DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments have been entered. Amendments do not overcome the 103 rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 10/01/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20060275659-A1) herein after referred to as ‘Kim’ in view of (US-5021306-A) hereinafter referred to as ‘Sauer’
Regarding Claim 1,
Kim teaches a battery cell (Kim, “Disclosed is a cylindrical lithium secondary battery” ,Abstract) comprising: an electrode assembly (Kim, electrode assembly, 300, Fig. 2B) comprising a first electrode piece (Kim, first electrode plate, 310, Fig. 2B) and a second electrode piece (Kim, second electrode plate, 320, Fig. 2B); a housing (Kim, cylindrical case, 400, Fig. 2B) comprising a casing and an electrode lead-out portion (Kim, second electrode tabs, 315, Fig. 2B) insulated from the casing (Kim, “In addition, upper and lower insulating plates 341 and 345 can be attached to upper and lower portions of the electrode assembly 300 in order to prevent the electrode assembly 300 from directly making contact with the cap assembly 500 or the cylindrical case 400.”, see [0037]) wherein the casing is configured to accommodate the electrode assembly and the second electrode piece is affixed to the casing ; and an adapter to electrically connect the electrode lead-out (Kim, core member, 600, Fig. 2B)
Kim teaches wherein the electrode lead-out portion comprises a first recessed portion recessed with respect to an outer surface toward the electrode assembly in a thickness direction of the electrode lead-out portion, the outer surface is located at one side, away from the electrode assembly, of the electrode lead-out portion, and the adapter is welded to a bottom wall of the first recessed portion (see annotated figure of Kim and the instant application below).
Kim does not teach an adapter portion and the first electrode piece, wherein the adapter comprises a first reel and a second reel, the first reel and the second reel are at least partially spaced and fixed to the electrode lead-out portion, a clamping slot is formed between the first reel and the second reel, at least part of the first electrode piece is inserted into the clamping slot and clamped by the adapter. The first electrode piece is partially wound around the adapter and affixed to the adapter .
Sauer teaches an adapter portion and the first electrode piece, wherein the adapter comprises a first reel and a second reel (Sauer, splint, 6, Fig. 4) , the first reel and the second reel are at least partially spaced and fixed to the electrode lead-out portion, a clamping slot is formed between the first reel and the second reel, at least part of the first electrode piece is inserted into the clamping slot and clamped by the adapter (Sauer, carrier, 2, Fig. 4) . The first electrode piece is partially wound around the adapter and affixed to the adapter (see annotated figure below).
Sauer teaches that this reel clamping mechanism allows for the cell to be rolled up in a trouble-free fashion (Sauer, “In such case it is advantageous to place the splint collector 6 somewhat inwardly from the end of the band, over the carrier as previously described, and to provide a free end on the separator casing 9 of the counter-electrode 8 (i.e., the Li electrode),… This ensures that the counter-electrode 8 is dependably retracted upon rotation of the needle 6, so that the electrodes are rolled up in trouble-free fashion, one over the other.”, Col. 5, ln. 29)
Kim and Sauer are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery cases and rolls.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified he adapter as taught in Kim with the adapter as taught in Sauer in order to allow for better rolling of the electrode and counter electrode.
Regarding Claim 2,
Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly is provided with a first through hole, and at least part of the adapter is accommodated in the first through hole (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 20,
Modified Kim teaches an electric device, comprising at least one battery cell according to claim 1, the battery cell being configured to provide electrical energy to the electric device (Kim, “electrically and mechanically connected to an upper portion of the positive thermal coefficient device 530 in order to apply current to an external device”, see [0039]).
Claims 4-6, and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20060275659-A1) herein after referred to as ‘Kim’, in view of (US-5021306-A) hereinafter referred to as ‘Sauer’, in view of (US-20170117526-A1), hereinafter referred to as ‘Lee’
Regarding Claim 4,
Modified Kim does not teach wherein the first electrode piece comprises a first coated portion coated with a first active material and a first uncoated portion not coated with the first active material, the first uncoated portion is connected to the first coated portion and located at one end of the first electrode piece in a winding direction.
Lee teaches the first electrode piece comprises a first coated portion coated with a first active material and a first uncoated portion not coated with the first active material, the first uncoated portion is connected to the first coated portion and located at one end of the first electrode piece in a winding direction (Lee, “The first and second electrodes may respectively include electrode regions where an active material is coated and electrode uncoated regions where an active material is not coated, the electrode uncoated region of the first electrode may be electrically coupled to the bonding portion”, see [0020]). (Lee, uncoated region, 22b, Fig. 4)
Lee teaches that the uncoated portion can help form a second terminal and that the formation of a second terminal can allow for a more compact battery (Lee, “center pin 28 is connected to the first electrode uncoated region 22 b by welding (FIG. 4), and may be used as a first terminal of the rechargeable battery.,”, see [0043]) (Lee, “Embodiments provide a rechargeable battery with a maximized battery capacity and a maximized space for housing an electrode assembly of an ultra-small pin type of rechargeable battery.”, see [0008])
Kim and Lee are analogous as they both come from the same field of lithium-ion batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode as taught in Kim with the coated and uncoated portions as taught in Lee in order to improve electrical contact and to allow to create a more compact design with high energy density.
