of the mixing portion proximal to the single conduit and the outlet orifice and downstream of the first control valve and the second control valve and in thermal communication with the fluid.
Regarding the first and second deficiencies, Schmidt teaches a device (205) for dispensing fluid onto a target area of a vehicle surface (par. 7; fig. 3), comprising: a mixing valve (235) in communication with a pressurized fluidic supply system via a fluidic distribution system (fig. 3); the mixing valve including a housing (220) with a mixing portion (285/275/245) having a single conduit extending to an outlet orifice (250, see fig. 2), the mixing valve including first valve conduit (270) having a first inlet (290) disposed in the housing (fig. 3) and a second valve conduit (265) having a second inlet (255) disposed in the housing (fig. 3), wherein the first valve conduit (270) includes a first control valve (par. 47 - “an adjustable flow control valve”) disposed in the housing (par. 46; figs. 2, 3 – inherent since the venturi valve 235, conduit 270, and air source 295 are all disposed in the housing), and wherein the second valve conduit (265) includes a second control valve (280) disposed in the housing (fig. 3); and the fluidic distribution system including a first fluidic conduit disposed to convey air (par. 47) and a second fluidic conduit disposed to convey a liquid (par. 48). Schmidt further teaches providing a check valve in the second valve conduit and disposed in the housing to prevent a flow of air into the second fluidic conduit (par. 48; as described this check valve would be arranged between the valve 280 and the mixing valve 235 which would place it in the housing).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hahn to arrange each of the first inlet and the second inlet in the housing, and to include a second control valve in the second conduit fluidly connected to the second valve conduit and also disposed in the housing, as all taught by Schmidt. The former modification would simply rearrange the first and second inlets nearer to the outlet orifice, which would maintain the air and cleaning fluid separate until their point of use and reduce waste. The latter modification was known to allow adjustment of the amount of flow through the second valve conduit (Schmidt, par. 48). Further, it would have been obvious to arrange the second control valve so that it is disposed within the housing between the second check valve and the mixing portion and the second check valve is upstream since this arrangement is consistent with the arrangement of the first control valve and first check valve of Hahn.
Regarding the third deficiency, Ostergren teaches a windshield washing nozzle assembly (400, see par. 28) adapted to be fluidly connected to a pressurized fluidic supply system (300) via a fluid distribution system (306) and disposed proximal to the windshield (fig. 10), the nozzle assembly including a housing (402) having a conduit (406) extending to an outlet orifice (404, see par. 68), a valve conduit (422) having an inlet disposed in the housing (fig. 12), and a check valve (408/412) disposed in the housing (fig. 11), and a heat source (414) disposed within the housing proximal to the conduit and the outlet orifice (fig. 11) and in thermal communication with the fluid (par. 70).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mixing valve of Hahn to further comprise a heat source disposed proximal to the mixing portion and disposed in thermal communication with the fluid, as taught by Ostergren, since this was known to prevent the fluid from freezing (Ostergren, par. 67). Further, the modification of Hahn in view of Ostergren to include a heat source would further dispose the heat source downstream of the first control valve and the second control valve since Ostergren teaches arranging the heat source proximal to the single conduit leading to the outlet orifice, which would result in the heat source being disposed downstream of the first control valve and the second control valve of the mixing valve of Hahn.
Regarding claim 3, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the mixing valve described regarding claim 2, and Schmidt further teaches wherein the mixing portion is configured as a T arrangement of the first valve conduit and the second valve conduit and the single conduit (par. 44; fig. 2 – axes “P1” and “P2” are arranged in the form of a T).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mixing valve of Hahn to configure it as a T arrangement of the first valve conduit and the second valve conduit and the single conduit, as taught by Schmidt, since this was known to form a Venturi effect to pull in the fluid from the second valve conduit (par. 43).
Regarding claim 4, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the mixing valve described regarding claim 2, and further wherein the mixing portion is configured as a Y arrangement of the first valve conduit and the second valve conduit and the single conduit (par. 33; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the mixing valve described regarding claim 2, and Schmidt further teaches wherein the mixing portion is configured as a venturi arrangement of the first valve conduit and the second valve conduit and the single conduit (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mixing valve of Hahn to configure it as a venturi arrangement of the first valve conduit and the second valve conduit and the single conduit, as taught by Schmidt, since this was known to pull in the fluid from the second valve conduit (par. 43).
