DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
Claims 1 have been amended, claims 2-3 are as previously presented. Claims 4-5 are newly added. Claims 1-5 are currently examined.
Status of objections and rejections
The rejection below has been modified as necessitated by the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishikawa (JP2013246990A) and in view of Chen (WO2021107305A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nishikawa discloses a power storage device comprising: a power storage stack (9) including a plurality of power storage cells (1) aligned in an alignment direction [0028, fig. 1-4, Nishikawa]; an accommodation case (6) that has a bottom wall portion (4) and accommodates the power storage stack [0039, fig. 2, Nishikawa]; and an adhesive layer that has thermal conductivity and is disposed on the bottom wall portion [0082, Nishikawa discloses that the elastic plate portion (“bottom wall portion”) may be fixed to the battery cells via an adhesive]. The examiner asserts, that an adhesive would possess “thermal conductivity”, regardless of low or high thermal conductivity, this use of an adhesive would still possess “thermal conductivity”]. Moreover, because the bottom wall portion 4 incorporates a cooling means it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time filing to use a thermally conductive adhesive to maximize cooling between cells (1) and cooling means (3) (fig. 2). The bottom wall portion (4) including a fixed portion (4X) where the power storage stack is fixed with the adhesive layer [0082, Nishikawa discloses attaching the contact portion of the elastic plate (“bottom wall portion”) to the cell body], a lower wall portion (4Y) located at a position lower in level than the fixed portion (4X) [fig. 2, 6, 9, 11, Nishikawa], and a connecting portion (4 extending between 4X and 4Y) that interconnects the fixed portion and the lower wall portion [fig. 2, 9, 11, Nishikawa].
Annotated figure. 11, Nishikawa
Nishikawa is explicitly silent to the following 1) the adhesive layer including a protruding portion that protrudes from the fixed portion to the connecting portion and is not in contact with a bottom surface of the storage cell. 2) the connecting portion is arranged to cross a plane extending in a vertical direction and defined by a surface of at least one of the plurality of power storage cells that is perpendicular to the alignment direction when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the alignment direction and the vertical direction.
In regards to 1), Chen discloses a thermally conductive resin (“adhesive layer”) with higher than thermal conductivity than general adhesives being disposed between the battery cells and a bottom wall portion (33) [0053-0058, fig. 3-5, Chen]. Chen further teaches that thermally conductive resin has a viscosity and spreads when the weight of the cells is placed upon them [0064, Chen].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Nishikawa such that the adhesive used was the thermally conductive resin adhesive disclosed by Chen. Doing so would allow for higher thermal conductivity than normal adhesives and the adhesive would spread out as the cells was being placed upon it [0064, Chen]. One would also find it obvious to not use enough adhesive to ensure the adhesive covers the entire surface area of the fixed portions 1X/4X (fig. 11) because too little adhesive will result in poor adhesion and reduced thermal conductivity [0064, Chen]
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this spreading out taught by Chen ([0064]) will result in the adhesive spreading to the connecting portion (4D). The adhesive that spreads to the connecting portion would read on an “adhesive layer including a protruding portion that protrudes from the fixed portion and does not touch the cell”. It is within the skill of the artisan to control the amount of adhesive to provide enough adhesion while limiting excessive weight and waste.
In regards 2), Nishikawa teaches in a disclosed embodiment that the width of the elastic plate (4) is smaller than that of the width of the battery and does not come in contact with the adjacent battery [0046, Nishikawa]. Additionally, the battery cells (1), elastic plates (4), and cooling pipes (13) are thermally connected to one another thereby cooling the batteries [0049, Nishikawa].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate that if the width of the elastic plate (4) was larger than the width of the battery then this would insure maximum surface area contact between the bottom surface of the battery and the top surface of the elastic plate. One of ordinary skill within the arts would also appreciate that increased surface area contact between the cooling device (4/13) and the battery (1) would result in improved cooling while minimal surface area coverage would decrease cooling efficiency.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to increase the surface area coverage between the battery cell and elastic plate by having the width of the elastic plates of Nishikawa extend past the width of the battery cell. Doing so would improve the cooling effect of the battery. Additionally, one of ordinary skill within the arts would also find it obvious to have the width of the elastic plates of Nishikawa extend past the width of the battery cell as a matter of mere change in shape or size/proportion, see MPEP 2144.04.IV
The examiner notes that in the present modification the connecting portion would extend past a surface of the battery when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the alignment direction and the vertical direction [see examiners figure].
Left) annotated fig. 11, Nishikawa of the battery cell with the elastic plate with a fixed portion, connecting portion, lower wall and cooling pipes a view along the alignment direction. Right) the examiner’s figure depicting modified Nishikawa in which the elastic plate if wider than the width of the battery cell when view from a direction perpendicular to the alignment direction and vertical plane.
