DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 17/864,634 filed on 07/14/2022.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 12/09/2025, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 3,4, 8, 10, 12-19, 24, 27, 34, 35 are cancelled.
-Claims 28-33 are withdrawn.
-Claims 1, 5, 7, 20, 22 are amended
-Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 11, 20-23, 25-26 are pending examination.
-Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 11, 20, 21, 23, 25 are rejected.
-Claims 22, 26 are objected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of a continuation of PCT/CN2020/075076 filed 02/13/2020.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
5. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 8-9, filed on 12/09/2025, with respect to Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112 (b) have been considered in light of applicant’s amendments. The claim rejections under 35 USC § 112 (b) for claim 5, 7, 22 as presented in the previous office action have been withdrawn.
6. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 8-9, filed on 12/09/2025, with respect to REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are not persuasive because the arguments do not apply to the grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to any applicable Dependent Claims have been considered, and are not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
A. To the extent this office action relies on Zhang et al (US 20230034294 A1) i.e. “Zhang” where Zhang is combined as in LIU et al. (US 20220361284 A1), i.e. “LIU” in view of Zhang under 35 U.S.C. 103, the office respectfully contends applicant’s remarks or arguments directed to Zhang are not persuasive.
B. Applicant in its remarks (See page 8 (ln 19-23 ), utilizing independent claim 1, indicates: “Amended independent claim 1 recites "before receiving the discontinuous reception
configuration information from the wireless access node, transmitting to the wireless access node
a capability information indicating whether the first user equipment supports sidelink
discontinuous reception". Applicant respectfully submits that the prior art fails to teach the
limitation”.
C. In response, utilizing portions of claim 1 upon which Zhang is relied upon in combination i.e. for the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over LIU in view of Zhang (See office action), the office presents that Zhang teaches:
and before receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information from the wireless access node (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 […] 302: The first communication apparatus sends auxiliary information and an identifier of the second communication apparatus to the first network device. The auxiliary information is used by the first network device to determine a first DRX parameter with reference to the auxiliary information; ¶0093 […] the auxiliary information includes a second DRX parameter determined by the first communication apparatus based on a data transmission requirement of the first communication apparatus on a sidelink ;¶0126 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: per ¶0091 Step 302 i.e. The first communication apparatus sends auxiliary information where per ¶0093 i.e. the auxiliary information includes a second DRX parameter determined by the first communication apparatus i.e. step 302 occurs before per ¶0129 i.e. 304: reads on: and before receiving , where i.e. per ¶0129 i.e. 304: The first network device sends the first DRX parameter and the identifier of the second communication apparatus and per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter and per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, i.e. to obtain the first DRX parameter reads on: the discontinuous reception configuration information from the wireless access node.
transmitting to the wireless access node [[]] a capability information indicating whether the first user equipment supports sidelink discontinuous reception (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See above; ¶0093 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: per ¶0091 Step 302 i.e. The first communication apparatus sends auxiliary information reads on: transmitting to the wireless access node [[]] a capability information where per ¶0093 i.e. the auxiliary information includes i.e. a second DRX parameter determined by the first communication apparatus based on a data transmission requirement of the first communication apparatus on a sidelink reads on: indicating whether the first user equipment supports sidelink discontinuous reception i.e. second DRX parameter for a side link data transmission requirement of the first communication apparatus comprised in the auxiliary information transmitted the network device comprises “a capability information indicating whether the first user equipment supports sidelink discontinuous reception” .
D. As such, the office action respectfully contends that applicant’s remarks or arguments as cited are not persuasive since Zhang as relied upon teaches and reads upon claim 1 elements of applicant’s contention as referenced, and furthermore the office action relies upon disclosures of LIU in view of Zhang in combination as presented in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection presented herein (See office action) for the rejection of the entirety of claim 1.
E. Furthermore with the rejection of claim 1 presented under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Zhang (See office action) in combination, the office action respectfully contends that applicant’s arguments against prior art LIU are directed against the references individually, and one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references used to address the rejection of applicant’s claims (See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986))
F. Applicant is respectfully directed to the grounds of rejection of claims now presented under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Zhang, where the disclosure of each and every limitation of the now presented Claim 1 is taught and rejected.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
8. Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, 11, 20, 23, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (US 20220361284 A1), i.e. “LIU” in view of Zhang et al (US 20230034294 A1) i.e. “Zhang”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) LIU teaches: A method performed by a first user equipment in a wireless communication network (LIU - FIG. 3A & ¶0175 […] a first embodiment provided in this disclosure, the communication method […] ; ¶0176 S101: A first communication device receives first information; ¶0177 […] The first information may be used to determine an SL DRX configuration. The SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device ;¶0180 […] first communication device and/or the second communication device may be terminal devices ; NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: per ¶0175 i.e. communication method reads on: A method, where per ¶0180 per i.e. first communication device and/or the second communication device may be terminal devices and per ¶0176 A first communication device receives reads on: performed by a first user equipment, per ¶0176 i.e. used for an SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication reads on: in a wireless communication network ),
comprising: receiving an discontinuous reception configuration information from a wireless access node serving the first user equipment (LIU FIG. 3A & FIG. 3B & ¶0176 see above; ¶0177 See above; ¶0202 […] in the first and/or second embodiments, the first information may come from the second communication device and/or a base station (for example, the third communication device) accessed by the first communication device […] before S101, the first communication device may send request information of the first information. Alternatively, before S1001, the first communication device may send request information of the first information to […] and/or the third communication device […] and receive the first information from the second communication device and/or the third communication device; NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: per ¶0176 i.e. S101: A first communication device receives first information reads on: comprising: receiving, where per ¶0177 The first information may be used to determine an SL DRX configuration reads on: an discontinuous reception configuration information, where per ¶0202 in the first embodiment the first information may come from the a base station (for example, the third communication device i.e. and receive the first information from the third communication device reads on: from a wireless access node serving the first user equipment ),
