Claims 1-17 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 2,2025 and August 16,2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al., US 20240205869 A1., in view of Si et al, US 20220050163 A1, and in further view of Wu et al, US 20230156544 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses a method of wireless communication of a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 8 The UE), comprising:
wherein the base station configures the one or more measurement gaps based on information received from a location management function indicating that the UE is to perform the measurements of the PRSs([0216] [0238] In operation 907, the LMF may transfer, to a BS, information of measurement to be performed by the UE, by using information included in LPP RequestLocationInformation and information included in the LPP ProvideAssistanceDatamessage in a previous operation. In operation 909, the BS having received the message including not only PRS configuration information associated with the LPP Provide Assistance Data message but also including information associated with the LPP Request Location Information message may configure the UE by respectively associating IDs with a plurality of measurement gap candidates configurable for the UE, based on the given PRS information and measurement/report configuration information for each position measurement method.);
and performing measurements of PRSs within the one measurement gap ([0211]FIG.8 In operation 825, the UE may perform PRS measurement by using the measurement gap).
Hwang does not disclose receiving, from the base station without the UE having transmitted the request for the measurement gap to the base station, configurations of one or more measurement gaps for the UE to perform measurements of positioning reference signals (PRSs),
However, Si does disclose receiving, from the base station without the UE having transmitted the request for the measurement gap to the base station, configurations of one or more measurement gaps for the UE to perform measurements of positioning reference signals (PRSs) ([0189-0192] Based on the positioning assistance information (for example, a PRS bandwidth or time), the terminal sends request signaling to the network side. The signaling is used to indicate to the network side that the terminal is to start/stop performing DL RSTD and/or DL RSRP measurement by using the measurement gap, and indicate, to the network side, a measurement gap configuration expected by the terminal for performing measurement. Signaling 1 sent by the terminal may include at least one of the following information: frequency related information of an NR PRS resource, NR PRS measurement offset information Page 5 (measurement NR PRS offset) or gap offset information, measurement gap pattern ID information, and whether the terminal starts or stops performing measurement using the measurement gap. The terminal may choose to send or not to send the request signaling.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang with receiving, configurations of one or more measurement gaps for the UE to perform measurements of positioning reference signals (PRSs) as taught by Si. The motivation for doing so would be to improve a probability of detecting the PRS by the terminal. (Si, [0054])
Hwang and Si do not disclose receiving, from the base station without the UE having transmitted the request for the measurement gap to the base station, an indication for selecting one measurement gap of the one or more measurement gaps;
However, Wu does disclose receiving, from the base station without the UE having transmitted the request for the measurement gap to the base station, an indication for selecting one measurement gap of the one or more measurement gaps ([0284] [0286] At block 1502, the first network node receives, from a second network node of the RAN, an indication of a measurement gap capability (e.g., a NeedForGapsInfoNR IE, an interFrequencyMeas-NoGap-r16 IE, first information requesting that the first network node configure measurement gaps for the UE or indicating that the first network node should not generate measurement gaps or should release previously configured measurement gaps. The first network node may generate and provide a first configuration to the second node, where the first configuration is a configuration that enables the UE to perform inter-frequency measurement on reference signal(s) (RS(s)) within an active DL BWP without measurement gaps (e.g., events 342E or 342F).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang and Si with receiving, from the base station without the UE having transmitted the request for the measurement gap to the base station, an indication for selecting one measurement gap of the one or more measurement gaps as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to implement some or all of the techniques for managing gap measurements at a UE discussed in this disclosure. (Wu, [0063])
Regarding claim 2, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: sending a location request-for-measurement to a location management function through a base station, the location request-for-measurement requesting the location management function to schedule the UE to perform measurements of PRSs transmitted from the base station(([0284] The UE having received the message. FIG. 14 illustrates a case of CG type 2, and in the case of CG type 2, in operation 1413, when the UE transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the BS, in operation 1415, the BS may transmit an NRPPa PositioningInformationResponse message to the LMF.).).
