DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Rejected Claims: 3-24
Withdrawn Claims: 1-2
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 28 APRIL 2026 has been entered.
In view of the amendment to the claims, the amendment of claims 3 and 23 has been acknowledged.
In view of the amendment to claims 3 and 23, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claims 3 and 23, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been modified to be more clear in light of the arguments, but have been sustained as the teachings and basis for rejection have not changed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 28 APRIL 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues, regarding instant claims 3 and 23, that the examiner has improperly limited the end cap by importing the word “separable” based upon the figures of the instant specification. Furthermore, Wei does not teach the end cover of the instant application and the end cover is critical to the invention. While Wei teaches a welded cover on the opposite side of the filter, there is no teaching to move the end cover and welds to the end cover side of the filter. Therefore instant claims 3 and 23 are allowable (Arguments filed 28 APRIL 2026, Page 9 to Page 13, Paragraph 2).
Regarding Applicant’s argument, the Examiner partially agrees with Applicant, specifically on the point that “separable” should not be imported as a limitation to the claims. Applicant has a point in that an end cover may be integral or separate from the structure of the filter element body and simply describes a shroud or enclosure on the end. The Examiner has removed the section related to a “separable” end cap. Wei teaches an end cover on the large diameter open end at the bottom of the filter element body as shown below in Fig. 2 of Wei, as there is a narrowing section at the top of the filter element body.
As such, the remaining arguments are moot because they are under the presumption that Wei does not teach the end cover, but the Examiner specifically said “separable” for the missing limitation, which was incorrectly imported from the figures of the instant specification. Therefore instant claims 3 and 23 are not allowable over Wei.
Applicant argues that instant claims 4-22 and 24 depend upon instant claims 3 and 23 and are allowable for the same reasons as instant claims 3 and 23 above (Arguments filed 28 APRIL 2026, Page 13, Paragraph 3 to Page 14).
Regarding Applicant’s argument, instant claims 3 and 23 are not allowable and so instant claims instant claims 4-22 and 24 which depend upon instant claims 3 and 23 are also not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5-7, 9-11, 14-17, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US Patent Application No. 20200316510 A1) hereinafter Wei.
Regarding Claim 3, Wei teaches a single stage filtration system (i.e., a water filtration system comprising) comprising a joint (i.e., a joint; Fig. 1, #1) and a filter element (i.e., a filter element configured to purify the unfiltered water; Fig. 1, #2) where the joint comprises a joint body (i.e., a joint body; Fig. 6, #11) that comprises an inlet water cavity (i.e., a water inlet cavity; Fig. 4, #111), a water outlet cavity (i.e., a water outlet cavity; Fig. 4, #112), a water inlet joint (i.e., a water inlet joint; Fig. 4, #113), a water outlet joint (i.e., a water outlet joint; Fig. 4, #114), a hanging piece (i.e., a hanging piece; Fig. 3, 118), a connecting flange that is a C-shaped structure (i.e., a C-shaped connecting flange wherein the connecting flange is C-shaped; Fig. 5, #11a) and cooperates with the end cover (Fig. 2, #21) of the filter element (i.e., the C-shaped connecting flange is configured to join the joint and the filter element), and with the water inlet joint (i.e., a water inlet junction comprising a water inlet cavity configured to receive unfiltered water) designated by the “I” and the water outlet joint (i.e., a water outlet junction comprising a water outlet cavity configured to discharge filtered water) designated by the “O” on Fig. 4 below (Paragraph 0028).
Wei further teaches in Figs. 2 and 11 that the filter body has a cylindrical structure and connector at the top of the filter body is smaller than the open end of the filter body (i.e., the filter element comprising a barrel-shaped filter element body with one large diameter open end and one closed end of a smaller diameter than the open end, the one closed end enclosed by a connector of a smaller diameter than the rest of the filter element body) with the cup-shaped end cover shown to be at the bottom of the filter body enclosing the open end of the filter body (i.e., a cup-shaped end cover comprising a large diameter open end connected to the one large diameter open end of the filter element body).
