Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered as follows.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the drawing objection with respect to the cables being coupled to the inlet and outlet end are persuasive. Applicant contends that the cables are coupled to structures that indirectly couple them to the inlet and outlet end of the pipe (shown in Fig. 1). The examiner believes this is a reasonable interpretation.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the drawing objection with respect to the claimed “bundle” are not persuasive. 37 CFR 1.83 requires that “The drawing in a nonprovisional application MUST show every feature of the invention specified in the claims”.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections are strictly persuasive as pertains to the prior presented rejections, but necessitate new grounds of rejection over the same prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 203869933 (hereinafter CN ‘933) in view of US 3706872 (hereinafter US ‘872).
Regarding claims 1,2,5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 14-16 and 18
CN ‘933 teaches: a heated continuous emission monitoring system comprising: a single tube made of a metallic heat conducting material, namely stainless steel (Figs. 1 and 2; para. 009), the tube having a length between an input end (left/right end of Fig. 1 chosen arbitrarily) of the tube and an opposite output end of the tube (opposite of end chosen as “input end”); the input end of the tube being configured for communication with a source of emissions (para. 0014; i.e. the gas in the pipe);the output end of the tube being configured for communication (para. 0014); a source of electric power (power supply connected to 4, not shown but described in ¶ [0013]); a first cable connected to an input end (e.g. right cable extending from 4), the first cable being connected between the source of electric power and the tube (Fig. 1); and, a second cable connected on an opposite end (left cable extending from 4), the second cable being connected between the source of electric power and the tube (Fig. 1). the first cable being connected to one of the input end of the tube and the output end of the tube; and, the second cable being connected to the output end of the tube when the first cable is connected to the input end of the tube, and the second cable being connected to the input end of the tube when the first cable is connected to the output end of the tube. This limitation while being set up with conditionals apparently effects the structure in the following way. The cable so named “first cable” must be on the opposite end of the tube with respect to the cable so named “second cable.” Since CN ‘933 shows this arrangement in Fig. 1 it is believed to meet this limitation. A control panel (4) in electrical communication with the source of electric power (¶[0013]) wherein the control panel is designed to control/regulate the voltage/electric power delivered by the source of electric power (¶ [0013]; designed to maintain a constant 12V and 700ma via feedback free control; note that there is nothing in the claims which requires the control panel to provide variable voltage or current, controlling at a constant value is sufficient to meet the claim language).
In as much as it is not inherently implied. CN ‘933 does not explicitly teach that the system comprises an emissions analyzer or that the pipe is connected at an output end to communicate specifically to an emissions gas analyzer.
However, the background of the invention of CN ‘933 is clear that this invention is for an environmental monitoring system measuring of a source of emissions by monitoring a gas parameter of an output of a pipe (para. 003 and 004) and that the pipe of the invention of CN ‘933 is meant to be used to convey uniformly heated emissions gas along the gas guiding pipe (para. 005).
As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an emissions analyzer such as a “catalytic-type-gas” sensor as a measuring device connected to the output of the continuously heated pipe of Fig. 1 and 2 of CN ‘933 (paras. 002,003 and 005) as CN ‘933 has directly suggested that their invention is suitable for such, and this is the typical usage in the art, and that the heating system proposed solves temperature compensation problems over prior art heating arrangements.
CNN ‘933 also does not teach an impedance heater, but rather heating the pipe through a wound resistive wire. It is worth noting here that “impedance heating” in the art of pipes, is an art term meaning the pipe is directly heated by Alternating Current running through the pipe itself and this is considered the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation of that claim term. Thus even though a wound resistive wire can certainly heat through “impedance” it is not an “impedance heater” as would be understood by those skilled in the art.
However, as US ‘872 teaches impedance heating pipes is old and well-known (Col. 3, ll. 51-67). And that impedance heating pipes work by means of electric power to a tubing system and producing an electric current through the tube to create impedance heating of the fluid flowing through the impedance heater (Col. 3, ll. 51-67). As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the resistive wire heater of CNN ‘933 with a pipe impedance heater, as taught by US ‘872, as such systems are old and well-known and known to provide only the predictable result of heating a pipe to the desired temperature for the use case desired. This is KSR type “b” rejection, please see MPEP §2143.
Lastly it is noted that while US ‘872 is not in the same field of endeavor it is directed to the problem of heating industrial pipes in the same manner as Applicant’s invention. As such it is relevant analogous prior art.
Regarding the limitation “keeps a temperature of the emissions above a dew point temperature of the emissions”. This limitation has been interpreted as intended use/functional language as the dew point will depend on the usage of the analyzer and the particularly emissions fluid flowing therein. As such since the prior art is capable of meeting this function it fully meets the language interpreted as required under the guidance of MPEP §2114.
Regarding claims 3, 12 and 19
The modified CN ‘933 teaches all of the limitations as discussed above, but does not teach multiple/plurality of tubes bundled together. However, Applicant has not stated that the additional tubes solve any problem or provide any synergestic or unexpected results besides tube duplication. As such, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to duplicate the tube of the modified CNN ‘933 to provide a “bundle” of multiple tubes. Please note that it has been held that when the difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is merely a duplication of a part while retaining the same function of said part a finding of prima facie obviousness is appropriate.
Regarding claim 4
The modified CNN ‘933 teaches all of the limitations as discussed above, but fails to teach wherein the source of electric power is a transformer. The Examiner takes Official Notice that using transformers to supply AC power is old and well-known and that transformers have the known benefit of allowing a step up/down of supply voltage. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to further modify CN ‘933 such that the electric power supply is a transformer as the transformer would allow for the voltage to be adjusted to the desired level.
Regarding claim 7
The modified CN ‘933 teaches that the tubing system is configured for communication with a source of emissions (see rejection above). The modified CN ‘933 does not call this source a “stack” however, the term “stack” is used to mean environmental emissions through a pipe released in an industrial setting. As such from whatever source the emissions emanate may reasonable be interpreted as a “stack”.
Regarding claims 10 and 17
The modified CN ‘933 teaches all of the limitations as discussed above, but fails to show the inside of the tube and thus is silent as to whether the tube bore is an unobstructed interior bore that extends through the tube.
The Examiner takes official notice that the well-known and ubiquitous construction of a fluid conveying tube includes a bore that extends through the tube in order to allow unobstructed passage of a fluid therethrough. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to make the tube with an unobstructed bore to avoid vortex formation in the tube from obstructions.
Regarding claims 13 and 20
The modified CN ‘933 further teaches the tubing system is a tube (Figs. 1 and 2), the tube has an input end and an opposite output end (see ends of tube Figs. 1 and 2), the input end of the tube is configured for communicating with a stack containing the emissions (see modification above in rejection of claim 1) and the output end of the tube is configured for communicating with the emissions analyzer (see modification in rejection of claim 1 above). Noting that as discussed in the rejection of claim 7 the source of emissions may reasonably be interpreted as a “stack”.
Conclusion
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761