DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 22-27 and 28-38 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/14/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14, 17-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sundaram et al. (US 2023/0324981 A1, hereinafter refers as Sundaram).
Regarding claim 1, Sundaram discloses a plug-and-play base pad apparatus, the apparatus comprising:
one or more ports, each configured for hosting a pluggable component (Fig. 1A, Fig. 7, Fig. 8B);
one or more of an administration chip or a microcontroller configured to control the apparatus and the one or more ports (Fig. 1A and 7, el. 150);
a battery configured to power the apparatus; and a power management unit configured to monitor the battery and interface with charging mechanisms (Fig. 8B, el. 776, el. 778).
Regarding claim 2, Sundaram discloses wherein a first port of the one or more ports is communicably coupled with the microcontroller (Fig. 7, el. 150).
Regarding claim 3, Sundaram discloses wherein a second port of the one or more ports is communicably coupled with a storage device (Fig. 8A, el. 758).
Regarding claim 4, Sundaram discloses wherein one or more of the administration chip or the microcontroller is further configured to communicate with a remote client device (Fig. 7, el. 150).
Regarding claim 5, Sundaram discloses wherein one or more of the administration chip or the microcontroller is further configured to control the apparatus and the one or more ports based at least in part on instructions received from the remote client device (Fig. 7, el. 150).
Regarding claim 6, Sundaram discloses wherein the instructions received from the remote client device originate via a mobile application interface displayed by the remote client device (Fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 7, Sundaram discloses wherein one or more of the administration chip or the microcontroller is further configured to detect a pluggable component upon a coupling of the pluggable component with a port of the one or more ports (Fig. 7, el. 150).
Regarding claim 8, Sundaram discloses wherein one or more of the administration chip or the microcontroller is further configured to detect a security threat posed by a pluggable component coupled with a port of the one or more ports (Fig. 7, el. 150).
Regarding claim 9, Sundaram discloses wherein one or more of the administration chip or the microcontroller is further configured to isolate the port based on having detected a security threat posed by the pluggable component coupled thereto (Fig. 7, Fig. 8b).
Regarding claim 10, Sundaram discloses wherein the pluggable component comprises a peripheral I/O component (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Sundaram discloses wherein the pluggable component comprises an IoT device (Fig. 9A).
Regarding claim 12, Sundaram discloses wherein the charging mechanism is one or more of wireless or wired (Fig. 8B).
Regarding claim 14, the instant claim is met the rejection of claim 1, further discloses a system, comprising: a plurality of plug-and-play base pad apparatuses (Fig. 9A and 9B).
Regarding claim 17, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 14.
Regarding claim 18, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 14.
Regarding claim 19, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 14.
Regarding claim 21, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundaram in view of Wu et al. (US 2023/0176873 A1, hereinafter refers as Wu).
Regarding claim 15, Sundaram discloses all limitation of claim 14,
Sundaram does not explicitly disclose wherein each plug and play base pad apparatus of the plurality of plug and play base pad apparatuses is configured with one or more learning model;
Wu teaches wherein each plug and play base pad apparatus of the plurality of plug and play base pad apparatuses is configured with one or more learning model (para. 117, para. 256);
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sundaram to include Wu in order a system to run more efficiently.
Regarding claim 16, Sundaram in view of Wu discloses wherein computational tasks are distributed among the plurality of plug-and-play base pad apparatuses based at least in part on the one or more machine learning models (Wu, para. 117, para. 256).
Claim(s) 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sundaram in view of Hevizi et al. (US 2017/0359339 A1, hereinafter refers as Hevizi)
Regarding claim 13, Sundaram discloses all limitation of claim 1,
Sundaram does not explicitly disclose wherein one or more of the administration chip or the microcontroller is further configured to detect one or more other base pad apparatuses located within a proximity of the plug-and-play base pad apparatus;
Hevizi teaches wherein one or more of the administration chip or the microcontroller is further configured to detect one or more other base pad apparatuses located within a proximity of the plug-and-play base pad apparatus (abstract);
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sundaram to include Hevizi in order to allow a system to verify only the authorized user’s devices are connected to the network.
Regarding claim 20, Sundaram discloses all limitation of claim 1,
Sundaram does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of plug and play base pad apparatus comprise adhesive patches for attaching them to the live object;
Hevizi teaches wherein the plurality of plug and play base pad apparatus comprise adhesive patches for attaching them to the live object (abstract, wearable, iwatch);
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sundaram to include Hevizi in order to allow a system to monitor the authorized user heart rate thus increasing user’s health benefit.
Conclusion
/CAI Y CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425