DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. § 101
Response to Arguments
Step 2A, Prong Two
The Applicant argues the claim 1 elements satisfy the machine-or-transformation test of M.P.E.P. § 2106.05(b)(I) and cites Eibel Process Co. v. Minn. & Ont. Paper Co., 261 U.S. 45, 64-65 (1923) as an example. The applicant then refers to the filed Declaration of the Inventor to argue "a person of ordinary skill in the art reading the specification would understand the device 100 to be a retinal oximetry device specifically configured for portable, field-based use, distinct from stationary retinal oximetry systems. This is analogous to Eibel Process, where the court found the claims recited a "particular machine" because a "Fourdrinier machine" was "understood in the art to have a specific structure." M.P.E.P. § 2106.0S(b)(I)”. (page 8). However, the Inventor’s own statement that traditional retinal oximetry devices are generally stationary (see paragraph 11) contradicts any argument that the device is a particular machine “understood in the art to have a specific structure”, as portable retinal oximetry devices were not known in the prior art at all according to the Inventor.
The applicant has also argued “the "performing" step of amended claim 1 recites specific technical requirements that go beyond generic data collection. Amended claim 1 now specifies a particular type of device ("retinal oximetry devices" that are "portable and non-invasive"), a particular target (the optic nerve or retina); a specific temporal constraint ("within a time period of up to 11 seconds"), and a structured scanning protocol ("across the plurality of scan sessions")”...The Declaration further indicates that "[t]he portability of the claimed retinal oximetry device enables deployment in field conditions ... where no quantitative TBI assessment tools were generally available" and that "[a] portable retinal oximetry device allows clinicians to obtain objective oxygenation measurements within seconds at the point of injury."... Accordingly, the "performing" step of amended claim 1 imposes meaningful limits on the claim and is distinguishable from the generic data collection activities identified in the M.P.E.P.” However, the Examiner’s concern is that none of the critical structural details that make the device portable are in the specification or the claims—rather, the device is described as portable without further explanation. Fig. 1 does not provide enough support, as there is nothing in the figure to prove the device is light enough or small enough to be reasonably portable. If the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the additional element (e.g., the data gathering step) improves technology. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(l).
The applicant has also argued “As set forth in the Declaration, "conventional techniques for evaluating concussive stages relied on a series of cognitive, observational, and reflective components to establish an intensity and depth of a TBf' and "[a]s of the Priority Date, there were no field devices that could provide immediate diagnostic values measuring the effects of a TBI within seconds."... Further, "[t]he portability of the claimed retinal oximetry device enables deployment in field conditions ... where no quantitative TBI assessment tools were generally available" and "[a] portable retinal oximetry device allows clinicians to obtain objective oxygenation measurements within seconds at the point of injury, rather than requiring transport to a clinical facility for imaging or relying solely on subjective cognitive and observational assessments.”. However, any arguments that rely on the device’s portability share the same concerns as listed above. While the Examiner acknowledges the Declaration’s statements, they do not provide sufficient objective evidence about the device’s characteristics that make it portable and usable on the field—therefore, these statements have lower probative value. In addition, enabling objective, quantitative tracking of oxygenation changes across stages of a TBI through a portable, non-invasive retinal oximetry device deployable in field conditions, and generating rehabilitation prognoses based on differential values corresponding to differences in oxygenation levels across multiple scan sessions is an abstract idea. It is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology. In other words, the improvement in technology cannot come from improvement in the abstract idea.
Step 2B
The Applicant has argued “The L'Esperance citation does not establish that the specific application claimed, i.e., using retinal oximetry to generate differential values across stages of a traumatic brain injury and determine rehabilitation prognoses based on those values, was well-understood, routine, or conventional.”. However, using a known structure for a specific application does not make the structure also novel—rather, it is a well-known, routine, and conventional device being used in a particular way. A specific (and even novel) algorithm does not make a convention device non-conventional.
