DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection. A new combination of references has been provided to teach or support the inventive concept that a service cell provide an information to a terminal during a multicast service and allow the terminal to keep the multicast service with another cell when the service cell is overloaded for example or the terminal is moving and changing its location with respect to different cell coverage. See rejections below for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. US 20150312757 hereinafter Wang in view of Kim et al. US 2012/0224522 hereinafter Kim.
Claim 1, Wang discloses (fig 4) a multicast service transmission method, wherein the method is applied to a first network device, and the method comprises:
determining first configuration information ([0052] PCell (the first network device) determines the KeNB (key) used by the Scell (the second network device) for communicating with a terminal device. The PCell determines the KeNB used by the SCell according to the KeNB used by the PCell and the downlink power and physical cell identity of the SCell),
wherein the first configuration information indicates a terminal device to receive a first multicast service ([0054] The SCell establishing response message contains information of the SCell newly located in the eNB 2, [0055] information of cell may contain a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), cell identity, Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) identity, uplink and downlink frequency and bandwidth of the cell, and further contains the number of antenna ports, information of Multicast Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) subframe), and
the first configuration information comprises a cell identifier of a serving cell corresponding to the first multicast service ([0055] information of cell may contain a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), cell identity),
the serving cell is a cell in a secondary cell group (SCG), and the SCG is covered by a second network device (fig 4 [0005] a Secondary Cell (SCell)) and provides the first multicast service from the second network device to the terminal device ([0055] information of cell may contain a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), cell identity, Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) identity, uplink and downlink frequency and bandwidth of the cell, and further contains the number of antenna ports, information of Multicast Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN) subframe); and
sending the first configuration information to the terminal device (fig 4, [0056] In block 407, the PCell transmits a RRC reconfiguring request message to the UE, where the RRC reconfiguring request message contains the configuration information of the SCell. The configuration information of the SCell contains an identity of the SCell and the KeNB used by the SCell. The identity of the SCell may be a physical cell identity).
But is silent on,
a service identifier at l layer (service ID) of the first multicast service, and a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) corresponding to the first multicast service.
However, as Kim discloses a service identifier (service ID) of the first multicast service(see figure 3, multicast group ID), and a radio network temporary identifier (FID) corresponding to the first multicast service (see para 0043-0045, it allows the mobile station to move from one zone to another without reregesting with another base station and within the same multicast service ).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Wang invention with Kim invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as to allow the network to configure a multicast service ID and a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) in the multicast service in order for the UE to allow the terminal device moving freely without re-registering with other base station without losing the multicast service.
Claim 2, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein:
the cell identifier is a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the serving cell (Wang [0055] information of cell may contain a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), cell identity); or
the cell identifier is a number of the serving cell in a serving cell set of the terminal device; or
the cell identifier is a cell global identifier of the serving cell.
Claim 10, see claim 1 for the rejection, Wang discloses a multicast service transmission method, wherein the method is applied to a terminal device, and the method comprises:
receiving first configuration information from a first network device,
wherein the first configuration information indicates the terminal device to receive a first multicast service,
the first configuration information comprises a cell identifier of a serving cell corresponding to the first multicast service, a service identifier (service ID) of the first multicast service and a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) corresponding to the first multicast service;
the serving cell is a cell in a secondary cell group (SCG), and
the SCG is covered by a second network device and provides the first multicast service from the second network device to the terminal device; and
receiving the first multicast service based on the first configuration information.
Claim 11, see claim 2 for the rejection, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein:
the cell identifier is a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the serving cell; or
the cell identifier is a number of the serving cell in a serving cell set of the terminal device; or
the cell identifier is a cell global identifier of the serving cell.
Claim 15, see claim 1 for the rejection, Wang discloses (fig 4) a communication apparatus, comprising:
a receiver (fig 4 [0055] number of antenna ports);
at least one processor (fig 4 [0043] In block 401, an RRC connection establishing process); and
one or more memories ([0047] The serving cell of the UE, i.e., the PCell, saves the KeNB in the context of the UE, and encrypts signalings and data with the KeNB) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive first configuration information from a first network device,
wherein the first configuration information indicates a terminal device to receive a first multicast service, and
the first configuration information comprises a cell identifier of a serving cell corresponding to the first multicast service, a service identifier (service ID) of the first multicast service and a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) corresponding to the first multicast service;
the serving cell is a cell in a secondary cell group (SCG), and
the SCG is covered by a second network device and provides the first multicast service from the second network device to the terminal device; and
receive the first multicast service based on the first configuration information.