Regarding Claim 5,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 4, wherein the first uncoated portion comprises a first part inserted into the clamping slot and a second part connecting the first part and the first coated portion; the second part is at least partially wound around an outside of the adapter and affixed to the adapter (see annotated Sauer figure below).
Regarding Claim 6,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 5, wherein the second part is wound for at least one turn around the adapter (see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claim 8,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the adapter is provided with a second through hole for accommodating an electrolyte (Kim, “inserting the core member 600 (S3), filling or injecting the electrolyte (S4) and assembling the cap assembly 500 (S5).”, see [0051]).(The examiner notes that the when the entire assembly is filled with electrolyte the center hole will accommodate the electrolyte)
Regarding Claim 9,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 8, wherein the first electrode piece goes beyond the adapter in a direction away from the electrode lead-out portion (Kim, second electrode tabs, 315, Fig. 2B).
Regarding Claim 12,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the electrode lead-out portion comprises a first locating portion, and the adapter comprises a second locating portion for matching with the first locating portion in the thickness direction of the electrode lead-out portion; and the first locating portion comprises a protrusion (Sauer, carrier, 2, Fig. 4)), and the second locating portion comprises a groove (Sauer, eye, see Fig. 5)
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 12, wherein, the second electrode piece is at least partially wound around the adapter and is electrically connected to the casing (Lee, “and the exposed second electrode uncoated region 24 b may contact and be electrically coupled to an inner surface of the case”, see [0044]) .
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 13, wherein the casing comprises a side wall surrounding the outside of the electrode assembly, and a part of the second electrode piece is affixed to the side wall (Lee, “and the exposed second electrode uncoated region 24 b may contact and be electrically coupled to an inner surface of the case”, see [0044]) .
Regarding Claim 15,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 14, wherein the second electrode piece comprises a second coated portion coated with a second active material and a second uncoated portion not coated with the second active material (Lee, second electrode region and uncoated region, 24a and 24b, see Fig. 4), the second uncoated portion is connected to the second coated portion and located at one end of the second electrode piece in the winding direction; and at least part of the second uncoated portion is affixed to the side wall (Lee, “and the exposed second electrode uncoated region 24 b may contact and be electrically coupled to an inner surface of the case”, see [0044]).
Regarding Claim 16,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 15, wherein the second uncoated portion (Lee, second electrode region and uncoated region, 24a and 24b, see Fig. 4), is wound for multiple turns around the adapter (Lee, second electrode, 24, Fig, 2) ; and the second uncoated portion is welded to the side wall (Lee, “and the exposed second electrode uncoated region 24 b may contact and be electrically coupled to an inner surface of the case”, see [0044]).
Regarding Claim 17,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 16, wherein the casing further comprises a bottom wall (Kim, lower surface, 420, Fig. 2B) and a transition wall (Kim, plates, 345, Fig. 2B) the bottom wall is arranged at one side, away from the electrode lead-out portion, of the electrode assembly, the transition wall is connected to the side wall and the bottom wall, and an inner surface of the transition wall is an arc surface (Kim, cylindrical body, 410, Fig. 2A) .
Regarding Claim 18,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 17, wherein projection of the second coated portion is within projection of the bottom wall in a thickness direction of the bottom wall (see annotated Kim figure below).
Regarding Claim 19,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 18, wherein the battery cell further comprises a spacer disposed between the bottom wall and the electrode assembly to separate the second coated portion from the arc surface (see annotated figure below).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20060275659-A1) herein after referred to as ‘Kim’ in view of (US-5021306-A) hereinafter referred to as ‘Sauer’, in further view of (US-20210036297-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kim II’
Regarding Claim 21,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode piece is bonded to a wall of the clamping slot by a conductive adhesive.
Modified Kim does not teach an electrode piece bonded by a conductive adhesive.
Kim II teaches an electrode piece bonded by a conductive adhesive (Kim II, “the positive tab 240 may be bonded to the positive uncoated region 215 by a conductive adhesive part”, [0057]).
Kim II teaches that a conductive adhesive allows for the area of the electrode materials to be increased and therefore increasing the capacity of the battery (Kim II, “conductive adhesive part 250 instead of by the conventional welding. Therefore, the area of the positive active material layer 213 may be increased to increase the amount of the active material, thereby increasing of the capacity of the rechargeable battery”, see [0058]).
Modified Kim and Kim II are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the attachment of the electrode to the clamp as taught in Kim with the conductive adhesive as taught in Kim II, in order to improve the performance of the electrode.