The Applicant also argues “the Office Action never addressed whether the combination of all claim elements amounts to significantly more”. To clarify the Office’s position, the combination of all claim 1 elements is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea due to 1) insufficient support in the specification and Declaration for the device’s portability, 2) the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, in isolation or in combination, providing a sufficient improvement in technology to establish a preponderance of the evidence for overcoming the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Response to Affidavit
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 05/29/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of Claims 1-20 based upon lack of utility and/or inoperativeness under 35 U.S.C. 101 as set forth in the last Office action because:
Regarding paragraph 11, the Inventor states “While retinal oximetry devices are inherently non-invasive, traditional retinal oximetry devices are generally stationary and not suited for field deployment. However, the Application's specification describes the oximetry device 100 as one "that can be implemented as a portable test in the field of play” and refers to [0027] and [0030] of the specification to argue that “a person of ordinary skill in the art reading the specification would understand the device 100 to be a retinal oximetry device specifically configured for portable, field-based use, distinct from stationary retinal oximetry systems.” The device’s portability is also recited in Claim 1. However, the Examiner’s concern is that none of the critical structural details that make the device portable are in the specification or the claims—rather, the device is described as portable without further explanation. Fig. 1 does not provide enough support, as there is nothing in the figure to prove the device is light enough or small enough to be reasonably portable. If the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(l). In addition, the Inventor’s own statement that traditional retinal oximetry devices are generally stationary contradicts any assertion that the device is a particular machine understood in the art to have a specific structure, as portable retinal oximetry devices were not known in the prior art at all.
Regarding paragraph 13, the Inventor argues “the limitations of claim 1 cannot be distilled to "mere data gathering" or a "mental process" that can be "practically performed by a human with the aid of a pen and paper" as alleged in the Office Action. Rather, they describe a particular improvement to TBI assessment: replacing subjective cognitive, observational, and reflective evaluations with objective, quantitative oxygenation measurements obtained using a portable, non-invasive retinal oximetry device across multiple scan sessions... These operations inherently require the use of a retinal oximetry device and cannot be performed by a human.” However, the Office Action considered “mere data gathering” limitations (i.e. the retinal oximetry recitations) to be additional elements to the abstract idea—whether or not they can be practically performed by a human in the mind with the aid of pen and paper is irrelevant. In addition, the inventor’s statement that the limitations cannot be distilled to a “mental process” is not objective evidence regarding the invention. The Examiner believes the claim limitations can reasonably be called a mental process as explained in the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection below.
Regarding paragraph 14, the Examiner acknowledges the Inventor’s argument that the portable, non-invasive and real-time functionality of the claimed retinal oximetry device addresses a technological gap in the art. However, the Examiner’s concern is that none of the critical structural details that make the device portable are in the specification or the claims—rather, the device is described as portable without further explanation. Fig. 1 does not provide enough support, as there is nothing in the figure to prove the device is light enough or small enough to be reasonably portable. If the specification explicitly sets forth an improvement but in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art), the examiner should not determine the claim improves technology. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(l). Thus, any asserted improvements in technology that rely on the device’s portability share this same concern.
Regarding paragraphs 15-16, the Inventor argues “The improvement stems from enabling objective, quantitative tracking of oxygenation changes across stages of a TBI through a portable, non-invasive retinal oximetry device deployable in field conditions, and generating rehabilitation prognoses based on differential values corresponding to differences in oxygenation levels across multiple scan sessions, rather than relying on subjective cognitive, observational, and reflective assessments.” However, objective, quantitative tracking of oxygenation changes across stages of a TBI through a portable, non-invasive retinal oximetry device, and generating rehabilitation prognoses based on differential values corresponding to differences in oxygenation levels across multiple scan sessions is an abstract idea. It is important to keep in mind that an improvement in the abstract idea itself (e.g. a recited fundamental economic concept) is not an improvement in technology. In other words, the improvement in technology cannot come from improvement in the abstract idea.
35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-14, filed 05/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kelly, Samec, Mufti, and Liu.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Mufti, the applicant argues “Mufti explicitly acknowledges "there have been no studies on humans measuring the changes in the oxygen saturation in the retinal vessels following TBI" and that "[i]f proven, these biomarkers will provide new research horizons for developing improved screening and prognostic evaluations in TBI patients." Id., p. 871. The recited portion of Mufti is aspirational, indicating a future research direction rather than an established technique. Under M.P.E.P. § 2143(I)(E), it is improper to equate obviousness with "obvious to try" when what was obvious to try was merely "to explore a new technology or general approach that seemed to be a promising field of experimentation, where the prior art gave only general guidance as to the particular form of the claimed invention or how to achieve it.. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Mufti does not teach or suggest "determining, based on the scans, (i) a change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or retina having a direct correlation to a severity of a traumatic brain injury and (ii) a level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or the retina indicating the severity of the traumatic brain injury," as cited by the Office Action. Moreover, as Mufti was not cited for, and does not teach, performing scans across multiple sessions or tracking oxygenation changes over the course of a traumatic brain injury, Mufti is necessarily silent on "generating, based on the change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or the retina and the level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or the retina, differential values across the plurality of scan sessions, the differential values corresponding to differences in oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina across stages of the traumatic brain injury" as recited by amended claim 1..". However, in the updated rejection, Mufti is merely relied upon to teach a motivation for analyzing the parameter of retinal oximetry values in relation to TBI—Kelly is relied upon to teach the scan sessions and tracking the severity of a brain injury. As Kelly already teaches a similar method to the claimed invention that already includes analyzing oxygen values (in the brain) when analyzing TBI in sports injuries, the teachings of Mufti provide reasonable motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to also consider retinal oximetry values when analyzing TBI.
