DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 11/12/2025 for
response of the office action mailed on 8/11/2025. Claims 21, 27, and 33 have been amended. Claims 21-40 remain pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 7-15), filed on 11/12/2025, with respect to claim 21 have been
fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (RYU et al.) is applied in the current rejection.
Regarding remarks in page 11, for independent claim 21, applicant asserts that Lee fails to disclose that the inter-RAT cell change is a condition of initiating the registration procedure.
Lee (US 2019/0014612 Al) discloses “the network can control mobility (handover and inter-RAT cell change order of the UE. UE may select to establish a connection with an LTE system or a 5G cellular system and look into a possibility of using a Non-3GPP RAT (Lee: Fig. 25, [0125], [0463])”, and Da Silva et al. (US 2022/0361275 Al) discloses “wireless device performing the NAS recovery procedure as being inter-RAT cell reselection, (Da_Silva: [0006], [0011], [0064], [0073])”.
Regarding remarks in page 11, for independent claim 21, applicant asserts that Lee fails to disclose that the first cell and the second cell are in a tracking area ID list.
Lee discloses “UE's report information may be last tracking area (TA) or last cell information, etc., and the report information may include a primary cell and/or a secondary cell. UE may include this IE (MSI information and cell identification information) to inform the MSI information and cell identification information to MME for MME to use this information when it pages this UE for incoming traffic. (Lee: [0354], [0367], [0372]-[0374])”.
Regarding remarks in page 13, for independent claim 21, applicant asserts that DaSilva does not disclose that the wireless device initiates a registration procedure when multiple conditions are met, wherein the multiple conditions comprise.
Da Silva discloses “the wireless device 12 initiates NAS recovery by initiating a registration procedure for mobility and periodic registration update. the wireless device triggers a NAS recovery procedure by performing a registration area update or a tracking area update which leads to the NAS layer requesting the AS layer to establish or setup a new AS signaling connection, (DaSilva: [0058], [0066], [0423])” and “the wireless device triggers a NAS recovery procedure by performing a registration area update. UE in state 5GMM-REGISTERED shall initiate the registration procedure for mobility and periodic registration update by sending a REGISTRATION REQUEST message to the AMF, (DaSilva: [0057], [0285], [0383]-[0389])”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2019/0124572
A1, hereinafter “Park”) in view of LEE (US 2019/0014612 Al, hereinafter “Lee”) and further in view of Da Silva et al. (US 2022/0361275 Al, hereinafter “DaSilva”) and further in view of RYU et al. (US 2019/0021064 Al, hereinafter “Ryu”).
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses:
A communication method, comprising (Systems, apparatuses, and methods are described for wireless communications, Park: Abstract):
selecting or re-selecting, by an apparatus, to a second cell from a first cell through cell selection or re-selection (wireless device may perform cell selection/re-selection. mobility functions may comprise at least one of a handover (e.g. intra NR or inter-RAT), Park: [0071]-[0072]),
wherein a tracking area identifier (ID) list is allocated to the apparatus (the message may comprise at least one of tracking area information (e.g., TAI, registration area identifier, location area identifier, etc.), Park: [0257]-[0258]); and
the apparatus selects or re-selects from the first cell to the second cell, the apparatus is in inactive mode in the first cell (mobility functions which may comprise at least one of a handover (e.g. intra NR mobility or inter-RAT mobility) and a context transfer; or a wireless device cell selection and reselection and control of cell selection and reselection. RRC sublayer may support an RRC_Idle state, an RRC_Inactive state and/or an RRC_Connected state for a wireless device, Park: [0071]- [0072]),
Park does not explicitly disclose:
initiating, by the apparatus, a registration procedure when multiple conditions are met, wherein the multiple conditions comprise:
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ryu teaches:
initiating, by the apparatus, a registration procedure when multiple conditions are met, wherein the multiple conditions comprise (the UE attempts to register with the selected PLMN using the Initial Registration procedure, Ryu: [0176], [0201], [0212], [0315]-[0323]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Ryu in order to further modify initiating a registration procedure from the teachings of Ryu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the UE/user needs to register with
the network to receive service that requires registration (Ryu: [0171]).
