DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-11, and 13 in the reply filed on August 13th, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 13th, 2025.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on December 5th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13 remain pending in the application. Claims 3, and 12 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nkurunziza (US Patent No. 20200040538) in view of Steinberg (CA Patent No. 2898378) and further in view of Tschopp (US Patent No. 9668427).
Regarding Claim 1, Nkurunziza teaches an air blowing and heating device comprising (Abstract, Snow blower with Heating element): a housing, the housing being tubular (Figure 1, Showcases Tubular Housing), the housing being open ended defining an intake port and an outlet port (Figure 1, Showcases open ended housing with Intake Port 120 and Discharge Port 318); a blower attached to and positioned in the housing (Paragraph 39 and Figure 1, Blower 104 located in body 50), the blower being configured for selectively forcing air through the outlet port (Paragraph 9, Blower 104 draws in air from Intake Port 120 and out from Discharge Port 318); a heater attached to and positioned in the housing, the heater being configured for selectively heating the air passing through the housing (Paragraph 40 and 42, Heating Coil located in Extension Duct 200 heats up air flowing through); the battery is operationally engaged to the blower and the heater (Paragraph 39-41, Blower 104 and a Heating Coil 210 are connected to the Battery Cell 106); and a switch attached to the housing and being operationally engaged to the battery, the heater, and the blower (Paragraph 54, The switch 108 can control the speed of the air and can choose whether to turn the heater on or not), wherein the switch is configured for being switched for selectively actuating the blower, for generating unheated forced air, and the blower and the heater for generating heated forced air (Paragraph 54, The switch 108 can control the speed of the air and can chose whether to turn the heater on or not).
However, Nkurunziza fails to teach a detachable battery and a foot attached to a bottom of the housing proximate to the intake port, wherein the foot is configured for stabilizing the housing on a surface, the foot having a concavely arcuate medial section in an outwardly facing surface relative to the bottom of the housing such that the foot is configured for abutting a leg of a user in the concavely arcuate medial section.
Steinberg teaches a Snow Blowing Apparatus with a heating element (Paragraph 1-4, Snow Blowing Apparatus with a heating element) where the battery is selectively attachable to the housing (Paragraph 14-16 and Figure 1-2, Battery 128 is attachable to the housing and can power the motor).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nkurunziza to incorporate a detachable battery as stated in Steinberg. The removable battery would allow the user to replace it with another if needed (Paragraph 14, Battery).
Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg fails to teach a foot attached to a bottom of the housing proximate to the intake port, wherein the foot is configured for stabilizing the housing on a surface, the foot having a concavely arcuate medial section in an outwardly facing surface relative to the bottom of the housing such that the foot is configured for abutting a leg of a user in the concavely arcuate medial section.
Tschopp teaches a blower (Abstract, Blower) with a foot attached to a bottom of the housing proximate to the intake port (Figure 5-6A, Foot Member 116 is at the bottom of the housing and next to the Inlet cover 136), wherein the foot is configured for stabilizing the housing on a surface (Figure 5-6A and Col 4 Line 56-61, Foot Member 116 provides a base for the housing to sit on a surface), the foot having a concavely arcuate medial section in an outwardly facing surface relative to the bottom of the housing such that the foot is configured for abutting a leg of a user in the concavely arcuate medial section (Figure 5-6A, Foot Member 116 has a concavely section that the is configured for abutting a leg of a user against it).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg to incorporate a foot member as stated in Tschopp. The foot member would provide protection for the battery (Col 4 Line 56-61, Foot Member).
Regarding Claim 2, Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg and Tschopp teaches a handle attached to a top of the housing proximate to the intake port, the handle extending arcuately from the housing toward the outlet port (Nkurunziza: Paragraph 54, The switch 108 can control the speed of the air and can chose whether to turn the heater on or not).
Regarding Claim 4, Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg and Tschopp teaches a grate attached to the housing and extending over the intake port, wherein the grate is configured for excluding objects from the air entering through the intake port (Nkurunziza: Figure 1, Showcases a grate attached to the housing an over an Intake Port 120 which stops objects from entering through).