Regarding claim 6, Hahn discloses a mixing valve (4/5/8/10/11/12, see par. 33) for dispensing fluid onto a target area of a surface of a vehicle (1, see par. 2) comprising:
a housing (the mixing valve is housed in a vehicle; see par. 12 – “the channels and nonreturn valves can be implemented as an integrated component”; par. 23 – “arrangement in a vehicle”) with a mixing portion (5/15) with a single conduit extending to an outlet orifice (7, see fig. 1) disposed proximal to the target area (par. 27; fig. 1);
first (10) and second valve conduits (8) having inlets (both valve conduits will be disposed in the vehicle, see par. 12 - “the channels and nonreturn valves can be implemented as an integrated component”; par. 23 – “arrangement in a vehicle”) and fluidly connected by the single conduit to the outlet orifice (5/15, see fig. 1);
a first control valve (14) and a first check valve (12) disposed in the housing (par. 12 – “nonreturn valves can be implemented as an integrated component”) and in fluid communication with the first valve conduit (fig. 1), wherein the first control valve is disposed downstream of the first check valve (fig. 1);
a second check valve (11) disposed in the housing (par. 12 – “nonreturn valves can be implemented as an integrated component”) in fluid communication with the second valve conduit (fig. 1);
and wherein the first valve conduit receives pressurized air (par. 31), and wherein the second valve conduit receives pressurized fluid (par. 30).
Hahn does not explicitly disclose that the first and second valve conduits have inlets disposed within the housing, or that the mixing valve includes a second control valve in fluid communication with the second valve conduit and disposed downstream of the second check valve, or a heat source disposed in the housing of the mixing portion proximal to the single conduit and the outlet orifice and in thermal communication with the fluid.
Regarding the first and second deficiencies, Schmidt teaches a device (205) for dispensing fluid onto a target area of a vehicle surface (par. 7; fig. 3), comprising: a mixing valve (235) in communication with a pressurized fluidic supply system via a fluidic distribution system (fig. 2); the mixing valve including a housing (240) with a mixing portion (285/275/245) having a single conduit extending to an outlet orifice (250, see fig. 2), the mixing valve including first valve conduit (270) having a first inlet (290) disposed in the housing (fig. 2, 3) and a second valve conduit (265) having a second inlet (255) disposed in the housing (fig. 3), wherein the first valve conduit (270) includes a first control valve (par. 47 - “an adjustable flow control valve”), and wherein the second valve conduit (265) includes a second control valve (280, see fig. 2); and the fluidic distribution system including a first fluidic conduit disposed to convey air (par. 47) and a second fluidic conduit disposed to convey a liquid (par. 48). Schmidt further teaches providing a check valve in the second valve conduit to prevent a flow of air into the second fluidic conduit (par. 48).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hahn to arrange both the first inlet and the second inlet in the housing and to include a second control valve in the second conduit fluidly connected to the second valve conduit, as all taught by Schmidt. The former modification would simply rearrange the first and second inlets nearer to the outlet orifice, which would maintain the air and cleaning fluid separate until their point of use and reduce waste. The latter modification was known to allow adjustment of the amount of flow through the second valve conduit (Schmidt, par. 48). Further, it would have been obvious to arrange the second control valve so that it is disposed within the housing between the second check valve and the mixing portion and the second check valve is upstream since this arrangement is consistent with the arrangement of the first control valve and first check valve of Hahn.
Regarding the third deficiency, Ostergren teaches a windshield washing nozzle assembly (400, see par. 28) adapted to be fluidly connected to a pressurized fluidic supply system (300) via a fluid distribution system (306) and disposed proximal to the windshield (fig. 10), the nozzle assembly including a housing (402) having a conduit (406) extending to an outlet orifice (404, see par. 68), a valve conduit (422) having an inlet disposed in the housing (fig. 12), and a check valve (408/412) disposed in the housing (fig. 11), and a heat source (414) disposed within the housing proximal to the conduit and the outlet orifice (fig. 11) and in thermal communication with the fluid (par. 70).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mixing valve of Hahn to further comprise a heat source disposed proximal to the single conduit and the outlet orifice and disposed in thermal communication with the fluid, as taught by Ostergren, since this was known to prevent the fluid from freezing (Ostergren, par. 67).
