DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoa et al. (US 2022/0321435 A1) in view Nokia et al. (DraftCR 28.622).
Claim 1. Yoa et al. disclose A method for collection of management data (read as performance assurance of 5G [0029]) in a 5th generation (5G) network (FIG. 5), the method comprising:
identifying (read as the producer 320 can utilize processing circuitry to control receipt of a request from the consumer 340 to create one or more performance data streams … [0030]. The producer must identify the requests in order to provide the requested data), by a performance assurance (PA) producer (read as performance assurance of 5G [0029]), a request from a PA consumer for creating a management data collection job information object class (IOC) comprising one or more collection attributes (read as At 502, the process flow initiates with receiving a request to generate one or more performance data streams [0058]. FIG. 5 step 502);
deriving, by the PA producer, multiple jobs from a management data collection job, wherein each of the multiple jobs comprise one or more parameters (read as At 504, the process flow includes generating one or more performance data streams based on one or more performance measurement collection activities in the network in response to the request [0058]);
receiving, by the PA producer, data from multiple sources (FIG. 5 step 504);
consolidating, by the PA producer, the data into a set of the management data for reporting (FIG. 5 step 506); and
transmitting, by the PA producer, the management data to the PA consumer with a file-based reporting or a stream-based reporting (FIG. 5 step 508). read as …the process flow includes providing information related to the one or more performance data streams … the process flow includes communicating one or more data stream units via the one or more performance data streams with the information [0060 – 0061]).
Yoa et al. do not disclose: management data collection job information object class (IOC)
However, in the related field of endeavor Nokia et al. discloses: This IOC represents a data collection request job. The requested data could be of kind Trace, MDT (Minimization of Drive Test), RLF (Radio Link Failure) report, RCEF (RRC Connection Establishment Failure) report, PM (performance metrics) or a combination of these. The DataRequestJob can be name-contained by SubNetwork, ManagedElement (section 4.3.A.1, paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Yoa et al. with the teaching of Nokia et al. in order to use wireless communication standards. The motivation is related to creating compatibility among products made by different manufacturers.
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the multiple jobs are mapped, by the PA producer, with one or more network functions for collecting values of each of the one or more parameters (Nokia et al. section 4.3.A).
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the one or more collection attributes comprises at least one of a type job (Nokia et al.: read as The MnS producer itself has to set up one or several specific data collection jobs (TraceJob, PerfMetricJob) corresponding to the attribute jobType (section 4.3.A.1, paragraph 2), a target node filter, a collection time period, or a data scope.
Claim 4. The method of claim 3, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the type of job defines a category of the management data requested by the PA consumer (Yoa et al.: read as At 504, the process flow includes generating one or more performance data streams based on one or more performance measurement collection activities in the network in response to the request [0058], … Nokia et al.: … The requested data could be of kind Trace, :MDT (Minimization of Drive Test), RLF (Radio Link Failure) report, RCEF (RRC Connection Establishment Failure) report, PM (performance metrics) or a combination of these. The DataRequestJob can be name-contained by SubNetwork, ManagedElement, or ManagedFunction (section 4.3.A.1, paragraph 1)), and
wherein the target node filter comprises multiple filter parameters including at least one of a geographical location of the one or more nodes, a network domain parameter, or a traffic type parameter (Yoa et al.: Table 4.3.A.2, shows operable and inoperable settings for different attributes).
Claim 5. The method of claim 4, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the geographical location of the one or more nodes specifies a geographical location of a node from which the management data is to be collected (Nokia et al.: read as The attribute area0finterest specifies the geographic area where data shall be collected. The area is defined by the corners of a polygon specified by latitude and longitude (section 4.3.A.1)),
wherein a virtual resource utilization threshold defines a threshold resource utilization percentage of the one or more nodes for collecting the management data (Nokia et al.: read as Usage state of a managed object instance. It describes whether the resource is actively in use at a specific instant, and if so whether or not it has spare capacity for additional users at that instant: allowedValues: "IDLE", "ACTIVE", "BUSY". (Table 4.4.1)),
wherein the network domain parameter indicates a network domain of the one or more nodes (Nokia et al.: read as This parameter specifies the host address of the managed NF type: String service instance (Table 4.4.1)),
wherein a node vendor parameter indicates name of a vendor of the one or more nodes (Nokia et al.: read as The name of the vendor (Table 4.4.1)),
wherein the traffic type parameter indicates a type of network traffic supported by the one or more nodes (Yoa et al.: read as read as an uplink classifier to support routing traffic flows to a data network [0013]),
wherein a slice type parameter indicates a type of network slice to which the one or more nodes belong (Yoa et al.: read as The NSSF 129 can select a set of network slice instances serving the UE 101. The NSSF 129 can also determine allowed NSSAI and the mapping to the subscribed single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAIs) [0022]), and
wherein a service type parameter indicates a type of service provided by the one or more nodes, the type of service comprising at least one of data, voice, or video (Nokia et al.: read as nFServiceType - The parameter defines the type of the managed NF service instance (Table 4.4.1)).