Claim 16, see claim 2 for the rejection, Wang as modified discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein:
the cell identifier is a physical cell identifier (PCI) of the serving cell; or
the cell identifier is a number of the serving cell in a serving cell set of the terminal device; or
the cell identifier is a cell global identifier of the serving cell.
Claim(s) 3, 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang Kim in further view of Gupta et al. US 2017/0201964.
Claim 3, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 1,
but Wang and Kim invention does not explicitly disclose,
wherein the first configuration information further comprises an identifier of a transmission resource of the first multicast service.
However, as Gupta discloses wherein the first configuration information further comprises an identifier of a transmission resource of the first multicast service ([0085] the multicast group identifier can correspond to a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) that the UE 415 can use to identify resources over which the multicast data is transmitted by access point 405).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Wang and Kim invention with Gupta invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as to allow the network to configure an identifier in associated with a groupcast service in order for a UE to be able to monitor and receive the associated the groupcast service.
Claim 12, see claim 3 for the rejection, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the first configuration information further comprises an identifier of a transmission resource of the first multicast service.
Claim 17, see claim 3 for the rejection, Wang as modified discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first configuration information further comprises an identifier of a transmission resource of the first multicast service.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Kim in further view of Zhou et al. CN 102368707 A (hereinafter Zhou).
Claim 4, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
sending first information to the second network device (Wang fig 4 at 405, PCell transmits a SCell establishing request message to the SCell),
but Wang and Kim invention is silent on,
wherein the first information comprises an identifier of the terminal device and the identifier of the first multicast service, and the first information indicates that the terminal device receives the first multicast service.
However, as Zhou discloses wherein the first information comprises an identifier of the terminal device and the identifier of the first multicast service ([0069] storing the user MAC address, user VLAN identifier, the multicast VLAN identification, the user can join the multicast group identification and the user online condition information), and the first information indicates that the terminal device receives the first multicast service ([0069] storing the user MAC address, user VLAN identifier, the multicast VLAN identification, the user can join the multicast group identification and the user online condition information).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Wang and Kim invention with Zhou invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as to allow the network to send user identifier and multicast service identification in order to authorize UE to be able to join the multicast group and to receive groupcast service.
Claim 5, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 4,
wherein the first information is comprised in a secondary cell group addition request message (Wang fig 5, at 511, PCell transmits a SCell establishing request message to the SCell).
Claim 6, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving a secondary cell group addition response message from the second network device (Wang fig 5, at 512, SCell transmits a SCell establishing response message to the PCell),
wherein the secondary cell group addition response message comprises second configuration information (Wang [0073] The information of cell may contain a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), cell identity), and
the second configuration information comprises the identifier of the first multicast service, (Wang [0073] The information of cell may contain a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), cell identity), the RNTI (Kim FID), and the cell identifier of the serving cell corresponding to the first multicast service (Wang [0073] The information of cell may contain a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), cell identity, Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) identity, uplink and downlink frequency and bandwidth of the cell, and further contains the number of antenna ports, information of Multicast Broadcast Single Frequency Network (MBSFN)). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Wang, Kim and Zhou invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as to allow coordination between the first and second network in order to join the multicast group service to the UEs.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Kim and Zhou in further view of Ge et al. US 2019/0238352.
Claim 7, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the method further comprises:
but Wang, Kim and Zhou invention does not explicitly disclose,
receiving third configuration information from the second network device,
wherein the third configuration information updates the first configuration information; and
sending the third configuration information to the terminal device.
However, as Ge discloses receiving third configuration information from the second network device (0219] the participating service entity 3 may send a service reception indication message (or referred to as a fourth indication message) to the terminal 6),
wherein the third configuration information updates the first configuration information ([0219] To be specific, the participating service entity 3 instructs the terminal 6 to receive the service data by using the multicast bearer); and
sending the third configuration information to the terminal device (0219] the participating service entity 3 may send a service reception indication message (or referred to as a fourth indication message) to the terminal 6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Wang, Kim and Zhou invention with Ge invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as to allow the network to update the multicast bearer transmission mode in order to manage establishment of group communication.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Kim and Zhou in view of Huang et al. WO 2016074196 A1.