Regarding claim 7, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the mixing valve described regarding claim 6, and Schmidt further teaches wherein the mixing portion is configured as a T arrangement of the first valve conduit and the second valve conduit and the single conduit (par. 44; fig. 2 – axes “P1” and “P2” are arranged in the form of a T).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mixing valve of Hahn to configure it as a T arrangement of the first valve conduit and the second valve conduit and the single conduit, as taught by Schmidt, since this was known to form a Venturi effect to pull in the fluid from the second valve conduit (par. 43).
Regarding claim 8, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the mixing valve described regarding claim 6, and further wherein the mixing portion is configured as a Y arrangement of the first valve conduit and the second valve conduit and the single conduit (par. 33; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the mixing valve described regarding claim 6, and Schmidt further teaches wherein the mixing portion is configured as a venturi arrangement of the first valve conduit and the second valve conduit and the single conduit (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mixing valve of Hahn to configure it as a venturi arrangement of the first valve conduit and the second valve conduit and the single conduit, as taught by Schmidt, since this was known to pull in the fluid from the second valve conduit (par. 43).
Regarding claim 10, Hahn discloses an apparatus (1) to dispense fluid onto a target area of a surface of a vehicle (see par. 2, fig. 1) comprising:
a fluidic reservoir (par. 30 – “storage tank”) including a fluidic pump (17) adapted to pump fluid therefrom (par. 30);
a pressure vessel (5, which is duct/tube that conveys a pressurized fluid) fluidly connected to the fluidic reservoir and adapted to receive the pumped fluid (fig. 1);
a compressed air source (18) fluidly connected to the pressure vessel and adapted to provide compressed air to the pressure vessel (fig. 1);
a mixing valve (4/5/8/10/11/12, see par. 33) fluidly connected to the pressure vessel (fig. 1) and disposed proximal to the target area (par. 27; fig. 1), the mixing valve including a housing (the mixing valve is housed in a vehicle; see par. 12 – “the channels and nonreturn valves can be implemented as an integrated component”; par. 23 – “arrangement in a vehicle”) having a mixing portion (5/15) with a single conduit extending to an outlet orifice (7, see fig. 1), a first valve conduit (10) having a first inlet (fig. 1 – inlet to valve 12), a first check valve (12) disposed in the housing (par. 12 – “nonreturn valves can be implemented as an integrated component”), a first control valve (14) disposed in the housing between the first check valve and the mixing portion (fig. 1), a second valve conduit (8) having a second inlet (fig. 1 – inlet to valve 11) and a second check valve (11) disposed in the housing (par. 12 – “nonreturn valves can be implemented as an integrated component”);
wherein the mixing portion is fluidly connected by the single conduit to the outlet orifice (fig. 1), the first valve conduit is fluidly connected to the single conduit (fig. 1), the second valve conduit is fluidly connected to the single conduit (fig. 1), the first control valve is fluidly connected to the first valve conduit (fig. 1), the second control valve is fluidly connected to the second valve conduit (fig. 1), the first check valve is disposed upstream of the first control valve (fig. 1).
Hahn does not disclose firstly, that the first inlet and the second inlet are both disposed in the housing, secondly, that the mixing valve includes a second control valve disposed in the housing between the second check valve and the mixing portion and fluidly connected to the second valve conduit and disposed downstream of the second check valve, or a heat source disposed in the housing of the mixing portion proximal to the single conduit and the outlet orifice and in thermal communication with the fluid.
