DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 line 1: replace “further comprising” with “wherein”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewlett et. al 4,176,663, in view of Kuzelka et al. 2022/0143257 and Fisher et al. 2015/0083121, Friedman et al. 4,060,077 and Fumagalli et al. 3,818,806
Regarding claim 1, Hewlett teaches a ventilator (abstract) comprising: an inspiratory circuit (Figure 1, 15 to inspiratory tube 32) comprising an inlet (Inlet 14), a bellows (Bellows 16), and an outlet port (outlet port connected to junction member 33); an expiratory circuit (expiratory tube 34) comprising an inlet port (inlet port connected to junction member 33 leading to tube 34), the expiratory circuit being separate from the bellows such that outgoing air moving along the expiratory circuit does not pass through the bellows (Figure 1 depicts the expiratory circuit separate from the inspiratory circuit as the outgoing air exits through valve 30); and the inspiratory circuit being adjustable to control a volume of the breaths (Column 3 line 23 states “This terminates filling of the bellows 16 to determine the maximum volume thereof, and this volume can be made variable by the provision of a suitably adjustable finger 23 if desired.”).
Hewlett fails to teach a discharge port, and a disinfectant chamber positioned downstream from the inlet port and upstream from the discharge port; and wherein the inspiratory circuit being adjustable to control a number of breathes per time period.
Kuzelka teaches an analogous ventilation system that does teach a discharge port within the expiratory system (Figure 1, exit port 120), and a disinfectant chamber positioned downstream from the inlet port and upstream from the discharge port (0038 states “the sterilization system 10 may be a self-contained canister 11 configured to attach within the exit assembly 104 of the ventilator system 2. In one example, the canister 11 is configured to be connected between an exhalation valve 106 and an exit port 120”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hewlett with the teachings of Kuzelka and include a discharge port, and a disinfectant chamber positioned downstream from the inlet port and upstream from the discharge port for the purpose of sterilizing the exhalation gasses before they are discharged to the atmosphere (0038).
Modified Hewlett still fails to teach wherein the inspiratory circuit is adjustable to control a number of breathes per time period. Fisher discloses an analogous respiratory support apparatus that does teach wherein the inspiratory circuit is adjustable to control a number of breathes per time period (0114 states “the portable life support system comprises a volume controlled ventilator that provides control of respiratory rate, tidal (breath) volume”, and this is done through the bellows as described in 0117.). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Hewlett with the teachings of Fisher and include wherein the inspiratory circuit is adjustable to control a number of breathes per time period as this allows for an optimal breathing rate to be delivered to the patient.
The combination still fails to teach a control valve positioned downstream from the inlet port and upstream from the discharge port and a cam follower operatively connected to the bellows; a cam that is operatively connected to the control valve and the cam follower, wherein rotation of the cam causes the control valve to move between open and closed positions and the bellows to move between a contracted configuration and an expanded configuration to control timing of the expiratory circuit relative to the inspiratory circuit.
Friedman discloses an analogous respirator device that does teach a control valve (Figure 1, valve 13) positioned downstream from the inlet port (Positioned downstream from the gas source CP) and upstream from the discharge port (Catheter 10) and a cam (Cam 16) that is operatively connected to the control valve and the cam follower (Connected to cam shaft 17 as depicted in figure 1), wherein rotation of the cam causes the control valve to move between open and closed positions and the bellows to move between a contracted configuration and an expanded configuration to control timing of the expiratory circuit relative to the inspiratory circuit (Column 3 line 25 states “As the cam shaft 17 is rotated the valves 13 and 11 are closed, valve 12 is opened and air is exhaled, as shown in FIG. 2, through valve 12 and into the bellows, inflating it. The pressure can be read at all times during this phase by reference to the manometer 19. The force of spring 33 serves to resist slightly the inflation of the bellows so as to maintain a desired minimum terminal pressure in the lungs at the end of the expiratory phase. As the cam shaft continues to rotate the valves are returned to the position of FIG. 1, permitting air to flow again into the lungs through valve 13 and catheter 10, while the bellows is emptied through valve 11.”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination with the teachings of Friedman and include a control valve positioned downstream from the inlet port and upstream from the discharge port and a cam that is operatively connected to the control valve and the cam follower, wherein rotation of the cam causes the control valve to move between open and closed positions and the bellows to move between a contracted configuration and an expanded configuration to control timing of the expiratory circuit relative to the inspiratory circuit as the use of a bellows allows for a monitoring of a volume of respired air, and allow for changes to the rate of supply to be made (Column 3 line 36).
