DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/25/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 01/12/2026 is acknowledge. Group II (claims 10-15) is withdrawn from consideration.
Status of claims: As directed, claims 1-9 are pending in this application, claims 10-15 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the input” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no “input” recited previously. It is noted that the limitation “the input” recited in claim 1 (line 7) and the limitation “three-phase input power” recited previously in claim 1 (line 2) are different.
Claims 2-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the control circuitry” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 9 depends on claim 1; however, there is no “control circuitry” recited previously in claim 1 or claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anders et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0337081 A1) in view of Shigeta (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0295595 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Anders discloses a welding-type power supply (welding-type power supply 100, Anders Fig.1), comprising:
power conversion circuitry (rectifier circuit 106, Anders Fig.1) configured to convert three-phase input power to welding-type power (Anders Par.0023 discloses: “The welding-type power supply includes an input 102 configured to receive AC input power from a power source 104. The power source 104 may be the AC power grid, an engine/generator set, or a combination thereof. The power source 104 may provide single phase AC power or three-phase AC power to the input. The welding-type power supply 100 also includes a rectifier circuit 106 to condition the AC power received at the input 102 to DC power at a DC power bus 108. A welding inverter 110 provides power from the DC power bus 108 to a welding output 112. The welding output 112 provides welding-type power to a welding-type load 114, for example a welding torch.”); and
a phase detection circuit (detection circuit of the processor 122 [see the processor 122 in Anders Fig.1] because Anders Par.0029 discloses the processor 122 is configured to determine number of phases; thus, there is detection circuit associated with the processor 122) configured to determine a number of phases connected to the input (input 102, Anders Fig.1) based on comparing a frequency of a signal at a reference point to a threshold frequency (Anders Par.0029 discloses: “The processor 122 determines the frequency of the ripple on the DC power bus 108, and compares the frequency to the AC input frequency (e.g., measured or known) and/or to a threshold frequency between twice the AC input frequency and six times the AC input frequency. If the ripple frequency is twice the AC input frequency or less than the threshold frequency, then the processor 122 determines that single phase AC power is connected to the input 102. Conversely, if the ripple frequency is six times the AC input frequency or greater than the threshold frequency, then the processor 122 determines that three-phase AC power is connected to the input 102.”).
Anders does not explicitly disclose:
a reference node coupled to each winding of the three-phase input power via a corresponding impedance; and
the phase detection circuit coupled to the reference node
Shigeta teaches an uninterruptible power supply device including a converter configured to convert AC power supplied from an AC power supply to DC power (Shigeta Abstract, Par.0002 and Figs.1-2):
a reference node (NP, Shigeta Fig.2 or see Shigeta annotated Fig.2 below) coupled to each winding of the three-phase input power (Shigeta annotated Fig.2 below shows the reference node NP coupled to each winding of the three-phase input power, and Shigeta Par.0050 discloses: “AC input terminals T1 a, T1 b and T1 c receive three-phase AC voltages (a U-phase AC voltage, a V-phase AC voltage and a W-phase AC voltage) from commercial AC power supply 21 (FIG. 1), respectively.”) via a corresponding impedance (capacitors 4a, 4b, 4c; Shigeta Fig.2)
It is noted that by adding the teachings of Shigeta to the welding-type power supply of Anders, in combination, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the phase detection circuit coupled to the reference node because Shigeta Figs.1-2 teaches the Shigeta reference node NP is coupled to the Shigeta controller 18.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding-type power supply of Anders, by adding the teachings of reference node coupled to each winding of the three-phase input power via corresponding impedance, and the reference node coupled to the controller, as taught by Shigeta, in order to improve stability and power quality, and offer precise monitoring, filters electrical noise, and ensure balanced, stable operation of the welding converter. The reference node acts as a common point for filters that suppress high-frequency noise, which protects the sensitive electronics within the inverter/converter from the switching noise, and also reduces noise injected back into the grid.