Yet, Park and Ryu do not explicitly disclose:
the first cell and the second cell are in the tracking area ID list,
and radio access technology (RAT) of the first cell and the RAT of the second cell are different, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches:
the first cell and the second cell are in the tracking area ID list (UE's report information may be last tracking area (TA) or last cell information, etc., and the report information may include a primary cell and/or a secondary cell. UE may include this IE (MSI information and cell identification information) to inform the MSI information and cell identification information to MME for MME to use this information when it pages this UE for incoming traffic, Lee: [0354], [0367], [0372]-[0374]),
and radio access technology (RAT) of the first cell and the RAT of the second cell are different (the network can control mobility (handover and inter-RAT cell change order of the UE. UE may select to establish a connection with an LTE system or a 5G cellular system and look into a possibility of using a Non-3GPP RAT, Lee: Fig. 25, [0125], [0463]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Lee in order to further modify cell selection or re-selection and registration procedure from the teachings of Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved performance
of a fast connection between a terminal and a network (Lee: [0005]).
Yet, Park-Ryu-Lee do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the registration procedure is for Non-Access Stratus (NAS) signaling connection recovery between the apparatus and an access and mobility management function entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, DaSilva teaches:
wherein the registration procedure is for Non-Access Stratus (NAS) signaling connection recovery between the apparatus and an access and mobility management function entity (the wireless device triggers a NAS recovery procedure by performing a registration area update. UE in state 5GMM-REGISTERED shall initiate the registration procedure for mobility and periodic registration update by sending a REGISTRATION REQUEST message to the AMF, DaSilva: [0057], [0285], [0383]-[0389]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park-Ryu-Lee in view of DaSilva in order to further modify the registration procedure for Non-Access Stratus (NAS) signaling connection recovery between the apparatus and an access and mobility management function entity from the teachings of DaSilva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the wireless device location tracking
may comprise both wireless device registration area tracking and wireless device reachability tracking
(DaSilva: [0150]).
Regarding claim 22, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection
of claim 21 above.
Park further discloses:
The communication method of claim 21, wherein initiating the registration procedure comprises initiating, by the apparatus, the registration procedure (initial registration procedure may involve execution of network access control functions, Park: [0139]):
when receiving, by a non-access stratum layer of the apparatus, indication information from an access stratum layer of the apparatus (services and/or functions of an RRC sublayer may comprise at least one of: broadcast of system information related to AS and NAS signalling, Park: [0071]),
Park does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein the indication information is about the cell selection or reselection with different RAT.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches:
and wherein the indication information is about the cell selection or reselection with different RAT (UE has been allocated an identification (ID) which uniquely identifies the UE in a tracking area and may perform PLMN selection and cell re-selection. the network can control mobility (handover and inter-RAT cell change order of the UE, Lee: [0123], [0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify Park and DaSilva teach in view of Lee in order to further modify
the indication information about the cell selection or reselection with different RAT from the teachings of
Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved performance
of a fast connection between a terminal and a network (Lee: [0005]).
Regarding claim 23, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection
of claim 21 above.
Park further discloses:
The communication method of claim 21, wherein the registration procedure comprises an initial registration procedure (initial registration procedure may involve execution of network access control functions, Park: [0139]).
Regarding claim 24, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection
of claim 21 above.
Park further discloses:
The communication method of claim 21, wherein the registration procedure comprises a mobility and periodic registration update procedure (wireless device may need to register with the network to receive services that require registration. wireless device may update its registration with the network, e.g., periodically, after the wireless device is registered, to remain reachable (e.g., periodic registration update), on mobility (e.g. mobility registration update), Park: [0139]).
Regarding claim 25, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection
of claim 21 above.
Park further discloses:
The communication method of claim 21, wherein the RAT of the first cell is a New Radio access technology (FIG. 11A, FIG. 11B, FIG. 11C, FIG. 11D, FIG. 11E, and FIG. 11F show examples for architectures of tight interworking between a 5G RAN and a long term evolution (LTE) radio access network (RAN). network may decide when the wireless device connects to which 5G RAN cell(s) or inter-RAT cell (e.g., LTE cell), Park: [0017], [0323]).
Regarding claim 26, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection
of claim 21 above.
Park further discloses:
The communication method of claim 21, wherein the first cell and the second cell are connected to a same 5th generation (5G) core network device (One or more gNBs and/or one or more ng-eNBs may be interconnected with each other by means of Xn interface. gNB or ng-eNB may be connected to 5G Core Network (5GC), Park: [0060]).
