DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 21-36, in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged.
The restriction requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 37-59 are withdrawn by applicant.
Claims 21-36 are included in the prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 28 is indefinite for reciting the phrase “wherein the fluid is air” which is unclear because the instant specification does not objectively provide clarity or guidance for this phrase.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 21-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Juan, JR. et al. (US 20130245544 A1) hereinafter de Juan, JR.
Regarding claims 21-36, de Juan, JR. is drawn to apparatus to provide a therapeutic fluid to devices implanted in the body, for example to containers of devices implanted in the eye of a patient. The methods and apparatus may comprise an injector to increase an amount of therapeutic agent injected into the device implanted in the eye, or a structure to receive the therapeutic fluid within the device implanted in the eye, or combinations thereof. The device implanted in the eye may comprise a reservoir chamber having a fluid with a density different than the therapeutic fluid, and the apparatus can be adapted to at least partially separate the implanted device fluid from therapeutic fluid within the reservoir chamber to increase and amount of therapeutic fluid placed in the reservoir chamber (abstract and claims 1-6).
de Juan, JR. discloses an injection lumen configured to provide a pathway for injecting a therapeutic agent into the ocular implant; an outlet lumen configured to provide a pathway through which pre-existing fluid in the ocular implant exits the ocular implant as therapeutic agent is injected into the ocular implant through the injection lumen, wherein the outlet lumen surrounds at least a portion of the injection lumen; a receiver chamber fluidly coupled to the outlet lumen of the second elongated body, the receiver chamber configured to receive fluid that exits the ocular implant via the outlet lumen; wherein injection of the therapeutic agent into the ocular implant via the injection lumen displaces pre-existing fluid in the ocular implant into the receiver chamber via the outlet lumen (claim 1), wherein the outlet lumen and the injection lumen are concentrically positioned relative to one another (claim 4), wherein the source chamber is part of a syringe that attaches to the injection lumen (claim 8), further comprising a hub configured to removably receive a syringe that is configured to fluidly couple to the injection lumen (claim 9), wherein the sheath forms at least one opening through which fluid can pass from the implant into the outlet lumen (claim 10). de Juan, JR. discloses the porous structure comprises a sintered material [0367].
de Juan, JR. does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in a single embodiment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of de Juan, JR., to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because de Juan, JR. discloses the required ingredients and is drawn to “an apparatus to provide a therapeutic fluid to devices implanted in the body, for example to containers of devices implanted in the eye of a patient. The methods and apparatus may comprise an injector to increase an amount of therapeutic agent injected into the device implanted in the eye, or a structure to receive the therapeutic fluid within the device implanted in the eye, or combinations thereof. The device implanted in the eye may comprise a reservoir chamber having a fluid with a density different than the therapeutic fluid, and the apparatus can be adapted to at least partially separate the implanted device fluid from therapeutic fluid within the reservoir chamber to increase and amount of therapeutic fluid placed in the reservoir chamber” (abstract and claims 1-16). Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Double Patenting
USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed.
Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum,
686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619
(CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §§ 706.02(l)(1) -
706.02(l)(3) for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR
1.321(b).
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 21-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,419,759 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose an injection lumen, an outlet lumen, a collection chamber. The instant claims differ from the claims of the ‘759 Patent because instant claim 21 requires “An exchange device for use with a syringe” and the ‘759 patent requires “A device for injecting a therapeutic agent into an ocular implant”.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have made the claimed composition.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615