Regarding Claim 6, Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg and Tschopp teaches that the battery is rechargeable (Nkurunziza: Paragraph 39, The battery is rechargeable).
Regarding Claim 7, Nkurunziza in view of Tschopp fails to teach a detachable battery.
Steinberg teaches a Snow Blowing Apparatus with a heating element (Paragraph 1-4, Snow Blowing Apparatus with a heating element) where a receptacle attached to the housing (Figure 2, Showcases a Compartment 124, acting as a receptacle, in the housing where the battery is inserted); and a plug attached to the battery (Figure 2, Battery 128 has a plug attached to it), the plug being complementary to the receptacle, such that the plug is positioned for insertion into the receptacle for attaching the battery to the housing (Figure 2, Showcases that the battery plug and the Compartment 124, acting as a receptacle, are complementary and the battery is inserted into the receptacle 124) and for operationally engaging the battery to the blower and the heater (Paragraph 14-16, the battery 128 operates the apparatus along the motor which include the heating element and blower).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nkurunziza in view of Tschopp to incorporate a detachable battery as stated in Steinberg. The removable battery would allow the user to replace it with another if needed (Paragraph 14, Battery).
Regarding Claim 8, Nkurunziza in view of Tschopp fails to teach a receptacle for the detachable battery.
Steinberg teaches a Snow Blowing Apparatus with a heating element (Paragraph 1-4, Snow Blowing Apparatus with a heating element) where the receptacle is positioned on the top of the housing proximate to the handle (Paragraph 14, Compartment 124, acting as a receptacle, can be located anywhere on the apparatus).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nkurunziza in view of Tschopp to incorporate a detachable battery as stated in Steinberg. The removable battery would allow the user to replace it with another if needed (Paragraph 14, Battery).
Regarding Claim 9, Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg and Tschopp teaches that the switch comprises a two-position trigger attached to the handle distal from the housing, such that the two-position trigger is selectively positionable in a first position for selectively actuating the blower (Nkurunziza: Paragraph 54, Series of switch positions controlled by one switches. One feature controlled by the switch positions is powering the electric blower 104) and a second position for selectively actuating the blower concurrently with the heater (Nkurunziza: Paragraph 54, The switch can have another position for the powering of the heating coil 210.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nkurunziza (US Patent No. 20200040538) in view of Steinberg (CA Patent No. 2898378) and further in view of Tschopp (US Patent No. 9668427) and Lo (US Patent No. 20100111510).
Regarding Claim 5, Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg and Tschopp fails to teach a gridded heating element
Lo teaches an electric heated blower (Abstract, Fan with a Heating Element) where the heater comprises a gridded heating element (Figure 1 and 6-8, Showcases Grids of the Heating Element).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg and Tschopp to incorporate a gridded heating element as stated in Lo. The heating element is made of high temperature resistant material and does not contain any harmful substances such as lead, mercury (Paragraph 36-37, Heating Element).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nkurunziza (US Patent No. 20200040538) in view of Steinberg (CA Patent No. 2898378) and further in view of Tschopp (US Patent No. 9668427) and Cassani (EP Patent No. 4527188).
Regarding Claim 10, Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg and Tschopp fails to teach a sensor and a gauge attached to the housing of the apparatus.
Cassani teaches a leaf-blower adapted for blowing and melting snow (Paragraph 1, Snow Melter) with a sensor attached to and positioned in the housing being positioned between the heater and the outlet port (Figure 2-3, Temperature Sensor 124 is between Heater R and Outlet), the sensor being configured for measuring a temperature of the air passing through the housing (Paragraph 42-43, Temperature Sensor 124 monitors and helps control the temperature of the air); a gauge attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the sensor, such that the gauge is enabled for displaying a temperature reading measured by the sensor (Paragraph 42-43, Temperature Sensor 124 along with Thermostat 126 can control the temperature of the air, Thermostat reads as being able to display temperature readings).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg and Tschopp to incorporate a sensor and a gauge attached to the housing of the apparatus as stated in Cassani. Temperature Sensor works with the Thermostat to control the temperature of the air flow (Paragraph 42-43, Sensor and Thermostat).
