DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission, dated 4 Sept. 2025, in which claims 1 and 4-7 are amended and claim 14 has been added, has been entered and considered. Claims 1, 2, and 4-14 are now pending.
The previous objection to claims 1, 4, and 6 was overcome by Applicant’s previous claim amendments, and thus the objection has been reconsidered and is hereby withdrawn.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding independent claims 1, 6, and 7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Particularly, the Remarks at pp. 9-10, argue that the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest limitations of “the computer terminal including ‘a display device’, wherein ‘the computer terminal displays a predetermined activation operation on the display device’ in response to ‘start of a setting operation for connecting the peripheral device to the other access point different from the computer terminal in the peripheral device.’” The Remarks allege that this requirement guides a user “to perform the activation operation at the outset of the setting process, which enables the user to easily establish the first wireless connection between the computer terminal and the peripheral device.”
In response, the Examiner finds that this limitation is disclosed by a setting screen 200 of terminal apparatus 101 of US 2020/0045763 (hereinafter, “WATANABE”), which is described in detail below in the grounds of rejection. Accordingly, the rejection of independent claims 1, 6, and 7 over the prior art of record is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 1, 6, and 7 each recite a single instance of the limitation "the periphery device." However, insufficient antecedent basis exists for this limitation in the claims. Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and/or § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0045763 (hereinafter, “WATANABE”).
Regarding claim 1, WATANABE discloses:
An information processing system comprising: (¶ 0017: An information-processing apparatus and a communication apparatus . . . are included in a communication system)
a computer terminal (terminal apparatus 101) comprising:
storage that stores first wireless connection information for connecting to a predetermined access point, (¶ 0065: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 can establish Wi-Fi P2P connection with the terminal apparatus 101. The connection information (the SSID and the password) for connection with the connection setting AP is held in advance by the connection setting application that is installed in the terminal apparatus 101; ¶ 0031: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 includes . . . a communication unit 156; ¶ 0032: [C]ommunication unit 156 includes an access point 156-a for connection with the apparatus such as the terminal apparatus 101 inside the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0048: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 has a software access point (software AP) function to operate as the access point)
wherein the computer terminal is configured to connect to the predetermined access point using the stored first wireless connection information; and (¶ 0065: [T]erminal apparatus 101 holds the connection information for connection with the connection setting AP in advance. Accordingly, the connection information for connection with the connection setting AP . . . cannot be freely changed by the user)
a display device (display unit 108); and
a peripheral device (communication apparatus 151) configured to act as the predetermined access point, (¶ 0017: [A] printer will be described as an example of the communication apparatus . . . a multifunction peripheral that has plural functions such as a copy function, a FAX function, and a print function can also be acceptable)
wherein the computer terminal is configured to:
send a request requesting to establish a first wireless connection based on the first wireless connection information to the peripheral device; and (¶ 0059: [I]n the P2P mode, the terminal apparatus 101 wirelessly transmits a P2P setting command for operation of the communication apparatus 151 in the P2P mode to the communication apparatus 151. The terminal apparatus 101 obtains information for P2P connection with the communication apparatus 151 from the communication apparatus 151. Examples of the information for P2P connection with the communication apparatus 151 include the SSID of the communication apparatus 151 and the password for connection with the communication apparatus 151)
transmit to the peripheral device, second setting information relating to a second wireless connection established by the peripheral device with another access point (AP 131) different from the computer terminal, via the first wireless connection using the first wireless connection information, (¶ 0085: At S410, the terminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to the communication apparatus 151 through the Wi-Fi P2P connection. The infrastructure setting command includes the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected and the connection information for connection. For example, when the AP list includes the information about the AP 131 that is saved in the memory at S404, the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected is the AP 131, the information about which is saved in the memory at S404)
wherein, in response to start of a setting operation for connecting the peripheral device to the other access point different from the computer terminal in the peripheral device: (¶ 0156: [T]he connection setting process causes the communication apparatus 151 to operate in the infrastructure mode; ¶ 0157: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 operates in the infrastructure mode by using the AP to which the terminal apparatus 101 is connected)
the computer terminal requests the first wireless connection of the peripheral device, (¶ 0156: [T]erminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to preferentially set the infrastructure mode of the communication apparatus 151)
the computer terminal displays a predetermined activation operation on the display device, (¶ 0156: [T]erminal apparatus 101 causes the display unit to display a setting screen 200 illustrated in FIG. 2. . . . setting screen 200 may include an area 201 for notifying the user of transition to the CLS mode of the communication apparatus 151)