wherein the discontinuous reception configuration information comprises one or more sets of discontinuous reception configuration parameters, each of the one or more sets of discontinuous reception configuration parameters comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) a sidelink discontinuous reception cycle (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), a time duration (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), an on duration time pattern(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), a first non-active timer(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) a second non-active timer (LIU FIG. 3A & FIG. 3B & ¶0176 see above; ¶0177 See above; ¶0202 See above; ¶0203 the first information may include […] : service information of the SL connection, [...] , a resource configuration of the SL connection, [...], a reference SL DRX configuration of the SL connection [...] ; ¶0219 The reference SL DRX configuration may include one or more sets of complete or partial DRX parameters. A complete set of DRX parameters may include one or more of the following parameters: an SL DRX on duration timer (drx-onDurationTimerSL), an SL DRX slot offset (drx-SlotOffsetSL), an SL DRX inactivity timer (drx-InactivityTimerSL), an SL DRX retransmission timer (drx-RetransmissionTimerSL), an SL DRX long cycle start offset (drx-LongCycleStartOffsetSL), an SL DRX long cycle (drx-LongCycleSL), an SL DRX short cycle (drx-ShortCycleSL), an SL DRX short cycle timer (drx-ShortCycleTimerSL), or an SL DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (hybrid automatic repeat request, HARQ) round trip time (round trip time, RTT) timer (drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL). Partial DRX parameters may include some parameters in the complete set of DRX parameters; NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: per ¶0203 i.e. the first information may include […] : service information of the SL connection, [...] , a resource configuration of the SL connection, [...], a reference SL DRX configuration of the SL connection reads on: wherein the discontinuous reception configuration information , and per ¶0219 i.e. The reference SL DRX configuration may include one or more sets of complete or partial DRX parameters reads on: comprises one or more sets of discontinuous reception configuration parameters , and per ¶0219 i.e. A complete set of DRX parameters may include one or more of the following parameters: reads on: each of the one or more sets of discontinuous reception configuration parameters comprises , and per ¶0219 i.e. an SL DRX long cycle (drx-LongCycleSL), an SL DRX short cycle (drx-ShortCycleSL) reads on: at least one of a sidelink discontinuous reception cycle, a time duration, and per ¶0219 i.e. an SL DRX on duration timer (drx-onDurationTimerSL) reads on: an on duration time pattern),
the discontinuous reception configuration information received from the wireless access node (LIU FIG. 3A & FIG. 3B & ¶0176 see above; ¶0177 See above; ¶0189 the first communication device may receive the first information and/or the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration; ¶0190 […] the first information is reference information or assistance information for determining the SL DRX configuration. The first information may be from a third communication device […] third communication device is, for example, a base station accessed by the first communication device ; ¶0202 see above; ¶0226 […] The network device may send a mapping relationship between at least one candidate SL DRX configuration and service information in a broadcast or multicast manner. The service information herein includes at least one of the following information: the traffic pattern information, the traffic period, the time offset, the QoS information, or the message size. The mapping relationship may be used by the first communication device to determine, based on the service information (for example, service information of a service to be transmitted), an SL DRX configuration that has the mapping relationship with the service information from the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration; NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: per ¶0176 i.e. S101: A first communication device receives first information reads on: comprising: receiving, where per ¶0177 The first information may be used to determine an SL DRX configuration reads on: the discontinuous reception configuration information, where per 189 i.e. the first communication device may receive the first information and one candidate SL DRX configuration, and per ¶0190 i.e. The first information may be from a third communication device i.e. base station accessed by the first communication device and per ¶0202 in the first embodiment the first information may come from the a base station (for example, the third communication device i.e. and receive the first information from the third communication device and per ¶0226 i.e. The network device may send a mapping relationship between at least one candidate SL DRX configuration and service information in a broadcast or multicast manner reads on: from the wireless access node)
further comprises a mapping between a quality of service requirement and a set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters (LIU FIG. 3A & FIG. 3B & ¶0176 see above; ¶0177 See above; ¶0202 see above; ¶0225 […] the first communication device may determine the SL DRX configuration from the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration based on the first information ; ¶0226 see above; NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: per ¶0226 i.e. send a mapping relationship between at least one candidate SL DRX configuration and service information The service information herein includes at least one of the following information: the traffic pattern information, the traffic period, the time offset, the QoS reads on: further comprises a mapping between a quality of service requirement i.e. at least one candidate SL DRX configuration reads on: and a set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters )
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
an index of [[the]] a set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
determining a discontinuous reception configuration scheme for a sidelink communication between the first user equipment and a second user equipment based on the discontinuous reception configuration information received from the wireless access node (LIU FIG. 3A & FIG. 3B & ¶0176 see above; ¶0177 See above; ¶0202 See above; ¶0203 See above; NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: per ¶0177 i.e. The SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device. The first information being used to determine an SL DRX configuration may mean that the SL DRX configuration is determined based on the first information, that the SL DRX configuration is determined after the first information is received where and per ¶0219 SL DRX configuration comprises parameters such as i.e. an SL DRX long cycle (drx-LongCycleSL), an SL DRX short cycle (drx-ShortCycleSL) reads on: determining a discontinuous reception configuration scheme for a sidelink communication, where per ¶0177 i.e. The SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device reads on: between the first user equipment and a second user equipment based on the discontinuous reception configuration information, where per ¶0176 i.e. S101: A first communication device receives first information, where per ¶0177 The first information may be used to determine an SL DRX configuration reads on: based on the discontinuous reception configuration information, where per 189 i.e. the first communication device may receive the first information and one candidate SL DRX configuration, and per ¶0190 i.e. The first information may be from a third communication device i.e. base station accessed by the first communication device and per ¶0202 in the first embodiment the first information may come from the a base station (for example, the third communication device i.e. and receive the first information from the third communication device and per ¶0226 i.e. The network device may send a mapping relationship between at least one candidate SL DRX configuration and service information in a broadcast or multicast manner reads on: from the wireless access node ),
