DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6 and 9 have been cancelled. Claims 7-8, 10 and 13 have been amended. Claims 7-8 and 10-16 are pending.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 11 and 14 , filed 2/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 7 and 13 under § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant argues that none of the prior art references such as OTOMO, KIRALY or any other reference teaches the newly amended claimed limitations, specifically a method for producing a roll of a label web wherein a first tubular core is provided on a first spindle operatively connected to a winding machine, the winding machine is operatively to a second spindle on which a roll of web material is received, and the winding machine stops rotation of the first spindle and moves the second spindle into a winding position at a longitudinal location along a first label web. The Examine agrees that the current prior art references do not teach the newly amended limitations. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nozaka (U.S. 4,543,152), hereinafter NOZAKA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otomo (JP 2014151985A, original and translation provided), hereinafter OTOMO, in view of Nozaka (U.S. 4,543,152), hereinafter NOZAKA, and Kiraly (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0246247), hereinafter KIRALY, as evidenced by Wagner et al. (U.S. 3,236,021), hereinafter WAGNER, and Nahm et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2015/0287347), hereinafter NAHM.
Regarding claim 7, OTOMO teaches: A method for producing a roll of label web (OTOMO teaches a process for winding web rolls [0001].) comprising: providing a tubular core extending along an axis and having first and second ends and a cylindrical outer surface therebetween on a first spindle operatively connected to a winding machine (OTOMO teaches providing a tubular core (20) extending along an axis and having first and second ends and a cylindrical outer surface therebetween [Fig. 1; 0026]. OTOMO teaches the tubular core may be operated in a generally rotary press [0037].); providing a plurality of double-sided releasable adhesive labels (OTOMO teaches a plurality of cushion tapes (30), which the Examiner is interpreting as labels [Fig. 1; 0026].), each of the plurality of the double sided adhesive labels including an adhesive on a first side of each of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels and an adhesive on a second side of each of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels (OTOMO teaches the cushion tapes (30) have an adhesive layer (31, 33) on either side of a cushion layer (32) [Fig. 3; 0029].), each of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels having a sufficient length to extend about an entirety of a circumference of the cylindrical outer surface of the tubular core (OTOMO teaches the cushion tapes (30) is wound around the core body (20) [Fig. 1; 0026-0027; 0036] and FIGURE 1 shows the tape extend about the entirety of a circumference of the outer surface of the core (20).); wrapping each of the plurality of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels circumferentially around the cylindrical outer surface of the tubular core such that the plurality of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels are axially spaced from each other on the cylindrical outer surface of the tubular core between the first and second ends of the tubular core (OTOMO teaches the cushion tapes (30) are circumferentially attached to the outer peripheral surface of the core body (20) [Fig. 1; 0036]. OTOMO teaches the plurality of tapes (30) are axially spaced from each other on the cylindrical outer surface of the core (20) between the first and second ends of the core [Fig. 1; 0036; 0038].) and such that the adhesives on the first sides of the plurality of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels bond the plurality of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels to the outer surface of the tubular core (OTOMO teaches the adhesive layers (31) are attached to the outer peripheral surface of the core (20) [0030].) and the adhesives on the second sides forms of the plurality of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels form corresponding, axially spaced, continuous adhesive layers about the circumference of the outer surface of the tubular core between the first and the second ends of the tubular core (OTOMO teaches the adhesive layers (33) form corresponding, axially spaced, continuous adhesive layers about the circumference of the outer surface of the tubular core between the first and second ends of the tubular core [Fig. 1; 0031; 0038].); . . . , the first label web including a substrate (OTOMO teaches a first web (2) including a substrate [Fig. 2; 0021; 0023-0024].) having a first side . . . , a second side, a leading end and a trailing end (OTOMO teaches the web has a first side, second side, trailing edge and leading edge [Figs. 1-5; 0023-0024; 0031; 0037]); positioning the trailing end of the first label web against the adhesive layers about the circumference of the outer surface of the tubular core at locations along the circumference of the outer surface of the tubular core so as to removable attached the first label web to the tubular core (OTOMO teaches a tip (2a) of the web material may be attached to any position on the outer peripheral surface of the core (10) with the cushion layers attached to the core [Fig. 1; 0036-0037]. OTOMO teaches the web may be removable attached as well as the cushion tape (30) can be removable attached [0030]. It is known in the art that the trailing edge is the innermost end of the wound web to the core of the roll, as evidenced by WAGNER [Col. 8, lines 66-69].); and rotating . . . the tubular core such that all of the plurality of longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels on the second side of the substrate are fully intact and usable (OTOMO teaches winding the first web material (2) around the tubular core (10) [Figs. 1-5; 0031]. The Examiner is interpreting the “such that all of the plurality of longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels on the second side of the substrate are fully intact and usable” clause as an intended result of the method steps positively recited and has not been given patentable weight [see e.g., MPEP 2111.04].); . . . .