the peripheral device establishes the first wireless connection when the peripher[al] device is activated according to the predetermined activation operation displayed on the display device, and (¶ 0156: [T]he connection setting process causes the communication apparatus 151 to operate in the infrastructure mode; ¶ 0157: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 operates in the infrastructure mode by using the AP to which the terminal apparatus 101 is connected)
the computer terminal transmits the second setting information to the peripheral device when the first wireless connection is established. (¶ 0085: At S410, the terminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to the communication apparatus 151 through the Wi-Fi P2P connection. The infrastructure setting command includes the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected and the connection information for connection. For example, when the AP list includes the information about the AP 131 that is saved in the memory at S404, the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected is the AP 131, the information about which is saved in the memory at S404)
Regarding claim 2, WATANABE, as applied above, anticipates the information processing system of claim 1. WATANABE further discloses:
wherein the computer terminal stores the first wireless connection information in association with software for controlling the peripheral device. (¶ 0065: [T]he connection information for connection with the connection setting AP, which differs from the connection information about the AP that is activated in the P2P mode, cannot be freely changed by the user. In the connection setting mode, the communication apparatus 151 may be connected to the terminal apparatus 101 by Wi-Fi Direct (WFD) instead of normal Wi-Fi. That is, the communication apparatus 151 may operate as the group owner and may receive a setting command from the terminal apparatus 101 by WFD communication)
Regarding claim 5, WATANABE, as applied above, anticipates the information processing system of claim 1. WATANABE further discloses:
wherein the peripheral device is configured to operate in one of a setting mode and a normal mode, and (¶ 0046: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 operates in a P2P mode including a software AP mode and a Wi-Fi Direct (WFD) mode in order to establish connection (referred to below as P2P connection) by a P2P method during Wi-Fi communication. According to the present embodiment, the P2P connection means a wireless connection form in which apparatuses are directly connected to each other without the external device such as the AP 131 interposing therebetween. The communication apparatus 151 that operates in the P2P mode operates as a parent device in the network to which the communication apparatus 151 belongs. The P2P mode includes the WFD mode and the software AP mode described below)
when the predetermined activation operation is performed, the peripheral device operates in the setting mode and establishes the first wireless connection based on the first wireless connection information in response to receiving the request. (¶ 0048: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 activates (starts up) a software AP in the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0064: [S]tart of operation of the communication apparatus 151 in the connection setting mode may be triggered by pressing a connection setting mode button by the user or starting up (switching on) the communication apparatus 151 for the first time after arrival of the communication apparatus 151. The connection setting mode button may be a hardware button of the communication apparatus 151 or a software button that is displayed on the display unit 161 by the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0156: In the case where the user selects a P2P connection start button 203, the terminal apparatus 101 . . . transmits a P2P mode setting instruction thereto. That is, the terminal apparatus 101 preferentially sets the P2P mode of the communication apparatus 151)
Regarding claim 6, WATANABE discloses:
A peripheral device (communications apparatus 151) having a setting mode and a normal mode, (¶ 0046: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 operates in a P2P mode including a software AP mode and a Wi-Fi Direct (WFD) mode in order to establish connection (referred to below as P2P connection) by a P2P method during Wi-Fi communication. According to the present embodiment, the P2P connection means a wireless connection form in which apparatuses are directly connected to each other without the external device such as the AP 131 interposing therebetween. The communication apparatus 151 that operates in the P2P mode operates as a parent device in the network to which the communication apparatus 151 belongs. The P2P mode includes the WFD mode and the software AP mode described below) the peripheral device comprising a processor (CPU 154) configured to:
operate in the setting mode in response to a predetermined activation operation being performed, (¶ 0048: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 activates (starts up) a software AP in the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0064: [S]tart of operation of the communication apparatus 151 in the connection setting mode may be triggered by pressing a connection setting mode button by the user or starting up (switching on) the communication apparatus 151 for the first time after arrival of the communication apparatus 151. The connection setting mode button may be a hardware button of the communication apparatus 151 or a software button that is displayed on the display unit 161 by the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0156: In the case where the user selects a P2P connection start button 203, the terminal apparatus 101 . . . transmits a P2P mode setting instruction thereto. That is, the terminal apparatus 101 preferentially sets the P2P mode of the communication apparatus 151)