Regarding claim 2, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Shigeta also teaches:
wherein the reference node (NP, Shigeta Fig.2 or see Shigeta annotated Fig.2 below; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above) is coupled to each winding of the three-phase input power (Shigeta annotated Fig.2 below shows the reference node NP coupled to each winding of the three-phase input power, and Shigeta Par.0050 discloses: “AC input terminals T1 a, T1 b and T1 c receive three-phase AC voltages (a U-phase AC voltage, a V-phase AC voltage and a W-phase AC voltage) from commercial AC power supply 21 (FIG. 1), respectively.”) via a respective capacitor (capacitors 4a, 4b, 4c; Shigeta Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 3, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, Shigeta also teaches:
wherein the respective capacitor (capacitors 4a, 4b, 4c; Shigeta Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above) is configured to perform filtering of the input to reduce electromagnetic emissions (Shigeta Par.0052 teaches: “Capacitors 4 a to 4 c and reactors 5 a to 5 c form a low pass filter, and allow three-phase AC power having a commercial frequency to flow from AC input terminals T1 a, T1 b and T1 c to converter 6 and cut off a signal of a switching frequency generated in converter 6.”).
Regarding claim 4, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Anders also discloses further comprising
control circuitry (control circuitry of the processor 122 [see the processor 122 in Anders Fig.1]) configured to control the power conversion circuitry (rectifier circuit 106, Anders Fig.1) based on whether single-phase power or three-phase power is detected on the input (input 102, Anders Fig.1) (Anders Par.0047 discloses: “If the filtered difference exceeds the threshold, then the processor 122 determines that single phase AC power is connected to the input. If the filtered difference is below the threshold, then the processor 122 determines that three-phase AC power is connected to the input. If three-phase AC power is connected to the input 102 (block 422), the welding-type power supply may continue normal operation. In some examples, the processor 122 may continue to monitor for a single phase AC input power condition even after determining that three-phase power AC is connected to the input. Therefore, the processor 122 may return to block 408 and repeat blocks 408-420. A welding-type power supply may continuously monitor for single phase AC input power because for example, a fault on an input line may cause three-phase AC power supplied to the input to become single phase AC power. Therefore, the processor 122 may be configured to continuously monitor for a single phase AC input power condition.”, and Anders Par.0048 discloses: “If at block 420, if the filtered difference exceeds the threshold, then the processor 122 determines that single phase AC power is connected to the input (block 424). Then at block 426, the processor 122 can take steps to protect the welding-type power supply or equipment connected to the welding type power supply from damage caused by a single phase AC input. For example, the processor 122 may power down the welding-type power supply in response to determining that single phase power is connected to the input of the welding-type power supply. In some examples, the processor 122 may disable the welding output 112 or the auxiliary output 118. In some examples, the processor 122 may limit the output of the welding inverter 110 to less than a threshold power level.”).
Regarding claim 5, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 4, Anders also discloses
wherein the control circuitry (control circuitry of the processor 122 [see the processor 122 in Anders Fig.1]) is configured to control at least one of an output current of the power conversion circuitry, an output voltage of the power conversion circuitry, an output power of the power conversion circuitry, a thermal shutdown limit, or output load shedding based on whether single- phase power or three-phase power is detected on the input (It is noted that the limitation “at least one of an output current of the power conversion circuitry, an output voltage of the power conversion circuitry, an output power of the power conversion circuitry, a thermal shutdown limit, or output load shedding” is in alternative form; therefore, only one these was required during examination. In this case, Anders discloses the control circuitry of the processor 122 is configured to control output load shedding based on whether single-phase power or three-phase power is detected on the input because Anders Par.0047 discloses: “If the filtered difference is below the threshold, then the processor 122 determines that three-phase AC power is connected to the input. If three-phase AC power is connected to the input 102 (block 422), the welding-type power supply may continue normal operation. In some examples, the processor 122 may continue to monitor for a single phase AC input power condition even after determining that three-phase power AC is connected to the input. Therefore, the processor 122 may return to block 408 and repeat blocks 408-420. A welding-type power supply may continuously monitor for single phase AC input power because for example, a fault on an input line may cause three-phase AC power supplied to the input to become single phase AC power. Therefore, the processor 122 may be configured to continuously monitor for a single phase AC input power condition.”, and Anders Par.0048 discloses: “If at block 420, if the filtered difference exceeds the threshold, then the processor 122 determines that single phase AC power is connected to the input (block 424). Then at block 426, the processor 122 can take steps to protect the welding-type power supply or equipment connected to the welding type power supply from damage caused by a single phase AC input. For example, the processor 122 may power down the welding-type power supply in response to determining that single phase power is connected to the input of the welding-type power supply. In some examples, the processor 122 may disable the welding output 112 or the auxiliary output 118. In some examples, the processor 122 may limit the output of the welding inverter 110 to less than a threshold power level.”).