OTOMO is silent as to: a tubular core on a first spindle on a winding machine, providing a tubular core extending along an axis and having first and second ends and a cylindrical outer surface therebetween on a first spindle operatively connected to a winding machine, providing a first label web on a second spindle operatively connected to the winding machine, rotating the first spindle with the winding machine such that the first label web unwinds from second spindle and winds about the tubular core, and stopping rotation of the first spindle with the winding machine; moving the second spindle with the winding machine into a winding position at a longitudinal location along the first label web; and cutting the first label web between successive labels such that one of the successive labels defines the first label of the first label web and is adjacent to a leading end of the first label web and the other of the successive labels defines a last label of a second label web adjacent to a trailing end of the second label web.
In the same field of endeavor, winding machines, NOZAKA teaches a tubular core (R1) extending along an axis having a first and second ends [Figs. 1-2; Col. 6, lines 45-46]. NOZAKA teaches a cylindrical outer surface therebetween the two ends [Figs. 1-2] on a first spindle (4) connected to a winding machine (1) [Figs. 1-2; Col. 6, lines 38-45]. NOZAKA teaches support mechanisms (9, 10) control the rotation of the old (R1) and new (R2) web rolls [Figs. 1-2; Col. 6, lines 60-63]. NOZAKA teaches stopping rotation of the first spindle with the winding machine [Col. 10, lines 57-60]. NOZAKA teaches moving the second spindle (R2) into a winding position at a longitudinal location along the first label web [Figs. 6A-6D; Col. 4-15]. NOZAKA teaches cutting an excess length of the old web behind the adhesive region (T) to which it has been attached [Col. 11, lines 1-3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OTOMO, by having a rotary machine with two spindles to switch between spindles, as suggested by NOZAKA, in order without the need for suspending the feeding of the web into the rotary press or the like [Col. 1, lines 10-13].
OTOMO and NOZAKA are silent as to the web including a substrate having a first side with a plurality of longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels removably attached thereto.
In the same field of endeavor, winding, KIRALY teaches a web including a substrate (28) and the substrate has a front side and a back side [Fig. 2; 0018]. KIRALY teaches a longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels (24) are on the substrate [Fig. 2; 0018], as the labels are spaced in a longitudinal direction as evidenced by NAHM [0018]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to substitute the web of OTOMO with the web of KIRALY, in order to mount labels on a core for rapid, mechanized application to products [0002].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otomo (JP 2014151985A, original and translation provided), hereinafter OTOMO, Nozaka (U.S. 4,543,152), hereinafter NOZAKA, and Kiraly (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0246247), hereinafter KIRALY, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Lindberg et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0107859), hereinafter LINDBERG.
Regarding claim 8, OTOMO, NOZAKA and KIRALY teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including: wherein the plurality of longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels are disposed in a longitudinally spaced manner from one another along the first label web (KIRALY teaches the labels are disposed in a longitudinally spaced manner on the web [Fig. 2].), but are silent as to: and, wherein: the first label adjacent the leading end of the first label web and the last label adjacent the trailing end of the second label web are complete.