The combination still fails to teach a cam follower operatively connected to the bellows. Fumagalli teaches an analogous bellows pumping device that does teach a cam follower (Figure 3, cam follower 100) operatively connected to the bellows (Bellows 12) that is intended to open up a valve (Column 5 line 54 states “Said body 110 is formed with a part 114 to which a stem 116 is secured and the said rocking lever abuts on one end of said stem for positively urging the valve body 110 in direction X, thus opening the valve, as the cam follower 100 runs along the part 102 of greater radius of the camming surface.”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cam control system of Friedman to be directly connected to the bellows as this will allow for an opening of the valve in a phase relationship with the pumping actuation of the bellows (Column 5 line 43).
Regarding claim 2, modified Hewlett the ventilator of claim 1, further comprising a control module (0146 of Fisher states that “that a dedicated control board may be allocated for machine intelligence related to ventilator controls “) configured to control the number of breathes per time period that are output from the inspiratory circuit through the outlet port and the volume of the breaths (0114 of Fisher states that “the portable life support system comprises a volume controlled ventilator that provides control of respiratory rate, tidal (breath) volume, and delivered oxygen concentration”).
Regarding claim 4, modified Hewlett teaches the ventilator of claim 1, wherein the disinfectant chamber comprises a light source that emits UV light (0020 of Kuzelka states “UVC module 4d is positioned in the exhalation flow assembly 104, and in the particular example between the exhalation valve 106 and the scavenging system 110.” 0022 discusses the use of UV lighting in further detail.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Hewlett discloses the ventilator of claim 1, and a bellows located in the inspiratory path that are used to move incoming air (Figure 1 of Hewlett), an analogous pumping device for patient’s breathing that does teach further comprising the cam follower is configured to ride along the cam (Cam follower 100 and camming surface 102) and is operatively connected to the bellows (Block 78 connects the cam and follower setup to flange 36 which is connected to the bellow 10) to move the bellows between the contracted configuration and the expanded configuration (Figure 3 of Fumagalli depicts the bellow moving to an expanded configuration due to the movement of the cam and follower setup).
Regarding claim 6, Hewlett teaches the ventilator of claim 1, further comprising an arm (Figure 1 of Hewlett, arm 17) that is adjustable to control an extent of a size of the bellows in an expanded configuration to control the volume of the breaths (Column 3 line 23 states “This terminates filling of the bellows 16 to determine the maximum volume thereof, and this volume can be made variable by the provision of a suitably adjustable finger 23 if desired.”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hewlett discloses the ventilator of claim 1, further comprising an alarm configured to emit an alarm when the bellows falls below a predetermined size (Figure 4 of Friedmann depicts an arm 40 which is connected to the end of the bellows 22. The arm includes a potentiometer which “Controls the monitoring, recording and alarm system exemplified in FIG. 5, primarily as a function of the volume of air received and discharged by the bellows in each full cycle.” As stated in column 2 line 62 it further states that “The circuit 43 is connected to the relay coil 44 which is adjusted to close the switch 45 if the integrated volume signal falls below a predetermined value, the visual or audible alarm A being thus set off.”).
Regarding claim 8, modified Hewlett teaches the ventilator of claim 1, further comprising a housing that extends around and protects the inspiratory and expiratory circuits (Figure 15 of Fisher illustrates a housing covering the circuits within the ventilator), the housing comprising a front face with the outlet port of the inspiratory circuit and the inlet port of the expiratory circuit each positioned along the front face (219 and 235 are located on the face). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify modified Hewlett with the housing configuration as seen in Fisher as it provides a structure to house and protect the inspiratory and expiratory circuits of the ventilator.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hewlett, in view of Haj-Yahya et al. 2005/0098177
Regarding claim 3, modified Hewlett discloses the ventilator of claim 2, but fails to teach wherein the control module prevents the inspiratory circuit from moving air out of the outlet port concurrently with the expiratory circuit moving air from the patient into the inlet port. Haj-Yahya discloses an analogous ventilator valve assembly that does teach wherein the control module prevents the inspiratory circuit from moving air out of the outlet port concurrently with the expiratory circuit moving air from the patient into the inlet port (0012 states that “When control pressure is applied to chamber 212 above the diaphragm exceeds the pressure in inlet port 202, diaphragm 210 is held against valve seat 214, preventing exhalation flow from inlet port 202 to outlet port 204. When the control pressure is removed or sufficiently reduced, diaphragm 210 may be lifted from valve seat 214 by patient expiration pressure, allowing exhalation flow.”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify modified Hewlett with the teachings of Haj-Yahya to include wherein the control module prevents the inspiratory circuit from moving air out of the outlet port concurrently with the expiratory circuit moving air from the patient into the inlet port as this prevents gas in the exhalation tube from circulating back towards the patient (0003).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hewlett, in view of Fumagalli and Friedman.