Regarding claim 4, Hwang discloses a method of wireless communication of a base station (Fig. 8 The base station), comprising:
receiving information of a location request-for-measurement from a location management function, the location request-for-measurement requesting a user equipment (UE) to perform measurements of positioning reference signals (PRSs), the information identifying, to the base station, that the UE is to perform the measurements([0172] [0206] Fig. 8 807 in addition to the transfer of the LPP Provide Assistance Data message, the LMF may include, in the NRPPa message, a plurality of pieces of PRS configuration information included/used in a LPP ProvideAssistanceData message, and may transfer the message to the BS.809 the BS having received the message may configure the UE by
associating IDs with a plurality of measurement gap candidates configurable for the UE, based on the
given PRS configuration information.);
wherein the base station determines the configurations based on the information received from the location management function indicating that the UE is to perform the measurements of the PRSs ([0216] [0238] In operation 907, the LMF may transfer, to a BS, information of measurement to be performed by the UE, by using information included in LPP RequestLocationInformation and information included in the LPP ProvideAssistanceData message in a previous operation. In operation 909, the BS having received the message including not only PRS configuration information associated with the LPP Provide Assistance Data message but also including information associated with the LPP Request Location Information message may configure the UE by respectively associating IDs with a plurality of measurement gap candidates configurable for the UE, based on the given PRS information and measurement/report configuration information for each position measurement method.);
receiving results of the measurements from the UE([0211] FIG.8 827 the UE receives
information of the measurement result in a LPP Providelocationinformation message and may include the LPP Providelocationinformation message in an RRC ULInformationTransfer message and may transfer the message to the BS.);
and forwarding the results of the measurements to the location management function ([0211] FIG. 8 The BS may transfer the LPP Providelocationinformation message to the LMF.).
Hwang does not disclose sending, to the UE without the UE having transmitted a request for a measurement gap to the base station, based on the determining, an indication indicating the measurement gap, from the one or more measurement gaps, allocated for the UE to perform the measurements; determining, based on the information and without having received a request from the UE for a measurement gap, configurations of one or more measurement gaps for the UE to perform the measurements,
However, Si does disclose sending, to the UE without the UE having transmitted a request for a measurement gap to the base station, based on the determining, an indication indicating the measurement gap, from the one or more measurement gaps, allocated for the UE to perform the measurements ([0189-0192] Based on the positioning assistance information (for example, a PRS bandwidth or time), the terminal sends request signaling to the network side. The signaling is used to indicate to the network side that the terminal is to start/stop performing DL RSTD and/or DL RSRP measurement by using the measurement gap, and indicate, to the network side, a measurement gap configuration expected by the terminal for performing measurement. Signaling 1 sent by the terminal may include at least one of the following information: frequency related information ofan NR PRS resource, NR PRS measurement offset information (measurement NR PRS offset) or gap offset information, measurement gap pattern ID information, and whether the terminal starts or stops performing measurement using the measurement gap. The terminal may choose to send or not to send the request signaling.);
determining, based on the information and without having received a request from the UE for a measurement gap, configurations of one or more measurement gaps for the UE to perform the measurements([0189-0192] Based on the positioning assistance information (for
example, a PRS bandwidth or time), the terminal sends request signaling to the network side. The
signaling is used to indicate to the network side that the terminal is to start/stop performing DL RSTD
and/or DL RSRP measurement by using the measurement gap, and indicate, to the network side, a
measurement gap configuration expected by the terminal for performing measurement. Signaling 1 sent by the terminal may include at least one of the following information: frequency related information of an NR PRS resource, NR PRS measurement offset information (measurement NR PRS offset) or gap offset information, measurement gap pattern ID information, and whether the terminal starts or stops performing measurement using the measurement gap. The terminal may choose to send or not to send the request signaling.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang with sending, to the UE without the UE having transmitted a request for a measurement gap to the base station, based on the determining, an indication indicating the measurement gap, from the one or more measurement gaps, allocated for the UE to perform the measurements; determining, based on the information and without having received a request from the UE for a measurement gap, configurations of one or more measurement gaps for the UE to perform the measurements as taught by Si. The motivation for doing so would be to improve a probability of detecting the PRS by the terminal. (Si, [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: receiving the location request-for-measurement from the location management function, the location request-for-measurement requesting the UE to perform the measurements of the PRSs([0159] [0162] a UE receives a capacity information request from an LMF, and in operation 709, the UE transmits, to the LMF, information associated with a position measurement capability of the UE. The UE may determine how to measure a position and what to report to the BS, based on the LPP RequestLocationInformation in a given PRS situation.);
and forwarding the location request-for-measurement to the UE([0162] 725 the LMF may
request a position measurement indication via a specific position measurement method. Position measurement indication information is included in a LPP RequestLocationInformation message and is transferred to the UE via the AMF/the BS in operations 727, 729, and 731.).
