DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species:
Species A: Fig(s) 3 - thrust reverser with stabilizer 15
Species B: Fig(s) 4 - thrust reverser with central curved longitudinal section 18
Species C: Fig(s) 5 - thrust reverser with curved section along entire length
Species D: Fig(s) 7 - nacelle mast mounting
Sub-species of Damping
Sub-Species aa: Fig(s) 6A – U-shaped spring
Sub-Species bb: Fig(s) 6B – elastomer washers
Applicant is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 to elect a single disclosed Species (A-D) and a single compatible Sub-Species (aa-bb), or a single grouping of patentably indistinct species, for prosecution on the merits to which the claims shall be restricted if no generic claim is finally held to be allowable. Currently, claim(s) 1 appears generic.
There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above because at least the following reason(s) apply: the divergence in structure between the species would lead to divergent search areas and search terms as well as divergent references would need to be utilized to handle the divergence in structures.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species, including any claims subsequently added. An argument that a claim is allowable or that all claims are generic is considered nonresponsive unless accompanied by an election.
The election may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the election of species requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected species or grouping of patentably indistinct species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the species, or groupings of patentably indistinct species from which election is required, are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing them to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the species unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other species.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/05/2025. These drawings are entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franer et al (2017/0107943) in view of Vauchel et al (2013/0062434) and optionally any of Binks et al (2014/0027537), Eckett et al (9,915,225), and Moniz et al (2008/0112801). Franer et al teach A connecting rod 114 for a nacelle of an aircraft turbine engine, the aircraft turbine engine capable of producing an air flow for generating thrust, the connecting rod 114 comprising: a rod body including a first articulation configured to be pivotally connectable to a blocking flap 110 [Fig. 4, blocks the duct], a second articulation configured to be pivotally connectable to an inner fixed structure 118 of the nacelle, and a region comprising means [bent portion of 114] for moving a center of aerodynamic forces that are exerted on the connecting rod in a direction of the air flow, said region being located where the air flow is laminar [not given significant weight – note that the air flow is inherently laminar in the bypass duct when the airplane is on the ground, e.g. at startup or prior to takeoff, (laminar flow is a function of flow speed and as the flow speed in the bypass duct is relatively low and thus will be laminar – alternately with the engine off, any airflow in the bypass duct, e.g. by the wind is inherently laminar as the flow speed is close to zero]; wherein the rod body further comprises a leading edge [of a portion of rod being outside or inside bent portion] facing the thrust, wherein said region is in the form of a stabilizer [bent portion extends downstream] integral with a surface of the connecting rod, the stabilizer extending in a direction [downstream] opposite to said leading edge;(14) wherein the airflow is a secondary air flow [fan flow in 56] of the aircraft turbine engine;
(10) A nacelle for an aircraft turbine engine, the aircraft turbine engine producing a primary airflow [core engine flow within 18 – see Fig. 1] and a secondary airflow [fan flow in 56] that together produce a thrust, the nacelle comprising: a cascade thrust reverser 110 including a connecting rod 114, a stabilizer [bent portion] and a rod [portion of 114 near bent portion], wherein the connecting rod [outside or inside bent portion] further comprises a leading edge facing the secondary airflow, and a trailing surface [downstream bent portion] that is opposite the leading edge, and wherein the stabilizer is coupled to the trailing surface via the rod 114;Franer does not teach the second articulation having a ball joint / having a ball joint at one end nor damping means capable of reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine, wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint inside a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; wherein the bracket supports the second articulation of the rod body nor wherein {clm. 10 the cascade thrust reverser further includes} damping means for reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine; … wherein the connecting rod includes a ball joint, and wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint { clm. 10 of the connecting rod} inside a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; and wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod. Vauchel et al ‘434 teach the second articulation having a ball joint [Figs. 7, 8] and damping means capable of reducing oscillations of the connecting rod 15 when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine, wherein { the cascade 14 thrust reverser further includes} the damping means [Figs. 6-8] comprise a U-shaped spring 17 with tabs [e.g. sides 39a, 39b – see Fig. 6], the U-shaped spring 17 configured to surround the ball joint [circa leadline of 43 in Figs. 7, 8, note spring 17 surrounds ball (and pin 43—see Figs. 7, 8 and compare with Fig. 6] inside a bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19; see also ] associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; wherein the bracket supports the second articulation of the rod body [see Figs. 3, 4, 6-8 and annotations of Fig. 7, 8 and note in Fig. 8, the thus the force of the link 15 is born through 35a and the bracket; similarly in Fig. 7, the force of the link is born through the spring and then to the bracket] and damping means [Figs. 6-8] for reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine; an inner fixed structure, wherein the connecting rod includes a ball joint [circa leadline of 43 in Figs. 7, 8], and wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring 17 with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint {of the connecting rod} inside a bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19] associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; wherein the bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19] supports the connecting rod 15; wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod 15 [e.g. Figs. 3, 4, 6-8 and annotations of Fig. 7, 8 and note in Fig. 8, the thus the force of the link 15 is born through 35a and the bracket; similarly in Fig. 7, the force of the link is born through the spring and then to the bracket]. Vauchel et al ‘434 teaches the system is effective to “compensate for the allowance gaps and structural deformations when the flaps are in the ‘direct jet’ position, while allowing the link rods to provide sufficient pressure on those flaps in that position” [paragraph 0007]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the damping means/ U-shaped spring surround the ball joint of the foot {of the connecting rod}inside a bracket, wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod, wherein the bracket supports the second articulation of the rod body, as taught by Vauchel et al ‘434, in order to damp the forces experienced by drag link / connecting rod so as to reduce fatigue failure and/or compensate for the allowance gaps and structural deformations. Franer et al is inherently operable where said region being located where the flow is laminar. Alternately, Binks et al teach the bypass duct is configured to be a region where the flow is laminar [paragraph 0002] as conventional conditions in the bypass duct, as well as teach an analogous connecting rod in the bypass duct for a cascade thrust reverser. Eckett et al teach it is well known in the art to configure the bypass duct as a region where the flow is laminar [col. 8, lines 5-28, dashed lines in Fig. 3] in order to enhance propulsive efficiency and aerodynamic performance for the nacelle of the thrust reverser. Moniz teach it is well known for the bypass duct as a region where the flow is laminar [see paragraph 0016] to prevent disruption to the flow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the bypass duct as well the claimed region, to be a region where the flow is laminar, as taught by any of Binks et al, Eckett et al and Moniz et al, in order to utilize the conventional conditions in the bypass duct or to enhance propulsive efficiency and aerodynamic performance.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vauchel et al (2012/0006000) in view of Vauchel et al (2013/0062434) and optionally any of Binks et al (2014/0027537), Eckett et al (9,915,225), and Moniz et al (2008/0112801). Vauchel et al ‘000 teach A connecting rod 37, 33 for a nacelle of an aircraft turbine engine, the aircraft turbine engine capable of producing an air flow for generating thrust, the connecting rod comprising: a rod body 33 including a first articulation 35 configured to be pivotally connectable to a blocking flap, a second articulation 38 configured to be pivotally connectable to an inner fixed structure 9 of the nacelle, and a region 33 comprising means for moving a center of aerodynamic forces that are exerted on the connecting rod in a direction of the air flow [outer portion of 33 is swept back from the bottom portion 37 and thus moves the center of aerodynamic forces in the downstream direction compared to a straight rod extending from 33 and pivoting solely at 39a – similarly to the admitted prior art], said region being located where the air flow is laminar [not given significant weight – note that the air flow is inherently laminar in the bypass duct when the airplane is rolling on the ground, e.g. at startup or prior to takeoff, (laminar flow is a function of flow speed and as the flow speed in the bypass duct is relatively low and thus will be laminar – alternately with the engine off, any airflow in the bypass duct, e.g. by the wind is inherently laminar as the flow speed is close to zero]; wherein the rod body further comprises a leading edge facing the thrust, wherein said region is in the form of a stabilizer [swept back region] integral with a surface of the connecting rod, the stabilizer extending in a direction opposite to said leading edge; (14) wherein the airflow is a secondary air flow of the aircraft turbine engine [see paragraph 0004] A cascade 15 [deflection grids] thrust reverser of a nacelle, comprising a connecting rod 33, 37 according to claim 1, the connecting rod being intended to be fixed on an internal structure 9 of the nacelle.Vauchel et al ‘000 [see annotations] teach A nacelle for an aircraft turbine engine, the aircraft turbine engine producing a primary airflow and a secondary airflow that together produce a thrust [paragraph 0004], the nacelle comprising: a cascade 15 [deflection grids] thrust reverser including a connecting rod 33, a stabilizer 38 and a rod member 37, wherein the connecting rod 33 further comprises a leading edge facing the secondary airflow, and a trailing surface that is opposite the leading edge, and wherein the stabilizer is coupled [at least broadly] to the trailing surface via the rod member.