Regarding Claim 11, Nkurunziza in view of Steinberg, Tschopp, and Cassani teaches a controller attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the battery, the sensor, and the heater, such that the controller is enabled for controlling a temperature of the air passing through the housing by adjusting power supplied to the heater by the battery (Nkurunziza: Paragraph 9 and 61, Electric Circuit 114 is connected to the Battery Cell 106, Heating Coil 210, and to a Temperature gauge that monitors the air temperature. Electric circuit controls temperature of the blower by controlling the power supplied).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nkurunziza (US Patent No. 20200040538) in view of Lo (US Patent No. 20100111510) and further in view of Steinberg (CA Patent No. 2898378), Cassani (EP Patent No. 4527188), and Tschopp (US Patent No. 9668427)
Regarding Claim 13, Nkurunziza teaches an air blowing and heating device comprising (Abstract, Snow blower with Heating element): housing, the housing being tubular (Figure 1, Showcases Tubular Housing), the housing being open ended defining an intake port and an outlet port (Figure 1, Showcases open ended housing with Intake Port 120 and Discharge Port 318); a handle attached to a top of the housing proximate to the intake port, the handle extending arcuately from the housing toward the outlet port (Figure 1, Handle 400 is on top of the Housing and is extending toward Discharge Port 318 from Intake Port 120); a foot attached to a bottom of the housing proximate to the intake port, wherein the foot is configured for stabilizing the housing on a surface (Figure 1, and Paragraph 53, The electric socket 110 located near intake Port 120 is downwardly facing to provide a flat support face to support the snow blower 10 when laid down on the ground.); a blower attached to and positioned in the housing (Paragraph 39 and Figure 1, Blower 104 located in body 50), the blower being configured for selectively forcing air through the outlet port (Paragraph 9, Blower 104 draws in air from Intake Port 120 and out from Discharge Port 318); a grate attached to the housing and extending over the intake port, wherein the grate is configured for excluding objects from the air entering through the intake port (Figure 1, Showcases a grate attached to the housing an over an Intake Port 120 which stops objects from entering through); a heater attached to and positioned in the housing, the heater being configured for selectively heating the air passing through the housing (Paragraph 40 and 42, Heating Coil located in Extension Duct 200 heats up air flowing through), a battery selectively attachable to the housing, such that the battery is operationally engaged to the blower and the heater (Paragraph 39-41, Blower 104 and a Heating Coil 210 are connected to the Battery Cell 106), the battery being rechargeable (Paragraph 39, The battery is rechargeable); a switch attached to the housing and being operationally engaged to the battery, the heater, and the blower (Paragraph 54, The switch 108 can control the speed of the air and can choose whether to turn the heater on or not), wherein the switch is configured for being switched for selectively actuating the blower, for generating unheated forced air, and the blower and the heater for generating heated forced air (Paragraph 54, The switch 108 can control the speed of the air and can chose whether to turn the heater on or not), the switch comprising a two position trigger attached to the handle distal from the housing, such that the two position trigger is selectively positionable in a first position for selectively actuating the blower (Paragraph 54, Series of switch positions controlled by one switches. One feature controlled by the switch positions is powering the electric blower 104.) and a second position for selectively actuating the blower concurrently with the heater (Paragraph 54, The switch can have another position for the powering of the heating coil 210); and a controller attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the battery, the sensor, and the heater, such that the controller is enabled for controlling a temperature of the air passing through the housing by adjusting power supplied to the heater by the battery (Paragraph 9 and 61, Electric Circuit 114 is connected to the Battery Cell 106, Heating Coil 210, and to a Temperature gauge that monitors the air temperature. Electric circuit controls temperature of the blower by controlling the power supplied).