Regarding Liu, the applicant argues “Applicant respectfully submits that Liu does not teach generating differential values corresponding to differences in oxygenation levels across stages of TBI, nor does Liu teach determining a prognosis based on such differential values. Liu's prognosis determination relies entirely on chemical biomarker concentrations in bodily fluids, not on differential values derived from retinal oximetry scans across stages of a traumatic brain injury.” However, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claim Objections
Claims 2-13 and 15-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claims 2-13 and 15-20, “claim 0” should read “claim [[0]]1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “performing, using one or more retinal oximetry devices, a plurality of scans of optic nerve/retinal oximetry of a group of test subjects across a plurality of scan sessions, within a time period of up to 11 seconds”. It is unclear if each scan in the plurality of scans happens within a time period of up to 11 seconds, or each scan session happens within a time period of up to 11 seconds. For the purposes of substantive examination, the examiner is construing this claim limitation as “performing, using one or more retinal oximetry devices, a plurality of scans of optic nerve/retinal oximetry of a group of test subjects across a plurality of scan sessions, wherein each scan occurs within a time period of up to 11 seconds”.
Claims 2-20 are rejected by virtue of dependence on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly (WO 2015057315 A1, hereinafter Kelly) in view of Samec et al (US 11022797 B2, hereinafter Samec), the Non-Patent Literature (NPL) to Mufti et al (“Ocular changes in traumatic brain injury”, hereinafter Mufti) and Liu (US 20170101662 A1, hereinafter Liu).
Regarding Claim 1, Kelly discloses a method for correlating a change in oxygenation to the severity of a traumatic brain injury (“A concussion can also lead to localized or generalized perturbations of glucose and/or oxygen levels in the brain”, page 9), comprising:
performing, using one or more devices (Element 130, Fig. 1), a plurality of scans ( “the device 130 is capable of taking images such as moving visual images, still images, and/or a series of still images of the eyes of a subject during an eye test”, page 16) of a group of test subjects (“The disclosed methods allow for the accumulation of information regarding the "normal" eye movements or the morphology of one or more structures of the eye of a group of subjects (e.g., a large sample of individuals). Such information would be used as a baseline, normal eye movement or normal morphology of one or more structures of an eye for subjects in which a normal baseline eye test is unavailable”, page 14) across a plurality of scan sessions (“The disclosed methods and systems provide, in certain embodiments, administering a first eye test to the subject when the subject is in a normal state, obtaining a first set of one or more images of the first eye test of the subject, administering a second eye test to the subject and obtaining a second set of one or more images of the second eye test of the subject”, Abstract), within a time period of up to 11 seconds (“the device 130 is capable of taking images such as moving visual images, still images, and/or a series of still images of the eyes of a subject during an eye test”, page 16; See the rejection of this claim under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) above and the examiner’s interpretation; a still image can be taken within 11 seconds), each scan indicating oxygenation levels of a test subject (“the clinician can view the first and second images simultaneously on a display to detect a change in the speed of the eye movements or the difference in morphology of the structure of the eye during the second eye test as compared to the speed of the eye movements or the structural morphology of the eye detected during the first eye test administered to the subject in the normal state. An alteration in the speed of eye movement, such as a decrease in speed, or the morphology of the structure of the eye, such as a change in the diameter of a blood vessel, indicates that the subject suffers a disease altering the subject's glucose and/or oxygen state”, page 12), the one or more devices being portable and non- invasive (“Returning to the device, the device 130 is capable of taking images such as moving visual images, still images, and/or a series of still images of the eyes of a subject during an eye test. The device can also be a portable device”, page 16); and
generating, based on the change in oxygenation, differential values (See Step 260, Fig. 2) across the plurality of scan sessions (“In some embodiments, a disease such as a concussion is detected second eye test shows a change in morphology of a structure of the eye as compared to the morphology of the structure of the eye shown in the first eye test”, page 5), the differential values corresponding to differences in oxygenation levels (“Concussions are also an example of an event that can cause both localized and systemic alterations in oxygen and glucose levels in the brain”, page 1). across stages of the traumatic brain injury (“In some embodiments, the second eye test is administered after the subject has performed physical activity. In other embodiments, the second eye test is administered after the subject has sustained contact to the head. In still other embodiments, the second image is obtained within 30 minutes of the subject receiving a head trauma”, page 6).
Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing a method for correlating a change in oxygenation of an optic nerve/retina to the severity of a traumatic brain injury, the devices to be retinal oximetry devices, the scans to be optic nerve/retinal oximetry of a group of test subjects, each scan indicating oxygenation levels of an optic nerve or a retina of a test subject;
determining, based on the plurality of scans, (i) a change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or retina having a direct correlation to a severity of a traumatic brain injury and (ii) a level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or the retina indicating the severity of the traumatic brain injury;
generating, based on the change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or the retina and the level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or the retina, the differential values across the plurality of scan sessions, the differential values corresponding to differences in oxygenation of the optic nerve or the retina across stages of the traumatic brain injury; and
determining, based on the differential values, a prognosis corresponding to at least one of: (i) a rehabilitation period, (ii) a rehabilitation goal, and (iii) a rehabilitation success timeline.
However, Samec teaches the devices to be retinal oximetry devices (Element 58, Fig. 5), the scans to be optic nerve/retinal oximetry (“The one or more electromagnetic radiation detectors may be positioned and oriented to receive light reflected after encountering at least one blood vessel of the retina of the eye of the user”, 3:24-27) of a group of test subjects (“ With a configuration as described above, wherein there is one world model that can reside on cloud computing resources and be distributed from there, such world can be “passable” to one or more users in a relatively low bandwidth form preferable to trying to pass around real-time video data or the like”, 5:54-49), each scan indicating oxygenation levels of an optic nerve or a retina of a test subject (“The controller may be configured to calculate a ratio of first wavelength light measurement to second wavelength light measurement, and wherein this ratio is converted to an oxygen saturation reading via a lookup table based at least in part upon the Beer-Lambert law”, 3:40-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kelly to scan for retinal/optic nerve oximetry specifically, as taught by Samec, because Mufti teaches a change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or retina having a direct correlation to a severity of a traumatic brain injury (“Retinal oximetry may be useful in understanding how TBI affects retinal oxygen delivery and utilization. Specifically, this technique provides insight into oxygen utilization in the retina, and therefore retinal metabolism, by determining the amount of oxyhemoglobin (HbO2) versus deoxyhemoglobin (Hb) in retinal vessels”, p. 870-871).
Mufti teaches a change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or retina having a direct correlation to a severity of a traumatic brain injury (“Retinal oximetry may be useful in understanding how TBI affects retinal oxygen delivery and utilization. Specifically, this technique provides insight into oxygen utilization in the retina, and therefore retinal metabolism, by determining the amount of oxyhemoglobin (HbO2) versus deoxyhemoglobin (Hb) in retinal vessels”, p. 870-871) and (ii) a level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or the retina indicating the severity of the traumatic brain injury (“Retinal oximetry may be useful in understanding how TBI affects retinal oxygen delivery and utilization. Specifically, this technique provides insight into oxygen utilization in the retina, and therefore retinal metabolism, by determining the amount of oxyhemoglobin (HbO2) versus deoxyhemoglobin (Hb) in retinal vessels”, p. 870-871). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the step of determining, based on the scans, (i) a change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or retina having a direct correlation to a severity of a traumatic brain injury and (ii) a level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or the retina indicating the severity of the traumatic brain injury to the method of Kelly and further modify Kelly by generating, based on the change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or the retina and the level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or the retina, the differential values across the plurality of scan sessions, the differential values corresponding to differences in oxygenation of the optic nerve or the retina across stages of the traumatic brain injury, because Mufti teaches that oxygenation of the optic nerve/retina and traumatic brain injury may be related (p. 870-871).