Regarding claim 9, Hewlett teaches a ventilator (abstract) comprising: an inspiratory circuit (Figure 1, 15 to inspiratory tube 32) comprising: an inspiratory inlet port to receive incoming air from an environment (Column 3 line 14 states “The inlet 14 is connected by a pipe 20 to a flow-controllable gas source 21.”); bellows positioned downstream from the inspiratory inlet port (bellows 16 is located after inlet 14) and movable between an expanded configuration and a contracted configuration (Column 3 line 31 states “the bellows expand and contract”); and an outlet port positioned downstream from the bellows to deliver the incoming air to a patient (outlet port connected to junction member 33); an expiratory circuit (expiratory tube 34) comprising: an expiratory inlet port to receive outgoing air that is exhaled from the patient (inlet port connected to junction member 33 leading to tube 34); and a control module comprising: a lever (Figure 1 of Hewlett, arm 17) that contacts against the bellows to control a size of the bellows in the expanded configuration to control an amount of the incoming air in each of the breaths (Column 3 line 23 states “This terminates filling of the bellows 16 to determine the maximum volume thereof, and this volume can be made variable by the provision of a suitably adjustable finger 23 if desired.”); wherein the incoming air is moved through the inspiratory circuit with just the bellows (The bellows 16 is the only device providing the movement of the incoming gas source through 21).
Hewlett fails to teach a discharge port to discharge the outgoing air; and a control valve configured to move between an open position to allow the movement of air through the expiratory circuit and a closed position that blocks the movement of air through the expiratory circuit; a control module comprising: a cam follower positioned at the bellows; a cam that is in contact with the cam follower and configured to rotate to drive the cam follower and the bellows to adjust a number of breathes supplied to the patient, and wherein rotation of the cam causes an inspiratory phase in which the bellows are contracted and the control valve is in the closed position and an expiratory phase in which the bellows are expanded and the control valve is in the open position.
Friedman discloses an analogous respirator device that does teach a discharge port to discharge the outgoing air in the expiratory circuit ( Discharge port past valve 11 in Figure 1) and a control module comprising: a cam follower (cam shaft 17 as depicted in figure 1) a cam (Cam 16) that is in contact with the cam follower and configured to rotate to drive the cam follower (Cam follower is connected to cam 16 as shown in figure 1), and wherein rotation of the cam causes an inspiratory phase in which the bellows are contracted and the control valve is in the closed position and an expiratory phase in which the bellows are expanded and the control valve is in the open position (Column 3 line 25 states “As the cam shaft 17 is rotated the valves 13 and 11 are closed, valve 12 is opened and air is exhaled, as shown in FIG. 2, through valve 12 and into the bellows, inflating it. The pressure can be read at all times during this phase by reference to the manometer 19. The force of spring 33 serves to resist slightly the inflation of the bellows so as to maintain a desired minimum terminal pressure in the lungs at the end of the expiratory phase. As the cam shaft continues to rotate the valves are returned to the position of FIG. 1, permitting air to flow again into the lungs through valve 13 and catheter 10, while the bellows is emptied through valve 11.”) a control valve (Figure 1, valve 13) configured to move between an open position to allow the movement of air through the expiratory circuit and a closed position that blocks the movement of air through the expiratory circuit (Column 3 line 25 states “As the cam shaft 17 is rotated the valves 13 and 11 are closed, valve 12 is opened and air is exhaled, as shown in FIG. 2, through valve 12 and into the bellows, inflating it. The pressure can be read at all times during this phase by reference to the manometer 19. The force of spring 33 serves to resist slightly the inflation of the bellows so as to maintain a desired minimum terminal pressure in the lungs at the end of the expiratory phase. As the cam shaft continues to rotate the valves are returned to the position of FIG. 1, permitting air to flow again into the lungs through valve 13 and catheter 10, while the bellows is emptied through valve 11.”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hewlett with the teachings of Friedman and include a discharge port to discharge the outgoing air; and a control valve configured to move between an open position to allow the movement of air through the expiratory circuit and a closed position that blocks the movement of air through the expiratory circuit; a control module comprising: a cam follower positioned at the bellows; a cam that is in contact with the cam follower and configured to rotate to drive the cam follower and the bellows to adjust a number of breathes supplied to the patient, and wherein rotation of the cam causes an inspiratory phase in which the bellows are contracted and the control valve is in the closed position and an expiratory phase in which the bellows are expanded and the control valve is in the open position as the use of a bellows allows for a monitoring of a volume of respired air, and allow for changes to the rate of supply to be made (Column 3 line 36).