Regarding the first and second deficiencies, Schmidt teaches a device (205) for dispensing fluid onto a target area of a vehicle surface (par. 7; fig. 3), comprising: a mixing valve (235) in communication with a pressurized fluidic supply system via a fluidic distribution system (fig. 2); the mixing valve including a housing (220) with a mixing portion (285/275/245) having a single conduit extending to an outlet orifice (250, see fig. 2), the mixing valve including first valve conduit (270) having a first inlet (290) disposed in the housing (fig. 2) and a second valve conduit (265) having a second inlet (255) disposed in the housing (fig. 2), wherein the first valve conduit (270) includes a first control valve (par. 47 - “an adjustable flow control valve”) disposed in the housing (par. 46; figs. 2, 3 – inherent since the venturi valve 235, conduit 270, and air source 295 are all disposed in the housing), and wherein the second valve conduit (265) includes a second control valve (280) disposed in the housing (fig. 3); and the fluidic distribution system including a first fluidic conduit disposed to convey air (par. 47) and a second fluidic conduit disposed to convey a liquid (par. 48). Schmidt further teaches providing a check valve in the second valve conduit to prevent a flow of air into the second fluidic conduit (par. 48).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Hahn to arrange both the first inlet and the second inlet in the housing and to include a second control valve in the second conduit fluidly connected to the second valve conduit and also disposed in the housing, as all taught by Schmidt. The former modification would simply rearrange the first and second inlets nearer to the outlet orifice, which would maintain the air and cleaning fluid separate until their point of use and reduce waste. The latter modification was known to allow adjustment of the amount of flow through the second valve conduit (Schmidt, par. 48). Further, it would have been obvious to arrange the second control valve so that it is between the second check valve and the mixing portion and the second check valve is upstream since this arrangement is consistent with the arrangement of the first control valve and first check valve of Hahn.
Regarding the third deficiency, Ostergren teaches a windshield washing nozzle assembly (400, see par. 28) adapted to be fluidly connected to a pressurized fluidic supply system (300) via a fluid distribution system (306) and disposed proximal to the windshield (fig. 10), the nozzle assembly including a housing (402) having a conduit (406) extending to an outlet orifice (404, see par. 68), a valve conduit (422) having an inlet disposed in the housing (fig. 12), and a check valve (408/412) disposed in the housing (fig. 11), and a heat source (414) disposed within the housing proximal to the conduit and the outlet orifice (fig. 11) and in thermal communication with the fluid (par. 70).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mixing valve of Hahn to further comprise a heat source disposed in the housing proximal to the single conduit and the outlet orifice and disposed in thermal communication with the fluid, as taught by Ostergren, since this was known to prevent the fluid from freezing (Ostergren, par. 67).
Regarding claim 11, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 10 and Ostergren further teaches wherein the fluidic reservoir is adapted to be part of a windshield washer system for the vehicle (par. 2).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hahn such that the fluidic reservoir is adapted to be part of a windshield washer system for the vehicle, as taught by Ostergren, since this would enable the fluid contained therein to be used for washing a vehicle windshield in addition to the sensor.
Regarding claim 12, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 10 and further wherein the fluidic reservoir is a stand-alone device that is refilled separately from a windshield washer system for the vehicle (par. 25 – the apparatus is a sensor lens washing system).
Regarding claim 13, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 12 and further wherein the fluidic reservoir includes the fluid that is at least one of a different composition and different concentration from a windshield washer fluid for the vehicle (par. 30 – the fluid is a sensor “cleaning fluid”, not windshield washer fluid).
Regarding claim 15, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 10 and further wherein the compressed air source is a stand-alone air compressor (par. 31 – “a separately associated compressed air generator”).
Regarding claim 16, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 10 and further wherein the compressed air source is a pre-charged, replaceable, pressure cylinder (par. 31 – “compressed air tank”).
Regarding claim 17, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 16 and further wherein the pressure cylinder is pre-charged with air (par. 31).
Regarding claim 18, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 10 and further wherein the fluidic reservoir is part of a vehicle (par. 11), but not explicitly that the fluidic reservoir is a replaceable cylinder that contains the fluid.
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluidic reservoir of Hahn to be replaceable since it is well-known to make components of vehicles replaceable so that in case a component fails the vehicle owner does not need to buy a new or different vehicle. Moreover, it would have been obvious to make the fluidic reservoir a cylinder since it has been held that a change in the shape of the element involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 23, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 10 and Bissonnette further teaches wherein the heat source heats the fluid and air and maintains the temperature until the fluid and air exits a nozzle to be sprayed onto the surface (par. 60).