Liu teaches determining, based on a diagnosis of TBI ([0030]), a prognosis corresponding to at least one of: (i) a rehabilitation period, (ii) a rehabilitation goal, and (iii) a rehabilitation success timeline (“…“Monitoring” can include, for example, determination of prognosis, risk-stratification, selection of drug therapy, assessment of ongoing drug therapy, determination of effectiveness of treatment, prediction of outcomes, determination of response to therapy, diagnosis of a disease or disease complication, following of progression of a disease or providing any information relating to a patient's health status over time, selecting patients most likely to benefit from experimental therapies with known molecular mechanisms of action, selecting patients most likely to benefit from approved drugs with known molecular mechanisms where that mechanism may be important in a small subset of a disease for which the medication may not have a label, screening a patient population to help decide on a more invasive/expensive test”, [0017]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Samec in view of Mufti with the teachings of Liu (i.e. wherein the method comprises determining, based on the differential values of the optic nerve or the retina and the level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or the retina, which correlate to TBI, a prognosis corresponding to at least one of: (i) a rehabilitation period, (ii) a rehabilitation goal, and (iii) a rehabilitation success timeline) because Liu teaches the advantage of real time monitoring for traumatic brain injuries (“Timely management decisions are critical in optimizing outcomes of TBI. Consequently, the value of real time diagnostic assessment given by point-of care testing of TBI is desirable to expedite appropriate treatment”, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing scans includes using the one or more retinal oximetry devices to perform scan sessions on each test subject at primary and 2 week sessions (“the second eye test can be administered about 30 minutes to about two weeks after the subject received a head trauma”, page 12). Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein performing scans includes using the one or more retinal oximetry devices to perform scan sessions on each test subject at l month and 3-month sessions. However, at the time of the invention, there was a recognized need for retinal oximetry testing protocols to understand the correlation between traumatic brain injuries and retinal oxygen levels (“Retinal oximetry may be useful in understanding how TBI affects retinal oxygen delivery and utilization. Specifically, this technique provides insight into oxygen utilization in the retina, and therefore retinal metabolism, by determining the amount of oxyhemoglobin (HbO2) versus deoxyhemoglobin (Hb) in retinal vessels”, p. 870-871 of Mufti; therefore, retinal oximetry scans should be performed on subjects to further understand how TBI affects oxygenation of the retina). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued any known potential retinal oximetry measurement protocols with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Kelly, wherein performing scans includes using the one or more oximetry devices to perform scan sessions on each test subject at 1 month and 3-month sessions.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein performing scans includes using the one or more retinal oximetry devices to scan optic nerve oximetry during time periods ranging between 1 second and 11 seconds while a test subject is at rest. However, Samec teaches a recognized need for performing scans using retinal oximetry devices in a real-time manner (“it would be valuable to certain users, such as high-altitude hikers or persons with certain cardiovascular or respiratory problems, to be able to see a convenient display of their own blood oxygen saturation as the move about their day and conduct their activities”, 2:40-44). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued any known potential retinal oximetry measurement protocols with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Kelly, wherein performing scans includes using the one or more oximetry devices to scan optic nerve oximetry during time periods ranging between 1 second and 11 seconds while a test subject is at rest.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein the time periods are 1, 3, 5, 8, and 10 seconds in duration. However, still images are capable of being taken within 1, 3, 5, 8, and 10 seconds, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued any known potential retinal oximetry measurement protocols with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Kelly, wherein the time periods are 1, 3, 5, 8, and 10 seconds in duration.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing scans includes using the one or more retinal oximetry devices to scan optic nerve/retinal oximetry immediately after physical activity (“In particular embodiments, the second eye test is administered after the subject has performed physical activity. In particular embodiments, the second eye test is performed after the subject has been involved in a contact sport. In more particular embodiments, the second eye test is performed after the subject has suffered a blow to the head”, page 12).