the predetermined activation operation being displayed on a display device of a computer terminal; [Because this feature does not further limit the structure of the claimed peripheral device, the limitation is due no patentable weight. Nevertheless, for the purposes of achieving compact prosecution, the limitation is disclosed by WATANABE at ¶ 0156: [T]erminal apparatus 101 causes the display unit to display a setting screen 200 illustrated in FIG. 2. . . . setting screen 200 may include an area 201 for notifying the user of transition to the CLS mode of the communication apparatus 151]
accept a request requesting to establish a first wireless connection based on first wireless connection information; (¶ 0059: [I]n the P2P mode, the terminal apparatus 101 wirelessly transmits a P2P setting command for operation of the communication apparatus 151 in the P2P mode to the communication apparatus 151. The terminal apparatus 101 obtains information for P2P connection with the communication apparatus 151 from the communication apparatus 151. Examples of the information for P2P connection with the communication apparatus 151 include the SSID of the communication apparatus 151 and the password for connection with the communication apparatus 151. When the P2P setting command is received, the communication apparatus 151 may activate a WFD function to operate as the group owner or may activate the access point in the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0065: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 can establish Wi-Fi P2P connection with the terminal apparatus 101. The connection information (the SSID and the password) for connection with the connection setting AP is held in advance by the connection setting application that is installed in the terminal apparatus 101; ¶ 0031: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 includes . . . a communication unit 156; ¶ 0032: [C]ommunication unit 156 includes an access point 156-a for connection with the apparatus such as the terminal apparatus 101 inside the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0048: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 has a software access point (software AP) function to operate as the access point)
establish the first wireless connection based on the first wireless information; (¶ 0080: [T]erminal apparatus 101 temporarily establishes Wi-Fi P2P connection with the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0048: The connection in this way enables the terminal apparatus 101 and the communication apparatus 151 to be wirelessly connected directly to each other without another access point interposing therebetween)
receive second wireless connection information via the first wireless connection; and (¶ 0085: At S410, the terminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to the communication apparatus 151 through the Wi-Fi P2P connection. The infrastructure setting command includes the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected and the connection information for connection. For example, when the AP list includes the information about the AP 131 that is saved in the memory at S404, the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected is the AP 131, the information about which is saved in the memory at S404)
establish a second wireless connection using the second wireless connection information received via the first wireless connection, (¶ 0088: [A]t S413, the communication apparatus 151 is connected to the AP 131 by Wi-Fi by using the connection information for connection with the AP 131 that is received [from terminal apparatus 101] at S410 in accordance with the infrastructure setting command)
wherein, in response to start of a setting operation for connecting to another access point different from the computer terminal in the peripheral device, (¶ 0156: [T]he connection setting process causes the communication apparatus 151 to operate in the infrastructure mode; ¶ 0157: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 operates in the infrastructure mode by using the AP to which the terminal apparatus 101 is connected)
the processor receives the request from the computer terminal, (¶ 0156: [T]erminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to preferentially set the infrastructure mode of the communication apparatus 151)
the predetermined activation operation is displayed on the display device, [Because this feature does not further limit the structure of the claimed peripheral device, the limitation is due no patentable weight. Nevertheless, for the purposes of achieving compact prosecution, the limitation is disclosed by WATANABE at ¶ 0156: [T]erminal apparatus 101 causes the display unit to display a setting screen 200 illustrated in FIG. 2. . . . setting screen 200 may include an area 201 for notifying the user of transition to the CLS mode of the communication apparatus 151]
the processor establishes the first wireless connection when the setting operation is started and the peripher[al] device is activated according to the predetermined activation operation, and (¶ 0156: [T]he connection setting process causes the communication apparatus 151 to operate in the infrastructure mode; ¶ 0157: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 operates in the infrastructure mode by using the AP to which the terminal apparatus 101 is connected)
the processor receives the second wireless connection information from the computer terminal when the first wireless connection is established. (¶ 0085: At S410, the terminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to the communication apparatus 151 through the Wi-Fi P2P connection. The infrastructure setting command includes the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected and the connection information for connection. For example, when the AP list includes the information about the AP 131 that is saved in the memory at S404, the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected is the AP 131, the information about which is saved in the memory at S404)
Regarding claim 7, WATANABE discloses:
A setting method in a peripheral device (communications apparatus 151), the setting method comprising: (¶ 0033: wireless setting process)