In the same field of endeavor, rolls, LINDBERG teaches the leading and trailing ends of webs between starting and ending winding onto a core are cut and form a finished wound web roll [0087; 0091; 0106] and shows the labels are still complete [Fig. 7]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OTOMO, NOZAKA and KIRALY, by cutting the leading and trailing edges of the web, as suggested by LINDBERG, in order for the overall winding process to be more efficient [0016].
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otomo (JP 2014151985A, original and translation provided), hereinafter OTOMO, Nozaka (U.S. 4,543,152), hereinafter NOZAKA, and Kiraly (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0246247), hereinafter KIRALY, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Andreasson (WO 2008/097172), hereinafter ANDREASSON.
Regarding claim 10, OTOMO, NOZAKA and KIRALY teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above including wrapping a double-sided adhesive releasable label circumferentially around the cylindrical outer surface of a tubular core [OTOMO: Fig. 1], but are silent as to: wherein the double-sided releasable adhesive label is part of an array of double-sided releasable adhesive labels released from a double-sided releasable adhesive label web, the adhesive on the second side of each double-sided releasable label is covered by a peelable protective covering web in a manner that allows each double-sided releasable adhesive label to be individually selectively uncovered and removed from the double-sided releasable adhesive label and removed from the double-sided releasable adhesive label wrapped circumferentially around the cylindrical outer surface of the tubular core.
In the same field of endeavor, winding rolls, ANDREASSON teaches double-sided releasable adhesive labels (1,1) that are part of an array that are longitudinally spaced [Figs. 1 and 5] that are on a substrate (2) that is a release-paper [pg. 5, lines 34-37]. ANDREASSON teaches the adhesive is covered by a protective sheet (3) [Fig. 1; pg. 6, lines 5-14]. The Examiner is interpreting the covering being peelable “in a manner that allows each double-sided releasable adhesive label to be individually selectively uncovered and removed from the double-sided releasable adhesive label wrapped circumferentially around the cylindrical outer surface of the tubular core” clause as an intended result of the method steps positively recited and has not been given patentable weight [see e.g., MPEP 2111.04]. In the alternative, should patentable weight be required, ANDREASSON teaches that in order to make the release of the protective sheet (3) easier, the protective sheet may have a pull tag (15) in one end [pg. 6, lines 61-21]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OTOMO, NOZAKA and KIRALY, by having the double-sided releasable adhesives provided from a second web with a protective covering, as suggested by ANDREASSON, in order to reduce the standstill time of the process with change of sleeves [pg. 2, lines 1-7].
Regarding claim 11, ANDREASSON further teaches: further comprising peeling the protective web away from the double-sided releasable adhesive label (ANDREASSON teaches the protective sheet (3) is pulled away by a pull tag (15) [pg. 6, lines 16-21]. ANDREASSON teaches multiple attachment units/adhesives (1,1) can be used at the same time, indicating the tags would need to be pulled from all the attachment units [Fig. 5]) prior to positioning the trailing end of the first label web against the adhesive layer about the circumference of the outer surface of the tubular core (ANDREASSON teaches attaching the double-sided releasable adhesive labels (1,1) to leading ends of a new section to a new sleeved intended to receive the new section [pg. 1, lines 11-15; pg. 12, lines 9-12]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OTOMO, NOZAKA and KIRALY, by having the double-sided releasable adhesives provided from a second web with a protective covering and peeling the web, as suggested by ANDREASSON, in order to reduce the standstill time of the process with change of sleeves [pg. 2, lines 1-7].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otomo (JP 2014151985A, original and translation provided), hereinafter OTOMO, Nozaka (U.S. 4,543,152), hereinafter NOZAKA, and Kiraly (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0246247), hereinafter KIRALY, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of OZSOBACI (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0320028).
Regarding claim 12, OTOMO, NOZAKA and KIRALY teach all of the limitations as stated above, but are silent as to: further comprising temporarily affixing the leading end of the first label web to the roll with one or more removable adhesive tabs that are removable without damaging the plurality of longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels of the first label web.