Vauchel et al ‘000 do not teach the second articulation having a ball joint / having a ball joint at one end nor damping means capable of reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine, wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint inside a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle nor wherein {clm. 10 the cascade thrust reverser further includes} damping means for reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine; … wherein the connecting rod includes a ball joint, and wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint { clm. 10 of the connecting rod} inside a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; and wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod. Vauchel et al ‘434 teach the second articulation having a ball joint [Figs. 7, 8] and damping means capable of reducing oscillations of the connecting rod 15 when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine, wherein { the cascade 14 thrust reverser further includes} the damping means [Figs. 6-8] comprise a U-shaped spring 17 with tabs [e.g. sides 39a, 39b – see Fig. 6], the U-shaped spring 17 configured to surround the ball joint [circa leadline of 43 in Figs. 7, 8, note spring 17 surrounds ball (and pin 43—see Figs. 7, 8 and compare with Fig. 6] inside a bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19; see also ] associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; wherein the bracket supports the second articulation of the rod body [see Figs. 3, 4, 6-8 and annotations of Fig. 7, 8 and note in Fig. 8, the thus the force of the link 15 is born through 35a and the bracket; similarly in Fig. 7, the force of the link is born through the spring and then to the bracket] and damping means [Figs. 6-8] for reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine; an inner fixed structure, wherein the connecting rod includes a ball joint [circa leadline of 43 in Figs. 7, 8], and wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring 17 with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint {of the connecting rod} inside a bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19] associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; wherein the bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19] supports the connecting rod 15; wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod 15 [e.g. Figs. 3, 4, 6-8 and annotations of Fig. 7, 8 and note in Fig. 8, the thus the force of the link 15 is born through 35a and the bracket; similarly in Fig. 7, the force of the link is born through the spring and then to the bracket]. Vauchel et al ‘434 teaches the system is effective to “compensate for the allowance gaps and structural deformations when the flaps are in the ‘direct jet’ position, while allowing the link rods to provide sufficient pressure on those flaps in that position” [paragraph 0007]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the damping means/ U-shaped spring surround the ball joint of the foot {of the connecting rod}inside a bracket, wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod, wherein the bracket supports the second articulation of the rod body, as taught by Vauchel et al ‘434, in order to damp the forces experienced by drag link / connecting rod so as to reduce fatigue failure and/or compensate for the allowance gaps and structural deformations.
