DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification does not describe the polymer tube as explicitly as “discrete and separate” from the core wire.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 21 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7, 21 and 27 contains the trademark/trade name “Estane. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the material of the polymer tube and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 19-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8613712 B1 to Burkett et al. (hereinafter, Burkett) in view of US 20070249964 A1 to Richardson et al. (hereinafter, Richardson).
Burkett discloses a guidewire (guidewire 66, FIG. 7, col. 6, lines 25-54), comprising inter alia:
an elongate core wire (wire core 68) including a distal end, a proximal end (indicated in annotated Fig. 7, below), and a longitudinal axis extending along a length of the core wire from the distal end to the proximal end (indicated by dotted line in annotated FIG. 7, below), the core wire including a distal portion extending proximally from the distal end and a proximal portion extending distally from the proximal end (indicated in annotated Fig. 7, below), the distal portion including a distal profile and the proximal portion including a proximal profile (col. 6, lines 36-39 “…straight profile or tapered profile of the wire core 68), the distal profile being smaller than the proximal profile (note that the wire core 68 tapers from the proximal end to distal end along the proximal portion and distal portions, the distal portion becoming a smaller profile as compared to the proximal portion); and
a grip portion (coating 76) disposed at least partially along the proximal portion of the core wire profile (col. 6, lines 36-39 “…the coating 76 generally follows the straight profile or tapered profile of the wire core 68), the grip portion includes a polymer tube applied to the core wire (col. 9, lines 18-28 “…coating … is polyurethane polymer, although, any polymer that meets design requirements can be used… as shown in FIG. 7…”), the polymer tube including a sidewall extending between first and second ends of the polymer tube (col. 6, lines 39-41 “…a thickness of the coating that is generally uniform…”), a plurality of cutouts (divots 78) at least partially through the sidewall of the polymer tube (col. 6, lines 41-44 “… the depths of the divots may … to a through hole exposing the wire core surface…”), and at least one bridging section between individual cutouts of the plurality of cutouts (as indicated by the boxed portions in annotated FIG. 7, below, the continuous rings around the polymer tube located between each of the sections), the plurality of cutouts disposed within the sidewall of the polymer tube forming a cut pattern of the grip portion, the grip portion configured to provide tactile feel to a user of the guidewire (the divots 78 in the coating 76 are form a pattern and are capable of providing tactile feel to a user of the guidewire, because the divot holes would have been capable of being felt in relation to the smooth outer surface of the coating 76);
wherein each of the plurality of cutouts extends entirely through the sidewall of the polymer tube (col. 6, lines 41-44 “… the depths of the divots may … to a through hole exposing the wire core surface…”);
wherein the polymer tube includes a heat shrinkable polymer tube (col. 9, lines 18-28 “…coating … is polyurethane polymer, although, any polymer that meets design requirements can be used… as shown in FIG. 7…”) (col. 3, lines 40-42 “…heating and extruding a polymer through a die to adhere to at least a portion of the elongated core to create a polymer coating…”);
wherein the plurality of cutouts includes laser cut cutouts through the sidewall of the polymer tube (col. 6, lines 48-54 “laser drilling”);
wherein the bridging section forms a continuous ring around the polymer tube configured to maintain a shape of the polymer tube (as indicated by the boxed portions in annotated FIG. 7, above, the continuous rings around the polymer tube located between each of the sections);
wherein the grip portion includes at least one bridging section between individual cutouts of the plurality of cutouts, the bridging section forming a continuous ring around the polymer tube configured to maintain a shape of the polymer tube (as indicated by the boxed portions in annotated FIG. 7, above, the continuous rings around the polymer tube located between each of the sections); and
a coating disposed over an outer surface of the polymer tube of the grip portion (col. 9, lines 46-61 “..one or more layers…”).
Burkett discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing where the polymer tube is a heat shrinkable polymer tube formed from Estane that is discrete and separate from the core wire and where the at least one cutout is formed within the polymer tube prior to the polymer tube being applied to the core wire. However, Richardson teaches a guidewire having an elongate core member 111 with a polymer layer 126 disposed thereon (paragraph [0103]), where the polymer layer “may be first formed elsewhere and then secured to the core member by suitable adhesives or by shrink fitting” (paragraph [0026]), and where the polymer layer “can be applied by heat shrinking” (paragraph [0131]).
One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the coating 76 of Burkett to be the separately formed, heat shrinkable polymer tube of Richardson, as Richardson teaches heat shrinking and extrusion are interchangeable methods of applying a polymer layer to a guidewire core member (Richardson, paragraph [0131]). One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the polymer tube of Burkett to be the Estane material of Richardson, as Richardson teaches in paragraph [0129] that a polyurethane thermoplastic would be a “suitable polymer” for covering a core member.
Furthermore, the combination of Burkett in view of Richardson results in the same structure as claimed, a core wire with a heat shrinkable polymer tube attached thereto having cutouts through the sidewall forming a grip patterns. Applicant’s specification sets forth at paragraph [0050] that the cutouts may be formed either before or after the polymer tube is applied to the core wire, treating both as equivalent and alternatively preferred embodiments. Because the present claims are apparatus claims, any process limitation reciting how the cutouts are formed in non-limiting, as the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, if the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even through the prior product was made by a different process. The combination of Burkett and Richardson and the claimed invention result in structurally identical products, e.g., a polymer tube with cutouts disposed on the guidewire core. The claims are therefore obvious regardless of when the cutouts were formed relative to the assembly.
Conclusion
/SEAN P DOUGHERTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791