The combination still fails to explicitly teach a cam follower positioned at the bellows with a cam that is in contact with the cam follower and configured to rotate to drive the cam follower and the bellows to adjust a number of breathes supplied to the patient.
Fumagalli does disclose a device with a bellow that does teach a cam follower positioned at the bellows (Cam follower 100, figure 1) with a cam (Cam surface 102) that is in contact with the cam follower and configured to rotate to drive the cam follower and the bellows to adjust a number of breathes supplied to the patient (Figures 1 and 3 show the contraction and expansion of the bellows, further more column 3 line 34 states “As the cam shaft continues to rotate the valves are returned to the position of FIG. 1, permitting air to flow again into the lungs through valve 13 and catheter 10, while the bellows is emptied through valve 11. The opening and closing of the bellows actuates the potentiometer 41 such that the indicated volume of respired air is recorded on the recorder 42 where it can be observed and correction made in the rate of supply, if necessary. When a proper rate has been determined upon, further adjustments need not be made unless a change in condition is shown by the alarm system or the need for variation is clinically indicated.”). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bellows of Hewlett with the teachings of Fumagalli to include a cam follower positioned at the bellows with a cam that is in contact with the cam follower and configured to rotate to drive the cam follower and the bellows to adjust a number of breathes supplied to the patient as this allows for an optimal breathing rate to be delivered to the patient.
Regarding claim 10, modified Hewlett teaches the ventilator of claim 9, further comprising an alarm (potentiometer 41 of Friedman) that sounds an audible signal when the bellows contracts to a size that is smaller than a predetermined amount (Column 3 line 9 states that “if the integrated volume signal falls below a predetermined value, the visual or audible alarm A being thus set off”).
Regarding claim 11, modified Hewlett in view of Friedman teaches the ventilator of claim 10, wherein the alarm comprises an arm that is pivotally mounted and contacts against the bellows (Figure 4 of Friedman depicts an arm 40 which is connected to the end of the bellows 22 and mounted onto cam shaft 17. The arm includes a potentiometer which “Controls the monitoring, recording and alarm system exemplified in FIG. 5, primarily as a function of the volume of air received and discharged by the bellows in each full cycle.”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hewlett in view of Kuzelka
Regarding claim 12, modified Hewlett teaches the ventilator of claim 9, but fails to teach wherein the expiratory circuit comprises a disinfectant chamber positioned downstream from the expiratory inlet port and upstream from the discharge port and the disinfectant chamber comprising a light source that emits UV light. Kuzelka does teach wherein the expiratory circuit comprises a disinfectant chamber positioned downstream from the expiratory inlet port and upstream from the discharge port (0038 of Kuzelka states “the sterilization system 10 may be a self-contained canister 11 configured to attach within the exit assembly 104 of the ventilator system 2. In one example, the canister 11 is configured to be connected between an exhalation valve 106 and an exit port 120”), the disinfectant chamber comprising a light source that emits UV light (0020 of Kuzelka states “UVC module 4d is positioned in the exhalation flow assembly 104, and in the particular example between the exhalation valve 106 and the scavenging system 110.” 0022 discusses the use of UV lighting in further detail.). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify modified Hewlett and include a disinfectant chamber comprising a UVC light source between the inlet and discharge port as this allows for a sterilization of gasses before they are released to the atmosphere (0038).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hewlett in view of Fisher
Regarding claim 15, modified Hewlett teaches the ventilator of claim 9, but fails to teach a housing that extends around and protects the inspiratory and expiratory circuits, the housing comprising a front face with the outlet port of the inspiratory circuit and the expiratory inlet port of the expiratory circuit each positioned along the front face. Fisher does teach a housing that extends around and protects the inspiratory and expiratory circuits (Figure 15 of Fisher illustrates a housing covering the circuits within the ventilator), the housing comprising a front face with the outlet port of the inspiratory circuit and the inlet port of the expiratory circuit each positioned along the front face (219 and 235 are located on the face). It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify modified Hewlett with the housing configuration as seen in Fisher as it provides a structure to house and protect the inspiratory and expiratory circuits of the ventilator.