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1, wherein performing scans includes using the one or more retinal oximetry devices to scan optic nerve/retinal oximetry after a time period (“the second eye test can be administered within 30 minutes of the subject receiving a head trauma. Alternatively, the second eye test can be administered about 30 minutes to about two weeks after the subject received a head trauma”, page 12) following physical activity (“In particular embodiments, the second eye test is administered after the subject has performed physical activity”, page 12).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising performing a survey of each test subject's demographics, comprising gender, age, race, sport, or competitive season versus off season (“A further advantage of the disclosed methods and systems is the ability of medical personnel to view the results of a test for a disease and compare the results to a baseline reading of the subject or alternatively to the results of a group of subjects of similar age and gender”, page 2).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein performing the plurality of scans of optic nerve/retinal oximetry in within the time period real-time includes using a retinal oximetry device of the one or more retinal oximetry devices to capture oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina of a test subject. However, Samec teaches wherein performing the plurality of scans of optic nerve/retinal oximetry in within the time period real-time includes using a retinal oximetry device of the one or more retinal oximetry devices to capture oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina of a test subject (“The controller may be configured to calculate a ratio of first wavelength light measurement to second wavelength light measurement, and wherein this ratio is converted to an oxygen saturation reading via a lookup table based at least in part upon the Beer-Lambert law”, 3:40-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Kelly with Samec because Mufti teaches a change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or retina having a direct correlation to a severity of a traumatic brain injury (“Retinal oximetry may be useful in understanding how TBI affects retinal oxygen delivery and utilization. Specifically, this technique provides insight into oxygen utilization in the retina, and therefore retinal metabolism, by determining the amount of oxyhemoglobin (HbO2) versus deoxyhemoglobin (Hb) in retinal vessels”, p. 870-871).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein using the retinal oximetry device to capture oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina includes using the retinal oximetry device to capture scans that are reproducible within seconds, minutes, hours, days, weeks and months with exception to age variances as the test subject progresses in years. However, Samec teaches a recognized need for performing scans using retinal oximetry devices in a real-time manner (“it would be valuable to certain users, such as high-altitude hikers or persons with certain cardiovascular or respiratory problems, to be able to see a convenient display of their own blood oxygen saturation as the move about their day and conduct their activities”, 2:40-44). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued any known potential retinal oximetry measurement protocols with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samec, to use the retinal oximetry device to capture oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina includes using the retinal oximetry device to capture scans that are reproducible within seconds, minutes, hours, days, weeks and months with exception to age variances as the test subject progresses in years.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein using the retinal oximetry device to accurately capture oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina includes using the retinal oximetry device to capture the scans in an optimal scan time-period that falls between 1 second and 11 seconds. However, Samec teaches a recognized need for performing scans using retinal oximetry devices in a real-time manner (“it would be valuable to certain users, such as high-altitude hikers or persons with certain cardiovascular or respiratory problems, to be able to see a convenient display of their own blood oxygen saturation as the move about their day and conduct their activities”, 2:40-44). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued any known potential retinal oximetry measurement protocols with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samec, to use the retinal oximetry device to accurately capture oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina includes using the retinal oximetry device to capture the scans in an optimal scan time-period that falls between 1 second and 11 seconds.
Regarding Claim 20, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining (i) that the change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or the retina has the direct correlation to the severity of the traumatic brain injury or (ii) that the level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or retina indicates the severity of traumatic brain injuries (See the modification to Kelly by Mufti in Claim 1) includes determining that ocular oxygenation depressions are an indicator of an occurrence and depth of a traumatic brain injury (“Retinal oximetry may be useful in understanding how TBI affects retinal oxygen delivery and utilization. Specifically, this technique provides insight into oxygen utilization in the retina, and therefore retinal metabolism, by determining the amount of oxyhemoglobin (HbO2) versus deoxyhemoglobin (Hb) in retinal vessels”, p. 870-871 of Mufti, which was relied upon in parent Claim 1).