Wei continues on to teach that the filter element comprises a water pipe (i.e., a central pipe) designated by the boxed area, a carbon rod (i.e., a carbon rod; Fig. 2, #25), a carbon rod cover (i.e., a carbon rod cover; Fig. 2, #23), and a carbon rod bottom (i.e., a carbon rod bottom; Fig. 2, #24) all shown within the filter element body below in Fig. 2 (i.e., disposed within the filter element body), a filter element water outlet sealing ring (i.e., a body sealing ring; Fig. 4, #19), a water inlet seal ring (i.e., a water inlet sealing ring; Fig. 9, #12), and a water inlet cover plate (i.e., a water inlet cover plate; Fig. 9, #13; Paragraph 0028).
Wei further teaches that the cup-shaped end cover and the filter body are made integral rather than an open end with an end cover to enclose the structure, but the purpose of the end cover is achieved in the same manner.
Regarding Claim 5, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 3. Wei further teaches that the water inlet joint (i.e., the water inlet junction; Fig. 4, #113; Fig. 9) comprises a water inlet seal ring (i.e., a water inlet sealing ring that engages with the water inlet junction to create a first seal; Fig. 9, #12), a water inlet cover plate (i.e., a first cover plate; Fig. 9, #13), and a water inlet clamp (i.e., a first clip; Fig. 9, #14) and the water outlet joint (i.e., the water outlet junction; Fig. 4, #114; Fig. 10) comprises a water outlet seal ring (i.e., a water outlet sealing ring that engages with the water outlet junction to create a second seal; Fig. 10, #15) a water outlet cover plate (i.e., a second cover plate; Fig. 10, #16), and a water outlet clamp (i.e., a second clip; Fig. 10, #17; Paragraph 0028).
Regarding Claim 6, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 3. Wei further teaches that the water inlet joint is provided with a water pipe hole 1 (i.e., a water pipe hole; Fig. 9, #113a), a sealing ring hole 1 (i.e., a sealing ring hole; Fig. 9, #113b), and a cover plate hole 1 (i.e., a cover plate hole; Fig. 9, #113c; Paragraph 0028) where one can see that water inlet joint is located on the right side of the joint body in Fig. 4 below (i.e., the water inlet joint further comprises a water pipe, a sealing ring, and a cover plate extending perpendicularly from the joint body), and that the connections for the holes and the pieces are as described in the claim in Fig. 9 below (i.e., and the end of the water inlet joint farthest from the joint body sequentially comprises a water pipe hole wider than the water pipe, a sealing ring hole wider than the water pipe hole, and a cover plate hole wider than the sealing ring hole; wherein the sealing ring hole is connected to the sealing ring, and the cover plate hole is connected to the cover plate).
Regarding Claim 7, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 3. Wei further teaches that the carbon rod cover is located at the upper end of the inner portion of the filter element body and connected to the carbon rod, and that the inner cavity of the carbon rod cover cooperates with the water outlet boss (Fig. 4, #117), which contains the filter element water outlet sealing ring (i.e., a carbon rod cover coupled to the carbon rod, a sealing ring that engages with the carbon rod cover to create a first seal; Fig. 4, #19) and the filter element water inlet sealing ring (Fig. 4, #18). The filter element water outlet sealing ring is in a position to engage with the filter element body when the filter element is engaged with the joint (i.e., a filter element body sealing ring that engages with the filter element body to create a second seal; Fig. 2 and 4). Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 have been marked up for clarity below.
Regarding Claim 9, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 7. Wei further teaches that end cover (i.e., a water inlet cover plate; Fig. 2, #21) and the filter element inlet sealing ring (i.e., the water inlet sealing ring; Fig. 4, #18) are located at the joining area of the filter element body and the connector piece and create a seal (i.e., are configured to be installed at the connector at one end of the filter element body wherein the water inlet sealing ring engages with the water inlet cover plate to create a third seal; Paragraph 0028) seen in Figs. 2 and 4.