operating in a setting mode in response to a predetermined activation operation being performed, (¶ 0048: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 activates (starts up) a software AP in the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0064: [S]tart of operation of the communication apparatus 151 in the connection setting mode may be triggered by pressing a connection setting mode button by the user or starting up (switching on) the communication apparatus 151 for the first time after arrival of the communication apparatus 151. The connection setting mode button may be a hardware button of the communication apparatus 151 or a software button that is displayed on the display unit 161 by the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0156: In the case where the user selects a P2P connection start button 203, the terminal apparatus 101 . . . transmits a P2P mode setting instruction thereto. That is, the terminal apparatus 101 preferentially sets the P2P mode of the communication apparatus 151)
the predetermined activation operation being displayed on a display device of a computer terminal; [Because this feature does not further limit the structure of the claimed peripheral device, the limitation is due no patentable weight. Nevertheless, for the purposes of achieving compact prosecution, the limitation is disclosed by WATANABE at ¶ 0156: [T]erminal apparatus 101 causes the display unit to display a setting screen 200 illustrated in FIG. 2. . . . setting screen 200 may include an area 201 for notifying the user of transition to the CLS mode of the communication apparatus 151]
accepting a request requesting to establish first wireless connection based on first wireless connection information, (¶ 0059: [I]n the P2P mode, the terminal apparatus 101 wirelessly transmits a P2P setting command for operation of the communication apparatus 151 in the P2P mode to the communication apparatus 151. The terminal apparatus 101 obtains information for P2P connection with the communication apparatus 151 from the communication apparatus 151. Examples of the information for P2P connection with the communication apparatus 151 include the SSID of the communication apparatus 151 and the password for connection with the communication apparatus 151. When the P2P setting command is received, the communication apparatus 151 may activate a WFD function to operate as the group owner or may activate the access point in the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0065: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 can establish Wi-Fi P2P connection with the terminal apparatus 101. The connection information (the SSID and the password) for connection with the connection setting AP is held in advance by the connection setting application that is installed in the terminal apparatus 101; ¶ 0031: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 includes . . . a communication unit 156; ¶ 0032: [C]ommunication unit 156 includes an access point 156-a for connection with the apparatus such as the terminal apparatus 101 inside the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0048: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 has a software access point (software AP) function to operate as the access point)
establishing the first wireless connection based on the first wireless connection information, (¶ 0080: [T]erminal apparatus 101 temporarily establishes Wi-Fi P2P connection with the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0048: The connection in this way enables the terminal apparatus 101 and the communication apparatus 151 to be wirelessly connected directly to each other without another access point interposing therebetween)
receiving second wireless connection information via the first wireless connection, and (¶ 0085: At S410, the terminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to the communication apparatus 151 through the Wi-Fi P2P connection. The infrastructure setting command includes the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected and the connection information for connection. For example, when the AP list includes the information about the AP 131 that is saved in the memory at S404, the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected is the AP 131, the information about which is saved in the memory at S404)
establishing second wireless connection using the second wireless connection information, (¶ 0088: [A]t S413, the communication apparatus 151 is connected to the AP 131 by Wi-Fi by using the connection information for connection with the AP 131 that is received [from terminal apparatus 101] at S410 in accordance with the infrastructure setting command)
wherein, in response to start of a setting operation for connecting to another access point different from the computer terminal in the peripheral device, (¶ 0156: [T]he connection setting process causes the communication apparatus 151 to operate in the infrastructure mode; ¶ 0157: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 operates in the infrastructure mode by using the AP to which the terminal apparatus 101 is connected)
the request is received from the computer terminal, (¶ 0156: [T]erminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to preferentially set the infrastructure mode of the communication apparatus 151)
the predetermined activation operation is displayed on the display device, [Because this feature does not further limit the structure of the claimed peripheral device, the limitation is due no patentable weight. Nevertheless, for the purposes of achieving compact prosecution, the limitation is disclosed by WATANABE at ¶ 0156: [T]erminal apparatus 101 causes the display unit to display a setting screen 200 illustrated in FIG. 2. . . . setting screen 200 may include an area 201 for notifying the user of transition to the CLS mode of the communication apparatus 151]
the first wireless connection is established when the setting operation is started and the peripher[al] device is activated according to the predetermined activation operation, and (¶ 0156: [T]he connection setting process causes the communication apparatus 151 to operate in the infrastructure mode; ¶ 0157: [C]ommunication apparatus 151 operates in the infrastructure mode by using the AP to which the terminal apparatus 101 is connected)