Claim 6. The method of claim 3, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the collection time period specifies a start time and an end time for collecting the management data from one or more nodes (Yoa et al.: read as The performance data stream unit contains the identifier of the stream, a time stamp indicating the end of granularity period during which the measurements are collected, and the measurement result values for the observed measurement types [0031]).
Claim 7. The method of claim 3, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein a management data type comprises one or more coverage (Nokia et al. read as RLF (Radio Link Failure) Section 4.3.a.1, paragraph 1), energy efficiency, or accessibility (Nokia et al. read as RLF (Radio Link Failure) Section 4.3.a.1, paragraph 1).
Claim 8. The method of claim 1, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the management data is transmitted in a data streaming format when the management data is a continuous stream of data (Yoa et al.: read as the process flow includes communicating one or more data stream units via the one or more performance data streams with the information [0061]), and
wherein the management data is transmitted in the data file format when the management data is a single instance data (Yoa et al.: read as the process flow includes communicating one or more data stream units via the one or more performance data streams with the information [0061]).
Claim 9. The method of claim 3, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the data scope indicates a data standard for collecting the management data, the data standard comprising at least one of a Single - Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) or a 5G Quality of Service Identifier (5QI) (Yoa et al.: read as Quality of Service (QoS) [0013]).
Claim 10. The method of claim 2, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the values of the one or more parameters are collected from one or more network functions through a PA service producer associated with the one or more network functions (Yoa et al.: the key data to for performance assurance of 5G networks including network slicing [0029]), and
wherein the one or more network functions are configured to provide predefined services to one or more entities in the 5G network (Yoa et al.: read as The PM for 5G networks and network slicing is comprised of the management services listed in table 1 [0026]).
Claim 11. Yoa et al. disclose A Performance Assurance (PA) producer for collecting management data in a 5th generation (5G) network (read as performance assurance of 5G [0029]), the PA producer comprising:
a processor (a processor [0011]); and
a memory, communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores processor-executable instructions configured to, which, on execution (read as a processor (shared, dedicated, or group), or associated memory (shared, dedicated, or group) operably coupled to the circuitry that execute one or more software or firmware programs [0011]), causes the processor to:
identify (read as the producer 320 can utilize processing circuitry to control receipt of a request from the consumer 340 to create one or more performance data streams … [0030]. The producer must identify the requests in order to provide the requested data), by a performance assurance (PA) producer (read as performance assurance of 5G [0029]) a request from a PA consumer (read as performance assurance of 5G [0029]) for creating a management data collection job information object class (IOC) comprising one or more collection attributes,
derive a multiple jobs from the management data collection job, wherein each of the multiple jobs comprise one or more parameters (read as At 504, the process flow includes generating one or more performance data streams based on one or more performance measurement collection activities in the network in response to the request [0058]),
receive data from multiple sources (FIG. 5 step 504),
consolidate the data into a set of the management data for reporting (FIG. 5 step 506), and
transmit, by the PA producer, the management data to the PA consumer with a file-based reporting or a stream-based reporting (FIG. 5 step 508. read as …the process flow includes providing information related to the one or more performance data streams … the process flow includes communicating one or more data stream units via the one or more performance data streams with the information [0060 – 0061]).
Yoa et al. do not disclose: management data collection job information object class (IOC)
However, in the related field of endeavor Nokia et al. discloses: This IOC represents a data collection request job. The requested data could be of kind Trace, MDT (Minimization of Drive Test), RLF (Radio Link Failure) report, RCEF (RRC Connection Establishment Failure) report, PM (performance metrics) or a combination of these. The DataRequestJob can be name-contained by SubNetwork, ManagedElement (section 4.3.A.1, paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify the teaching of Yoa et al. with the teaching of Nokia et al. in order to use wireless communication standards. The motivation is related to creating compatibility among products made by different manufacturers.
Claim 12. The PA producer of claim 11, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the instructions are configured to cause the processor to map the multiple jobs with one or more network functions for collecting the values of each of the one or more parameters (Nokia et al. (section 4.3.A).
Claim 13. The PA producer of claim 11, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the one or more collection attributes comprises at least one of a job type (Nokia et al.: read as The MnS producer itself has to set up one or several specific data collection jobs (TraceJob, PerfMetricJob) corresponding to the attribute jobType (section 4.3.A.1, paragraph 2), a target node filter, a collection time period, or a data scope.