Regarding Claim 10, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 9. Wei further teaches that the end cover (i.e., wherein the water inlet cover plate comprises; Fig. 2, #21) has a central hole (i.e., a central hole; Fig. 7, #212; Paragraph 0031) and can be seen to be installed on the water pipe and with a groove for seating the ring in Fig. 2 below (i.e., is installed in an opening at the smaller end of the filter element body; and wherein the water inlet cover plate further comprises a groove for installing the water inlet sealing ring). Wei further teaches that the stop port (Fig. 7, #215), which is part of the end cover, and the convex stop port (Fig. 2, #22a), which is part of the filter element body, are welded (i.e., further comprises a welding line configured to be welded with the filter element body as a whole; Paragraph 0031).
Regarding Claim 11, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 3. Wei further teaches the joint comprising a hanging piece (i.e., the hanging piece is attached to the outer surface of the joint; Fig. 3, #118) provided with through holes (i.e., the hanging piece further comprises holes through the hanging piece; Fig. 3, #118b; Paragraph 0028) which can be seen extending parallel to the joint projecting downwards in the direction of the filter element in Fig. 3 (i.e., and is configured to extend substantially parallel to the body of the joint in the direction of the filter element).
Regarding Claim 14, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 7. Wei further teaches that the end cover has flanges (i.e., wherein the outer surface of the connector of the filter element further comprises one or more fan-shaped flanges; Fig. 11, #211) that cooperate with the connecting flange (i.e., configured to connect to the C-shaped connecting flange in the joint; Fig. 5, #11a; Paragraph 0031).
Regarding Claim 15, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 14. Wei further teaches in Figs. 7 and 11 that there are two protruding elements opposite each other on the end cover (i.e., wherein the connector of the filter element further comprises two bosses opposite one another on the inside surface of the connector).
Regarding Claim 16, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 15. Wei further teaches water inlet holes (i.e., a plurality of fan-shaped holes for the filtered water to enter the connector; Fig. 11, #214) in the top of the end cover (i.e., the connector comprises; Paragraphs 0031-0032).
Regarding Claim 17, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 16. Wei further teaches in Fig. 11 that the holes are located in a protruding surface (i.e., wherein the plurality of fan-shaped holes are contained in a boss).
Regarding Claim 20, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 3. Wei further teaches a carbon rod (Fig. 2, #25; Paragraph 0028). As the structure of the carbon rod is the same as in the instant claim, the carbon rod is assumed to be capable of causing air to break into small bubbles.
Furthermore, the limitation “wherein the carbon rod causes air mixed into the unfiltered water to break up into small bubbles that are mixed with the filtered water” is directed toward materials or articles worked upon by the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. The inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus holds no patentable weight. See MPEP §2115.
Regarding Claim 21, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 3. Wei further teaches a joint (i.e., a joint; Fig. 1, #1) that comprises a water inlet joint (i.e., a water inlet junction on the first side of the joint; Fig. 4, #113), a water outlet joint located on the opposite side of the water inlet joint (i.e., a water outlet junction on the opposite side as the first side of the joint; Fig. 4, #114), a connecting flange (i.e., a connecting flange; Fig. 5, #11a), an inlet water cavity (i.e., a water inlet cavity; Fig. 4, #111) which is capable of receiving unfiltered water, and a water outlet cavity (i.e., a water outlet cavity; Fig. 4, #112) which is capable of discharging filtered water (Paragraph 0028).
Regarding Claim 22, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 21. Wei further discloses that the joint comprises a hanging piece (i.e., the hanging piece is attached to the outer surface of the joint; Fig. 3, #118) provided with through holes (i.e., wherein the hanging piece further comprises holes through the hanging piece; Fig. 3, #118b; Paragraph 0028) which can be seen extending parallel to the joint projecting downwards in the direction of the filter element in Fig. 3 (i.e., and is configured to extend substantially parallel to the joint body in the direction of the filter element body).
