Detailed Notice
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Katsuhiko (JP2012119185A, referencing the English translation provided) in view of Yoshikazu (JP2015032642A, referencing the providing English translation) in view of Kajiwara (US 20140168996 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 and 2, Katsuhiko teaches that an LED lighting device as shown in modified figure 1 below.
Katsuhiko teaches that the LED lighting device (element 1) features a plurality of LED elements (para. 0009) on a main substrate (para. 0011). A cover lens covers the entire substrate comprising the plurality of LED elements (para. 0018). The cover lens, understood to be an equivalent of the optical element, includes two vertical support columns installed on both ends of the device which supports the lens that covers the whole of the LED elements and main substrate (para. 19-20).
However, Katsuhiko does not teach a linear expansion coefficient of: (1) the substrate is 0 to 30 µK-1, (2) the optical element is 0 to 10 µK-1, (3) that the difference in the expansion coefficients of the substrate and the optical element is 0 to 25 µK-1. Katsuhiko also does not teach that the LED emits ultraviolet radiation. Nor does Katsuhiko teach that the sidewall sections are fixed to the substrate by means of fitting grooves in the substrate.
Yoshizaku teaches a light emitting device which does not crack from internal stress during operation (abstract).
Yoshizaku teaches that a linear expansion coefficient of the substrate is between 1.4 µC-1 and 15 µC-1 (page 3, lines 30-39) and that the linear expansion coefficient of the sealing glass (understood to be an equivalent for the cover lens) is 0.8 to 15 µC-1 (page 4, lines 1-6). Accordingly, the difference in the linear expansion coefficients of the substrate and lens are within the range required by the instant claim. Arranged in this manner, the occurrence of cracks is suppressed (page 3, lines 3-27). Yoshizaku teaches that the LED can “emit wavelengths that act on UV curable resins” (Pg 4, Lines 17-18).
Kajiwara teaches an illuminating apparatus which fixes a lens holding section to a substrate [abstract].
Kajiwara teaches a method for fixing a lens to a substrate in an LED device by means of a press holding plate (element 7) which becomes affixed to a substrate by fastening a screw through the screw insertion hole (understood to be a fitting groove) (element 14) and into the substrate screw hole (element 13) in order to affix the press holding plate onto the lens (element 5) which holds the lens on the substrate [0036-0038; Fig. 1b and 3]. It is understood that the screw (element 10) is a “same material” which makes integral the sidewall sections of the Kajiwara teaches that fixing the lens to the substrate in this way minimizes deformation of the lens, which prevents a decrease in the optical performance of the device [0016].
Prior to the effective filing date of the present invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the LED lightning device, as per Katsuhiko, was ready for improvement by the incorporation of the linear expansion coefficient of the lens and the substrate, as per Yoshizaku, in order that one would arrive at an LED lighting element which does not crack from thermally-induced stress. Further, one of ordinary skill would have found it readily obvious that the LED wavelengths emitted by the device of Katsuhiko could be substituted for the LED bulb of Yoshizaku, in order to arrive at a LED device capable of curing UV-responsive resins. Further, one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious that the means of the affixing the cover lens to the substrate in the LED device as per Katsuhiko in view of Yoshikazu could be substituted for the screw fastening method for affixing a lens cover to the substrate, as per Kajiwara. Further, one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious that the LED device as per Katsuhiko in view of Yoshikazu was ready for improvement by the incorporation of the screw fastening method for affixing a lens cover to the substrate, as per Kajiwara, in order that one would arrive at a lighting device with improved optical performance and minimized lens deformation without the use of a fixed bonding agent.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Katsuhiko (JP2012119185A, referencing the English translation provided) in view of Yoshikazu (JP2015032642A, referencing the providing English translation) further in view of Friedrichs (US 20080137357 A1).
Regarding Claim 5 and 6, Katsuhiko teaches that an LED lighting device as shown in modified figure 1 below.
Katsuhiko teaches that the LED lighting device (element 1) features a plurality of LED elements (para. 0009) on a main substrate (para. 0011). A cover lens covers the entire substrate comprising the plurality of LED elements (para. 0018). The cover lens, understood to be an equivalent of the optical element, includes two vertical support columns installed on both ends of the device which supports the lens that covers the whole of the LED elements and main substrate (para. 19-20). The lens portion and the column portion, corresponding to the instant application sidewall sections and the lens section, are made from the same material (para. 24).