Claims 14 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn, in view of Schmidt and Ostergren, and further in view of Krause et al. (US 2003/0234031).
Regarding claim 14, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 13, but not wherein the different composition is made of different types of alcohols and the different concentration is made of different concentrations of the alcohols.
Krause teaches an apparatus (fig. 1) to dispense fluid onto a target area of a surface of a vehicle (par. 2) comprising a fluidic reservoir (14) that includes fluid that is a different composition from a windshield washer fluid and is made of alcohol (par. 4).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the different composition to be made of different types of alcohols, as taught by Krause, since these were known to prevent the fluid from freezing (par. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 10, but not wherein the fluidic reservoir comprises multiple cylinders with different fluids that can be used separately.
Krause teaches an apparatus (fig. 1) to dispense fluid onto a target area of a surface of a vehicle (par. 2) comprising multiple fluid reservoirs (12/14) with different fluids (par. 13) that can be used separately (par. 17 – when temperature is above freezing only water is used).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluidic reservoir to comprises multiple reservoirs with different fluids that can be used separately since this was known to provide a fluid that does not freeze and that is more environmentally friendly (par. 4).
Hahn in view of Schmidt, Ostergren, and Krause still does not disclose that the reservoirs are cylinders. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to make the fluidic reservoir a cylinder since it has been held that a change in the shape of the element involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 20, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 10, but not wherein the fluidic reservoir comprises multiple cylinders with different fluids that can be used in combination.
Krause teaches an apparatus (fig. 1) to dispense fluid onto a target area of a surface of a vehicle (par. 2) comprising multiple fluid reservoirs (12/14) with different fluids (par. 13) that can be used in combination (par. 13).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fluidic reservoir to comprises multiple reservoirs with different fluids that can be used in combination since this was known to provide a fluid that does not freeze and that is more environmentally friendly (par. 4).
Hahn in view of Schmidt, Ostergren, and Krause still does not disclose that the reservoirs are cylinders. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to make the fluidic reservoir a cylinder since it has been held that a change in the shape of the element involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 21, Hahn in view of Schmidt, Ostergren, and Krause discloses the apparatus of claim 19, but not further wherein the fluid can be selected manually by an operator of the vehicle. But, Krause does further teach wherein the fluid can be selected automatically by a control (16, see par. 13). Since Krause teaches that the fluid can be automatically selected, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Hahn, in view of Schmidt, Bissonnette, and Krause so that an operator can manually select the fluid. Such a modification would allow the user to control the type of fluid for cleaning the target surface according to his or her own preference instead of being subject to use the fluid that the controller considers to be best.
Regarding claim 22, Hahn in view of Schmidt, Ostergren, and Krause discloses the apparatus of claim 19, and Krause further teaches wherein the fluid can be selected automatically by a control (16, see par. 13).
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn, in view of Schmidt and Ostergren, and further in view of Wachob et al. (US 8,474,123).
Regarding claim 24, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren discloses the apparatus of claim 10, but not further including heated hoses that the fluid and air travel in.
Wachob teaches a heated fluid hose (1, see col. 4, ln. 18-21).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren to further include heated hoses that the fluid and air travel in of Wachob since this would further heat the fluid and air and prevent the temperature of the fluid and air from decreasing in the first and second valve conduits.
Regarding claim 25, Hahn in view of Schmidt, Ostergren, and Wachob discloses the apparatus of claim 24, and further wherein at least a portion of the hoses has an electrically conductive element (2) wound therearound (col. 4, ln. 18-21).
Regarding claim 26, Hahn in view of Schmidt, Ostergren, and Wachob discloses the apparatus of claim 25, and further wherein the electrically conductive element is energized and thermal energy is transferred to the heated hoses and in turn the heated hoses transfer thermal energy to the fluid and air contained therein. This claim is directed to the manner in which the heated hose is used and does not distinguish over the heated hose of Wachob since it is capable of operating in the same manner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the interpretation of the prior art being used in the current rejection. Therefore, Hahn in view of Schmidt and Ostergren is interpreted to render obvious each and every limitation of amended claims 1, 6, and 10, as explained in the new rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752