Regarding Claim 23, Wei teaches a filter element (i.e., a filter element; Fig. 1, #2) that comprises a filter element body (i.e., a filter element body; Fig. 2, #22) and in Figs. 2 and 11 that the filter body has a cylindrical structure and connector at the top of the filter body is smaller than the open end of the filter body (i.e., a barrel-shaped filter element body with a first large diameter open end and a second closed end enclosed by a connector of a smaller diameter than the rest of the filter element body) with the cup-shaped end cover shown to be at the bottom of the filter body enclosing the open end of the filter body (i.e., a cup-shaped end cover comprising a large diameter open end connected to the first large diameter open end of the filter element body; Paragraph 0028).
Wei continues on to teach that the filter element comprises a water pipe (i.e., a central pipe) designated by the boxed area, a carbon rod (i.e., a carbon rod; Fig. 2, #25), a carbon rod cover (i.e., a carbon rod cover; Fig. 2, #23), and a carbon rod bottom (i.e., a carbon rod bottom; Fig. 2, #24) all shown within the filter element body below in Fig. 2 (i.e., disposed within the filter element body) while also showing that the carbon rod cover is on the same end of the filter element body as the connector (i.e., a carbon rod cover covering a second end of the filter element body), a filter element water outlet sealing ring (i.e., a carbon rod cover sealing ring; Fig. 4, #19) shown to engage the carbon rod cover in Fig. 2 (i.e., a carbon rod cover sealing ring that engages with the carbon rod cover to create a first seal), and a filter element water inlet sealing ring (i.e., a body sealing ring; Fig. 4, #18;) shown to engage with the end cover (Fig. 2, #21) of the filter element body in Fig. 2 (i.e., a body sealing ring that engages with the filter element body to create a second seal; Paragraph 0028).
Wei further teaches that the cup-shaped end cover and the filter body are made integral rather than an open end with an end cover to enclose the structure, but the purpose of the end cover is achieved in the same manner.
Regarding Claim 24, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 23. Wei further teaches a carbon rod (Fig. 2, #25; Paragraph 0028). As the structure of the carbon rod is the same as in the instant claim, the carbon rod is assumed to be capable of causing air to break into small bubbles.
Furthermore, the limitation “wherein the carbon rod divides air mixed into the unfiltered water to break up into small bubbles that are mixed throughout the filtered water” is directed toward materials or articles worked upon by the claimed invention and is therefore not subject to patentability. The inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) and thus holds no patentable weight. See MPEP §2115.
Claims 4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Beard et al (US Patent Application No. 20120273406 A1) hereinafter Beard.
Regarding Claim 4, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 3. Wei further teaches that the carbon rod is connected with the carbon rod cover and the other end of the carbon rod is connected with the carbon rod bottom (i.e., wherein one end of the carbon rod is connected to a carbon rod cover and the opposite end is connected to a carbon rod bottom; Paragraph 0028). Wei further teaches that there is space around the carbon rod on the sides and bottom in the internals of the device in Fig. 2 (i.e., the carbon rod is configured within the filter element body such that the outside surface of the carbon rod and the filter element body form a channel).
Wei does not teach a channel for receiving the unfiltered water and the channel allows the filtered water to pass into the water outlet junction.
However, Beard teaches a dirty fluid flow path (Fig. 1, #106, arrows) through filter elements (Fig. 1, #118; Paragraphs 0025-0028) in which the dirty fluid flows down through the center tube (Fig. 1, #140; Paragraph 0037), below the filters, around to the outside (i.e., a channel for receiving unfiltered water), and then through the filters to produce clean fluid (Fig. 1, #111) which passes to the clean fluid port (i.e., the channel allows the filtered water to pass into the water outlet junction; Fig. 1, #110; Paragraphs 0027-0028). The flow is emphasized below in three versions of Fig. 1 showing the dirty fluid, the fluid passing through the filter, and the clean fluid, respectively:
Beard further teaches that the improved device provides an easier and more controllable removal of the replaceable filter elements from the filter housing (Paragraph 0005).
Beard is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a filter system (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the single stage filtration system taught by Wei with flow channels as taught by Beard because the flow channels would make it easier and more controllable to replace the filter elements.