Regarding claim 6, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: receiving the location request-for-measurement from the UE, the location request-for- measurement requesting the location management function to schedule the UE to perform the measurements of the PRSs ([0284]
The UE having received the message. FIG. 14 illustrates a case of CG type 2, and in the case of CG type 2, in operation 1413, when the UE transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the BS, in
operation 1415, the BS may transmit an NRPPa PositioningInformationResponse message to the LMF.);
and forwarding the location request-for-measurement to the location management function ([0284] The UE having received the message. FIG. 14 illustrates a case of CG type 2, and in the case of CG type 2, in operation 1413, when the UE transmits an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the BS, in operation 1415, the BS may transmit an NRPPa PositioningInformationResponse message to the LMF.).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: receiving, from the location management function, an indication indicating a frequency layer or band on which a measurement gap is to be configured for the UE to perform the measurements ([0053] a location
managementfunction (LMF) of a wireless communication system may transfer time and frequency
information of a PRS to be used in measurement to a serving BS of the UE, and the serving BS having
received the information may previously allocate a plurality of identifiers (IDs) to measurement gaps and transfer them to the UE.);
and activating the measurement gap for the UE on the frequency layer or band ([0052] [0250] currently operated by the UE with a measurement object time and a measurement target frequency on the received PRS configuration information, and when the UE has to perform measurement exceeding a capacity of the UE, requesting a BS for a measurement gap. The UE has to activate and use the gap corresponding to the measurement gap ID received from the BS.).
Regarding claim 11, Hwang discloses the method wherein the indication is sent to the UE through a downlink control channel or a medium access control (MAC) CE ([0167] transfer them to the UE in advance, and may notify only an ID via downlink control information (DCI) or a MACcontrol
element (CE) when requested).
Regarding claim 12, Hwang discloses a method of operating a location management function, comprising: determining a location request-for-measurement regarding a user equipment (UE) ([0161] 717 the LMF receives the information associated with the position measurement capability of the target UE and transfers position measurement assistance information to the UE.);
and indicating that the UE is to perform measurements of positioning reference signals (PRSs), wherein the base station configures one or more measurement gaps for the UE based on the information ([0216] [0238] In operation 907, the LMF may transfer, to a BS, information of measurement to be performed by the UE, by using information included in LPP RequestLocationInformation and information included in the LPP ProvideAssistanceData message in a previous operation. In operation 909, the BS having received the message including not only PRS configuration information associated with the LPP Provide Assistance Data message but also including information associated with the LPP Request Location Information message may configure the UE by respectively associating IDs with a plurality of measurement gap candidates configurable for the UE, based on the given PRS information and measurement/report configuration information for each position measurement method.))
and receiving, through the base station, results of the measurements from the UE(([0211]
FIG.8 827 the UE may include information of the measurement result in a LPP Providelocationinformation message and may include the LPP ProvidelLocationinformation message in an RRC Ullnformation Transfer message and may transfer the message to the BS.).).
Hwang does not disclose sending, to a base station without the base station having received a request for a measurement gap from the UE, information of the location request-for-measurement to the base station,
However, Si does disclose sending, to a base station without the base station having received a request for a measurement gap from the UE, information of the location request-for-measurement to the base station ([0189-0192] Based on the positioning assistance information (for example, a PRS bandwidth or time), the terminal sends request signaling to the network side. The signaling is used to indicate to the network side that the terminal is to start/stop performing DL RSTD and/or DL RSRP measurement by using the measurement gap, and indicate, to the network side, a measurement gap configuration expected by the terminal for performing measurement. Signaling 1 sent by the terminal may include at least one of the following information: frequency related information ofan NR PRS resource, NR PRS measurement offset information (measurement NR PRS offset) or gap offset information, measurement gap pattern ID information, and whether the terminal starts or stops performing measurement using the measurement gap. The terminal may choose to send or not to send the request signaling.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang with sending, to a base station without the base station having received a request for a measurement gap from the UE, information of the location request-for-measurement to the base station as taught by Si. The motivation for doing so would be to improve a probability of detecting the PRS by the terminal. (Si, [0054]).