the second wireless connection information is received from the computer terminal when the first wireless connection is established. (¶ 0085: At S410, the terminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to the communication apparatus 151 through the Wi-Fi P2P connection. The infrastructure setting command includes the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected and the connection information for connection. For example, when the AP list includes the information about the AP 131 that is saved in the memory at S404, the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected is the AP 131, the information about which is saved in the memory at S404)
Regarding claim 8, WATANABE, as applied above, anticipates the information processing system of claim 5. WATANABE further discloses:
wherein the peripheral device operates in the normal mode in response to establishing the second wireless connection. (¶ 0088: [A]t S413, the communication apparatus 151 is connected to the AP 131 by Wi-Fi by using the connection information for connection with the AP 131 that is received at S410 in accordance with the infrastructure setting command. Consequently, infrastructure connection is established between the terminal apparatus 101 and the communication apparatus 151 with the AP 131 interposed therebetween)
Regarding claim 9, WATANABE, as applied above, anticipates the peripheral device of claim 6. WATANABE further discloses:
wherein the predetermined activation operation includes:
opening a cover while depressing a button;
activating while depressing a button; (¶ 0064: [S]tart of operation of the communication apparatus 151 in the connection setting mode may be triggered by pressing a connection setting mode button by the user or starting up (switching on) the communication apparatus 151 for the first time after arrival of the communication apparatus 151. The connection setting mode button may be a hardware button of the communication apparatus 151 or a software button that is displayed on the display unit 161 by the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0156: In the case where the user selects a P2P connection start button 203, the terminal apparatus 101 . . . transmits a P2P mode setting instruction thereto. That is, the terminal apparatus 101 preferentially sets the P2P mode of the communication apparatus 151)
performing long pressing operation to a button after activation;
performing long pressing operation to a button before activation;
depressing a button a predetermined consecutive time after activation;
or
depressing a button a predetermined consecutive time before activation.
Regarding claim 10, WATANABE, as applied above, anticipates the peripheral device of claim 6. WATANABE further discloses:
operates in the normal mode in response to establishing the second wireless connection. (¶ 0088: [A]t S413, the communication apparatus 151 is connected to the AP 131 by Wi-Fi by using the connection information for connection with the AP 131 that is received at S410 in accordance with the infrastructure setting command. Consequently, infrastructure connection is established between the terminal apparatus 101 and the communication apparatus 151 with the AP 131 interposed therebetween)
Regarding claim 11, WATANABE, as applied above, anticipates the setting method of claim 7. WATANABE further discloses:
wherein the predetermined activation operation includes:
opening a cover while depressing a button,
activating while depressing a button, (¶ 0064: [S]tart of operation of the communication apparatus 151 in the connection setting mode may be triggered by pressing a connection setting mode button by the user or starting up (switching on) the communication apparatus 151 for the first time after arrival of the communication apparatus 151. The connection setting mode button may be a hardware button of the communication apparatus 151 or a software button that is displayed on the display unit 161 by the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0156: In the case where the user selects a P2P connection start button 203, the terminal apparatus 101 . . . transmits a P2P mode setting instruction thereto. That is, the terminal apparatus 101 preferentially sets the P2P mode of the communication apparatus 151)
performing long pressing operation to a button after activation,
performing long pressing operation to a button before activation,
depressing a button a predetermined consecutive time after activation,
or
depressing a button a predetermined consecutive time before activation.
Regarding claim 12, WATANABE, as applied above, anticipates the setting method of claim 7. WATANABE further discloses:
further includes operating in a normal mode in response to establishing the second wireless connection. (¶ 0088: [A]t S413, the communication apparatus 151 is connected to the AP 131 by Wi-Fi by using the connection information for connection with the AP 131 that is received at S410 in accordance with the infrastructure setting command. Consequently, infrastructure connection is established between the terminal apparatus 101 and the communication apparatus 151 with the AP 131 interposed therebetween)
Regarding claim 13, WATANABE, as applied above, anticipates the information processing system of claim 5. WATANABE further discloses:
wherein the predetermined activation operation includes:
opening a cover while depressing a button,
activating while depressing a button, (¶ 0064: [S]tart of operation of the communication apparatus 151 in the connection setting mode may be triggered by pressing a connection setting mode button by the user or starting up (switching on) the communication apparatus 151 for the first time after arrival of the communication apparatus 151. The connection setting mode button may be a hardware button of the communication apparatus 151 or a software button that is displayed on the display unit 161 by the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0156: In the case where the user selects a P2P connection start button 203, the terminal apparatus 101 . . . transmits a P2P mode setting instruction thereto. That is, the terminal apparatus 101 preferentially sets the P2P mode of the communication apparatus 151)
performing long pressing operation to a button after activation,
performing long pressing operation to a button before activation,
depressing a button a predetermined consecutive time after activation,
or
depressing a button a predetermined consecutive time before activation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over WATANABE in view of US 2021/0096798 (hereinafter, “NAKAMURA”).