Regarding Claim 12, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 3. Wei further teaches that the carbon rod bottom (Fig. 2, #24) is mounted on the connecting ribs (i.e., a rib position at the bottom of the closed end to support the bottom end face of the carbon rod; Paragraph 0036) and the cup-shaped end cover shown to be at the bottom of the filter body enclosing the open end of the filter body (i.e., the end cover comprises a first side that is open and a second side substantially closed; the end cover is cup shaped with one end open and one end closed, the open end configured to fuse with the filter element body into a sealed container; Paragraph 0028).
Wei does not teach the second side of the end cover further comprises a slotted cylinder centrally located in the second side, the end cover further comprises a plurality of ribs radiating from the slotted cylinder to the inner edge of the end cover, the closed end of the end cover comprising a rib position at the bottom to support the bottom end face of the carbon rod, and a slotted column at the bottom of the closed end of the end cover is connected to the central pipe such that a water channel is formed between the filter element and the carbon rod.
However, Beard teaches that the filter ejector includes a plurality of radially extending arms (i.e., the end cover further comprises a plurality of ribs radiating from the slotted cylinder to the inner edge of the end cover; Fig. 1, #188) that the filters sit upon (i.e., the closed end of the end cover comprising a rib position at the bottom to support the bottom end face of the carbon rod; Fig. 1; Paragraph 0056) and the button portion (Fig. 3, #166) is slotted (i.e., the second side of the end cover further comprises a slotted cylinder centrally located in the second side) and receives the drain pipe (Fig. 2, #191; Paragraph 0057) of the center tube (i.e., a slotted column at the bottom of the closed end of the end cover is connected to the central pipe such that a water channel is formed between the filter element and the carbon rod; Fig. 1, #140). Beard further teaches that the improved device provides an easier and more controllable removal of the replaceable filter elements from the filter housing (Paragraph 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the single stage filtration system taught by Wei with the supporting ribs and the slotted cylinder as taught by Beard because the supporting ribs and the slotted cylinder would make it easier and more controllable to replace the filter elements.
Wei in view of Beard does not teach wherein the filter element body comprises a male half coupling at one end and the end cover comprises a first side comprising a female half coupling configured to join with the male half coupling of the filter element body and the opening end of the end cover having a concave stop connected with the body convex stop configured to fuse with the body. However, casting the end cover to be integral as taught by Wei is an art recognized alternative that achieves the same purpose as fusing the end cover to the filter housing while still providing a sealed filter housing. See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding Claim 13, Wei in view of Beard makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 12. Wei further teaches an integral bottom cover for the filter element (Fig. 2).
Wei in view of Beard does not teach wherein the female half coupling which and the male half coupling are welded together. However, casting the end cover to be integral as taught by Wei is an art recognized alternative that achieves the same purpose as welding the end cover to the filter housing while providing a sealed filter housing. See MPEP 2144.06.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Beard in view of You et al (US Patent No. 10188972 B2) hereinafter You.
Regarding Claim 8, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 7. Wei further teaches in Figs. 2 and 11 that the filter body has a cylindrical structure and connector at the top of the filter body is smaller than the open end of the filter body (i.e., wherein the filter element body has a barrel-shaped structure with a smaller diameter at one end and a larger diameter at the other end) with the cup-shaped end cover shown to be at the bottom of the filter body enclosing the open end of the filter body (i.e., the end cover has a cup-shaped structure, with one end open and the other end closed, configured joining with the filter element body to form a sealed container).
Wei further teaches that the carbon rod bottom (Fig. 2, #24) is mounted on the connecting ribs (i.e., wherein the bottom of the closed end further comprises ribs configured to support the end face of the carbon rod bottom; Paragraph 0036) and that the filter element water inlet sealing ring (i.e., a body sealing ring; Fig. 4, #18) will provide a seal with the filter element body (i.e., wherein the body sealing ring is configured to seal the connector and the filter element body and seal the water after filtration by the filter element; Figs. 2 and 4).
Wei does not teach wherein the bottom of the closed end further comprises ribs configured to support the end face of the carbon rod bottom wherein a slotted cylinder is provided at the bottom of the closed end which is connected to the central pipe configured for water to enter the gap between the filter element and the carbon rod.
