DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
All of the limitations: “a top face”, “two side faces”, “a front face”, and “a rear face”, do not have a references numeral in the specification, to be found in the drawings.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “connection means” recited in line 8 of claim 1 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; and is assigned the structure of holes 16 in the side plates of the side faces as shown in fig. 5.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 7 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 1-2 recites “simplified structure and mechanism”; examiner points out (a) that there is no standard for what is considered simple or “simplified”, and (b) what is the “structure” and what is the “mechanism” and the difference between them?
Claim 1 recites “a support leg in the shape of a tube” in line 5, later the claim recites “the rear face has a slot whose height is less than the diameter of the tube” reciting the tube as an element or a limitation. Objection is that the tube is only recited earlier in the claim to refer to the shape of the support leg not as a positively recited component of the ladder. Similar to claim 1, claims 2 and 3 refer to “the tube” as a positively recited / established component.
Claim 1 line 10-11 recites “the diameter of the tube”; there is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 2 line 2 recites “its upper end”; there is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 2 line 2-3 recites “the ends of the pin”; there is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 2 line 2 recites “near its upper end”; since near is a relative term, examiner recommends using the term “proximate”.
Claim 3 line 2 recites “each side”; there is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 4 line 2 recites “its lower end”; there is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim 7 recites “the connecting means”; it is assumed that this is the same as the “connection means” established in claim 1, however, consistent nomenclature is required throughout the claim set to refer to the same component. If these are not the same component; it is provided that this limitation lacks antecedent basis and is not clear which component is being referred to in the specification.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the convex faces”; there is lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High, US (5590739) in view of Moreno, US (10767418).
In regards to claim 1 High discloses:
A ladder (ladder of fig. 1) for preventing unwanted accidents by means of a simplified structure and mechanism, said ladder comprising: a main structure (1, 2, 3s, 20, 21, 22s, 25, 34/35; fig. 1) including stringers (1/2 or 20/21), rungs (3s), and an upper platform (25); and a support leg (34/35) in the shape of a tube (as shown in fig. 1), pivotally connected to the upper platform (via 41s, upper most 22); CHARACTERIZED in that the upper platform comprises a top face (top surface), two side faces (see annotated drawings), a front face (see annotated drawings), and a rear face (see annotated drawings), wherein said side faces have connection means (apertures through which pins 26 passes; as shown in fig. 12) to connect to a connector (upper most 22) of the support leg.
In regards to claim 1 High does not disclose the rear face has a slot whose height is less than the diameter of the tube.
Moreno teaches the rear face has a slot (see annotated drawings below).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the slot taught by Moreno onto the rear face of the upper platform of High for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to provide for means to hang an object/tool/drill etc., that can be useful to a worker as he/she is standing on the ladder. Note that the slot of Moreno once taught onto the rear face of the upper platform of high would indeed have a heigh less than the diameter of the tube of the support leg.
In regards to claim 2 High discloses the support leg connector (upper most 22) is a cylinder pin (22 as shown in fig. 1) that passes perpendicularly through the tube (through 41 which is part of the tube of the support leg 34/35), near its upper end (as shown in fig, 1), wherein the ends of the pin are connected to the upper platform (via the sides faces) by means of bolts (26s).
In regards to claim 3 High discloses the pin is attached to a pair of plates on each side of the tube (as shown in fig. 1). However, High and Moreno do not teach the pair of plates being welded, where the pair of plates of High are integral with the upper platform; however, it is provided that welds are a mechanical equivalent of attaching a plate to a structure such as the upper platform. Examiner takes Official Notice that welds are olds and well known in the art to attach a plate to another plate-like structure. One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have found that welding the side plates onto the upper platform would have allowed for having the plates separate and replaceable when they fail, break or crack, where it would not be necessary to replace the entire upper platform assembly.
In regards to claim 4 High discloses the support leg has a gripping element (36) at its lower end.
In regards to claim 5 High discloses said gripping element has two or more points (front and back of rectangular pads 36) of support with the ground.
In regards to claim 6 High discloses the gripping element has a convex curved shape (see annotated drawings below).
In regards to claim 7 High discloses the connecting means consist of holes (apertures through which pins 26 passes; as shown in fig. 12).
In regards to claim 9 High discloses the stringers and rungs are channel-shaped (all rails 1, 2, 20, and 21 are channel shaped as shown in fig. 1).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High and Moreno as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rassmussen, US (1984655).
In regards to claim 8 High and Moreno do not teach the stringers are partially curved and positioned in such a way that the convex faces of both stringers are facing each other.
Rassmussen teaches the stringers are partially curved and positioned in such a way that the convex faces of both stringers are facing each other (fig. 1).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the convex curved structure of the stringers of Rassmussen onto the stringers of High for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to provide for enhanced stability of the overall structure where the structure of the stringers of Rassmussen are less likely to buckle or have the stringers shack/vibrate/slip with respect to each other.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over High and Moreno as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Arnold, US (3083786).
In regards to claims 10 and 11 8 High and Moreno do not teach the stringers and rungs are joined together by rivets and gussets.
Arnold teaches the stringers and rungs are joined together by rivets (22; fig. 3) (claim 10).
And the stringers and rungs are joined together by rivets (22; fig. 3) and gussets (25 and 25’; fig. 1 and 3) (claim 11).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize rivets and gussets as taught by Arnold to join the stringers and rungs of High in the same manner taught by Arnold, for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to provide for a sturdier solid attachment between the stringers and the rungs where they would bear higher loads and be less prone to structural failure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to PTO-892 form for list of cited references.
/S.M.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634