DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed on: 08/07/2025.
Claims 3-15 are pending for Examination.
Claims 3 has been amended.
Claims 1-2 and 16-25 have been cancelled to date.
Information Disclosure Statements
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on: 07/29/2025 is determined to be compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are determined not to be persuasive.
With respect to claim 3, Applicant asserts that the combination of references applied in the previous Office Action under §103, namely the teaching of Sridharan, does not fairly teach/suggest the amended claim limitation: “the wireless resource configuration comprises a power-saving indicator for indicating that a corresponding sidelink resource pool is usable by UEs for sidelink communication in a power-saving mode, where a lack of the power-saving indicator indicates that the corresponding sidelink resource pool is used for sidelink communication for normal mode use rather than power-saving,” as recited in the independent claim. Applicant’s Remarks at pp. 6-7.
For context, Applicant’s disclosure describes sidelink (SL) resource pools for a UE that may be specified in a sidelink DRX configuration sent to a UE, where the DRX configuration can have repeating sidelink resource periods (SRPs), and that such a power-saving sidelink configuration may include one or more resource bitmaps (paras. [31]-[32]). For example, sidelink DRX has ON (wakeup) durations and power-saving OFF durations, that can cyclically repeat for power-saving purposes. Applicant’s disclosure also describes that is “…sidelink resource configuration may further include a power-saving indicator for indicating that the sidelink resource pool 702 is useable by power-saving UEs,” and that in some scenarios, “the presence of the positive number N in the sidelink resource configuration may be used as such an indicator,” (para. [85]) “…or the presence of multiple bitmaps …may be used as an indication that the sidelink resource pool 802 can be used for power-saving” (para. [86]).
Lin also teaches a SL DRX configuration that can include one or more parameters, such as an indicator of whether or not a SL DRX, power-saving operation is enabled for a SL UE group, where the SL configuration is a wireless resource configuration, and the parameter indicator is equivalent to an indicator indicating whether a SL resource is usable by UEs of the group power-saving, i.e., DRX, mode (paras. [0105]-[0106]). In this regard, when Lin’s indicator/parameter indicates a SL DRX, power-saving, operation is not enabled for UEs of a SL UE group, normal mode operations are presumed, as power-saving DRX is not to be employed/enabled for the SL UEs thereof. As such, this disclosure of Lin, fairly reads on the amended claim subject matter at issue where “the wireless resource configuration comprises a power-saving indicator for indicating that a corresponding sidelink resource pool is usable by UEs for sidelink communication in a power-saving mode, where a lack of the power-saving indicator indicates that the corresponding sidelink resource pool is used for sidelink communication for normal mode use rather than power-saving,” in context with the above-cited teaching of Applicant’s disclosure.
Moreover, it would be obvious to modify Novlan and Pan’s wireless resource configuration for sidelink communications with the DRX power-saving parameter indication taught by Lin, to conserve sidelink/UE power resources whenever feasible, by explicitly indicating when a power-saving DRX configuration/mode is enabled for UEs of a SL group.
For all of the above reasons, Applicant’s arguments posited for independent claim 3 are either determined NOT to be persuasive, or have otherwise been rendered moot based on the new grounds of rejection applied in the instant Office Action, i.e., the combination of Lin, as opposed to Sridharan, with Novlan and Pan, which was warranted by Applicant’s corresponding claim amendment(s).
With respect to the dependent claims, Applicant only argues these claims as being allowable based on their respective dependence from one of the above-indicated independent claims. Applicant’s Remarks at p. 7. As such, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the dependent claims are likewise determined not to be persuasive or have otherwise rendered moot, for the same reasons described above for the respective independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. 2016/0295624 A1, Novlan et al. (hereinafter “Novlan”), in view of US PG Pub 2020/0359428 A1, Pan et al. (hereinafter “Pan”), in further view of US PG Pub 2022/0353815 A1, Lin et al. (hereinafter “Lin”).