Regarding claim 2, Nishikawa as modified above discloses the power storage device, wherein the fixed portion includes a first portion (4Xd) where the power storage stack has one side fixed in an intersecting direction intersecting the alignment direction [fig. 11-12, Nishikawa], a second portion (4Xd) where the power storage stack has the other side fixed in the intersecting direction [fig. 11-12, Nishikawa], and a recess (4Yd) provided between the first portion and the second portion [fig. 11-12, Nishikawa].
Regarding claim 3, Nishikawa as modified above discloses the power storage device, further comprising a cooler (23, 230, 330) that is disposed outside the accommodation case and cools the power storage stack [fig. 1, 37 and 39, Nishikawa], wherein the cooler includes a cooling portion having a cooling channel (13, 203) through which a cooling medium passes [0004, Nishikawa], and the cooling portion is disposed in thermal contact with a back surface of the fixed portion [0019, 0046, 0049, figs. 6-25, Nishikawa discloses and depicts that the cooling plate is connected to the back side of the elastic plate (includes “fixing portion” as discussed above). This reads on the applicants claim limitations].
Claim(s) 1, 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterman (US6617973B1) and in view of Chen (WO2021107305A1).
Regarding claim 1, Osterman teaches a power storage device comprising: a power storage stack including a plurality of power storage cells (120) aligned in an alignment direction [col 4, line 17-23, fig. 3, Osterman]; an accommodation case that has a bottom wall portion and accommodates the power storage stack [fig. 3, Osterman]; the bottom wall portion including a fixed portion where the power storage stack is fixed [fig. 3, Osterman], a lower wall portion (140) located at a position lower in level than the fixed portion [col 4, line 17-24, fig. 3, Osterman], and a connecting portion (150) that interconnects the fixed portion and the lower wall portion [col 4, line 35-45, fig. 3, Osterman].
Osterman is explicitly silent to the following 1) the use of an adhesive layer including a protruding portion that protrudes from the fixed portion to the connecting portion and is not in contact with a bottom surface of the storage cell. 2) the connecting portion is arranged to cross a plane extending in a vertical direction and defined by a surface of at least one of the plurality of power storage cells that is perpendicular to the alignment direction when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the alignment direction and the vertical direction
In regards to 1), Chen discloses a thermally conductive resin (“adhesive layer”) with higher than thermal conductivity than general adhesives being disposed between the battery cells and a bottom wall portion (33) [0053-0058, fig. 3-5, Chen]. Chen further teaches that thermally conductive resin has a viscosity and spreads when the weight of the cells is placed upon them [0064, Chen].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Osterman such that the adhesive used was the thermally conductive resin adhesive disclosed by Chen. Doing so would allow for higher thermal conductivity than normal adhesives and the adhesive would spread out as the cells was being placed upon it [0064, Chen]. One would also find it obvious to not use enough adhesive to ensure the adhesive covers the entire surface area of the fixed portions because too little adhesive will result in poor adhesion and reduced thermal conductivity [0064, Chen]
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that this spreading out taught by Chen ([0064]) will result in the adhesive spreading to the connecting portion (150). The adhesive that spreads to the connecting portion would read on an “adhesive layer including a protruding portion that protrudes from the fixed portion and does not touch the cell”. It is within the skill of the artisan to control the amount of adhesive to provide enough adhesion while limiting excessive weight and waste.
In regards to 2) one of ordinary skill within the arts prior to the effective filing date would appreciate that by reducing excess space within the accommodation case one could minimize material costs. One of ordinary skill within the arts would further appreciate that the excess space within the case could be shrunken to where one surface of one of the plurality of power storage cells is crosses over the connecting portion without fear of the battery cell falling over [see annotated figure 3, Osterman].
Annotated fig.3 Osterman depicting a decrease in the size of the case such that a surface of one of the plurality of battery cells is crosses over the connecting portion. Viewed from a direction perpendicular to the alignment and vertical directions.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Osterman such that excess space with the accommodation case was reduced to the point where one surface of the plurality of batteries crossed over the connecting portion. Doing so would reduce materials costs. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Osterman such that excess space with the accommodation case was reduced to the point where one surface of the plurality of batteries crossed over the connecting portion. Doing so would be a matter of mere change in shape or size/proportion, see MPEP 2144.04.IV.
Regarding claim 4, Osterman depicts a plurality of power storage cells stack in an alignment direction between a pair of ends [fig. 3, Osterman], and the fixed portion extends continuously between the pair of ends [fig. 3, Osterman].
Regarding claim 5, Osterman depicts where the lower wall portion is positioned beyond one of the pair of ends of the power storage stack in the alignment direction [fig. 3, Osterman]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below for additional details.
Applicant argues that Nishikawa and Chen fail to teach the amended claim limitation. However, as noted by the examiner in the rejection of claim 1 citing Nishikawa and Chen. The amended limitation would still be obvious to one of ordinary skill within the arts as outlined above in the rejection of claim 1. The examiner maintains that be extending the width of the elastic plate one would maximize surface area coverage and improve cooling. Furthermore, as noted above this amended limitation would be obvious as a matter of mere change in shape or size/proportion barring critical evidence.
The examiner maintains their rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724