However, Beard teaches that the filter ejector includes a plurality of radially extending arms (i.e., wherein the bottom of the closed end further comprises ribs; Fig. 1, #188) that the filters sit upon (i.e., configured to support the end face of the carbon rod bottom; Fig. 1; Paragraph 0056) and the button portion (Fig. 3, #166) is slotted (i.e., wherein a slotted cylinder is provided at the bottom of the closed end) and receives the drain pipe (Fig. 2, #191; Paragraph 0057) of the center tube (i.e., which is connected to the central pipe configured for water to enter the gap between the filter element and the carbon rod; Fig. 1, #140). Beard teaches that the end cover has the male half coupling and the filter element body has the female half coupling (Fig. 1, #177, #166). Beard further teaches that the improved device provides an easier and more controllable removal of the replaceable filter elements from the filter housing (Paragraph 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the single stage filtration system taught by Wei with the supporting ribs and the slotted cylinder as taught by Beard because the supporting ribs and the slotted cylinder would make it easier and more controllable to replace the filter elements.
Wei in view of Beard does not teach wherein two grooves are provided on the outside of the other end configured to install the body sealing ring.
However, You teaches that the housing cap (i.e., the other end; Fig. 8, #43) has a pair of O-rings (i.e., body sealing ring; Fig. 8, #432) which are set in grooves (i.e., two grooves are provided on the outside) for the purpose of hermetically sealing the inner surface of the head (Fig. 6, #60) to prevent leakage (Col. 8, Lines 32-51).
You is analogous to the claimed invention because it pertains to a water purifying apparatus (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus made obvious by Wei in view of Beard with the two grooves for the O-rings because the two grooves would provide a hermetic seal between the filter element and the joint body and would prevent leaks.
Wei in view of Beard in view of You does not teach that the open end is provided with a female half coupling which is connected to the male half coupling of the body configured for welding with the body. However, casting the end cover to be integral as taught by Wei and You and is an art recognized alternative that achieves the same purpose as welding the end cover to the filter housing while providing a sealed filter housing. See MPEP 2144.06.
Furthermore, Wei in view of Beard in view of You does not explicitly teach that the seals are under pressure, but a fluid flowing through the device would create a pressure on the seals. Also, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)). See MPEP 2112.01(I).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of You.
Regarding Claim 18, Wei makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 17. Wei does not teach wherein there are exactly two fan-shaped flanges further configured to connect to a locking flange of the filter element to lock the axial position of the inner plane of the filter element and the connector flange.
However, You teaches a coupling projections (i.e., wherein there are exactly two fan-shaped flanges further configured to connect to a locking flange of the filter element; Figs. 5, 6, and 9, #433) located on the housing cap (i.e., the filter element and the connector flange; Fig. 8, #43) that can be inserted into a coupling groove (Fig. 5, #631) which is located on the mounting member (Fig. 5, #70) and the two are coupled by rotation (Col. 8, Lines 17-62). You further teaches a restraining projection (Fig. 433b) on the coupling projection that engages inside the coupling groove to fix the filter inside (Col. 10, Lines 10-17) where a coupling groove (Fig. 14, #631a) matches with the restraining projection and both can be observed through an opening portion for the purpose of preventing random separation of the filter from the head (i.e., to lock the axial position of the inner plane of the filter element and the connector flange; Fig. 14, #632; Col. 19, Lines 37-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the filter made obvious by Wei to have the coupling projections with restraining projections as taught by You because the added projections would prevent random separation of the filter from the joint.
Regarding Claim 19, Wei in view of You makes obvious the water filtration system of claim 18. Wei further teaches that the convex stop port (i.e., the boss; Fig. 2, #22a) is welded to the stop port (Fig. 5, #215) where the stop port is part of the end cover (i.e., the water inlet cover plate; wherein the boss comprising the plurality of fan-shaped holes is welded to the water inlet cover plate of the filter element; Fig. 2, #21; Paragraph 0031).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/Ryan B Huang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777