wherein the determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme comprises selecting discontinuous reception configuration parameters from the discontinuous reception configuration information received from the wireless access node (LIU FIG. 3A & FIG. 3B & ¶0176 see above; ¶0177 See above; ¶0202 See above; ¶0203 See above; NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: per ¶0177 i.e. The SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device. The first information being used to determine an SL DRX configuration may mean that the SL DRX configuration is determined based on the first information, that the SL DRX configuration is determined after the first information is received where and per ¶0219 SL DRX configuration comprises parameters such as i.e. an SL DRX long cycle (drx-LongCycleSL), an SL DRX short cycle (drx-ShortCycleSL) reads on: wherein the determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme per ¶0219 SL DRX configuration comprises parameters such as i.e. an SL DRX long cycle (drx-LongCycleSL), an SL DRX short cycle as applied to per ¶0177 i.e. The SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection reads on: comprises selecting discontinuous reception configuration parameters from the discontinuous reception configuration information, where per ¶0177 i.e. The SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device reads on: between the first user equipment and a second user equipment based on the discontinuous reception configuration information, where per ¶0176 i.e. S101: A first communication device receives first information, where per ¶0177 The first information may be used to determine an SL DRX configuration reads on: based on the discontinuous reception configuration information, where per 189 i.e. the first communication device may receive the first information and one candidate SL DRX configuration, and per ¶0190 i.e. The first information may be from a third communication device i.e. base station accessed by the first communication device and per ¶0202 in the first embodiment the first information may come from the a base station (for example, the third communication device i.e. and receive the first information from the third communication device and per ¶0226 i.e. The network device may send a mapping relationship between at least one candidate SL DRX configuration and service information in a broadcast or multicast manner reads on: reads on: received from the wireless access node )
based on the quality of service requirement for a traffic that the first user equipment is monitoring (LIU FIG. 3A & FIG. 3B & ¶0176 see above; ¶0177 See above; ¶0202 See above; ¶0203 See above; ¶0216 […] The service information of the SL connection may include at least one of the following information: traffic pattern (pattern) information, a traffic period, a time offset (offset), quality of service (quality of service, QoS) information, or a message size of a service to which data transmitted by using the SL connection belongs. The QoS information may include information a QoS condition, a QoS configuration (profile), or the like of a service […] A more appropriate SL DRX configuration may be determined based on the service information. For example, a cycle of the SL DRX configuration is consistent with a service transmission cycle, and/or the SL DRX configuration enables the second communication device not to be in a sleep mode in a time period in which data (or control information (for example, sidelink resource scheduling or sidelink control information (sidelink control information, SCI)) or the like) is being transmitted by using the SL connection […] NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0216 i.e. A more appropriate SL DRX configuration may be determined based on the service information which includes i.e. quality of service (quality of service, QoS) information, a QoS condition, a QoS configuration reads on: based on the quality of service requirement i.e. to which data transmitted by using the SL connection belongs and in which data (or control information (for example, sidelink resource scheduling or sidelink control information (sidelink control information, SCI)) or the like) is being transmitted by using the SL connection reads on: for a traffic that the first user equipment is monitoring );
[[and]] performing a sidelink discontinuous reception of the sidelink communication according to the discontinuous reception configuration scheme (LIU FIG. 3A & FIG. 3B & ¶0176 see above; ¶0177 See above; ¶0184 […]If the second communication device serves as the transmit end of the SL connection, the second communication device sends an SL service based on the SL DRX configuration ; ¶0202 See above; ¶0203 See above; NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: per ¶0177 i.e. The SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection between the first communication device and the second communication device where per ¶0184 i.e. the second communication device serves as the transmit end of the SL connection, the second communication device sends an SL service reads on: performing a sidelink discontinuous reception of the sidelink communication and per ¶0184 i.e. sends an SL service based on the SL DRX configuration per ¶0177 i.e. The first information being used to determine an SL DRX configuration may mean that the SL DRX configuration is determined based on the first information, that the SL DRX configuration is determined after the first information is received and where and per ¶0219 SL DRX configuration comprises parameters such as i.e. an SL DRX long cycle (drx-LongCycleSL), an SL DRX short cycle (drx-ShortCycleSL) as applied to per ¶0177 i.e. The SL DRX configuration is used for an SL connection reads on: according to the discontinuous reception configuration scheme).
While LIU teaches comprises selecting discontinuous reception configuration parameters as referenced above;
LIU does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note i.e. LIU implies - see italicized portions): selecting discontinuous reception configuration parameters;
and additionally LIU does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note - see italicized portions): and before receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information from the wireless access node, transmitting to the wireless access node [[]]a capability information indicating whether the first user equipment supports sidelink discontinuous reception.
Zhang with teachings from a same field of endeavor as LIU as referenced below, teaches in combination (i.e. Zhang teaches) claim elements not explicitly taught or strongly suggested by LIU (See references above), as follows:
Zhang which also teaches: A method performed by a first user equipment in a wireless communication network (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0085 […] a DRX parameter configuration method. As shown in FIG. 3; ¶0091 […] 302: The first communication apparatus sends auxiliary information and an identifier of the second communication apparatus to the first network device. The auxiliary information is used by the first network device to determine a first DRX parameter with reference to the auxiliary information ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0085 a DRX parameter configuration method reads on: A method, where per ¶0091 i.e. 302: The first communication apparatus sends auxiliary information and an identifier of the second communication apparatus reads on: performed by a first user equipment in a wireless communication network ),
comprising: receiving an discontinuous reception configuration information from a wireless access node serving the first user equipment (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0126 […] 304: The first network device sends the first DRX parameter and the identifier of the second communication apparatus to the first communication apparatus; ¶0107 […] if the second DRX parameter indicates that the duration in which the second communication apparatus is in an active time does not conform with the currently available resources, the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter, so that a modified second DRX parameter conforms with current resource scheduling of the first network device; ¶0112 […] If the auxiliary information received by the first network device includes QoS and the second DRX parameter, the first network device may modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, to obtain the first DRX parameter […] ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. The first network device sends reads on: comprising: receiving where i.e. sends the first DRX parameter and the identifier of the second communication apparatus where per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter and per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, to obtain the first DRX parameter reads on: an discontinuous reception configuration information , where i.e. 304: The first network device sends reads on: information from a wireless access node serving the first user equipment ),