Regarding claim 4, WATANABE, as applied above, anticipates the information processing system of claim 1. WATANABE does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a service set identifier (SSID) and a password included in the first wireless connection information are a common SSID and a common password that are common to the peripheral device and another one or more peripheral devices, and
the second wireless connection information includes a unique SSID and a unique password that are unique to the other access point.
In the same field of endeavor, however, NAKAMURA teaches:
wherein a service set identifier (SSID) and a password included in the first wireless connection information are a common SSID and a common password that are common to the peripheral device and another one or more peripheral devices, and
(¶ 0048: [U]nique identification information is also stored in the ROM 202. The unique identification information is uniquely decided for, for example, the manufacturer of the printer or a printer model; ¶ 0059: The unique SSID is uniquely decided for, for example, the manufacturer of the printer or a printer model [i.e., Unique identification information is common to printers for a given printer model (or “device type”)]).
the second wireless connection information includes a unique SSID and a unique password that are unique to the other access point. (¶ 0119: PC 101 loads the wireless profile 204 stored in the ROM 202 of the PC 101. Contents of the wireless profile 204 include information used for connection of an access point 225, and include, in one example, an SSID (Service Set IDentifier) and a passphrase. In step S1202, the PC 101 generates a character string by combining URL information for enabling the smartphone to load a program for making the printer 103 join the wireless LAN, SSID information necessary to perform wireless direct connection to the printer 103, the model name of the printer 103, and the SSID and passphrase of the access point 225, and converts the generated character string into a two-dimensional bar code . . . FIG. 13 shows a command necessary for the smartphone 104 to perform the wireless LAN setup of the printer 103, which is an example of the generated character string)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify WATANABE’s wireless connection information to provide common SSIDs and common passwords to printers of a printer model as taught by NAKAMURA and to generate a dynamic wireless profile so as to enable use of the same printer from multiple information processing apparatuses via a wireless network which an information processing apparatus having performed wireless setting of the printer joins. See NAKAMURA, at ¶ 0004.
Regarding claim 14, WATANABE, as applied above, anticipates the information processing system of claim 1. WATANABE further discloses:
wherein the computer terminal is configured to connect to the predetermined access point using the stored first wireless connection information without requiring a user to enter the first wireless connection information into the computer terminal, (¶ 0156: In the case where the user selects an infrastructure connection start button 202, the terminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to preferentially set the infrastructure mode of the communication apparatus 151)
wherein the peripheral device establishes, in response to receiving the request, the first wireless connection with the computer terminal such that the first wireless connection is a direct connection by the SSID and the password in which only the computer terminal and the peripheral device establish communication without intervention of any other device, and (¶ 0059: When the P2P setting command is received, the communication apparatus 151 may activate a WFD function to operate as the group owner or may activate the access point in the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0080: [T]erminal apparatus 101 temporarily establishes Wi-Fi P2P connection with the communication apparatus 151; ¶ 0048: The connection in this way enables the terminal apparatus 101 and the communication apparatus 151 to be wirelessly connected directly to each other without another access point interposing therebetween)
wherein the peripheral device receives the second wireless connection information via the first wireless connection, and establishes the second wireless connection with the other access point using the second wireless connection information received from the computer terminal. (¶ 0085: At S410, the terminal apparatus 101 transmits the infrastructure setting command to the communication apparatus 151 through the Wi-Fi P2P connection. The infrastructure setting command includes the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected and the connection information for connection. For example, when the AP list includes the information about the AP 131 that is saved in the memory at S404, the access point to which the communication apparatus 151 is to be connected is the AP 131, the information about which is saved in the memory at S404; ¶ 0088: [A]t S413, the communication apparatus 151 is connected to the AP 131 by Wi-Fi by using the connection information for connection with the AP 131 that is received [from terminal apparatus 101] at S410 in accordance with the infrastructure setting command)
WATANABE does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first wireless connection information includes a service set identifier (SSID) and a password,
In the same field of endeavor, however, NAKAMURA teaches:
wherein the first wireless connection information includes a service set identifier (SSID) and a password, (¶ 0048: [U]nique identification information is also stored in the ROM 202. The unique identification information is uniquely decided for, for example, the manufacturer of the printer or a printer model; ¶ 0059: The unique SSID is uniquely decided for, for example, the manufacturer of the printer or a printer model [i.e., Unique identification information is common to printers for a given printer model (or “device type”)])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644