Regarding claim 27, Park discloses:
An apparatus, comprising (Systems, apparatuses, and methods are described for wireless communications, Park: Abstract):
a non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store instructions (a non-transitory tangible computer readable machine-accessible medium having instructions encoded thereon, Park: [0363]); and
one or more processors coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium and configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to (wireless device may include one or more processors, and one or more sets of program code instructions stored in non-transitory memory and executable, Park: [0140]:
select or re-select to a second cell from a first cell through cell selection or reselection (wireless device may perform cell selection/re-selection. mobility functions may comprise at least one of a handover (e.g. intra NR or inter-RAT), Park: [0071]-[0072]),
wherein a tracking area identifier (ID) list is allocated to the apparatus (the message may comprise at least one of tracking area information (e.g., TAI, registration area identifier, location area identifier, etc.), Park: [0257]-[0258]); and
the apparatus selects or re-selects from the first cell to the second cell, the apparatus is in inactive mode in the first cell (mobility functions which may comprise at least one of a handover (e.g. intra NR mobility or inter-RAT mobility) and a context transfer; or a wireless device cell selection and reselection and control of cell selection and reselection. RRC sublayer may support an RRC_Idle state, an RRC_Inactive state and/or an RRC_Connected state for a wireless device, Park: [0071]- [0072]),
Park does not explicitly disclose:
initiate a registration procedure when multiple conditions are met, wherein the multiple conditions comprise:
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ryu teaches:
initiate a registration procedure when multiple conditions are met, wherein the multiple conditions comprise (the UE attempts to register with the selected PLMN using the Initial Registration procedure, Ryu: [0176], [0201], [0212], [0315]-[0323]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Ryu in order to further modify initiating a registration procedure from the teachings of Ryu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the UE/user needs to register with
the network to receive service that requires registration (Ryu: [0171]).
Yet, Park and Ryu do not explicitly disclose:
the first cell and the second cell are in the tracking area ID list,
and radio access technology (RAT) of the first cell and the RAT of the second cell are different, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches:
the first cell and the second cell are in the tracking area ID list (UE's report information may be last tracking area (TA) or last cell information, etc., and the report information may include a primary cell and/or a secondary cell. UE may include this IE (MSI information and cell identification information) to inform the MSI information and cell identification information to MME for MME to use this information when it pages this UE for incoming traffic, Lee: [0354], [0367], [0372]-[0374]),
and radio access technology (RAT) of the first cell and the RAT of the second cell are different (the network can control mobility (handover and inter-RAT cell change order of the UE. UE may select to establish a connection with an LTE system or a 5G cellular system and look into a possibility of using a Non-3GPP RAT, Lee: Fig. 25, [0125], [0463]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify Park and Ryu in view of Lee in order to further modify cell selection
or re-selection and registration procedure from the teachings of Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved performance
of a fast connection between a terminal and a network (Lee: [0005]).
Yet, Park-Ryu-Lee do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the registration procedure is for Non-Access Stratus (NAS) signaling connection recovery between the apparatus and an access and mobility management function entity
However, in the same field of endeavor, DaSilva teaches:
wherein the registration procedure is for Non-Access Stratus (NAS) signaling connection recovery between the apparatus and an access and mobility management function entity (the wireless device triggers a NAS recovery procedure by performing a registration area update. UE in state 5GMM-REGISTERED shall initiate the registration procedure for mobility and periodic registration update by sending a REGISTRATION REQUEST message to the AMF, DaSilva: [0057], [0285], [0383]-[0389]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park-Ryu-Lee in view of DaSilva in order to further modify the registration procedure for Non-Access Stratus (NAS) signaling connection recovery between the apparatus and an access and mobility management function entity from the teachings of DaSilva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the wireless device location tracking
may comprise both wireless device registration area tracking and wireless device reachability tracking
(DaSilva: [0150]).
Regarding claim 28, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection
of claim 27 above.
Park further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to initiate the registration procedure by initiating the registration procedure (wireless device may include one or more processors, and one or more sets of program code instructions stored in non-transitory memory and executable. initial registration procedure may involve execution of network access control functions, Park: [0139]-[0140]):
when a non-access stratum layer of the apparatus receives indication information from an access stratum layer of the apparatus (services and/or functions of an RRC sublayer may comprise at least one of: broadcast of system information related to AS and NAS signalling, Park: [0071]),
initiate the registration procedure (initial registration procedure may involve execution of network access control functions, Park: [0139]),
Park does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the indication information is about the cell selection or re-selection with different RAT.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches:
wherein the indication information is about the cell selection or re-selection with different RAT (UE has been allocated an identification (ID) which uniquely identifies the UE in a tracking area and may perform PLMN selection and cell re-selection. the network can control mobility (handover and inter-RAT cell change order of the UE, Lee: [0123], [0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify Park-Ryu-DaSilva in view of Lee in order to further modify the
indication information about the cell selection or reselection with different RAT from the teachings of Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved performance
of a fast connection between a terminal and a network (Lee: [0005]).