Hwang and Si do not disclose the information identifying the UE to the base station and sends an indication for selecting one measurement gap of the one or more measurement gaps to the UE, without having received the request for the measurement gap from the UE;
However, Wu does disclose the information identifying the UE to the base station and sends an indication for selecting one measurement gap of the one or more measurement gaps to the UE, without having received the request for the measurement gap from the UE([0284] [0286] At block 1502, the first network node receives, from a second network node of the RAN, an indication of a measurement gap capability (e.g., a NeedForGapsInfoNR IE, an interFrequencyMeas-NoGap-r16 IE, first information requesting that the first network node configure measurement gaps for the UE or indicating that the first network node should not generate measurement gaps or should release previously configured measurement gaps. The first network node may generate and provide a first configuration to the second node, where the first configuration is a configuration that enables the UE to perform inter-frequency measurement on reference signal(s) (RS(s)) within an active DL BWP without measurement gaps (e.g., events 342E or 342F).);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang and Si with receiving, from the base station without the UE having transmitted the request for the measurement gap to the base station, an indication for selecting one measurement gap of the one or more measurement gaps as taught by Wu. The motivation for doing so would be to implement some or all of the techniques for managing gap measurements at a UE discussed in this disclosure. (Wu, [0063])
Regarding claim 13, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: sending the location request-for-measurement to the UE through the base station, the location request-for-measurement requesting the UE to perform measurements of positioning reference signals (PRSs) ([0172] [0205} Fig.8 807 in addition to the transfer of the LPP Provide Assistance Data message, the LMF may include, in the NRPPa message, a plurality of pieces of PRS configuration information included/used in a LPP
ProvideAssistanceData message, and may transfer the message to the BS. 811 when information about the IDs respectively configured for the measurement gap candidates is transferred to the UE via an RRCReconfiguration message.).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: receiving the location request-for-measurement from the UE through a base station, the location request-for-measurement requesting the location management function to schedule the UE to perform measurements of PRSs([0161] 717 The LMF receives the information associated with the position measurement capability of the target UE and transfers position measurement assistance information to the UE. Here, in operation 719, the LMF includes a LPP ProvideAssistanceData message in a NIN2 message and transfers the message to the AMF, and in operation 721, the AMFreceives the message, extracts and includes the LPP ProvideAssistanceData message in a DownlinkNASTransport message, and transfers the message to the BS.).
Regarding claim 15, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: sending, to the base station, an indication indicating a frequency layer or band on which a measurement gap is to be configured for the UE to perform the measurements ([0053] A location management function (LMF) of a wireless communication system may transfer time and frequency information of a PRS to be used in measurement to a serving BS of the UE, and the serving BS having received the information may
previously allocate a plurality of identifiers (IDs) to measurement gaps and transfer them to the UE).
Regarding claim 16, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: sending, to the base station, an indication indicating a duration for the UE perform the measurements, an indication indicating the time duration and de-configures or deactivates one or more subsequent measurement gaps for the UE after the time duration has passed([0216] In operation 907, the LMF may transfer, to a BS, information of measurement to be performed by the UE, by using information included in LPP RequestLocationinformation and information included in the LPP ProvideAssistanceData message in a previous operation.).
sending, to the base station, via signaling associated with the UE in accordance with NR Positioning Protocol A (NRPPa), an indication indicating a time duration in which the UE is requested to perform the PRS measurements, wherein the time duration assists the base station for measurement gap pattern arrangement, and wherein the base station sends, to the UE([0172] [0205} Fig.8 807 in addition to the transfer of the LPP Provide Assistance Data message, the LMF may include, in the NRPPa message, a plurality of pieces of PRS configuration information included/used in a LPP
ProvideAssistanceData message, and may transfer the message to the BS. 811 when information about the IDs respectively configured for the measurement gap candidates is transferred to the UE via an RRCReconfiguration message.).
Claims 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al., US 20240205869 A1., in view of Si et al, US 20220050163 A1, in view of Wu et al, US 20230156544 A1, and in further view of Rao et al, US 20240179583 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang discloses the method wherein the indication is received through a downlink control channel or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)(([0210] include the selected one in a MAC control element (CE) or downlink control information (DCI) ofa physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)).).
Hwang, Si, and Wu do not disclose the indication indicating an index corresponding to the one measurement gap that is activated, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from the base station, an indication indicating a time duration for the PRS measurements; and stopping performing the PRS measurements after the time duration has passed.
