DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first and second channels extend[ing] into the body…along first and second longitudinal axes”; “first and second internal ends”; “wherein the first and second channels partially merge”; and “first and second diameters of the first and second channels…taper along the first and second longitudinal axes” (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). In claim 8, “the intersection of the longitudinal axes” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract describes a method, while the claims of the instant application are directed to a device. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: at paragraph [0034], a grammatical error appears in the first sentence with “...the interior surfaces 26 the channels 18 are textured…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: in claim 4, “one-piece” should apparently read --one piece--; or --a one-piece construction--; and in claim 13, “an block shape” should apparently read –a block shape--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 at line 2 recites the limitation "the intersection". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 at line 1 recites the limitation "the first and second axes tending toward each other". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamin (U.S. Patent No. 10,258,537) in view of Wright, Jr. (U.S. Patent No. 9,486,388). Regarding claims 1, 11 and 12, Lamin discloses a mutual sexual stimulation device for receiving and aligning first and second undersides of first and second male genitalia, the mutual sexual stimulation device comprising: a body including first and second openings 114,118 on a front face (Figs. 2-4 and col. 3, lines 39-50), wherein first and second channels extend into the body from the first and second openings, respectively, along first and second longitudinal axes, respectively, toward first and second internal ends, respectively (Figs. 2 and 4); and wherein the first and second channels partially merge to form a chamber (at element 120) adjacent to the first and second internal ends, respectively (Figs. 2 and 4). However, Lamin fails to disclose wherein first and second diameters of the first and second channels, respectively, taper along the first and second longitudinal axes, respectively, toward the chamber to increase compressive forces on the first and second male genitalia. Wright, Jr. discloses a masturbatory stimulator apparatus (see Abstract and Figs. 3-4B), as likewise disclosed by Lamin, wherein the apparatus comprises multiple channels, wherein each channel may provide a variety of textures, diameters and mechanical features to provide different sensations and pressures to a user (col. 6, lines 44-55 and col. 7, lines 9-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a channel for providing pressure and massage to a male user as taught by Lamin, with a varying diameter, as suggested by Wright, Jr., as Lamin recognizes the use of a channel which provides grippability to the male organ and Wright, Jr. discloses that a channel with varying diameters increases pressures/sensations to the male organ. While Lamin and Wright, Jr. fail to disclose explicitly that the varying diameter of each channel tapers, Lamin and Wright make such obvious as Lamin and Wright, Jr. recognize the use of their respective devices for male masturbation, and Wright, Jr. discloses that a smaller diameter channel of the masturbatory device would emulate a human lumen with a smaller passageway, such as the anus (col. 7, lines 2-8), creating a greater pressure/friction and/or pleasure to the male organ and the glans.
Regarding claim 2, while Lamin teaches that the body is made of a soft, flesh-like material designed to mimic genital flesh consistency (col. 1, lines 60-67 – col. 2, lines 1-26), Lamin fails to disclose explicitly that the material is a thermoplastic elastomer. Wright, Jr. teaches that the channels may be constructed of a variety of materials, such as thermoplastic elastomers, to facilitate sliding of the male organ through the channel(s) (col. 5, lines 1-7 and col. 6, lines 3-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a channel for mimicking the genital flesh consistency as taught by Lamin, of a thermoplastic elastomer as suggested by Wright, Jr., as Lamin suggests the need of a material which is soft and flesh-like, and Wright, Jr. discloses that thermoplastic elastomers are soft substances which allow the male organ to slide easily through the channel(s) (col. 5, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 3, while Lamin teaches that the body is made of a soft, flesh-like material designed to mimic genital flesh consistency (col. 1, lines 60-67 – col. 2, lines 1-26), Lamin fails to disclose explicitly that the material is silicone. Wright, Jr. teaches that the channels may be constructed of a variety of materials, such as silicone, to facilitate sliding of the male organ through the channel(s) (col. 5, lines 1-7 and col. 6, lines 3-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a channel for mimicking the genital flesh consistency as taught by Lamin, of silicone as suggested by Wright, Jr., as Lamin suggests the need of a material which is soft and flesh-like, and Wright, Jr. discloses that medical grade silicone is one of a variety of soft substances which allow the male organ to slide easily through the channel(s) (col. 5, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 4, the body is one-piece (element 120 of Fig. 4; and col. 3, lines 39-54 of Lamin).