Nkurunziza fails to teach a gridded heating element, a detachable battery with a receptacle attached to the housing, a sensor and a gauge attached to the housing of the apparatus, and that the foot having a concavely arcuate medial section in an outwardly facing surface relative to the bottom of the housing such that the foot is configured for abutting a leg of a user in the concavely arcuate medial section.
Lo teaches an electric heated blower (Abstract, Fan with a Heating Element) where the heater comprises a gridded heating element (Figure 1 and 6-8, Showcases Grids of the Heating Element).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nkurunziza to incorporate a gridded heating element as stated in Lo. The heating element is made of high temperature resistant material and does not contain any harmful substances such as lead, mercury (Paragraph 36-37, Heating Element).
Nkurunziza in view of Lo fails to teach a detachable battery with a receptacle attached to the housing.
Steinberg teaches a Snow Blowing Apparatus with a heating element (Paragraph 1-4, Snow Blowing Apparatus with a heating element) where a receptacle attached to the housing (Figure 2, Showcases a Compartment 124, acting as a receptacle, in the housing where the battery is inserted); the receptacle being positioned on the top of the housing proximate to the handle (Paragraph 14, Compartment 124, acting as a receptacle, can be located anywhere on the apparatus); a plug attached to the battery (Figure 2, Battery 128 has a plug attached to it), the plug being complementary to the receptacle, such that the plug is positioned for insertion into the receptacle for attaching the battery to the housing (Figure 2, Showcases that the battery plug and the Compartment 124, acting as a receptacle, are complementary and the battery is inserted into the receptacle 124) and for operationally engaging the battery to the blower and the heater (Paragraph 14-16, the battery 128 operates the apparatus along the motor which include the heating element and blower).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nkurunziza in view of Lo to incorporate a detachable battery as stated in Steinberg. The removable battery would allow the user to replace it with another if needed (Paragraph 14, Battery).
Nkurunziza in view of Lo and Steinberg fails to teach a sensor and a gauge attached to the housing of the apparatus.
Cassani teaches a leaf-blower adapted for blowing and melting snow (Paragraph 1, Snow Melter) with a sensor attached to and positioned in the housing being positioned between the heater and the outlet port (Figure 2-3, Temperature Sensor 124 is between Heater R and Outlet), the sensor being configured for measuring a temperature of the air passing through the housing (Paragraph 42-43, Temperature Sensor 124 monitors and helps control the temperature of the air); a gauge attached to the housing and operationally engaged to the sensor, such that the gauge is enabled for displaying a temperature reading measured by the sensor (Paragraph 42-43, Temperature Sensor 124 along with Thermostat 126 can control the temperature of the air, Thermostat reads as being able to display temperature readings).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nkurunziza in view of Lo and Steinberg to incorporate a sensor and a gauge attached to the housing of the apparatus as stated in Cassani. Temperature Sensor works with the Thermostat to control the temperature of the air flow (Paragraph 42-43, Sensor and Thermostat).
Nkurunziza in view of Lo, Steinberg, and Cassani fails to teach that the foot having a concavely arcuate medial section in an outwardly facing surface relative to the bottom of the housing such that the foot is configured for abutting a leg of a user in the concavely arcuate medial section
Tschopp teaches a blower (Abstract, Blower) with a foot (Figure 5-6A, Foot Member 116) having a concavely arcuate medial section in an outwardly facing surface relative to the bottom of the housing such that the foot is configured for abutting a leg of a user in the concavely arcuate medial section (Figure 5-6A, Foot Member 116 has a concavely section that the is configured for abutting a leg of a user against it).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Nkurunziza in view of Lo, Steinberg, and Cassani to incorporate a foot member having a concavely arcuate medial section as stated in Tschopp. The foot member would provide protection for the battery (Col 4 Line 56-61, Foot Member).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amended claim 1, see pages 6-7, filed December 5th, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Tschopp.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAMZEH HICHAM AMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761