Regarding claim 29, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection
of claim 27 above.
Park further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the registration procedure comprises an initial registration procedure (initial registration procedure may involve execution of network access control functions, Park: [0139]).
Regarding claim 30, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection
of claim 27 above.
Park further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the registration procedure comprises a mobility and periodic registration update procedure (wireless device may need to register with the network to receive services that require registration. wireless device may update its registration with the network, e.g., periodically, after the wireless device is registered, to remain reachable (e.g., periodic registration update), on mobility (e.g. mobility registration update), Park: [0139]).
Regarding claim 31, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 27 above.
Park further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the RAT of the first cell is a New Radio access technology (FIG. 11A, FIG. 11B, FIG. 11C, FIG. 11D, FIG. 11E, and FIG. 11F show examples for architectures of tight interworking between a 5G RAN and a long term evolution (LTE) radio access network (RAN). network may decide when the wireless device connects to which 5G RAN cell(s) or inter-RAT cell (e.g., LTE cell), Park: [0017], [0323]).
Regarding claim 32, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 27 above.
Park further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the first cell and the second cell are connected to a same 5th generation (5G) core network device (One or more gNBs and/or one or more ng-eNBs may be interconnected with each other by means of Xn interface. gNB or ng-eNB may be connected to 5G Core Network (5GC), Park: [0060]).
Regarding claim 33, Park discloses:
A computer program product comprising instructions that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and that, when executed by one or more processors, cause an apparatus to (non-transitory computer readable media may comprise instructions executable by one or more processors configured to cause operations of multi-carrier communications, Park: [0363]:
select or re-select to a second cell from a first cell through cell selection or re-selection (wireless device may perform cell selection/re-selection. mobility functions may comprise at least one of a handover (e.g. intra NR or inter-RAT), Park: [0071]-[0072]),
wherein a tracking area identifier (ID) list is allocated to the apparatus (the message may comprise at least one of tracking area information (e.g., TAI, registration area identifier, location area identifier, etc.), Park: [0257]-[0258]); and
the apparatus selects or re-selects from the first cell to the second cell (mobility functions which may comprise at least one of a handover (e.g. intra NR mobility or inter-RAT mobility) and a context transfer; or a wireless device cell selection and reselection and control of cell selection and reselection. RRC sublayer may support an RRC_Idle state, an RRC_Inactive state and/or an RRC_Connected state for a wireless device, Park: [0071]- [0072]),
Park does not explicitly disclose:
initiate a registration procedure when multiple conditions are met, wherein the multiple conditions comprise:
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ryu teaches:
initiate a registration procedure when multiple conditions are met, wherein the multiple conditions comprise (the UE attempts to register with the selected PLMN using the Initial Registration procedure, Ryu: [0176], [0201], [0212], [0315]-[0323]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Ryu in order to further modify initiating a registration procedure from the teachings of Ryu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the UE/user needs to register with
the network to receive service that requires registration (Ryu: [0171]).
Yet, Park and Ryu do not explicitly disclose:
the first cell and the second cell are in the tracking area ID list,
and radio access technology (RAT) of the first cell and the RAT of the second cell are different, and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches:
the first cell and the second cell are in the tracking area ID list (UE's report information may be last tracking area (TA) or last cell information, etc., and the report information may include a primary cell and/or a secondary cell. UE may include this IE (MSI information and cell identification information) to inform the MSI information and cell identification information to MME for MME to use this information when it pages this UE for incoming traffic, Lee: [0354], [0367], [0372]-[0374]),
and radio access technology (RAT) of the first cell and the RAT of the second cell are different (the network can control mobility (handover and inter-RAT cell change order of the UE. UE may select to establish a connection with an LTE system or a 5G cellular system and look into a possibility of using a Non-3GPP RAT, Lee: Fig. 25, [0125], [0463]), and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park and Ryu in view of Lee in order to further modify cell selection or re-selection and registration procedure from the teachings of Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved performance of a fast connection between a terminal and a network (Lee: [0005]).