Regarding claim 5, the device further includes an outer sleeve 124 surrounding a portion of the body (Fig. 3 and col. 3, lines 55-60 of Lamin).
Regarding claim 6, the body comprises a first material (soft, flesh-like material) and the outer sleeve 124 comprises a second material (pliable rubber) that is more rigid than the first material “to provide stability and grippability and during use” (col. 3, lines 39-60 of Lamin).
Regarding claim 7, while Lamin teaches that the body is made of a “first material” of soft, flesh-like material designed to mimic genital flesh consistency (col. 1, lines 60-67 – col. 2, lines 1-26), Lamin fails to disclose explicitly that the material is silicone. Wright, Jr. teaches that the channels may be constructed of a variety of materials, such as silicone, to facilitate sliding of the male organ through the channel(s) (col. 5, lines 1-7 and col. 6, lines 3-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a channel of a body for mimicking the genital flesh consistency as taught by Lamin, of silicone as suggested by Wright, Jr., as Lamin suggests the need of a material which is soft and flesh-like, and Wright, Jr. discloses that medical grade silicone is one of a variety of soft substances which allow the male organ to slide easily through the channel(s) (col. 5, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 8, while Lamin teaches an angle formed between the first and second longitudinal axes by the intersection of the longitudinal axes (see Figs. 1, 2 and 4), Lamin fails to disclose explicitly that the angle is between 5 and 15 degrees. However, the courts have shown that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05 11(A)). Therefore to discover the optimum angle between the two openings and/or channels would have been obvious to one skilled in the art. Lamin further makes such obvious as Lamin recognizes that the device can be constructed with different angles to accommodate use by one, two or three users (col. 3, lines 55-67) and the device can be manufactured to provide for a wide variety of sizes, shapes and applications (col. 4, lines 21-31).
Regarding claim 9, while Lamin teaches that the inner channels/chamber of the body provide stimulation to the user(s), Lamin fails to disclose explicitly that an inner surface of the chamber includes surface texture. Wright, Jr. discloses a masturbatory stimulator apparatus (see Abstract and Figs. 3-4B), as likewise disclosed by Lamin, wherein the apparatus comprises multiple channels, wherein each channel may provide a variety of textures, diameters and mechanical features to provide different sensations and pressures to a user (col. 6, lines 44-55 and col. 7, lines 9-25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct a channel/chamber for providing pressure and massage to a male user or users as taught by Lamin, with a variety of textures or mechanical features, as suggested by Wright, Jr., as Lamin recognizes the use of a channel/chamber which provides stimulation to the male organ and Wright, Jr. discloses that a channel/chamber with various textures increases sensations/pressures to the male organ.
Regarding claim 10, the device further includes a third opening (“third orifice”) at a second end of the chamber (Fig. 2 and col. 3, lines 61-67 of Lamin).
Regarding claim 13, Lamin discloses a generally “block shape” as Lamin teaches that the body may have I-shape (col. 3, lines 55-60) with first and second opposing flat surfaces (as shown in Figs. 2-4) to facilitate one-handed operation for a user (col. 3, lines 55-60).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,383,788. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and those of the patent disclose a mutual sexual stimulation device for receiving and aligning first and second undersides of first and second male genitalia, the mutual sexual stimulation device comprising: a body including first and second openings on a front face, wherein first and second channels extend into the body from the first and second openings, respectively, along first and second longitudinal axes, respectively, toward first and second internal ends, respectively; wherein the first and second channels partially merge to form a chamber adjacent to the first and second internal ends, respectively; and wherein first and second diameters of the first and second channels, respectively, taper along the first and second longitudinal axes, respectively, toward the chamber to increase compressive forces on the first and second male genitalia.
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,382,826. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and those of the patent disclose a mutual sexual stimulation device for receiving and aligning first and second undersides of first and second male genitalia, the mutual sexual stimulation device comprising: a body including first and second openings on a front face, wherein first and second channels extend into the body from the first and second openings, respectively, along first and second longitudinal axes, respectively, toward first and second internal ends, respectively; wherein the first and second channels partially merge to form a chamber adjacent to the first and second internal ends, respectively; and wherein first and second diameters of the first and second channels, respectively, taper along the first and second longitudinal axes, respectively, toward the chamber to increase compressive forces on the first and second male genitalia.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791