Regarding claim 6, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein the signal comprises a ripple signal at the reference node (it is noted that Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the reference node coupled to each winding of the three-phase input power via corresponding impedance, and the phase detection circuit coupled to the reference node, as cited, explained and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above; and in this case, Anders Par.0029 discloses: “The processor 122 determines the frequency of the ripple on the DC power bus 108, and compares the frequency to the AC input frequency (e.g., measured or known) and/or to a threshold frequency between twice the AC input frequency and six times the AC input frequency. If the ripple frequency is twice the AC input frequency or less than the threshold frequency, then the processor 122 determines that single phase AC power is connected to the input 102. Conversely, if the ripple frequency is six times the AC input frequency or greater than the threshold frequency, then the processor 122 determines that three-phase AC power is connected to the input 102.”; therefore, in combination, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the signal comprises a ripple signal at the reference node).
Regarding claim 7, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 6, and Shigeta also teaches:
wherein the ripple signal at the reference node is AC-coupled to the phase detection circuit (Shigeta Figs.1-2 teaches the reference node NP is AC-coupled to the controller 18; and it is noted that Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the reference node coupled to each winding of the three-phase input power via corresponding impedance, and the phase detection circuit coupled to the reference node, as cited, explained and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above; and Anders Par.0029 discloses: “The processor 122 determines the frequency of the ripple on the DC power bus 108, and compares the frequency to the AC input frequency (e.g., measured or known) and/or to a threshold frequency between twice the AC input frequency and six times the AC input frequency. If the ripple frequency is twice the AC input frequency or less than the threshold frequency, then the processor 122 determines that single phase AC power is connected to the input 102. Conversely, if the ripple frequency is six times the AC input frequency or greater than the threshold frequency, then the processor 122 determines that three-phase AC power is connected to the input 102.”; therefore, in combination, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the ripple signal at the reference node is AC-coupled to the phase detection circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the welding-type power supply of Anders in view of Shigeta, by adding the teachings of the reference node is AC-coupled to the controller, as taught by Shigeta, in order to eliminate DC offsets and common-mode voltages while isolating the sensitive electronics from high-voltage DC components; thus, improve the stability of the system.
Regarding claim 8, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Anders also discloses:
wherein the power conversion circuitry (rectifier circuit 106, Anders Fig.1) is further configured to convert single-phase input power to the welding-type power (Anders discloses the rectifier circuit 106 is configured to convert single-phase input power to the welding-type powder because Anders Par.0019 discloses: “Disclosed methods of detecting whether single phase alternating current (AC) power is connected to an input of a welding-type power supply include providing AC input power to the input; converting, via a rectifier circuit, the AC input power to direct current (DC) power; and detecting whether single-phase AC power is coupled to the input by monitoring voltage samples of the DC power using a voltage sampling timing based on a frequency and voltage of AC power connected to the input.”).
Regarding claim 9, Anders in view of Shigeta teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Anders also discloses:
wherein the control circuitry (see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) Claim Rejections section above for the limitation “control circuitry”, in this case, the control circuitry is interpreted as control circuitry of the processor 122, Anders Fig.1) is configured to, in response to detecting single-phase input power via the phase detection circuit (detection circuit of the processor 122 [see the processor 122 in Anders Fig.1], as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 1 above), at least one of output a notification, output an alarm, or disable output by the power conversion circuitry (It is noted that the limitation “at least one of output a notification, output an alarm, or disable output by the power conversion circuitry” is in alternative form; therefore, only one these was required during examination. In this case, Anders discloses output an alarm because Anders Par.0048 discloses: “the processor 122 may signal an alarm to indicate that single phase power is connected to the input 102”).
.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Vogel (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0141148 A1) discloses a welding-type power supply includes a controller, a preregulator, a preregulator bus, and an output converter. The controller has a preregulator control output and an output converter control output.
Schartner (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0303678 A1) discloses method and apparatus for providing welding-type power includes receiving an input that may be either a single or a three phase input voltage.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 02/20/2026