Claims 10, 11, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20060275659-A1) herein after referred to as ‘Kim’, in view of (KR-20130091532-A) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kim III’
Regarding Claim 10,
Modified Kim the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein the bottom wall of the first recessed portion comprises a connecting region and a weak region surrounding the connecting region, the connecting region is welded to the adapter, and the weak region surrounds an outside of the connecting region and is configured to rupture when an internal pressure or a temperature of the battery cell reaches a threshold value, (see annotated figure below)(Kim, “safety vent 510 such that circuits thereof can be disconnected when the safety vent 510 is deformed, a positive thermal coefficient device 530 electrically and mechanically connected to an upper portion of the PCB 520 such that circuits thereof can be disconnected when a temperature rises above a predetermined temperature”, see [0039]). (Lee, “the center pin 28 is connected to the first electrode uncoated region 22 b by welding (FIG. 4)”, see [0043]).
Kim does not teach the weak region surrounds an outside of the connecting region.
Kim does not teach that the weak part discharges emissions from the battery cell.
Kim III teaches that the weak part discharges emissions from the battery cell and the weak region surrounds an outside of the connecting region (Kim III, “Furthermore, when the internal pressure of the secondary battery continuously increases, the safety vent 32 ruptures and the gas is exhausted through the exhaust port of the top cap 31, so that the explosion of the battery can be prevented.”, see [0008])(notch 31 and cap 35, see Fig. 1).
Kim III teaches that this prevents explosions (Kim III, “Furthermore, when the internal pressure of the secondary battery continuously increases, the safety vent 32 ruptures and the gas is exhausted through the exhaust port of the top cap 31, so that the explosion of the battery can be prevented.”, see [0008]).
Modified Kim and Kim III are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the top as taught in Kim to break when the connection is severed in order to prevent explosion as taught in Kim III.
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Kim teaches wherein when the weak region ruptures, a part, surrounding an outside of the weak region, is disconnected from the connecting region, and under the internal pressure of the battery cell, the part of the electrode lead-out portion is broken through and separated from the casing (Kim, “safety vent 510 such that circuits thereof can be disconnected when the safety vent 510 is deformed, a positive thermal coefficient device 530 electrically and mechanically connected to an upper portion of the PCB 520 such that circuits thereof can be disconnected when a temperature rises above a predetermined temperature”, see [0039]), thereby discharging the emissions from the battery cell (Kim III, “Furthermore, when the internal pressure of the secondary battery continuously increases, the safety vent 32 ruptures and the gas is exhausted through the exhaust port of the top cap 31, so that the explosion of the battery can be prevented.”, see [0008]).
Regarding Claim 22,
Modified Kim teaches the battery cell according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the weak region is reduced by arranging the second recessed portion, such that the weak region ruptures when the internal pressure or the temperature the battery cell reaches the threshold value, so as to discharge the emissions from the battery cell (Kim III, “Furthermore, when the internal pressure of the secondary battery continuously increases, the safety vent 32 ruptures and the gas is exhausted through the exhaust port of the top cap 31, so that the explosion of the battery can be prevented.”, see [0008]) the bottom wall of the first recessed portion is provided with a second recessed portion recessed toward the electrode assembly in the thickness direction, and the weak region is a bottom wall of the second recessed portion but it would have been obvious as a matter or rearrangement of parts (Kim II, “At least a portion of the upper portion of the current blocking member 340 is connected to the lower end of the safety vent 330. Therefore, in a normal state, when the safety vent 330.”, see [0039]).
Response to Arguments
Arguments filed on 12/11/2025 have been entered. Arguments are fully considered.
On pg. 10, the applicant states,
“By contrast, nowhere does Kim disclose "first recessed portion recessed with respect to an outer surface toward the electrode assembly in a thickness direction of the electrode lead-out portion." As shown in FIG. 2B (relied upon by the Office), no recessed portion is provided on the plate 341, and nowhere does Kim disclose that "the adapter is welded to a bottom wall of the first recessed portion.”
However, this is not convincing. As indicated in the annotated figure below, Kim teaches a recessed portion, which is recessed relative to the outer surface. The recessed portion is relative to the container, rather than the plate 341, itself. Kim does not teach the second and first recessed portions on the same thickness imbedded within each other. However, Kim, and the newly added reference Kim III, teach the utility of the features of Claims 10-12 and Claim 22.
On pg. 11, the applicant states,
“Regarding claim 12, amended claim 12 now clarifies that "the first locating portion and the second locating portion are matching in the thickness direction of the electrode lead-out portion." By contrast, Kim fails to teach or suggest this arrangement. The protrusion (e.g., Kim, FIG. 2C) and the groove part 620' (e.g., Kim, FIG. 4B), as disclosed in Kim, are not matching in the thickness direction of the electrode lead-out portion.”
However, this is not convincing. The examiner points to the secondary reference ‘Sauer’ which has an ‘eye’ (see Fig. 5) and a lead ‘carrier’ 2 (see Fig. 3). The protrusion and the groove are matching in the thickness direction.
Conclusion
33 . Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752