wherein the discontinuous reception configuration information comprises one or more sets of discontinuous reception configuration parameters (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See above; ¶0094 […] the auxiliary information includes a data transmission requirement of the first communication apparatus on a sidelink and a second DRX parameter determined by the first communication apparatus based on the data transmission requirement; ¶0095 […] The data transmission requirement is a condition that needs to be met when the first communication apparatus sends data to the second communication apparatus, and the condition includes a latency requirement, a data transmission rate, a packet loss rate; ¶0096 […] the data transmission requirement may be quality of service (quality of service, QoS) required by a service of the first communication apparatus on the sidelink; ¶0098 […] a feature of the second DRX parameter that may be determined by the first UE based on this relatively high QoS requirement may be: Duration of a sleep period may be relatively short, and duration of an active time may be relatively long; ¶0099 […] if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink has a relatively high QoS requirement, […], the first UE may determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large; ¶0104 […] 303: The first network device determines the first DRX parameter with reference to the auxiliary information ;¶0106 […] if the first network device receives the auxiliary information, and the data transmission requirement included in the auxiliary information is QoS, the first network device may determine the first DRX parameter for the second communication apparatus based on the QoS; ¶0107 See above; ¶0112 See above; ¶0126 see above; ¶0114 […]the first communication apparatus (the first UE) is Tx UE, and the second communication apparatus (the second UE) is Rx UE. Specific parameters and functions included in the first DRX parameter may be as follows; ¶0115 drx-onDurationTimer indicates duration of an active time in a DRX cycle; ¶0116 opportunity for DRX indicates duration of a sleep period in the DRX cycle; ¶0117 drx-slotoffset […] ; ¶0118 drx-InactivityTimer indicates duration in which the Rx UE is continuously in an active time […]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0126 i.e. the first DRX parameter and the identifier of the second communication apparatus where per ¶0106 if the first network device receives the auxiliary information, and the data transmission requirement included in the auxiliary information is QoS, the first network device may determine i.e. the first DRX parameter for the second communication apparatus based on the QoS where per ¶0107 i.e. if the second DRX parameter indicates that the duration in which the second communication apparatus is in an active time does not conform with the currently available resources, the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter, so that a modified second DRX parameter conforms with current resource scheduling of the first network device and per ¶0114 Specific parameters and functions included in the first DRX parameter may be per ¶0115 i.e. drx-onDurationTimer, per ¶0116 i.e. a sleep period in the DRX cycle, ¶0117 drx-slotoffset […] ; ¶0118 drx-InactivityTimer reads on: wherein the discontinuous reception configuration information, where per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, to obtain the first DRX parameter comprises i.e. per ¶0099 the first UE may determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large reads on: comprises one or more sets of discontinuous reception configuration parameters where per ¶114-¶0118 the first DRX parameter also comprises drx-onDurationTimer indicates duration of an active time in a DRX cycle, opportunity for DRX indicates duration of a sleep period, 0118 drx-InactivityTimer),
each of the one or more sets of discontinuous reception configuration parameters comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together)
a sidelink discontinuous reception cycle (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight), a time duration (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
an on duration time pattern, a first non-active timer (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See above; ¶0094 See above; ¶0095 See above; ¶ See above; ¶0098 See above; ¶0099 See above; ¶0104 See above;¶0106 See above; ¶0107 See above; ¶0114 See above; ¶0115 See above; ¶0116 See above; ¶0118 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0106 if the first network device receives the auxiliary information, and the data transmission requirement included in the auxiliary information is QoS, the first network device may determine i.e. the first DRX parameter for the second communication apparatus based on the QoS where per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may use the second DRX parameter as the first DRX parameter where per i.e. ¶0099 the first UE may determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large and per ¶0115-¶118 i.e. drx-onDurationTimer indicates duration of an active time in a DRX cycle, opportunity for DRX indicates duration of a sleep period, drx-InactivityTimer reads on: each of the one or more sets of discontinuous reception configuration parameters comprises at least one of a sidelink discontinuous reception cycle, a time duration, an on duration time pattern, a first non-active timer),
or a second non-active timer (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together),
the discontinuous reception configuration information received from the wireless access node (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See above; ¶0094 See above; ¶0095 See above; ¶ See above; ¶0098 See above; ¶0099 See above; ¶0104 See above;¶0106 See above; ¶0107 See above; ¶0112 See above; DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. The first network device sends the first DRX parameter and the identifier of the second communication apparatus where per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter and per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, i.e. to obtain the first DRX parameter reads on: the discontinuous reception configuration information , where i.e. 304: The first network device sends reads on: received from the wireless access node i.e. the first DRX parameter)
further comprises a mapping between a quality of service requirement and a set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See above; ¶0094 See above; ¶0095 See above; ¶0096 See above; ¶0098 See above; ¶0099 See above; ¶0104 See above; ¶0106 See above; ¶0107 See above; ¶0112 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0106 if the first network device receives the auxiliary information, and the data transmission requirement included in the auxiliary information is QoS, the first network device may determine i.e. the first DRX parameter for the second communication apparatus based on the QoS where per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter and per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, i.e. to obtain the first DRX parameter reads on: the discontinuous reception configuration information, where per i.e. per ¶0099 if a service has a relatively high QoS requirement reads on: further comprises a mapping between a quality of service requirement where per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter and per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, i.e. to obtain the first DRX parameter, and furthermore where i.e. per ¶0099 may be: Duration of a sleep period may be relatively short, and duration of an active time may be relatively long or per ¶0099 determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large reads on: and a set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters where the high QOS applied to the data transmission per the second DRX parameter is the first DRX parameter and maps to a set of DRX parameters such as a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large)
or an index of the set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together);
determining a discontinuous reception configuration scheme for a sidelink communication between the first user equipment and a second user equipment based on the discontinuous reception configuration information received from the wireless access node (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See above; ¶0094 See above; ¶0095 See above;; ¶0098 See above; ¶0099 See above; ¶0104 See above;¶0106 See above; ¶0107 See above; ¶0112 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. i.e. per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter and per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, i.e. to obtain the first DRX parameter, and furthermore per ¶0099 i.e. if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink has a relatively high QoS requirement, for example, latency needs to reach 4 ms or 5 ms, and low-latency data transmission needs to be performed, the first UE may i.e. determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large reads on: determining a discontinuous reception configuration scheme, per ¶0099 i.e. if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink has a relatively high QoS requirement reads on: for a sidelink communication between the first user equipment and a second user equipment , where per ¶0106 if the first network device receives the auxiliary information, and the data transmission requirement included in the auxiliary information is QoS, the first network device may determine i.e. the first DRX parameter for the second communication apparatus based on the QoS, where per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter and per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, i.e. to obtain the first DRX parameter reads on: based on the discontinuous reception configuration information , where per ¶0126 i.e. 304: The first network device sends reads on: received from the wireless access node i.e. the first DRX parameter which is the modified second parameter i.e. modified by the network device, and thereafter received from the network device),