In the same field of endeavor, rolls, OZSOBACI, teaches one or more hold-down tabs or strips (55) are placed to secure the leading edge (75) to the second from the top winding (80) [Fig. 5; 0037]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OTOMO, NOZAKA and KIRALY, by having removable adhesive tabs to affix the leading end to the web roll, as suggested by OZSOBACI, in order to secure the top winding of the new roll of material from premature unwinding [0028].
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otomo (JP 2014151985A, original and translation provided), hereinafter OTOMO, in view of Nozaka (U.S. 4,543,152), hereinafter NOZAKA, Kiraly (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0246247), hereinafter KIRALY, and Lindberg et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0107859), hereinafter LINDBERG, as evidenced by Wagner et al. (U.S. 3,236,021), hereinafter WAGNER, and Nahm et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2015/0287347), hereinafter NAHM.
Regarding claim 13, OTOMO teaches: A method for producing a roll of label web (OTOMO teaches a process for winding web rolls [0001].) comprising: providing a first tubular core on a first spindle operatively connected to a winding machine, the first tubular core extending along an axis and having first and second ends and a cylindrical outer surface therebetween (OTOMO teaches providing a tubular core (20) extending along an axis and having first and second ends and a cylindrical outer surface therebetween [Fig. 1; 0026]. OTOMO teaches the tubular core may be operated in a generally rotary press [0037].); providing a roll having a plurality of double-sided releasable adhesive labels on a substrate (OTOMO teaches a plurality of cushion tapes (30), which the Examiner is interpreting as labels [Fig. 1; 0026].), each of the plurality of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels including an adhesive on a first side of each of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels and an adhesive on a second side of each of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels (OTOMO teaches the cushion tapes (30) have an adhesive layer (31, 33) on either side of a cushion layer (32) [Fig. 3; 0029].), each of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels having a sufficient length to extend about an entirety of the circumference of a cylindrical outer surface of the tubular core (OTOMO teaches the cushion tapes (30) is wound around the core body (20) [Fig. 1; 0026-0027; 0036] and FIGURE 1 shows the tape extend about the entirety of a circumference of the outer surface of the core (20).); wrapping a first portion of the plurality of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels circumferentially around the cylindrical outer surface of the tubular core such that the portion of the plurality of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels are longitudinally spaced from each other on the cylindrical outer surface of the tubular core between the first and second ends long the axis of the tubular core (OTOMO teaches the cushion tapes (30) are circumferentially attached to the outer peripheral surface of the core body (20) [Fig. 1; 0036]. OTOMO teaches the plurality of tapes (30) are longitudinally spaced from each other (spaced along the vertical axis) on the cylindrical outer surface of the core (20) between the first and second ends of the core [Fig. 1; 0036; 0038) and such that the adhesives on the first sides of the first portion of the plurality of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels bond first portion of the plurality of double-sided releasable adhesive labels to the outer surface of the tubular core (OTOMO teaches the adhesive layers (31) are attached to the outer peripheral surface of the core (20) [0030].) and the adhesives on the second sides of the first portion of the plurality of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels form corresponding, axially spaced, continuous adhesive layers about the circumference of the outer surface of the tubular core between the first and second ends of the tubular core (OTOMO teaches the adhesive layers (33) form corresponding, axially spaced, continuous adhesive layers about the circumference of the outer surface of the tubular core between the first and second ends of the tubular core [Fig. 1; 0031; 0038].); . . . ; bringing the tubular core into contact with a lower surface of the label web beneath and opposite a last label of the label web (OTOMO teaches a first web (2) including a substrate [Fig. 2; 0021; 0023-0024] is brought into contact with the core (10) and makes contact with a lower surface of the web [Figs. 2-5; 0037]. OTOMO teaches a tip (2a) of the web material may be attached to any position on the outer peripheral surface of the core (10) with the cushion layers attached to the core [Fig. 1; 0036-0037]. OTOMO teaches the web may be removable attached as well as the cushion tape (30) can be removable attached [0030]. It is known in the art that the trailing edge is the innermost end of the wound web to the core of the roll, as evidenced by WAGNER [Col. 8, lines 66-69].); rotating the first spindle with winding machine such that a length of the label web defines a first label web having a plurality of longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels . . . is wound around the first tubular core (OTOMO teaches the tubular core may be operated in a generally rotary press and is wound on the rotary press [0037].), the lower surface of the first label web removably attaches to the adhesive layers about the circumference of the outer surface of the tubular core, and a first and last label of the first label web are fully intact and usable (OTOMO teaches winding the first web material (2) around the tubular core (10) [Figs. 1-5; 0031]. The Examiner is interpreting the “such that all of the plurality of longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels on the second side of the substrate are fully intact and usable” clause as an intended result of the method steps positively recited and has not been given patentable weight [see e.g., MPEP 2111.04].); and . . . .