However, Rao does disclose the indication indicating an index corresponding to the one measurement gap that is activated, and wherein the method further comprises([0321] [0323] At block 1440, the WTRU 102, 200, 300 400 and 500 may perform PRS measurements using the selected PRS configuration. For example, the indicated first PRS configuration associated with the first base station and the indicated first set of threshold values associated with the indicated first PRS configuration may be active during the hand over. ):
receiving, from the base station, an indication indicating a time duration for the PRS measurements([0186] (2) one or more time validity conditions (e.g., time validity information) (for example, the time duration e.g., from a start time to an expiry time) in which the PRS configurations may be valid for usage.);
and stopping performing the PRS measurements after the time duration has passed([0234] Another example condition for starting/stopping the transmission of an associated SRSp configuration includes a validity time. For example, the one or more SRSp configurations may be associated with a validity time duration. The WTRU may start/stop using an SRSp configuration based on setting/expiry of a timer over the configured validity time duration.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang, Si, and Wu with the indication indicating an index corresponding to the one measurement gap that is activated, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from the base station, an indication indicating a time duration for the PRS measurements; and stopping performing the PRS measurements after the time duration has passed as taught by Rao. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the positioning accuracy. (Rao, [0151])
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et
al., US 20240205869 A1., in view of Si et al, US 20220050163 A1, in view of Wu et al, US 20230156544 A1, in view of He et al, US 20220322308 A1, and in further view of Rao et al, US 20240179583 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: receiving, from the location management function, an indication indicating a duration for the UE to perform the measurements([0206] 815,817,819 the LMF may request the UE for position measurement via a LPP RequestLocationInformation message.);
activating a measurement gap for the UE within the duration([0250] the UE has to activate and use the gap corresponding to the measurement gap ID received from the BS);
and deactivating the measurement gap after the duration has passed([0205] In a case where the BS attempts to remove or modify a measurement gap preset for the UE, when the BS associates ID and signals it to the UE, the UE may remove or modify the measurement gap corresponding thereto.).
receiving, from the location management function, an indication indicating a time duration for the UE to perform the measurements([0172] [0205} Fig.8 807 in addition to the transfer of the LPP Provide Assistance Data message, the LMF may include, in the NRPPa message, a plurality of pieces of PRS configuration information included/used in a LPP
ProvideAssistanceData message, and may transfer the message to the BS. 811 when information about the IDs respectively configured for the measurement gap candidates is transferred to the UE via an RRCReconfiguration message.);
Hwang, Si, and Wu do not disclose configuring, for the UE and within the time duration, a plurality of measurement gaps having a periodicity sending, to the UE, an indication indicating the time duration
However, He does disclose configuring, for the UE and within the time duration, a plurality of measurement gaps having a periodicity sending, to the UE, an indication indicating the time duration([0301] wherein the first measurement gap configuration comprises a BWP index associated with the first BWP, a periodicity associated with a plurality of measurement gaps, a gap duration associated with the plurality of measurement gaps, a set of serving carriers associated with the first measurement gap configuration);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang, Si, and Wu with the indication indicating an index corresponding to the one measurement gap that is activated, and wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from the base station, an indication indicating a time duration for the PRS measurements; and stopping performing the PRS measurements after the time duration has passed as taught by He. The motivation for doing so would be to improve measurement for signals received outside of an active BWP at a UE 115. (He, [0098])
Hwang, Si, Wu, and He do not disclose and de-configuring or deactivating one or more subsequent measurement gaps for the UE after the time duration has passed.
However, Rao does disclose and de-configuring or deactivating one or more subsequent measurement gaps for the UE after the time duration has passed([0208] may send information associated with the second MG configuration (e.g., for making measurements on the PRS resources in the second PRS configuration, for example after releasing/deactivating the first MG configuration).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang, Si, Wu, and He with and de-configuring or deactivating one or more subsequent measurement gaps for the UE after the time duration has passed as taught by Rao. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the positioning accuracy. (Rao, [0151])
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hwang et al, US 20240205869 Al., in view of Si et al, US 20220050163 A1, in view of Wu et al, US 20230156544 A1 as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Dong et al, US 20230198710 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: receiving, from the location management function, an indication indicating PRS configurations of one or more base stations different from the base station ([0206] 815,817,819 the LMF may request the UE for position measurement via a LPPRequestLocation information message.).
Hwang, Si, and Wu do not disclose indicating PRS configurations ofone or more base stations different from the base station.