wherein the determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme comprises selecting discontinuous reception configuration parameters from the discontinuous reception configuration information received from the wireless access node based on the quality of service requirement for a traffic that the first user equipment is monitoring (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0098 See above; ¶0099 see above; ¶0107 See above; ¶0112 See above; ¶0126 See above; ¶0129 […] 305: The first communication apparatus stores the first DRX parameter, and establishes a correspondence between the first DRX parameter and the identifier of the second communication apparatus; ¶0131 306: The first communication apparatus sends the first DRX parameter to the second communication apparatus; ¶0135 307: The second communication apparatus sends a first notification message to the first communication apparatus […] configuration of the first DRX parameter is completed; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0129 i.e. 305: The first communication apparatus stores the first DRX parameter, and establishes a correspondence between the first DRX parameter and the identifier of the second communication apparatus and per ¶0135 Step 307 configuration of the first DRX parameter is completed reads on: wherein the determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme comprises selecting discontinuous reception configuration parameters , where per ¶0129 i.e. 304: The first network device sends the first DRX parameter and the identifier of the second communication apparatus and per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter and per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, i.e. to obtain the first DRX parameter reads on: from the discontinuous reception configuration information , where per ¶0126 i.e. 304: The first network device sends reads on: received from the wireless access node i.e. the first DRX parameter which is ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, i.e. to obtain the first DRX parameter, where per ¶0099 i.e. if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink i.e. has a relatively high QoS requirement reads on: based on the quality of service requirement i.e. and i.e. a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink reads on: for a traffic that the first user equipment is monitoring , where the first DRX parameters per ¶0099 would require the QOS requirement that i.e. for example, latency needs to reach 4 ms or 5 ms, and low-latency data transmission needs to be performed, the first UE may determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large);
[[and]] performing the sidelink communication according to the discontinuous reception configuration scheme [[.]] (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0107 See above; ¶0112 See above; ¶0141 […] step 309 may be replaced with the following: The first communication apparatus performs data scheduling based on the first DRX parameter; ¶0142 […] the first communication apparatus performs data scheduling based on the first DRX parameter. […] the first communication apparatus selects a resource from a resource pool, and sends control information and the data information of the sidelink to the second communication apparatus; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0141 i.e. the first communication apparatus selects a resource from a resource pool, and sends control information and the data information of the sidelink to the second communication apparatus reads on: performing the sidelink communication and i.e. the first communication apparatus performs data scheduling based on the first DRX parameter where per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter and per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, i.e. to obtain the first DRX parameter reads on: according to the discontinuous reception configuration scheme such as per ¶0099 i.e. if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink has a relatively high QoS requirement, for example, latency needs to reach 4 ms or 5 ms, and low-latency data transmission needs to be performed, the first UE may i.e. determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large);
furthermore Zhang specific to this rejection teaches: and before receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information from the wireless access node (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See above; ¶0093 […] the auxiliary information includes a second DRX parameter determined by the first communication apparatus based on a data transmission requirement of the first communication apparatus on a sidelink ;¶0126 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0091 Step 302 i.e. The first communication apparatus sends auxiliary information where per ¶0093 i.e. the auxiliary information includes a second DRX parameter determined by the first communication apparatus i.e. step 302 occurs before per ¶0129 i.e. 304: reads on: and before receiving , where i.e. per ¶0129 i.e. 304: The first network device sends the first DRX parameter and the identifier of the second communication apparatus and per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may adaptively modify the second DRX parameter and per ¶0112 i.e. modify the second DRX parameter based on the QoS, i.e. to obtain the first DRX parameter reads on: the discontinuous reception configuration information from the wireless access node),
transmitting to the wireless access node [[]] a capability information indicating whether the first user equipment supports sidelink discontinuous reception (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See above; ¶0093 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0091 Step 302 i.e. The first communication apparatus sends auxiliary information reads on: transmitting to the wireless access node [[]] a capability information where per ¶0093 i.e. the auxiliary information includes i.e. a second DRX parameter determined by the first communication apparatus based on a data transmission requirement of the first communication apparatus on a sidelink reads on: indicating whether the first user equipment supports sidelink discontinuous reception i.e. second DRX parameter for a side link data transmission requirement of the first communication apparatus comprised in the auxiliary information transmitted the network device comprises “a capability information indicating whether the first user equipment supports sidelink discontinuous reception” ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIU with teachings of Zhang, since Zhang enables procedures where a probability that a UE receives data in an active time is increased, so that a data packet loss rate may be reduced (Zhang - ¶0100).
Regarding Claim 6. (Previously presented) LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhang discloses: wherein the determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme comprises: determining one or more discontinuous reception configuration schemes (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See Claim 1; ¶0094 See Claim 1; ¶0095 See Claim 1; ¶0096 See Claim 1; ¶0098 See Claim 1; ¶0099 See Claim 1; ¶0100 […]if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink has a relatively high QoS requirement, for example, a data packet loss rate needs to be less than 5%, the first UE may determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large. Similarly, for example, duration of one DRX cycle is 10 ms, a value of the opportunity for DRX may be 4 ms, and a value of the drx-onDurationTimer is 6 ms ; ¶0104 See Claim 1; ¶0106 See Claim 1; ¶0107 See Claim 1; ¶0112 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink has a relatively high QoS requirement, reads on: wherein the determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme, i.e. for example, latency needs to reach 4 ms or 5 ms, and low-latency data transmission needs to be performed the first UE may determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large. For example, duration of one DRX cycle is 10 ms, a value of the opportunity for DRX may be 4 ms, and a value of the drx-onDurationTimer is 6 ms reads on: comprises: determining one or more discontinuous reception configuration schemes)
respectively based on each of the one or more sets of discontinuous reception configuration parameters (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See Claim 1; ¶0094 See Claim 1; ¶0095 See Claim 1; ¶0096 See Claim 1; ¶0098 See Claim 1; ¶0099 See Claim 1; ¶0100 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink has a relatively high QoS requirement, or per ¶0100 i.e. Alternatively, if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink has a relatively high QoS requirement, for example, a data packet loss rate needs to be less than 5% reads on: respectively based on each of the one or more sets of discontinuous reception configuration parameters comprising respective parameters noted in ¶0099 i.e. determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large […] and ¶0100 i.e. first UE may determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIU in view of Zhang further with the teachings of Zhang, since Zhang enables procedures where a probability that a UE receives data in an active time is increased, so that a data packet loss rate may be reduced (Zhang - ¶0100).