Claim 8, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the method further comprises:
but Wang, Kim and Zhou invention does not explicitly disclose,
receiving first indication information from the second network device,
wherein the first indication information indicates that the second network device stops sending the first multicast service.
However, as Huang discloses receiving first indication information from the second network device (0170] after receiving the second indication information, the UE may suspend receiving data of the service A in an MBSFN manner at the second time according to a pre-configured configuration or a notification of the eNB),
wherein the first indication information indicates that the second network device stops sending the first multicast service ([0170] after receiving the second indication information, the UE may suspend receiving data of the service A in an MBSFN manner at the second time according to a pre-configured configuration or a notification of the eNB).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Wang, Kim and Zhou invention with Huang invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as the network to configure sending a notification to the UE to stop the multicast service in a timely manner thereby optimizing system communications.
Claim 9, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises:
sending second indication information to the terminal device (Huang [0170] after receiving the second indication information, the UE may suspend receiving data of the service A in an MBSFN manner at the second time according to a pre-configured configuration or a notification of the eNB),
wherein the second indication information indicates that the first configuration information is invalid (Huang [0170] after receiving the second indication information, the UE may suspend receiving data of the service A in an MBSFN manner at the second time according to a pre-configured configuration or a notification of the eNB). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Wang, Kim and Zhou invention with Huang invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as the network to configure sending a notification to the UE to stop the multicast service in a timely manner thereby optimizing system communications.
Claim(s) 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Kim and Gupta in further view of Ge et al. US 2019/0238352.
Claim 13, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the method further comprises:
but Wang, Kim and Gupta invention does not explicitly disclose,
receiving third configuration information from the first network device, wherein the third configuration information updates the first configuration information.
However, as Ge discloses receiving third configuration information from the first network device, wherein the third configuration information updates the first configuration information ([0039] the indication message used to indicate that the first participating service entity is using the target multicast bearer to send the service data of the terminal group, so that the target service entity updates the recorded status of use of the target multicast bearer by the terminal group).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Wang, Kim and Gupta invention with Ge invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as to allow the network to send an indication message to the terminal group in order to update the service configuration to the group.
Claim 18, see claim 13 for the rejection, Wang as modified discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
receive third configuration information from the first network device,
wherein the third configuration information updates the first configuration information.
Claim(s) 14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Kim in view of Huang et al. WO 2016074196 A1 (hereinafter Huang).
Claim 14, Wang as modified discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises:
but Wang and Kim invention does not explicitly disclose,
receiving second indication information from the first network device,
wherein the second indication information indicates that the first configuration information is invalid.
However, as Huang discloses receiving second indication information from the first network device (0170] after receiving the second indication information, the UE may suspend receiving data of the service A in an MBSFN manner at the second time according to a pre-configured configuration or a notification of the eNB),
wherein the second indication information indicates that the first configuration information is invalid ([0170] after receiving the second indication information, the UE may suspend receiving data of the service A in an MBSFN manner at the second time according to a pre-configured configuration or a notification of the eNB).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the to modify the Wang and Kim invention with Huang invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as the network to configure sending a notification to the UE to stop the multicast service in a timely manner thereby optimizing system communications.
Claim 19, see claim 14 for the rejection, Wang as modified discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
receive second indication information from the first network device,
wherein the second indication information indicates that the first configuration information is invalid.
Claim 20, Wang as modified discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
but Wang and Kim invention does not explicitly disclose,
receive first indication information from the second network device,
wherein the first indication information indicates that the second network device stops sending the first multicast service.
However, as Huang discloses receive first indication information from the second network device (0170] after receiving the second indication information, the UE may suspend receiving data of the service A in an MBSFN manner at the second time according to a pre-configured configuration or a notification of the eNB),
wherein the first indication information indicates that the second network device stops sending the first multicast service ([0170] after receiving the second indication information, the UE may suspend receiving data of the service A in an MBSFN manner at the second time according to a pre-configured configuration or a notification of the eNB).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the Wang and Park invention with Huang invention to include the claimed limitation(s) so as the network to configure sending a notification to the UE to stop the multicast service in a timely manner thereby optimizing system communications.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
YUWEN . PAN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649