DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “the seal having a seal surface having a solidification path where the secondary laser pulse region applies heat to a molten zone formed by the primary laser pulse region, thereby moving molten material from a center of the membrane vent hole outward therefrom” is lacking written description in the specification. The specification does not disclose the solidification path can move molten material outward from the center of the hole.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, the limitation “the seal having a seal surface having a solidification path where the secondary laser pulse region applies heat to a molten zone formed by the primary laser pulse region, thereby moving molten material from a center of the membrane vent hole outward therefrom is indefinite. It is unclear how the solidification path can move molten material outward from the center of the hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ametowobla (DE 102015224488A1) (cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Ametowobla teaches a method for controlling surface asperity during laser sealing of a membrane vent hole, the method comprising:
applying a laser pulse (laser pulses 905, 925, 933 and 935) having a laser intensity spatial distribution to the membrane vent hole (opening 11) to form a seal (material region 13) over the membrane vent hole (opening 11) (See fig.2 and para.[0044] “For example, it is also provided that the introduction of energy or heat is controlled by means of the time-shaped laser pulse 905 in such a way that the further laser pulse duration 907 is at least partially preceded in time by a first transition of the material region 13 from the solid to the liquid state. In addition, it is provided, for example, that the introduction of energy or heat is controlled by means of the time-shaped laser pulse 905 such that the third laser pulse duration 911 at least partially follows a second transition of the material region 13 from the liquid to the solid state.”), the laser pulse (laser pulses 905, 925, 933 and 935) including a primary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 905, 925) and a secondary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 933, 935) later in time than the primary laser pulse region (see fig.8), and a time gap between the primary laser pulse region and the secondary laser pulse region (see fig.8, there is a time gap between the region of laser pulses 905, 925 and the region of laser pulses 933, 935), the primary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 905, 925) includes first and second discontinuous laser pulses (laser pulses 905, 925) having a first time gap therebetween (see fig.8, there is a time gap between laser pulse laser pulses 905 and 925), the primary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 905, 925) include first and second discontinuous laser pulses (laser pulses 905, 925), the primary laser pulse region having a primary pulse duration (the duration of laser pulses 905, 925) and the first time gap having a first time gap duration (see fig.8, the duration of the time gap between laser pulse laser pulses 905 and 925), the seal having a surface having a surface asperity characteristic [Examiner’s note: It is inherent that every surface have a certain asperity characteristic.], but does not teach the first time gap duration is 1% to 2% of the primary pulse duration.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the first time gap to be 1% to 2% of the primary pulse duration, in order to provide desired laser processing time, since applicant does not disclose that the first time gap duration is 1% to 2% of the primary pulse duration solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore that relationship between the first time gap and the primary pulse duration is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 3, Ametowobla teaches the first discontinuous pulse (laser pulse 905) having a first discontinuous pulse laser power (laser pulse intensity 903) and the second discontinuous pulse (laser pulse 925) having a second discontinuous pulse laser power (laser pulse intensity 923), the first and second discontinuous pulse powers are not equal (see fig.8, laser pulse intensity 903 and laser pulse intensity 923 are not equal.).
Regarding claim 4, Ametowobla teaches the secondary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 933, 935) includes third and fourth discontinuous laser pulses (the region of laser pulses 933, 935), the secondary laser pulse having a secondary pulse duration (the duration of laser pulses 933, 935) and the second time gap having a second time gap duration (see fig.8, there is a time gap between the region of laser pulses 933, 935), but does not teach the second time gap duration is 1% to 2% of the primary pulse duration.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the second time gap to be 1% to 2% of the secondary pulse duration, in order to provide desired laser processing time, since applicant does not disclose that the first time gap duration is 1% to 2% of the primary pulse duration solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore that relationship between the second time gap and the secondary pulse duration is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 5, Ametowobla teaches the secondary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 933, 935) includes third and fourth discontinuous laser pulses (laser pulses 933, 935), the third discontinuous pulse (laser pulse 933) having a third discontinuous pulse laser power (intensity of laser pulse 933) and the fourth discontinuous pulse (laser pulse 935) having a fourth discontinuous pulse laser power (intensity of laser pulse 935), the third and fourth discontinuous pulse powers are not equal (see fig.8, laser pulse intensity 933 and laser pulse intensity 935 are not equal.).
Regarding claim 6, Ametowobla teaches the primary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 905, 925) has a primary laser power (the power intensity of laser pulses 905, 925) and the secondary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 933, 935) has a secondary laser power (the power intensity of laser pulses 933, 935), the secondary laser power is less than the primary laser power (see fig.8, the power intensity of laser pulses 933, 935 is less than the power intensity of laser pulses 905, 925.).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Ametowobla does not explicitly teach the secondary laser power is less than the primary laser power by 10% to 60%
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the power of the primary laser pulse and the secondary laser pulse to have the secondary laser power is less than the primary laser power by 10% to 60%, in order to provide desired power relationship between the primary laser power and the secondary laser power, since applicant does not disclose that relationship between the primary laser power and the secondary laser power solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore that relationship between the primary power and the secondary power is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, Ametowobla teaches the surface asperity characteristic is a reduced surface asperity height [Examiner’s note: It is inherent that every surface have a certain asperity height.].