Claims 8-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of Samec, Mufti and Liu, and further in view of Cohen (US 20200060573 A1, hereinafter Cohen).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing further comprising recruiting athletes as a control group comprising a portion of the group of test subjects. However, Cohen teaches recruiting athletes as a control group comprising a portion of the group of test subject (“A total of 65 (20.9±2.3 yr.) players were enrolled in the study. Player screening was undertaken to identify any possible contraindications to participating in the study, and for history of concussion. Tests were performed on a weekly schedule during the rugby club's training time”, [0222]; “To address potential bias, the administrator of the test did not know the condition of the player until after the data was processed”, [0026]; players unaffected by TBI would be a control group under broadest reasonable interpretation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Kelly to include recruiting athletes as a control group comprising a portion of the group of test subjects, because traumatic brain injuries are often experienced in sports specifically, and a reliable assessment of whether the player has sustained mild Traumatic Brain Injury is required in a limited time period in this field (See [0003]-[0004] of Cohen).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein performing scans includes performing scans on up to 150 athletes per week. However, Cohen teaches wherein performing scans includes performing scans on up to 150 athletes per week (“A total of 65 (20.9±2.3 yr.) players were enrolled in the study. Player screening was undertaken to identify any possible contraindications to participating in the study, and for history of concussion. Tests were performed on a weekly schedule during the rugby club's training time”, [0222]; the Examiner notes the phrase “up to 150 athletes per week” is construed as a maximum of 150 test subjects and a range of 0-150 subjects). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Kelly by performing scans on up to 150 athletes per week, as taught by Cohen, as a matter of routine optimization of test parameters.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein performing scans includes performing scans during each athlete's pre-season conditioning and through a competitive season as part of an athlete's fitness training. However, Cohen teaches wherein performing scans includes performing scans during each athlete's pre-season conditioning and through a competitive season as part of an athlete's fitness training (“Prior to the competition season, all enrolled players underwent the screening assessment. Once enrolled, all participants underwent the EEG test twice (for test-retest reliability purposes). Throughout the competition season, at training sessions typically two days after a competition game, participants were fitted with the EPOC+ headset and their SSVEP acquired.”, [0226]). would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Kelly by performing scans during each athlete's pre-season conditioning and through a competitive season as part of an athlete's fitness training, as taught by Cohen, as a matter of routine optimization of test parameters.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein capturing oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina within the time period includes showing that concussed scan values show a reduced deviation from a test subject's values and a deviation from a test subject's group norms. However, Cohen teaches that concussed scan values show a reduced deviation from a test subject's values and a deviation from a test subject's group norms (“FIGS. 10 and 11 show example graphical representations of a Fourier transformation of signals measured by electrodes 1210. The graphs show the frequency response of the electrodes. Typically, in healthy individuals, a high and distinct fundamental frequency will be observed with the frequency matching the frequency of the visual stimulus. FIG. 10 shows a response measured by electrodes in a healthy individual. A high and distinct response is measured at around 15 Hz. FIG. 11 shows a response measured by electrodes in an individual suffering a functional disorder of the brain. The graph of FIG. 11 shows a lower response which is less distinct”, [0147]; changes in brain frequency response include a reduced deviation from a test subject's values and a deviation from a test subject's group norms). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Kelly wherein capturing oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina within the time period includes showing that concussed scan values show a reduced deviation from a test subject's values and a deviation from a test subject's group norms, as taught by Cohen (the examiner notes that both reduced retinal oxygen values and reduced brain frequency values qualify as “concussed scan values”), because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and one with ordinary skill in the art could have combined all the claimed elements by known methods, and the result would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of Samec, Mufti and Liu, and further in view of Singhvi (US 20160259890 A1, hereinafter Singhvi).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 12. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein capturing oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina within the time period in-real-time includes showing that there are demographically standardized norms for gender, age, race, ethnicity, and geographical location. However, Singhvi teaches there are demographically standardized norms (“Metadata is setup to define the file formats from various data sources and the rules for enrichment and loading. This data is then correlated based on the demographic and geographical attributes and normalized to build a healthcare data warehouse (HDW)”, [0017]) for gender, age, race, ethnicity, and geographical location (“The demographic parameters, for example, could include patient's age, gender, race, ethnicity, geographic location, et cetera, and disease characteristics would include the type and extent of the disease, pre-existing co-morbid conditions, number and type of prior treatment received for disease under investigation, pathological and/or molecular sub-type/ genetic variations of the disease under investigation etc”, [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Kelly with the demographically standardized norms for geographic location of Singhvi, for the advantage of creating a cohort of valid sample population members to serve as a clinical database to support statistical probability analysis (e.g., the presence of traumatic brain injury) and evaluation of treatment metrics (See Abstract of Singhvi).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of Samec, Mufti and Liu, and further in view of the Non-Patent Literature (NPL) to Schmitz et al (“Effects of high-intensity interval training on optic nerve head and macular perfusion using optical coherence tomography angiography in healthy adults”, hereinafter Schmitz).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein capturing oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or the retina within the time period includes showing that oxygen perfusion of the optic nerve, as indicated in the scans, differs before and after athletic activity. However, Schmitz shows that oxygen perfusion of the optic nerve, as indicated in scans, differs before and after athletic activity (“We found significant differences in retinal macular and [optic nerve head] perfusion in young healthy subjects in response to a four-week HIIT program.”, Section 4.1; since oxygen is transported by blood, changes in oxygen perfusion reflects changes in blood perfusion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Samec wherein capturing oxygenation levels of the optic nerve or retina within the time period includes showing that oxygen perfusion of the optic nerve, as indicated in the scans, differs before and after athletic activity, as suggested by Schmitz, in order for the user to determine which changes in oxygen perfusion come from traumatic brain injury and which come from athletic activity.