Claims 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hewlett in view of Fisher2 (from now on referred to as Duffin) et al. 2015/0059744, and Kuzelka
Regarding claim 16, modified Hewlett teaches a method of supplying air using the ventilator of claims 1, but fails to teach the remainder of the claim. Duffin teaches a method of supplying incoming air to a patient (0088 states “the ventilator 12 is a device or machine that minimally maintains a flow of air to the patient.”), the method comprising: expanding the bellows and in response drawing the incoming air into the inlet port of the inspiratory circuit (0092 states “Expansion of bellows 26 draws in fresh air from the atmosphere through fresh gas in line 18”); contracting the bellows and in response moving the incoming air that has been drawn into the ventilator out through the outlet port and to the patient (0092 states “Blower 27 applies pressure against bellows 26, compressing the gas and forcing or pushing it into breathing circuit 16 for inhalation by the patient.” The outlet port is located within the y-piece 14 leading to the patient as depicted in figure 5) receiving the outgoing air that is exhaled from the patient through the inlet port of the expiratory circuit (0026 states “the breathing circuit includes a carbon dioxide scrubber and a separate expiratory limb for receiving gas exhaled by the subject” Inlet port contained with Y-piece 14 leading to the expiratory tube); moving the outgoing air from the inlet port and along a conduit (expiratory limb 19e) to the discharge port without moving through the bellows (0164 states “The exhaled air less the anesthetic gas passes through reflector 70 and vents to atmosphere through vent tube 74 and mushroom valve 35.” When exhaled air travels through vent tube 74 and out valve 35, it will not make contact with the bellows as depicted in figure 5); It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Hewlett with the teachings of Duffin to include the movement of air by way of the bellows as this allows for a method of controlling the breathing of the patient.
The combination fails to teach disinfecting the outgoing air prior to moving the outgoing air through the discharge port;
Kuzelka does teach disinfecting the outgoing air prior to moving the outgoing air through the discharge port (0038 states “the sterilization system 10 may be a self-contained canister 11 configured to attach within the exit assembly 104 of the ventilator system 2. In one example, the canister 11 is configured to be connected between an exhalation valve 106 and an exit port 120”); It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Duffin with the teachings of Kuzelka and include a disinfectant chamber to disinfectant the outgoing air as this allows for a sterilization of gasses before they are released to the atmosphere (0038).
Regarding claim 17, modified Hewlett teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising supplying the incoming air to the patient and simultaneously receiving outgoing air that is exhaled from the patient through the inlet port (Figure 5 of Duffin depicts a y-piece in 14, due to the structure of the y-piece connecting to two separate inspiratory and expiratory circuits, air would simultaneously be supplied through the inlet of the y-piece while the outlet of the y-piece receives the exhaled air.).
Regarding claim 19, modified Hewlett teaches the ventilator of claim 1, wherein the inlet of the inspiratory circuit is the only inlet in the inspiratory circuit (Figure 5 of Duffin depicts the only inlet of the inspiratory circuit as being inlet port 18).
Regarding claim 20, modified Hewlett teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising drawing the incoming air that is delivered to the patient from just the inlet port of the inspiratory circuit (0092 of Duffin states “Expansion of bellows 26 draws in fresh air from the atmosphere through fresh gas in line 18.”).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Hewlett in view of Manley et al. 4,067,328
Regarding claim 18, modified Hewlett teaches the method of claim 16, but fails to teach further comprising adjusting an arm that is positioned adjacent to the bellows and controlling the size of the bellows in the expanded configuration. Manley teaches an analogous lung ventilator that does teach further comprising adjusting an arm that is positioned adjacent to the bellows (lever 12 of Manley) and controlling the size of the bellows in the expanded configuration (Column1 line 52 of Manley states “Attached to the outer end of lever 12 is an arcuate scale 16 calibrated over a range of tidal volumes. Moving on scale 16 is a pointer 18 which can be secured to the scale and of which the position determines the particular tidal volume which the bellows 10 can deliver during the inspiratory phase of the respiratory cycle”).
Conclusion
/ROHAN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785