Yet, Park-Ryu-Lee do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the registration procedure is for Non-Access Stratus (NAS) signaling connection recovery between the apparatus and an access and mobility management function entity.
However, in the same field of endeavor, DaSilva teaches:
wherein the registration procedure is for Non-Access Stratus (NAS) signaling connection recovery between the apparatus and an access and mobility management function entity (the wireless device triggers a NAS recovery procedure by performing a registration area update. UE in state 5GMM-REGISTERED shall initiate the registration procedure for mobility and periodic registration update by sending a REGISTRATION REQUEST message to the AMF, DaSilva: [0057], [0285], [0383]-[0389]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park-Ryu-Lee in view of DaSilva in order to further modify the registration procedure for Non-Access Stratus (NAS) signaling connection recovery between the apparatus and an access and mobility management function entity from the teachings of DaSilva.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the wireless device location tracking
may comprise both wireless device registration area tracking and wireless device reachability tracking
(DaSilva: [0150]).
Regarding claim 34, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 33 above.
Park further discloses:
The computer program product of claim 33, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to initiate the registration procedure (wireless device may include one or more processors, and one or more sets of program code instructions stored in non-transitory memory and executable. initial registration procedure may involve execution of network access control functions, Park: [0139]-[0140]):
when a non-access stratum layer of the apparatus receives indication information from an access stratum layer of the apparatus (services and/or functions of an RRC sublayer may comprise at least one of: broadcast of system information related to AS and NAS signalling, Park: [0071]),
Park does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein the indication information is about the cell selection or re-selection with different RAT.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches:
and wherein the indication information is about the cell selection or re-selection with different RAT (the network can control mobility (handover and inter-RAT cell change order of the UE. UE may select to establish a connection with an LTE system or a 5G cellular system and look into a possibility of using a Non-3GPP RAT, Lee: [0125], [0463]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Lee in order to further modify the indication information of cell selection or reselection with different RAT from the teachings of Lee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have improved performance of a fast connection between a terminal and a network (Lee: [0005]).
Regarding claim 35, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 33 above.
Park further discloses:
The computer program product of claim 33, wherein the registration procedure comprises an initial registration procedure (initial registration procedure may involve execution of network access control functions, Park: [0139]).
Regarding claim 36, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 33 above.
Park further discloses:
The computer program product of claim 33, wherein the registration procedure comprises a mobility and periodic registration update procedure (wireless device may need to register with the network to receive services that require registration. wireless device may update its registration with the network, e.g., periodically, after the wireless device is registered, to remain reachable (e.g., periodic registration update), on mobility (e.g. mobility registration update), Park: [0139]).
Regarding claim 37, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 33 above.
Park further discloses:
The computer program product of claim 33, wherein the RAT of the first cell comprises a New Radio access technology or an evolved universal terrestrial radio access technology (network may decide when the wireless device connects to which 5G RAN cell(s) or inter-RAT cell (e.g., LTE cell), Park: [0323]).
Regarding claim 38, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 33 above.
Park further discloses:
The computer program product of claim 33, wherein the first cell and the second cell are connected to a same 5th generation (5G) core network device (One or more gNBs and/or one or more ng-eNBs may be interconnected with each other by means of Xn interface. gNB or ng-eNB may be connected to 5G Core Network (5GC), Park: [0060]).
Regarding claim 39, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 21 above.
Park further discloses:
The communication method of claim 21, wherein the RAT of the first cell is an evolved universal terrestrial radio access technology (FIG. llA, FIG. 11B, FIG. llC, FIG. llD, FIG. llE, and FIG. llF are examples for architectures of tight interworking between a 5G RAN and an LTE RAN. A master base station may be an LTE eNB. network may decide when the wireless device connects to which 5G RAN cell(s) or inter-RAT cell (e.g., LTE cell), Park: [0101]-[0102], [0323]).
Regarding claim 40, Park-Ryu-Lee-DaSilva teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 27 above.
Park further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the RAT of the first cell is an evolved universal terrestrial radio access technology (FIG. 11A, FIG. 11B, FIG. 11C, FIG. 11D, FIG. 11E, and FIG. 11F are examples for architectures of tight interworking between a 5G RAN and an LTE RAN. A master base station may be an LTE eNB. network may decide when the wireless device connects to which 5G RAN cell(s) or inter-RAT cell (e.g., LTE cell), Park: [0101]-[0102], [0323]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
be directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM EST.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467