Regarding claim 9, Ametowobla teaches a method for controlling surface asperity during laser sealing of a membrane vent hole, the method comprising:
applying a laser pulse (laser pulses 905, 925, 933 and 935) having a laser intensity spatial distribution to the membrane vent hole (opening 11) to form a seal (material region 13) over the membrane vent hole (opening 11) (See fig.2 and para.[0044] “For example, it is also provided that the introduction of energy or heat is controlled by means of the time-shaped laser pulse 905 in such a way that the further laser pulse duration 907 is at least partially preceded in time by a first transition of the material region 13 from the solid to the liquid state. In addition, it is provided, for example, that the introduction of energy or heat is controlled by means of the time-shaped laser pulse 905 such that the third laser pulse duration 911 at least partially follows a second transition of the material region 13 from the liquid to the solid state.”), the laser pulse (laser pulses 905, 925, 933 and 935) including a primary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 905, 925) and a secondary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 933, 935) later in time than the primary laser pulse region (see fig.8), and a time gap between the primary laser pulse region and the secondary laser pulse region (see fig.8, there is a time gap between the region of laser pulses 905, 925 and the region of laser pulses 933, 935), the primary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 905, 925) has a primary laser power (the power intensity of laser pulses 905, 925) and the secondary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 933, 935) has a secondary laser power (the power intensity of laser pulses 933, 935) less than the primary laser power (see fig.8, the power intensity of laser pulses 933, 935 is less than the power intensity of laser pulses 905, 925.), the primary laser pulse region has a primary pulse duration and the time gap has a time gap duration (see fig.8), the seal having a seal surface having a surface asperity characteristic [Examiner’s note: It is inherent that every surface have a certain asperity characteristic.], but does not teach a ratio of the time gap duration to the primary pulse duration is 0.0.1:1 to 0.6:1.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the primary laser pulse and the secondary laser pulse to have a ratio of the time gap duration to the primary pulse duration is 0.01:1 to 0.6:1, in order to provide desired processing time of the primary pulse, since applicant does not disclose that ratio of the time gap duration to the primary pulse duration solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore that ratio of the time gap duration to the primary pulse duration is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 11, Ametowobla does not teach a ratio of the time gap duration to the primary pulse duration is 0.2:1 to 0.6:1.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the primary laser pulse and the secondary laser pulse to have a ratio of the time gap duration to the primary pulse duration is 0.2:1 to 0.6:1, in order to provide desired processing time of the primary pulse, since applicant does not disclose that ratio of the time gap duration to the primary pulse duration solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore that ratio of the time gap duration to the primary pulse duration is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Regarding claim 12, Ametowobla teaches the primary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 905, 925) has a primary pulse duration (duration of laser pulses 905, 925) and the secondary laser pulse region (the region of laser pulses 933, 935) has a secondary pulse duration (the duration of laser pulses 933, 935), but does not teach a ratio of the secondary pulse duration to the primary pulse duration is 8:1 to 2:1.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the secondary pulse duration to the primary pulse duration to have a ratio of the secondary pulse duration to the primary pulse duration is 8:1 to 2:1, in order to provide desired laser processing time of the primary and secondary pulse durations, since applicant does not disclose that relationship between primary and secondary pulse durations solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, and therefore that relationship between the primary and secondary pulse durations is an obvious design choice (MPEP 2144).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ametowobla in view of Ilin (US 20170157710).
Regarding claims 15-18, Ametowobla does not explicitly teach the laser intensity spatial distribution is a donut shaped laser intensity distribution, an oval shaped laser intensity distribution, or a polygon shaped laser intensity distribution, the laser intensity spatial distribution has spaced apart discontinuities, and the laser intensity spatial distribution includes peripheral discontinuities and/or radial discontinuities.
However, Ilin teaches in the same field of endeavor of a laser processing method, comprising a laser intensity spatial distribution (spatial laser pulse expansion 1001) is a donut shaped laser intensity distribution (see fig.7, spatial laser pulse expansion 1001 is a donut shaped laser intensity distribution.), the laser intensity spatial distribution within a laser irradiation zone formed between first and second circles (see fig.7), the laser intensity spatial distribution has spaced apart discontinuities and the laser intensity spatial distribution includes peripheral discontinuities and/or radial discontinuities (See fig.7, spatial laser pulse expansion 1001 has radial spaced discontinuities.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the shaped of laser intensity spatial distribution of Ametowobla with a donut shaped laser intensity distribution has radial spaced discontinuities as taught by Ilin, in order to generate local compressive stresses, which counteract the formation of tensile stresses in the sealing area or in the immediate area of access opening (para.[0061] of Ilin)
Regarding claim 19, Ametowobla does not explicitly teach the membrane vent hole is a silicon membrane vent hole.
However, Ilin teaches in the same field of endeavor of a laser processing method, comprising the membrane vent hole (opening 11) is a silicon membrane (substrate 7) vent hole (opening 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the material of the hole of the substrate of Ametowobla with a silicon membrane vent hole as taught by Ilin, in order to enable the micromechanical component to be manufactured using standard methods of semiconductor laser technology (See para.[0035] of Ilin).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
With respect to claim objection, applicant amended claims 1 and 18 filed on 12/09/2025, which overcome the claim objection. Therefore the claim objection is withdrawn.
With respect to the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b), applicant
amended claims 1-5, 8, 14-15, and 20 which overcomes the claim rejections. Therefore the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) are withdrawn. However, new 112 rejection are raised due to the claim amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In the remark, the citation of the specification does not provide the support of why the certain number of ratio is critical. Therefore the claim rejection is respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRIS Q LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761