With respect to claim 3, Novlan teaches:
A method for wireless sidelink communications, comprising:
receiving, by a User Equipment (UE), a wireless resource configuration for a sidelink resource pool (paras. [0046]-[0047], and [0085]-[0087]; and Figs. 6 and 8 —a UE can receive resource pool configuration from the network (i.e., in-coverage or Mode 1) or another UE (i.e., out-of-coverage or Mode 2) for V2V/V2X sidelink —Modes 1 (w/BS resource allocation) and 2 (w/UE resource allocation) are cited in paras. [0093] and [0146]-[0150]), wherein the sidelink resource is divided into N time divisions (paras. [0089], [0146]-[0150], and [0153]; and Figs. 6, 15, and 16 —the sidelink SA resource pool 610/1630a is illustrated to be divided into multiple (i.e., N) distinct time divisions (i.e., as SA on/off times) over the SA period of 20ms —a time domain resource pool can also be represented as a subframe bitmap 1520 having N subframe divisions); and
selecting, by the UE, a division of time from the N number of divisions of time of the sidelink resource pool for a sidelink communication based on a traffic type of the sidelink communication (paras. [0047], [0100]-[0103] and [0180]-[0181]; and Figs. 8, 12, 13, and 21-22 —a SL UE can select time division resources of a resource pool allocation for scheduling SL traffic based at least in part on traffic type and associated latency requirements, etc.),
wherein N is a positive integer and the traffic type is indicated by QoS information of the sidelink communication (paras. [0047], [0100]-[0102], [0123]-[0126], and [0180] —where N is a number of time periods or time divisions of a SL resource pool, N is associated a positive integer value —SL traffic type can be associated with particular latency or QoS requirement, which can correspond to a QoS profile for SL communication).
Novlan does not explicitly teach:
the QoS information comprising at least one of a QoS flow identity and a QoS profile corresponding to the sidelink communication.
Pan does teach:
sidelink communication QoS information comprising at least one of a QoS flow identity and a QoS profile corresponding to the sidelink communication (paras. [0062]-[0064], [0066]-[0068], [0121], and [0146] —the SL/PC5 QoS information can include either QoS profile or QoS flow parameters, or both, for SL configuration resource mapping for V2X services —the term “at least one of” only requires Examination on-the-merits of a single, corresponding alternative for the reasons explained above in the Claim Interpretation — Alternative Claim Language section)
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Novlan’s traffic type to QoS determinations for mapping SL resources based on traffic type, with the PC5 QoS parameter evaluation, including PC5 QoS flow id and/or QoS profile parameters, for SL UE configuration, as taught by Pan.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve SL resource allocation to a UE(s) by considering known PC5 parameters associated with QoS based traffic/service types, as recognized by Pan (paras. [0062]-[0064], [0066]-[0068], [0121], and [0146]).
Novlan and Pan do not explicitly teach:
that the wireless resource configuration comprises a power-saving indicator for indicating that a corresponding sidelink resource pool is usable by UEs for sidelink communication in a power-saving mode, where a lack of power-saving indicator indicates that the corresponding sidelink resource pool is used for sidelink communication for normal use rather than power saving.
Lin does teach:
a wireless resource configuration comprises a power-saving indicator for indicating that a sidelink resource is usable by UEs for sidelink communication in a power-saving mode, where a lack of power-saving indicator indicates that the corresponding sidelink resource pool is used for sidelink communication for normal use rather than power saving (paras. [0105]-[0106] —a SL DRX configuration can include one or more parameters, such as an indicator of whether or not a SL DRX operation is enabled for a SL UE group—SL configuration is a wireless resource configuration, and the parameter indicator is equivalent to an indicator indicating whether a SL resource is usable by UEs of the group power-saving, i.e., DRX, mode —when such a parameter indicates the SL DRX, power-saving, operation is not enabled for UEs of a SL group, normal mode operations are presumed, as power-saving DRX is not employed).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Novlan in view of Pan’s wireless resource configuration for sidelink communications with the DRX power-saving parameter indication taught by Lin.
The motivation for doing so would have been to conserve sidelink/UE power resources when feasible, by explicitly indicating when a power-saving mode can be enabled for UEs of a SL group, as recognized by Lin (paras. [0105]-[0106]).
With Respect to Claim 4, Novlan in view of Pan and Lin teaches the method of claim 3.
Novlan also teaches:
identifying sidelink resources allocated to the wireless resource configuration (Novlan: paras. [0153]-[0156]; and Fig. 16 —SA subframe bitmaps 1630a-b identifying SL resources of the resource pool associated with the resource configuration); and
a positive number N, of time divisions of the sidelink resource pool (Novlan: paras. [0153]-[0156] —the bitmaps of resources 1630a-b can be repeated periodically, N number of times, according to a TDD configuration, as depicted in Fig. 16).
However, Novlan and Lin do not teach:
wherein the wireless resource configuration comprises first and second information elements corresponding to sidelink resources.