Vauchel et al ‘000 teach said region being located in the bypass duct which is inherently operable where the flow is laminar [e.g. at low speeds] but do not explicitly state said region being located where the flow is laminar. Binks et al teach the bypass duct is configured to be a region where the flow is laminar [paragraph 0002] as conventional conditions in the bypass duct, as well as teach an analogous connecting rod in the bypass duct for a cascade thrust reverser. Eckett et al teach it is well known in the art to configure the bypass duct as a region where the flow is laminar [col. 8, lines 5-28, dashed lines in Fig. 3] in order to enhance propulsive efficiency and aerodynamic performance for the nacelle of the thrust reverser. Moniz teach it is well known for the bypass duct as a region where the flow is laminar [see paragraph 0016] to prevent disruption to the flow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the bypass duct as well the claimed region, to be a region where the flow is laminar, as taught by any of Binks et al, Eckett et al and Moniz et al, in order to utilize the conventional conditions in the bypass duct or to enhance propulsive efficiency and aerodynamic performance.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crawford (2017/0226962) in view of Vauchel et al (2013/0062434) and optionally any of Binks et al (2014/0027537), Eckett et al (9,915,225), and Moniz et al (2008/0112801). Crawford teaches A connecting rod 74 for a nacelle of an aircraft turbine engine, the aircraft turbine engine capable of producing an air flow for generating thrust, the connecting rod 74 comprising: a rod body 74 including a first articulation 76 configured to be pivotally connectable to a blocking flap, a second articulation configured to be pivotally connectable to an inner fixed structure 26 of the nacelle, the second articulation having a joint, and a region comprising means [bent region] for moving a center of aerodynamic forces that are exerted on the connecting rod in a direction of the air flow, said region being located where the air flow is laminar; wherein the rod body further comprises a leading edge facing the thrust, wherein said region is in the form of a stabilizer integral with a surface of the connecting rod, the stabilizer [outer bent back portion] extending in a direction opposite to said leading edge;(14) wherein the airflow is a secondary air flow of the aircraft turbine engine; (8) A cascade 60, 78 thrust reverser of a nacelle, comprising a connecting rod according to Claim 1, the connecting rod being intended to be fixed on an internal structure 26 of the nacelle; Crawford et al do not teach the second articulation having a ball joint / having a ball joint at one end nor damping means capable of reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine, wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint inside a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle nor wherein {clm. 10 the cascade thrust reverser further includes} damping means for reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine; … wherein the connecting rod includes a ball joint, and wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint { clm. 10 of the connecting rod} inside a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; and wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod. Vauchel et al ‘434 teach the second articulation having a ball joint [Figs. 7, 8] and damping means capable of reducing oscillations of the connecting rod 15 when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine, wherein { the cascade 14 thrust reverser further includes} the damping means [Figs. 6-8] comprise a U-shaped spring 17 with tabs [e.g. sides 39a, 39b – see Fig. 6], the U-shaped spring 17 configured to surround the ball joint [circa leadline of 43 in Figs. 7, 8, note spring 17 surrounds ball (and pin 43—see Figs. 7, 8 and compare with Fig. 6] inside a bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19; see also ] associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; wherein the bracket supports the second articulation of the rod body [see Figs. 3, 4, 6-8 and annotations of Fig. 7, 8 and note in Fig. 8, the thus the force of the link 15 is born through 35a and the bracket; similarly in Fig. 7, the force of the link is born through the spring and then to the bracket] and damping means [Figs. 6-8] for reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine; an inner fixed structure, wherein the connecting rod includes a ball joint [circa leadline of 43 in Figs. 7, 8], and wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring 17 with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint {of the connecting rod} inside a bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19] associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; wherein the bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19] supports the connecting rod 15; wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod 15 [e.g. Figs. 3, 4, 6-8 and annotations of Fig. 7, 8 and note in Fig. 8, the thus the force of the link 15 is born through 35a and the bracket; similarly in Fig. 7, the force of the link is born through the spring and then to the bracket]. Vauchel et al ‘434 teaches the system is effective to “compensate for the allowance gaps and structural deformations when the flaps are in the ‘direct jet’ position, while allowing the link rods to provide sufficient pressure on those flaps in that position” [paragraph 0007]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the damping means/ U-shaped spring surround the ball joint of the foot {of the connecting rod}inside a bracket, wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod, wherein the bracket supports the second articulation of the rod body, as taught by Vauchel et al ‘434, in order to damp the forces experienced by drag link / connecting rod so as to reduce fatigue failure and/or compensate for the allowance gaps and structural deformations. .
