DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 12, 2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the expansion and contraction" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the expansion of the portion" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the expansion" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the expansion and contraction" in line 9 and “the expansion of the portion” in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the expansion" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robertson (US 5,245,885).
As to claim 1, Robertson discloses a deformable gripper (21,40), as illustrated in Figures 1-5, comprising a base (12), a first inner membrane (25) and a second inner membrane (26) coupled to the base, an outer membrane (42) attached to the base such that the outer membrane is positioned to enclose the first inner membrane and the second inner membrane, and an actuator (28,29) operable to independently expand and contract the first inner membrane and the second inner membrane such that a portion of an outer surface of the outer membrane expands and contracts responsive to the expansion and contraction of at least one of the first inner membrane and the second inner membrane (inflating one of the bladders 25 and 26 to a greater degree than the other. This is illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, where the bladder 26 is inflated to different degrees. – see Figures 3-4 and col. 2, lines 10-14).
With claim 2, an expansion of the portion of the outer membrane is based on at least one of the first inner membrane and the second inner membrane contacting an inner surface of the outer membrane that is associated with the portion.
With claim 6, Robertson discloses the outer membrane, but does not disclose “a pattern embedded” on the outer membrane. However, the embedded pattern is considered ornamentation only and serves no mechanical function. Therefore, it is not considered to be patentably distinct over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robertson (US 5,245,885) in view of Lessing et al (US 10,173,328).
As to claim 12, Robertson discloses a deformable gripper (21,40), as illustrated in Figures 1-5, comprising a base (12), a first inner membrane (25) and a second inner membrane (26) coupled to the base, an outer membrane (42) attached to the base such that the outer membrane is positioned to enclose the first inner membrane and the second inner membrane, and an actuator (28,29) operable to independently expand and contract the first inner membrane and the second inner membrane such that a portion of an outer surface of the outer membrane expands and contracts responsive to the expansion and contraction of at least one of the first inner membrane and the second inner membrane (inflating one of the bladders 25 and 26 to a greater degree than the other. This is illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4, where the bladder 26 is inflated to different degrees. – see Figures 3-4 and col. 2, lines 10-14). An expansion of the portion of the outer membrane is based on at least one of the first inner membrane and the second inner membrane contacting an inner surface of the outer membrane that is associated with the portion. However, Robertson does not show a camera.
Lessing et al teaches a gripper (402a,402b) each having a sensor (406) including a camera (see Figure 4 and col. 8, lines 36-37).
To provide the device of Robertson with a sensor including a camera to the gripper would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teachings of Lessing et al, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, i.e., one skilled in the art would have recognized that the sensor including a camera used in Lessing et al would allow the positioning of the gripper with respect to an object to be grasped.
With claim 14, each of the outer membrane and the first inner membrane and the second inner membrane are independently expandable via a port (see annotated Figure 2 below).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-5,7-11,13, and 15-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arrichiello, Ono, Lessing’992, Curhan, and Seto are cited as being relevant art, because each prior art discloses a deformable gripping comprising a base and a membrane.
STEPHEN VU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3651
/STEPHEN A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651