However, Dong does disclose indicating PRS configurations of one or more base stations different from the base station ([0037] FIG.2 201,202, Fig. 3, 201,[0080],[0095], Fig. 4, determine a first PRS configuration for sending a first PRS, where the first PRS configuration is determined based on a second PRS configuration used when a second base station sends a second PRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang, Si, and Wu with indicating PRS configurations of one or more base stations different from the base station as taught by Dong. The motivation for doing so would be to improve interference between PRS, PRS positioning success rate, and positioning precision of the user equipment (Dong [0051]).
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hwang et al, US 20240205869 Al., in view of Si et al, US 20220050163 A1, in view of Wu et al, US 20230156544 A1 as applied to claim 4 above, in view of Dong et al, US 20230198710 A1, and in further view of Sahai et al, US20190052996.
Regarding claim 10, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: allocating the measurement gap for the UE based on the PRS configurations of the base station and the one or more base stations different from the base station ([0168] BS may receive PRS configuration information associated with Provide Assistance Data from the LMF, may configure a predictable measurement gap (MG), may allocate an ID to the MG, and may notify to the UE by allocating an ID to the MG),
Hwang, Si, and Wu do not disclose PRS configurations of the base station and the one or more base stations different from the base station.
However, Dong does disclose PRS configurations of the base station and the one or more base stations different from the base station ([0037] FIG.2 201,202, Fig. 3, 201, [0080], [0095], Fig. 4, determine a first PRS configuration for sending a first PRS, where the first PRS configuration is determined based on a second PRS configuration used when a second base station sends a second PRS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang, Si, and Wu with PRS configurations of the base station and the one or more base stations different from the base station as taught by Dong. The motivation for doing so would be to improve interference between PRS, PRS positioning success rate, and positioning precision of the user equipment (Dong [0051]).
Hwang, Si, Wu, and Dong do not disclose wherein the base station determines the measurement gap to allow the UE to measure the PRSs transmitted by the one or more base stations different from the base station based on the PRS configurations of the one or more base stations different from the base station.
However, Sahai does disclose wherein the base station determines the measurement gap to allow the UE to measure the PRSs transmitted by the one or more base stations different from the base station based on the PRS configurations of the one or more base stations different from the base station([0059] UE 120 may then perform the requested measurements in the dedicated measurement gaps (as configured) and transmit the RSTD measurements (e.g. via eNB 140-1) to E-SMLC 155, which may estimate the position of UE 120 based on the RSTD measurements. Referring to FIG. 1A, in some embodiments, base stations 140-1-140-4 corresponding to cells 145-1-145-4, respectively, may transmit Positioning Reference Signals (PRS). LTE PRS, which have been defined in 3GPP Long Term Evolution (LTE) Release-9, are transmitted by a base station in special positioning subframes that are grouped into positioning occasions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang, Si, Wu, and Dong with wherein the base station determines the measurement gap to allow the UE to measure the PRSs transmitted by the one or more base stations different from the base station based on the PRS configurations of the one or more base stations different from the base station as taught by Sahai. The motivation for doing so would be to further improve hearability of PRS. (Sahai, [0061]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hwang et al, US 20240205869 A1., in view of Si et al, US 20220050163 A1., in view of Wu et al, US 20230156544 A1 as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Dong et al, US 20230198710 A1.
Regarding claim 17, Hwang discloses the method further comprising: sending, to the base station, an indication indicating PRS configurations of one or more base stations different from the base station ([0172] [0205] Fig. 8 807 in addition to the transfer of the LPP Provide Assistance Data message, the LMF may include, in the NRPPa message, a plurality of pieces of PRS configuration information included/used in a LPP ProvideAssistanceData message, and may transfer the message to the BS. 811 when information about the IDs respectively configured for the measurement gap candidates is transferred to the UE via an RRC Reconfiguration message.).
Hwang, Si, and Wu do not disclose the method further comprising: sending, to the base station, an indication indicating PRS configurations of one or more base stations different from the base station.
However, Dong does disclose PRS configurations of one or more base stations different from the base station ([0037] FIG.2 201,202, Fig. 3, 201, [0080], [0095], Fig. 4, determine a first PRS configuration for sending a first PRS, where the first PRS configuration is determined based on a second PRS configuration used when a second base station sends a second PRS.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang, Si, and Wu with PRS configurations of one or more base stations different from the base station as taught by Dong. The motivation for doing so would be to improve interference between PRS, PRS positioning success rate, and positioning precision of the user equipment (Dong [0051]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419