Crawford et al is inherently operable where said region being located where the flow is laminar. Alternately, Binks et al teach the bypass duct is configured to be a region where the flow is laminar [paragraph 0002] as conventional conditions in the bypass duct, as well as teach an analogous connecting rod in the bypass duct for a cascade thrust reverser. Eckett et al teach it is well known in the art to configure the bypass duct as a region where the flow is laminar [col. 8, lines 5-28, dashed lines in Fig. 3] in order to enhance propulsive efficiency and aerodynamic performance for the nacelle of the thrust reverser. Moniz teach it is well known for the bypass duct as a region where the flow is laminar [see paragraph 0016] to prevent disruption to the flow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the bypass duct as well the claimed region, to be a region where the flow is laminar, as taught by any of Binks et al, Eckett et al and Moniz et al, in order to utilize the conventional conditions in the bypass duct or to enhance propulsive efficiency and aerodynamic performance.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawyers-Abbott et al (201/50016965) in view of in view of Vauchel et al (2013/0062434) and optionally any of Binks et al (2014/0027537), Eckett et al (9,915,225), and Moniz et al (2008/0112801). Sawyers-Abbott et al teach A connecting rod 46 for a nacelle of an aircraft turbine engine, the aircraft turbine engine capable of producing an air flow for generating thrust, the connecting rod 46 comprising: a rod body including a first articulation 56 configured to be pivotally connectable to a blocking flap 44, a second articulation 58 configured to be pivotally connectable to an inner fixed structure of the nacelle 54, the second articulation having a ball joint, and a region comprising means 48 for moving a center of aerodynamic forces that are exerted on the connecting rod in a direction of the air flow, said region being located where the air flow is laminar [not given significant weight – note that the air flow is inherently laminar in the bypass duct when the airplane is rolling on the ground, e.g. at startup or prior to takeoff, (laminar flow is a function of flow speed and as the flow speed in the bypass duct is relatively low and thus will be laminar – alternately with the engine off, any airflow in the bypass duct, e.g. by the wind is inherently laminar as the flow speed is close to zero]; wherein the rod body further comprises a leading edge [left side] facing the thrust, wherein said region is in the form of a stabilizer 48 integral with a surface of the connecting rod, the stabilizer extending in a direction opposite to said leading edge;
damping means 80, 66 capable of reducing the oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine [paragraph 0035]; (14) wherein the airflow is a secondary air flow [‘A’ -Fig. 1] of the aircraft turbine engine; A cascade thrust reverser 52 of a nacelle, comprising a connecting rod 46 according to claim 1, the connecting rod 46 being intended to be fixed on an internal structure 54 of the nacelle.(10) A nacelle for an aircraft turbine engine, the aircraft turbine engine producing a primary airflow [within core engine 30] and a secondary airflow [A -Fig. 1] that together produce a thrust, the nacelle comprising: a cascade thrust reverser 52 including a connecting rod [e.g. 46 or most of 60], a stabilizer 48 and a rod member [e.g. portion of 60], wherein the connecting rod further comprises a leading edge facing the secondary airflow, and a trailing surface that is opposite the leading edge, and wherein the stabilizer 48 is coupled to the trailing surface via the rod member [e.g. portion of 60]; damping means 80, 66 for reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine [paragraph 0035]; an inner fixed structure 54, Sawyers-Abbott et al do not teach the second articulation having a ball joint / having a ball joint at one end nor damping means capable of reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine, wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint inside a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle nor wherein {clm. 10 the cascade thrust reverser further includes} damping means for reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine; … wherein the connecting rod includes a ball joint, and wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint { clm. 10 of the connecting rod} inside a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; and wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod. Vauchel et al ‘434 teach the second articulation having a ball joint [Figs. 7, 8] and damping means capable of reducing oscillations of the connecting rod 15 when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine, wherein { the cascade 14 thrust reverser further includes} the damping means [Figs. 6-8] comprise a U-shaped spring 17 with tabs [e.g. sides 39a, 39b – see Fig. 6], the U-shaped spring 17 configured to surround the ball joint [circa leadline of 43 in Figs. 7, 8, note spring 17 surrounds ball (and pin 43—see Figs. 7, 8 and compare with Fig. 6] inside a bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19; see also ] associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; wherein the bracket supports the second articulation of the rod body [see Figs. 3, 4, 6-8 and annotations of Fig. 7, 8 and note in Fig. 8, the thus the force of the link 15 is born through 35a and the bracket; similarly in Fig. 7, the force of the link is born through the spring and then to the bracket] and damping means [Figs. 6-8] for reducing oscillations of the connecting rod when the thrust is generated by the turbine engine; an inner fixed structure, wherein the connecting rod includes a ball joint [circa leadline of 43 in Figs. 7, 8], and wherein the damping means comprise a U-shaped spring 17 with tabs, the U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint {of the connecting rod} inside a bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19] associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle; wherein the bracket [e.g. trapezoidal shape member surrounding space 19] supports the connecting rod 15; wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod 15 [e.g. Figs. 3, 4, 6-8 and annotations of Fig. 7, 8 and note in Fig. 8, the thus the force of the link 15 is born through 35a and the bracket; similarly in Fig. 7, the force of the link is born through the spring and then to the bracket]. Vauchel et al ‘434 teaches the system is effective to “compensate for the allowance gaps and structural deformations when the flaps are in the ‘direct jet’ position, while allowing the link rods to provide sufficient pressure on those flaps in that position” [paragraph 0007]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the damping means/ U-shaped spring surround the ball joint of the foot {of the connecting rod}inside a bracket, wherein the bracket supports the connecting rod, wherein the bracket supports the second articulation of the rod body, as taught by Vauchel et al ‘434, in order to damp the forces experienced by drag link / connecting rod so as to reduce fatigue failure and/or compensate for the allowance gaps and structural deformations.