Regarding Claim 7. (Currently Amended) LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhang teaches: wherein the discontinuous reception configuration information further comprises at least one of(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
a mapping between a user equipment state information and a set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See claim 1; ¶0094 See claim 1; ¶0095 See claim 1; ¶ See claim 1; ¶0098 See claim 1; ¶0099 See claim 1; ¶0104 See claim 1;¶0106 See claim 1; ¶0107 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0106 if the first network device receives the auxiliary information, and the data transmission requirement included in the auxiliary information is QoS, the first network device may determine i.e. the first DRX parameter for the second communication apparatus based on the QoS where per ¶0107 i.e. the first network device may use the second DRX parameter as the first DRX parameter reads on: wherein the discontinuous reception configuration information, where per i.e. ¶0098 based on this relatively high QoS requirement or per ¶0099 if a service has a relatively high QoS requirement reads on: further comprises a mapping between a user equipment state information of a service state with high QoS requirement, where the first DRX parameter is the second DRX parameter, and furthermore where i.e. per ¶0099 may be: Duration of a sleep period may be relatively short, and duration of an active time may be relatively long or per ¶0099 determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large reads on: and a set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters where the high QOS applied to the data transmission per the second DRX parameter is the first DRX parameter and maps to a set of DRX parameters such as a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large);
or [[an]] the index of the [[a]] set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
a mapping between a pair of a quality of service requirement and a user equipment state information and the [[a]] set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) or [[an]] the index of the [[a]] set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
or [[and]] a mapping between a transmission manner and the [[a]] set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” and separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
or the [[an]] index of the [[a]] set of discontinuous reception configuration parameters (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative an not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 9. (Previously Presented) LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhang teaches: wherein the quality of service requirement comprises at least one of (Note: limitations subsequent to “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not all required i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) time delay(Note: limitations subsequent to “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not all required i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
reliability (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0095 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. the condition includes a latency requirement, a data transmission rate, a packet loss rate reads on: wherein the quality of service requirement comprises at least one of reliability),
traffic priority(Note: limitations subsequent to “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not all required i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight ),
and error rate(Note: limitations subsequent to “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not all required i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
quality of service identifier(Note: limitations subsequent to “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not all required i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
and quality of service flow identifier (Note: limitations subsequent to “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not all required i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 11. (Previously Presented) LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 7,
furthermore Zhang teaches: wherein the determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme comprises: select the discontinuous reception configuration parameters from the discontinuous reception configuration information based on a current state of the first user equipment and the quality of service requirement for a traffic that the first user equipment is monitoring (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0098 See claim 1; ¶0099 See claim 1; ¶0126 See claim 1; ¶0129 See claim 1; ¶0131 See claim 1; ¶0135 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. 305: The first communication apparatus stores the first DRX parameter, and establishes a correspondence between the first DRX parameter and the identifier of the second communication apparatus and per ¶0135 Step 307 configuration of the first DRX parameter is completed reads on: wherein the determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme comprises: select the discontinuous reception configuration parameters from the discontinuous reception configuration information, , where per ¶0099 i.e. if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink i.e. has a relatively high QoS requirement reads on: based on a current state of the first user equipment [[or]] and [[a]] the quality of service requirement for a traffic that the first user equipment is monitoring the current state being of a relatively high QoS and the quality of service requirement for a traffic that the first user equipment is monitoring is per the first DRX parameters which per ¶0099 would require the QOS requirement that i.e. for example, latency needs to reach 4 ms or 5 ms, and low-latency data transmission needs to be performed, the first UE may determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large).
Regarding Claim 20. (Currently Amended) LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhang teaches: comprising: before receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information from the wireless access node, transmitting to the wireless access node at least one of (Note: limitations subsequent to “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not all required)
a user equipment state information (Note: limitations subsequent to “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not all required),
a quality of service requirement (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See claim 1; ¶0094 See claim 1; ¶0096 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING ¶0091 […] 302: The first communication apparatus sends auxiliary information and an identifier of the second communication apparatus to the first network device reads on: comprising: before receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information from the wireless access node, transmitting to the wireless access node at least one of, where per ¶0094 auxiliary information includes a data transmission requirement of the first communication apparatus on a sidelink and a second DRX parameter determined by the first communication apparatus based on the data transmission requirement and per ¶0096 i.e. the data transmission requirement may be quality of service (quality of service, QoS) required by a service of the first communication apparatus on the sidelink reads on: a quality of service requirement),
and a semi-persistent schedule assistant information (Note: limitations subsequent to “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not all required).