Pan does teach:
a wireless resource configuration having first and second information elements corresponding to sidelink resources (paras. [0095] and [0121]-[0128]; and Agreements on SLRB Configuration —Pan describes IEs relating to SL resource configuration such as sl-V2X-ConfigCommon, sl-configDedicatedNR, etc.).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Novlan and Lin’s bitmap SL resource subframe repetition with inclusion within a IE for sidelink configuration, as taught by Pan.
The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate specification of the number of SL resource bitmaps by employing such as an IE within a common SL configuration resource, as recognized by Pan (paras. [0095] and [0121]-[0128]; and SLRB Configuration).
With respect to claim 5, Novlan in view of Pan and Lin teaches the method of claim 3. Novlan also teaches wherein the wireless resource configuration comprises:
multiple time-bitmaps identifying time divisions of the sidelink resource pool (Novlan: paras. [0152]-[0155] —the T-RTP bitmaps 1620a-c of Fig. 16 represent multiple time bitmaps that identify time-divisions of a SL resource pool); and
frequency allocation information for all time divisions of the sidelink resource pool (Novlan: paras. [0145]-[0146] and [0164]-[0166]; and Fig. 17 —the resource pool time division bitmaps can have corresponding frequency allocation for FDM, as depicted in Fig. 17).
However, Novlan and Lin do not explicitly teach:
wherein the wireless resource configuration comprises first and second information elements corresponding to sidelink resources.
Pan does teach:
a wireless resource configuration having first and second information elements corresponding to sidelink resources (paras. [0095] and [0121]-[0128]; and Agreements on SLRB Configuration —Pan describes IEs relating to SL resource configuration such as sl-V2X-ConfigCommon, sl-ConfigDedicatedNR, etc.).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Novlan and Lin’s time-division bitmaps identifying time divisions having corresponding frequency allocations with specification being within designated IEs, as taught by Pan.
The motivation for doing so would have been to facilitate specification of the number of time-bitmaps and their frequency allocations by indicating such as IEs within a common SL configuration resource, as recognized by Pan (paras. [0095] and [0121]-[0128]; and SLRB Configuration).
With respect to claim 6, Novlan in view of Pan and Lin teaches:
The method of claim 3, the wireless resource configuration further comprises at least one of:
a wireless resource configuration identifier; and
a traffic type indicator for indicating one or more traffic types (Novlan: paras [0047], [0095], [0100]-[0101], and [0125]; and Fig. 16 —resource configuration information can include a data type, i.e., control or message data, etc., or a device or group ID —a traffic type flag information can be included in a resource configuration/allocation message to a UE —the terms “or” and “at least one of” only require Examination on-the-merits of a single, corresponding alternative for the reasons explained above in the Claim Interpretation — Alternative Claim Language section).
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novlan in view of Pan and Lin, in further view of US PG Pub 2019/0373647 A1, Rugeland et al. (hereinafter “Rugeland”).
With respect to claim 7, Novlan in view of Pan and Lin teaches the method of claim 3.
Novlan in view of Pan and Lin does not explicitly teach:
wherein the wireless resource configuration comprises one or more sidelink control resource configurations for indicating a set of sidelink control resources for transmitting one or more sidelink control information.
Rugeland does teach:
a wireless resource configuration having one or more sidelink control resource configurations for indicating a set of sidelink control resources for transmitting one or more sidelink control information (paras. [0082]-[0083], [0097]-[0098], and [0141] —the PSCCH subframe bitmap(s) depicted in Fig. 8 correspond to SL control resources for transmitting SL control information —the control data of the PSCCH can correspond to a sparse resource pool configuration).
It would have been prima-facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Novlan in view of Pan and Lin’s wireless resource configuration with a SL control resource configuration for transmitting sidelink control information, i.e., via the PSCCH, as taught by Rugeland.
The motivation for doing so would have been to designate specific control resources in the resource pool for sparse data, to assist with power-saving functions, as recognized by Rugeland (paras. [0082]-[0083], [0097]-[0098], and [0141]; and Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 8, Novlan in view of Pan, Lin, and Rugeland teaches:
The method of claim 7 wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the UE, a sidelink control information over one of the set of sidelink control resources prior to transmitting the sidelink communication over the selected time division of the sidelink resource pool to indicate to a receiving UE whether or not to monitor the sidelink resource pool or the selected time division of the sidelink resource pool during a configured time period following a reception of the sidelink control information (Rugeland: paras. [0097]-[0101] and [0111]-[0120]; and Fig. 8 —the SL control information of the PSCCH can be transmitted prior to transmitting the PSSCH SL data communication, i.e., associated with the TRPT bitmaps, as depicted in Fig. 8) —the term “one of” only requires Examination on-the-merits of a single, corresponding alternative for the reasons explained above in the Claim Interpretation — Alternative Claim Language section).