Sawyers-Abbott et al teach said region being located in the bypass duct which is inherently operable where the flow is laminar [e.g. at low speeds] but do not explicitly state said region being located where the flow is laminar. Binks et al teach the bypass duct is configured to be a region where the flow is laminar [paragraph 0002] as conventional conditions in the bypass duct, as well as teach an analogous connecting rod in the bypass duct for a cascade thrust reverser. Eckett et al teach it is well known in the art to configure the bypass duct as a region where the flow is laminar [col. 8, lines 5-28, dashed lines in Fig. 3] in order to enhance propulsive efficiency and aerodynamic performance for the nacelle of the thrust reverser. Moniz teach it is well known for the bypass duct as a region where the flow is laminar [see paragraph 0016] to prevent disruption to the flow. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the bypass duct as well the claimed region, to be a region where the flow is laminar, as taught by any of Binks et al, Eckett et al and Moniz et al, in order to utilize the conventional conditions in the bypass duct or to enhance propulsive efficiency and aerodynamic performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments focus on the damping means and Vauchel ‘434 arguing:
“According to the claimed subject matter, the connecting rod is supported by a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle and the U-shaped spring surrounds the ball joint of the foot of the connecting rod inside the bracket. In other words, according to the claimed subject matter, the bracket assumes the function of supporting the connection rod, and the U-shaped spring, which is supported by the bracket, provides the damping function.
Applicant asserts that none of the prior art discloses a U-shaped spring configured to surround the ball joint inside a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle, and that the bracket supports the second articulation (which includes the ball joint) of the connecting rod.
Indeed, the claimed subject matter, as amended, clarifies that the connecting rod (or the second articulation thereof) is supported by a bracket associated with the inner fixed structure of the nacelle, and the U-shaped spring surrounds the ball joint of the connecting rod inside the bracket. In other words, according to the claimed subject matter, the bracket assumes the function of supporting the connection rod and the U-shaped spring, which is supported by the bracket, provides the damping function.
Applicant asserts that in Vauchel '434, each branch of the U-shaped spring supports a respective half-bearing inside which an opening 33 is formed, said openings being designed to receive the pin 43 for fastening the end of the link rod (the link rod corresponding to the connecting rod). In other words, in Vauchel '434, the spring supports the link rod 15 and shelves with oblong openings designed to receive the pin are provided to support the rod if the spring breaks. The shelves provide a blocking function if spring 17 breaks, as shown in Figure 7. [italics added]”
Applicant’s arguments regarding Vauchel ‘434 are not persuasive as incommensurate with the scope of the independent claims. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive as the support forces are transferred by the spring 17 to the bracket – see annotations of Figs. 7 and 8. Accordingly, applicant’s argument does not persuade as the bracket is indeed supporting the second articulation of the rod body and the connection rod. Note in either situation of Figs. 7, 8 the bracket is involved in supporting the connection rod as the forces are transferred by the spring to the bracket. While applicant’s position is understood, the bracket is clearly used to support the connection rod / second articulation / rod body and applicant’s arguments fail to persuade.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
October 27, 2025