OTOMO is silent as to: stopping rotation of the first spindle with the winding machine; moving the second spindle with the winding machine into a winding position at a longitudinal location along the label web, . . . ; removing the first tubular core from the first spindle; positioning a second tubular core on the first spindle; wrapping a second portion of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels circumferentially around the cylindrical outer surface of the second tubular core such that the adhesive on the first sides of the second portions of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels bonds the second portions of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels to the outer surface of the second tubular core and the adhesive on the second sides of the double-sided releasable adhesive labels form continuous adhesive layers about the circumference of the outer surface of the second tubular core; bringing the second tubular core into contact with a lower surface of the trailing end of the second label web; and rotating the first spindle with the winding machine such that the second label web wound around the second tubular core such that the lower surface of the second label web removably attaches to the adhesive layers about the circumferences of the outer surface of the second tubular core and such that a first and last label of the second label web are fully intact and useable; stopping the rotation of the first spindle with the winding machine; moving the second spindle with the winding machine into the winding position at a longitudinal location along the label web; cutting the label web between successive labels such that one of the successive labels defines the first label of the second label web and is adjacent to a leading end of the second label web and the other of the successive labels defines a last label of a third label web adjacent to a trailing end of the third label web; and removing the second tubular core from the first spindle.
In the same field of endeavor, winding machines, NOZAKA teaches a tubular core (R1) extending along an axis having a first and second ends [Figs. 1-2; Col. 6, lines 45-46]. NOZAKA teaches a cylindrical outer surface therebetween the two ends [Figs. 1-2] on a first spindle (4) connected to a winding machine (1) [Figs. 1-2; Col. 6, lines 38-45]. NOZAKA teaches support mechanisms (9, 10) control the rotation of the old (R1) and new (R2) web rolls [Figs. 1-2; Col. 6, lines 60-63]. NOZAKA teaches stopping rotation of the first spindle with the winding machine [Col. 10, lines 57-60]. NOZAKA teaches moving the second spindle (R2) into a winding position at a longitudinal location along the first label web [Figs. 6A-6D; Col. 4-15]. NOZAKA teaches cutting an excess length of the old web behind the adhesive region (T) to which it has been attached [Col. 11, lines 1-3]. NOZAKA teaches the cycle of operation repeats for splicing of successive web rolls and the old cores are replaced with new cores [Col. 11, lines 35-50; Figs. 6A-6D; Col. 16, lines 32-36]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OTOMO, by having a rotary machine with two spindles to switch between spindles, as suggested by NOZAKA, in order without the need for suspending the feeding of the web into the rotary press or the like [Col. 1, lines 10-13].
OTOMO and NOZAKA are silent as to: providing a roll having a plurality of double-sided releasable adhesive labels on a substrate, the web including a substrate having a first side with a plurality of longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels removably attached thereto, cutting the label web between successive labels defines the first label of the first label web is adjacent to a leading end of the first label web and the other of the successive labels define a last label of a second label web adjacent to a trailing end of the second label web, and the label web including a substrate having a first side with a plurality of longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels removable attached thereto, a second side, a leading end and a trailing end.