However, Katsuhiko does not teach a linear expansion coefficient of: (1) the substrate is 0 to 30 µK-1, (2) the optical element is 0 to 10 µK-1, (3) that the difference in the expansion coefficients of the substrate and the optical element is 0 to 25 µK-1. Katsuhiko also does not teach that the LED emits ultraviolet radiation. Nor does Katsuhiko teach that the sidewall sections are fixed to the substrate by means of fitting pins. Nor does Katsuhiko teach that the sidewall sections are fixed to the substrate by means of fitting pins.
Yoshizaku teaches a light emitting device which does not crack from internal stress during operation (abstract).
Yoshizaku teaches that a linear expansion coefficient of the substrate is between 1.4 µC-1 and 15 µC-1 (page 3, lines 30-39) and that the linear expansion coefficient of the sealing glass (understood to be an equivalent for the cover lens) is 0.8 to 15 µC-1 (page 4, lines 1-6). Accordingly, the difference in the linear expansion coefficients of the substrate and lens are within the range required by the instant claim. Arranged in this manner, the occurrence of cracks is suppressed (page 3, lines 3-27). Yoshizaku teaches that the LED can “emit wavelengths that act on UV curable resins” (Pg 4, Lines 17-18).
Friedrichs teaches an apparatus for lighting [abstract].
Friedrichs teaches that an LED lighting device may comprise multiple LED modules on a carrier board [0070] wherein the carrier (understood to be a substrate) serves as a heat sink for heat produced by the LED modules in order that the system has better thermal conduction [0071] and that the projection lenses (understood to be a cover lens) have fitting pins which connect to the carrier [0071; see Fig. 4 and Fig. 6]. Friedrich teaches that fitting the LED and lens cover to the carrier in this way allows for the adjustment of the LED modules.
Prior to the effective filing date of the present invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the LED lightning device, as per Katsuhiko, was ready for improvement by the incorporation of the linear expansion coefficient of the lens and the substrate, as per Yoshizaku, in order that one would arrive at an LED lighting element which does not crack from thermally-induced stress. Further, one of ordinary skill would have found it readily obvious that the LED wavelengths emitted by the device of Katsuhiko could be substituted for the LED bulb of Yoshizaku, in order to arrive at a LED device capable of curing UV-responsive resins. Further, one of ordinary skill would have found it obvious that the LED device as per Katsuhiko in view of Yoshikazu was ready for improvement by the incorporation of the fitting pins used to connect a heat sink substrate to a cover lens, as per Friedrichs, in order that one would arrive at an LED lightning device with improved thermal conduction away from the LED lightning device using a non-fixed bonding comprising fitting to attach an LED lens to the substrate on which its mounted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the “slidability” of the substrate and lens cover) is not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Specifically, the applicant argues that the combination of references are impermissible as the mechanism of adhering (via fitting grooves and fittings pins, as per Kajiwara and Friedrichs, respectively) the substrate and lens cover in the cited prior art references are not identical, and that the incorporation of the teachings of Yoshizaku bearing to the thermal stress matching of the substrate and lens cover would not be obvious to incorporate into the teachings of Katsuhiko. This is not persuasive as the rejection relies on Yoshizaku for the teaching of the linear expansion coefficients rather than the mechanism of the lens cover and substrate interface adjoining. The office’s position therefore is to maintain that the combination of the references is valid, owing to the fact that the LED apparatus of Katsuhiko is being improved by the modifications disclosed by the incorporation of the linear expansion coefficient ranges taught by Yoshizaku to minimize stress cracking in the device; as well as the means of adjoining the substrate and lens taught by Friedrichs and Kajiwara. Further, as Claim 1 does not bear to a “slidable mechanism” the application fitting grooves and fittings pins, as per Kajiwara and Friedrichs, respectively, to modify Katsuhiko are not persuasive as the arguments do not undermine the combination of these references to modify Katsuhiko, but argues instead that these references would impede slidability. Specifically, Katushiko states explicitly that the method of adjoining the substrate and the lens cover may be done by fixed bonding as well as non-fixed bonding, such that the lighting device of Katushiko does not need slidability, it is merely recited as one way of affixing the substrate and lens cover among other methods (see Katsuhiko Paragraph [0021]). Accordingly, these arguments are not persuasive, as Katsuhiko provides that any number of means to adjoin the substrate and lens cover are provided for.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANAEL JASON DOWNES/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794