With respect to claim 9, Novlan in view of Pan, Lin, and Rugeland teaches:
The method of claim 7 wherein the method further comprises, prior to monitoring by the UE the selected time division of the sidelink resource pool for receiving the sidelink communication, monitoring, by the UE, one or more sidelink control information over the set of sidelink control resources to receive a sidelink control information indicating to a receiving UE whether or not to monitor the sidelink resource pool or the selected time division of the sidelink resource pool during a configured time period following a reception of the sidelink control information (Rugeland: paras. [0136]-[0137]; and Fig. 8 —the Rx UE can receive SL control information over a portion of the SL resource pool, i.e., the PSCCH, which includes a PSSCH-period-selection parameter indicating to the Rx UE which repetitions of a resource pool are to be monitored (disregarding all other repetitions) to allow the Rx UE to sleep more often and save resources).
With respect to claim 10, Novlan in view of Pan, Lin, and Rugeland teaches:
The method of claim 7, wherein each sidelink resource pool comprises one or more sidelink-on durations (Rugeland: paras: [0042]-[0045], [0048]-[0053], and [0120] —a SL resource pool for DRX or sparse data transmission can include both SL on and off durations).
With respect to claim 11, Novlan in view of Pan, Lin, and Rugeland teaches:
The method of claim 7, wherein each of the one or more sidelink control resource configurations corresponds to one or more time points corresponding to the one or more sidelink control information (Rugeland: paras. [0113]-[0120] and [0143]; and Figs.7-9 —the PSCCH configuration includes a designated number of subframes in the time domain, ending at a time point/subframe, the pattern of which can be repeated every SC period).
With respect to claim 12, Novlan in view of Pan, Lin, and Rugeland teaches:
The method of claim 9, wherein:
the sidelink control information is transmitted at a time point of one or more time points; and the configured time period corresponds to a time between the time point and a next time point in the one or more time points (Rugeland: paras. [0113]-[0120] and [0143]; and Figs.7-9 —the PSCCH configuration includes a designated number of subframes in the time domain, ending at a time point/subframe, the pattern of which can be repeated every sidelink control (SC) period, paras. [0023]-[0024]).
With respect to claim 13, Novlan in view of Pan, Lin, and Rugeland teaches:
The method of claim 9, wherein the sidelink control information comprises a wakeup indicator for indicating to the receiving UE whether or not to monitor: the sidelink resource pool or the selected time division of the sidelink resource pool during a configured time period following a reception of the sidelink control information (Rugeland: paras. [0113]-[0120], [0154], [0163] and [0168]-[0169]; and Figs. 7-9 —the sparse resource pool control information can include a wakeup indication, i.e., a SL-trpt-selection, to indicate to a receiving UE when to monitor selected time divisions of the sidelink resource pool —the term “or” only requires Examination on-the-merits of a single, corresponding alternative for the reasons explained above in the Claim Interpretation — Alternative Claim Language section).
With respect to claim 14, Novlan in view of Pan, Lin, and Rugeland teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the sidelink control information comprises a sidelink control message comprising the wakeup indicator (Rugeland: paras. [0113]-[0120], [0154], [0163] and [0168]-[0169]; and Figs.7-9 —the sidelink control information can include a wakeup indication as a SL control message.
With respect to claim 15, Novlan in view of Pan, Lin, and Rugeland teaches:
The method of claim 13, wherein the one or more sidelink control information are associated with a traffic type of sidelink transmission, and correspondingly, the sidelink control information transmitted by the UE further comprises a traffic type information associated with the traffic type of the sidelink communication (Novlan: paras. [0100]-[0101], [0123]-[0125], and [0151]-[0152]; and Pan: paras. [0062]-[0064], [0066]-[0068], [0121], and [0146] —SL control information can be associated with different traffic types having different latency/QoS requirements, the traffic type can be indicated between SL UEs via the PSCCH SCI).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Huy Vu can be reached at (571)272-3155. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Scott A. Schlack/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461