In the same field of endeavor, winding, KIRALY teaches a web including a substrate (28) and the substrate has a front side and a back side [Fig. 2; 0018]. KIRALY teaches a longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels (24) are on the substrate [Fig. 2; 0018], as the labels are spaced in a longitudinal direction as evidenced by NAHM [0018]. KIRALY teaches a roll having a roll of a plurality of double-sided releasable adhesive labels on a substrate, that has a leading end and trailing end [Fig. 2; 0018]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to substitute the web of OTOMO with the web of KIRALY, in order to mount labels on a core for rapid, mechanized application to products [0002].
OTOMO, NOZAKA and KIRALY are silent as to: cutting the label web between successive labels defines the first label of the first label web is adjacent to a leading end of the first label web and the other of the successive labels define a last label of a second label web adjacent to a trailing end of the second label web. In the same field of endeavor, rolls, LINDBERG teaches the leading and trailing ends of webs between starting and ending winding onto a core are cut and form a finished wound web roll [0087; 0091; 0106] and shows the labels are still complete [Fig. 7]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OTOMO, NOZAKA and KIRALY, by cutting the leading and trailing edges of the web, as suggested by LINDBERG, in order for the overall winding process to be more efficient [0016].
Regarding claim 15, KIRALY further teaches: wherein a plurality of longitudinally spaced adhesive-backed labels are disposed in a longitudinally spaced manner from one another along the first label web (KIRALY teaches the labels are disposed in a longitudinally spaced manner on the web [Fig. 2].).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otomo (JP 2014151985A, original and translation provided), hereinafter OTOMO, Nozaka (U.S. 4,543,152), hereinafter NOZAKA, Kiraly (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0246247), hereinafter KIRALY, and Lindberg et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0107859), hereinafter LINDBERG, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Elsner (U.. 5,555,978), hereinafter ELSNER.
Regarding claim 14, OTOMO, NOZAKA, KIRALY and LINDBERG teach: further comprising temporarily affixing the leading end of the first label web to the roll with a removable adhesive tab that is removable without damaging the first label of the first label web (LINDBERG teaches affixing an adhesive article (30) attached to the surface (14.4) of the web roll (14.1] [0090; 0092; Fig. 1].). LINDBERG further teaches: further comprising temporarily affixing the leading end of the first label web to the roll with one or more removable adhesive tabs that are removable without damaging the first label of the first label web (LINDBERG teaches affixing an adhesive article (30) attached to the surface (14.4) of the web roll (14.1] [0090; 0092; Fig. 1].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OTOMO, NOZAKA and KIRALY, by having an adhesive article (30) attached to the web roll, as suggested by LINDBERG, so that the roll will not be unwound or become loose [0092].
OTOMO, NOZAKA, KIRALY and LINDBERG are silent as to the adhesive article being removable. In the same field of endeavor, rolls, ELSNER teaches a length of web material (14) wound around a cylindrical core (12), wherein a free end (leading end (16)) of the web material is secured to the roll by an adhesive strip (removable adhesive tabs (18)) having a low peel strength adhesive (22) in order to prevent inadvertent unwinding of the free end while facilitating easy removal of the strip from the roll without damaging the web material [Col. 2, lines 7-9; Col. 2, lines 44-62; Co.. 3, lines 15-21]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OTOMO, NOZAKA, KIRALY and LINDBERG, by using an adhesive with a low peel strength, as suggested by ELSNER, in order to secure the roll from unwinding while also facilitating easy removal of the attachment articles without damaging the contents of the web material [Col. 2, lines 7-9; Col. 2, lines 44-62; Co.. 3, lines 15-21].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otomo (JP 2014151985A, original and translation provided), hereinafter OTOMO, Nozaka (U.S. 4,543,152), hereinafter NOZAKA, Kiraly (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0246247), hereinafter KIRALY, and Lindberg et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2016/0107859), hereinafter LINDBERG, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Pappas et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2010/0320307), hereinafter PAPPAS.