Claim 14. The PA producer of claim 13, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the job type defines a category of the management data requested by the PA consumer (Yoa et al.: read as At 504, the process flow includes generating one or more performance data streams based on one or more performance measurement collection activities in the network in response to the request [0058], … Nokia et al.: … The requested data could be of kind Trace, MDT (Minimization of Drive Test), RLF (Radio Link Failure) report, RCEF (RRC Connection Establishment Failure) report, PM (performance metrics) or a combination of these. The DataRequestJob can be name-contained by SubNetwork, ManagedElement, or ManagedFunction (section 4.3.A.1, paragraph 1)), and
wherein the target node filter comprises multiple filter parameters including at least one of a geographical location of the one or more nodes, a network domain parameter, or a traffic type parameter (Yoa et al.: read as can be the key data to for performance assurance of 5G networks including network slicing [0029]).
Claim 15. The PA producer of claim 14, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the geographical location of the one or more nodes specifies a geographical location of a node from which the management data is to be collected (Nokia et al.: read as The attribute area0finterest specifies the geographic area where data shall be collected. The area is defined by the corners of a polygon specified by latitude and longitude (section 4.3.A.1)),
wherein a virtual resource utilization threshold defines a threshold resource utilization percentage of the one or more nodes for collecting the management data (Nokia et al.: read as Usage state of a managed object instance. It describes whether the resource is actively in use at a specific instant, and if so whether or not it has spare capacity for additional users at that instant: allowedValues: "IDLE", "ACTIVE", "BUSY". (Table 4.4.1)),
wherein the network domain parameter indicates a network domain of the one or more nodes (Nokia et al.: read as This parameter specifies the host address of the managed NF type: String service instance (Table 4.4.1)),
wherein a node vendor parameter indicates name of a vendor of the one or more nodes (Nokia et al.: read as The name of the vendor (Table 4.4.1)),
wherein the traffic type parameter indicates a type of network traffic supported by the one or more nodes (Yoa et al.: read as read as an uplink classifier to support routing traffic flows to a data network [0013]),
wherein a slice type parameter indicates a type of network slice to which the one or more nodes belong (Yoa et al.: read as The NSSF 129 can select a set of network slice instances serving the UE 101. The NSSF 129 can also determine allowed NSSAI and the mapping to the subscribed single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAIs) [0022]), and
wherein a service type parameter indicates a type of service provided by the one or more nodes, the type of service comprising at least one of data, voice, or video (Nokia et al.: read as nFServiceType - The parameter defines the type of the managed NF service instance (Table 4.4.1)).
Claim 16. The PA producer of claim 13, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the collection time period specifies a start time and an end time for collecting the management data from one or more nodes (Yoa et al.: read as The performance data stream unit contains the identifier of the stream, a time stamp indicating the end of granularity period during which the measurements are collected, and the measurement result values for the observed measurement types [0031]).
Claim 17. The PA producer of claim 13, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein a management data type comprises one or more coverage, energy efficiency, or accessibility.
(Yoa et al.: read as The information of the created stream(s) contains the identifier(s) of the created performance data stream(s) [0031]).
Claim 18. The PA producer of claim 11, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the processor is further configured to:
transmit the management data in a data streaming format when the management data is a continuous stream of data (Yoa et al.: read as the process flow includes communicating one or more data stream units via the one or more performance data streams with the information [0061]), and
transmit the management data in the data file format when the management data is a single instance data (Yoa et al.: read as the process flow includes communicating one or more data stream units via the one or more performance data streams with the information [0061]).
Claim 19. The PA producer of claim 13, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the data scope indicates a data standard for collecting the management data, the data standard comprising at least one of a Single - Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) or a 5G Quality of Service Identifier (5QI) (Yoa et al.: read as Quality of Service (QoS) [0013]).
Claim 20. The PA producer of claim 12, the combination of Yoa et al. and Nokia et al. teaches,
wherein the values of the one or more parameters are collected from one or more network functions through a PA service producer associated with the one or more network functions (Yoa et al.: the key data to for performance assurance of 5G networks including network slicing [0029]), and
wherein the one or more network functions are configured to provide predefined services to one or more entities in the 5G network (Yoa et al.: read as The PM for 5G networks and network slicing is comprised of the management services listed in table 1 [0026]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
PTO-892 includes prior art that teaches at least part of the limitations disclosed by the claimed invention. For example Chou et al. (US 2022/0174519 A1) disclose the idea of collecting performance assurance by a producer and transmitting it to a consumer (The performance data reporting related service producer can create the performance data file for end-to-end QoS performance measurements for a given NSI and can send a Notification notifyFileReady (see clause 7.1.1.1 in TS 28.532) to the authorized consumer [0085]).
MOHAMMED . RACHEDINE
Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/MOHAMMED RACHEDINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646