Claim 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of Samec, Mufti and Liu, and further in view of Liu et al (US 20180020922 A1, hereinafter Liu ‘922).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein performing the plurality of scans includes measuring retinal oxygen levels of healthy non-concussed test subjects, with differentiation for any ocular or systemic disease states. However, Liu ‘922 teaches wherein performing the plurality of scans includes measuring the retinal oxygen levels of healthy non-concussed test subjects (“Certain examples demonstrate the versatile and robust data collection capabilities our hyperspectral retinal imaging system by performing spectra-based retinal oximetry measurements on 10 healthy patients”, [0128]), with differentiation for any ocular or systemic disease states (“To demonstrate the performance capabilities of the system, we recruited 11 healthy volunteers with no known ocular disease for fundus imaging with the HSI system”, [0138]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Kelly, with the measuring of retinal oxygen levels of healthy non-concussed test subjects, as suggested by Liu ‘922, for the advantages of acquiring baseline retinal oxygen levels for comparison with retinal oxygen levels in concussed individuals.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein determining that the change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or the retina has the direct correlation to the severity of the traumatic brain injury includes using baseline retinal oxygen values of the healthy non- concussed test subjects to investigate active changes during one or more traumatic brain injuries incidents. However, Mufti teaches retinal oximetry may be useful in understanding how TBI affects retinal oxygen delivery and utilization by providing insight into oxygen utilization in the retina, and therefore retinal metabolism by determining the amount of oxyhemoglobin (HbO2) versus deoxyhemoglobin (Hb) in retinal vessels (p. 870-871). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method of Kelly such that determining that the change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or the retina has the direct correlation to the severity of the traumatic brain injury includes using baseline retinal oxygen values of the healthy non-concussed test subjects to investigate active changes during one or more traumatic brain injuries incidents, as an obvious way to utilize the naturally occurring correlation taught by Mufti.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelly in view of in view of Samec, Mufti and Liu, and further in view of the Non-Patent Literature (NPL) to Childs et al (“Retinal imaging: a first report of the retinal microvasculature in acute mild traumatic brain injury”, hereinafter Childs).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Kelly discloses the method of claim 1. Modified Kelly discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing wherein determining (i) that the change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or the retina has the direct correlation to the severity of the traumatic brain injury or (ii) that the level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or retina indicates the severity of traumatic brain injuries includes using a retinal oximetry device of the one or more retinal oximetry devices to establish concrete quantitative values that are indicative of a test subject's concussive cascade during and after a traumatic brain injury. However, Childs teaches using an retinal oximetry device of the one or more oximetry devices to establish concrete quantitative values (See Table 1) that are indicative of a test subject's concussive cascade during and after a traumatic brain injury (“All mTBI patients recruited into the study were invited to return to the emergency department (ED) for repeat retinal photography at the 6-month time-point after recruitment”, p. 388, col. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Samec such that determining (i) that the change in oxygenation of the optic nerve or retina has the direct correlation to the severity of the traumatic brain injury or (ii) that the level of hypoxia of the optic nerve or retina indicates the severity of traumatic brain injuries includes using an oximetry device of the one or more retinal oximetry devices of the one or more retinal oximetry devices to establish concrete quantitative values that are indicative of a test subject's concussive cascade during and after a traumatic brain injury, because said change in oxygenation and/or level of hypoxia may have utility in diagnosing TBI, as taught by Childs (p. 388, col. 1, paragraph 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See Munger et al (US 20220022743 A1), which discloses subject matter relevant to Claim 1 (“a concussion may also exhibit ocular manifestations. Furthermore, an ocular examination can detect immediate affectations that could lead to less than optimal task performance, for example lack of sleep or oxygen deprivation. Accordingly, an examination may be used to screen for impairment and concussions”, [0002]).
See Port (US 20160213301 A1) ([0002]).
See Gramatikov et al (US 20180249906 A1) (Abstract).
See Port (WO 2015051272 A1).
See Kiderman et al (WO 2017147141 A1) (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN E. COOPER/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791