Regarding claim 16, OTOMO, KIRALY and LINDBERG teach all of the claimed limitations as stated above, including double-sided releasable adhesive labels (OTOMO: Fig. 1) and webs having labels [KIRALY: Fig. 2], but are silent as to a second tubular and wrapping a double-sided releasable adhesive label around the circumference of the second tubular core. In the same field of endeavor, winding rolls, PAPPAS teaches: wherein the double-sided releasable adhesive label is a first double-sided releasable adhesive label and the tubular core is a first tubular core (PAPPAS teaches the double-sided adhesive core substrate is a first tubular core substrate with the double-sided adhesive attached [0035; Figs. 8A-8Q; 0073]), and further comprising: providing a second tubular core (PAPPAS teaches a second tubular core is provided [Figs. 8A-8Q; 0070]); providing an adhesive on a first side of a second double-sided releasable adhesive label and an adhesive on a second side of the second double-sided releasable adhesive label (PAPPAS teaches the web rolls can be produced in parallel on a single mandrel from core-forming substrate, web, core-forming substrate, web [Figs. 8A-8Q; 0070], indicating that there would a second double-sided adhesive provided [Figs. 5A, 5G; 0035; 0070]), the second double-sided releasable adhesive label having a sufficient length to extend about an entirety of a circumference of a cylindrical outer surface of the second tubular core (PAPPAS teaches the double-sided adhesive has sufficient length to extend about an entirety of a circumference of a cylindrical outer surface of the core-forming substrate [0035; 0047]); wrapping the second double-sided releasable adhesive label circumferentially around the cylindrical outer surface of the second tubular core (PAPPAS teaches a core-forming substrate (524) is wrapped around a mandrel (806) and forms a core [0067; Figs. 8F-8P].) such that the adhesive on the first side of the second double-sided releasable adhesive label bonds the second double-sided releasable adhesive label to the outer surface of the tubular core and the adhesive on the second side forms a continuous adhesive layer about the circumference of the outer surface of the second tubular core (PAPPAS teaches core-forming substrate (524) has open adhesive (526O) on surface (520) and open adhesive (528O) on surface (522) (double-sided adhesive). Non-adhesive liner (534) is disposed on open adhesive (526O) between reference line 553 and reference line 559. [0047]. PAPPAS teaches the length of the non-adhesive liner (534) is approximately equal to the circumference of bare mandrel (506) so that the first wrap of the in-line core does not have exposed adhesive on the inner diameter and the first side of the double-sided releasable adhesive (526O) would bond to the outer surface of the tubular core (534) and the adhesive on the second side (528O) forms a continuous adhesive layer about the circumference of the outer surface of the tubular core (534) [Fig. 5G; 0047].); bringing the second tubular core into contact with a lower surface of the trailing end of the second label web (PAPPAS teaches positioning an edge of the web onto a trailing edge of the core-forming substrate (524) and is wound onto the core-forming substrate [Figs. 8J-8Q; 0069]); and attaching the trailing end of the second label web to the second tubular core prior to winding using the adhesive layer about the circumference of the outer surface of the second tubular core (PAPPAS teaches the web is attached to the core prior to winding [0022; 0026; 0062]) to form a removable adhesive bond between the second tubular core and an underside of the substrate of the second label web in such a manner that the trailing end of the second label web is secured to the second tubular core can pull free from the second tubular core for printing of the last label on the first label web (PAPPAS teaches winding the web (514) about the core-forming substrate (524) [Figs. 8P-8Q; 0068-0069]. The Examiner is interpreting the limitations after “in such a manner that” clause as an intended result of the method steps positively recited and has not been given patentable weight [see e.g., MPEP 2111.04].). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify OTOMO, NOZAKA, KIRALY and LINDBERG, by having a second tubular core and circumferentially wrapping a double-sided releasable adhesive label around the core, as suggested by PAPPAS, in order to wind the substrate and start a new in-line web [0069] and produce multiple web rolls in parallel [0070].
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748