Regarding Claim 23. (Original) LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore LIU teaches: receiving a first discontinuous reception configuration information from the second user equipment and a second discontinuous reception configuration information from a third user equipment (LIU FIG. 2 & ¶0022… first communication device may further receive at least one candidate SL DRX configuration from the third communication device, the second communication device, or another communication device…. first communication device may determine the SL DRX configuration from the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration….; ¶0171… FIG. 2, in addition to SL communication with the terminal 101 by using the SL connection, the terminal 102 may further perform SL communication with at least one communication device other than the terminal 101 by using another SL connection; ¶0344… apparatus 800 shown in FIG. 8 may serve as the first communication device and/or the second communication device…; ¶0349… communication module 801 may be further configured to receive at least one candidate SL DRX configuration from the network device, the second communication device, or another communication device…. determine an SL DRX configuration from the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: any of the terminal 101 or 102 or apparatus 800 i.e. configured to receive at least one candidate SL DRX configuration from the second communication device or per ¶0022 receive at least one candidate SL DRX configuration from the third communication device, the second communication device, or another communication device reads on: wherein the receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information comprises: receiving a first discontinuous reception configuration information from the second user equipment, and i.e. or another communication device reads on: and a second discontinuous reception configuration information from a third user equipment);
and the determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme comprises: determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme based on the first discontinuous reception configuration information and the second discontinuous reception configuration information (LIU FIG. 2 & ¶0022… See above; ¶0171… See above; ¶0177 See claim 1; ¶0219 See claim 1; ¶0344… apparatus 800 shown in FIG. 8 may serve as the first communication device and/or the second communication device…; ¶0349… See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0177 that the SL DRX configuration is determined after the first information is received where and per ¶0219 SL DRX configuration comprises parameters such as i.e. an SL DRX long cycle (drx-LongCycleSL), an SL DRX short cycle (drx-ShortCycleSL) and furthermore per ¶0220 and ¶0349 i.e. determine an SL DRX configuration from the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration reads on: and the determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme , where per ¶0220 and ¶0349 i.e. determine an SL DRX configuration from the at least one candidate SL DRX configuration reads on: comprises: determining the discontinuous reception configuration scheme based on the first discontinuous reception configuration information and the second discontinuous reception configuration information where per ¶0022 receive at least one candidate SL DRX configuration from the third communication device, the second communication device, or another communication device is the basis for respective the discontinuous reception configuration schemes ).
Regarding Claim 25. (Original) LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore LIU discloses: further comprising: before receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information, transmitting a discontinuous reception configuration request for the discontinuous reception configuration information (LIU FIG. 3A or FIG. 3B & ¶0202 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0202 i.e. before S101 or before S1001 reads on: further comprising: before receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information i.e. a base station (for example, the third communication device) where i.e. first communication device may send request information of the first information to […] and/or the third communication device i.e. a base station (for example, the third communication device) reads on: transmitting a discontinuous reception configuration request and i.e. request information of the first information reads on: for the discontinuous reception configuration information requested).
9. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Zhang, further in view of Park et al. (US 20220369417 A1), i.e. “Park”.
Regarding Claim 2. (Previously Presented) LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore Zhang teaches: wherein the discontinuous reception configuration scheme indicates a reception on duration (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See Claim 1; ¶0094 See Claim 1; ¶0095 See Claim 1; ¶0096 See Claim 1; ¶0098 See Claim 1; ¶0099 See Claim 1; ¶0100 See Claim 6; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0099 i.e. if a service that the first UE needs to communicate with the second UE on the sidelink has a relatively high QoS requirement reads on: wherein the discontinuous reception configuration scheme, comprising respective parameters noted in ¶0099 i.e. determine that in a DRX cycle corresponding to the second DRX parameter, a value of duration of a sleep period, namely, opportunity for DRX, is relatively small, and a value of duration of an active time, namely, drx-onDurationTimer, is relatively large reads on: indicates a reception on duration),
the performing the sidelink discontinuous reception comprises: monitoring physical sidelink control channel to receive the sidelink communication (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0091 See Claim 1; ¶0094 See Claim 1; ¶0095 See Claim 1; ¶0096 See Claim 1; ¶0098 See Claim 1; ¶0099 See Claim 1; ¶0100 See Claim 6; ¶0118 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0118 i.e. drx-InactivityTimer indicates duration in which the Rx UE is continuously in an active time after the Rx UE successfully decodes a PSCCH reads on: the performing the sidelink discontinuous reception comprises: monitoring physical sidelink control channel that schedules new data for initial transmission reads on: to receive the sidelink communication)
only at a sidelink reception resource pool for the sidelink communication (Zhang FIG. 3 & ¶0142 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. the first communication apparatus selects a resource from a resource pool reads on: only at a sidelink reception resource pool for the sidelink communication for reception by the second apparatus, i.e. where the first communication apparatus sends control information and the data information of the sidelink to the second communication apparatus)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIU in view of Zhang further with the teachings of Zhang, since Zhang enables procedures where a probability that a UE receives data in an active time is increased, so that a data packet loss rate may be reduced (Zhang - ¶0100).
While LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the discontinuous reception configuration scheme indicates a reception on duration, the performing the sidelink discontinuous reception comprises: monitoring physical sidelink control channel to receive the sidelink communication only at a sidelink reception resource pool for the sidelink communication as noted herein above,
LIU in view of Zhang does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note see- Italicized portions): receive the sidelink communication only at a time domain intersection between the reception on duration and a sidelink resource pool;
Park teaches: performing the sidelink discontinuous reception (Park - FIG. 35, FIG. 36 & ¶00348 …. UE according to an embodiment may perform monitoring of a control signal (PSCCH) for a sidelink operation (and/or reception/monitoring of sidelink data) in a sidelink on-duration of a sidelink DRX cycle (S3501 of FIG. 35); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. perform monitoring of a control signal (PSCCH) for a sidelink operation (and/or reception/monitoring of sidelink data i.e. in a sidelink on-duration of a sidelink DRX cycle reads on: performing the sidelink discontinuous reception )
comprises: monitoring physical sidelink control channel to receive the sidelink communication only at a time domain intersection between the reception on duration (Park - FIG. 36 ¶0348 See above; ¶0387… when the PUE receives a signal from the VUE or the RSU in a sidelink on-duration (by determining UE type information included in the SCI) while performing a PS operation with a long DRX configuration; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0348…may perform monitoring of a control signal (PSCCH) for a sidelink operation (and/or reception/monitoring of sidelink data and i.e. determining UE type information included in the SCI as in FIG. 36 on the on duration depicted reads on: comprises: monitoring physical sidelink control channel to receive the sidelink communication only at a time domain intersection between the reception on duration )
and a sidelink reception resource pool for the sidelink communication (Park FIG. 32 ¶0350… when a PSCCH and a PSSCH are multiplexed as illustrated in the embodiment of FIG. 32, the UE may perform one CBR measurement in one resource pool.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. one resource pool reads on: and a sidelink reception resource pool i.e. when a PSCCH and a PSSCH are multiplexed as illustrated in reads on: for the sidelink communication , where the transmission resources comprising the resource pool would comprise the SLDRX-onDurationTimer of FIG.4 for communication);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIU in view of Zhang with teachings of Park, since Park enables UE to use DRX in an RRC_IDLE state and an RRC_INACTIVE state in order to reduce power consumption (Park - ¶0361).
10. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Zhang further in view Lee et al. (US 20210314866 A1), i.e. “Lee”.
Regarding Claim 5. (Currently Amended) LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore LIU discloses: wherein (LIU ¶216 […] traffic pattern (pattern) information, a traffic period, a time offset (offset), quality of service (quality of service, QoS) information, or a message size of a service to which data transmitted by using the SL connection belongs. The QoS information may include information a QoS condition, a QoS configuration (profile), or the like of a service. A more appropriate SL DRX configuration may be determined based on the service information. For example, a cycle of the SL DRX configuration is consistent with a service transmission cycle, and/or the SL DRX configuration enables the second communication device not to be in a sleep mode in a time period in which data (or control information (for example, sidelink resource scheduling or sidelink control information (sidelink control information, SCI)) or the like) is being transmitted by using the SL connection;; NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: per ¶0216 i.e. A more appropriate SL DRX configuration may be determined based on i.e. SL DRX configuration is consistent with a service transmission cycle, and/or the i.e. SL DRX configuration and per ¶216 i.e. a cycle of the SL DRX configuration is consistent with a service transmission cycle and enables the second communication device not to be in a sleep mode in a time period reads on: the on duration time pattern where i.e. the SL DRX configuration enables where i.e. in which data (or control information (for example, sidelink resource scheduling or sidelink control information (sidelink control information, SCI)) or the like) is being transmitted by using the SL connection reads on: comprises a sidelink discontinuous reception on duration )
LIU in view of Zhang does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (Note see Italicized portions): the on duration time pattern comprises a slot bitmap
Lee teaches: the on duration time pattern comprises a slot bitmap indicating discontinuous reception on duration (Lee ¶00202… Within the ON duration, the WTRU is expected to monitor the PDCCH at the configured PDCCH monitoring occasion;¶00223 … The ON durations that one WTRU in the group decides to wake-up and the ON durations that one WTRU in the group decides not to wake-up may be indicated with a bitmap…. there may be a time gap between the time when one WTRU detects the ESS and when one WTRU implements the signaled wake-up or not-wake-up indication(s). The time gap may be indicated to the WTRU … may be quantified in terms of one of slots; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. ON durations that one WTRU in the group decides to wake-up and the ON durations that one WTRU in the group decides not to wake-up reads on: an on duration time pattern , where i.e. one WTRU in the group decides to wake-up and the ON durations that one WTRU in the group decides not to wake-up may be indicated with a bitmap and a time gap quantified in slots reads on: the on duration time pattern comprises a slot bitmap , where i.e. ON durations that one WTRU in the group decides to wake-up and the ON durations that one WTRU in the group decides not to wake-up reads on: indicating discontinuous reception on duration for monitoring at least PDCCH);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIU in view of Zhang with teachings of Lee, since Lee enables that a WTRU may choose to (e.g., by configuration and/or dynamic signaling) reduce PDCCH monitoring instances to reduce power consumption (Lee ¶0202).
11. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of Zhang, further in view XU et al. (US 20190174411 A1), i.e. “XU”.
Regarding Claim 21. (Previously Presented) LIU in view of Zhang teaches: The method of claim 1,
furthermore LIU discloses: further comprising: receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information from the wireless access node (LIU FIG. 3A & FIG. 3B & ¶0176 see above; ¶0177 See above; ¶0202 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOURE & TEACHING: per ¶0176 i.e. S101: A first communication device receives first information reads on: further comprising: receiving, where per ¶0177 The first information may be used to determine an SL DRX configuration reads on: the discontinuous reception configuration information, where per ¶0202 in the first embodiment the first information may come from the a base station (for example, the third communication device i.e. and receive the first information from the third communication device reads on: from the wireless access node serving the first user equipment )
LIU in view of Zhang does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (note see italicized portions): after receiving, transmitting a discontinuous reception configuration adjustment information to the wireless access node;
XU teaches: after receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information from the wireless access node, transmitting a discontinuous reception configuration adjustment information to the wireless access node (XU – FIG. 7 & ¶0081…while SL-DRX is applied on the sidelink, DRX may also be applied on the general downlink between the network control terminal and the network node…Since the DRX ActiveTime may be affected by many factors, the SL-DRX ActiveTime and the DRX ActiveTime may overlap; ¶0107….determining unit 201 may be configured to, if the receiving time windows of the DRX and SL-DRX overlap, generate an adjusting indication for adjusting the configuration of the DRX or SL-DRX, to instruct the network control terminal or the other network node to adjust the configuration of the DRX or SL-DRX; NOTE-DISCOLOSURE: i.e. determining unit 201 may be configured to, if the receiving time windows of the DRX and SL-DRX overlap in the context of FIG. 7 where DRX and SL-DRX configurations have been set-up reads on: after receiving the discontinuous reception configuration information from the wireless access node, i.e. generate an adjusting indication for adjusting the configuration of the DRX or SL-DRX, to instruct the network control terminal reads on: transmitting a discontinuous reception configuration adjustment information to the wireless access node );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of LIU in view of Zhang with teachings of XU, since XU enables centralized scheduling by the network control terminal, the determining unit 101 may be configured to allocate receiving resources orthogonal to each other to the DRX and the SL-DRX, so that the occurrence of conflict cast be avoided (XU - ¶0082).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 22, 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar features and the amendments were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and/or 112 rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and/or search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 22 (Currently Amended) The method of claim 21, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising: before transmitting [[a]] the discontinuous reception configuration adjustment information to the wireless access node, receiving an adjustment information configuration message indicating whether discontinuous reception configuration adjustment is allowed or whether discontinuous reception configuration adjustment report is allowed”.
Regarding Claim 26 (Original) The method of claim 25, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “further comprising: before transmitting the discontinuous reception configuration request, receiving a discontinuous reception configuration request message indicating whether the discontinuous reception configuration request is allowed or whether a discontinuous reception configuration request report is allowed”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MALICK A SOHRAB whose telephone number is (571)272-4347. The examiner can normally be reached on Mo-Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
02/19/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414