DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application and claim set filed July 14, 2022, and the Response to Restriction Requirement filed December 30, 2025. Claims 1-26 are currently pending. Claims 1-3 and 7-15 are under examination.
Non-elected claims 4-6 and 16-26 are WITHDRAWN.
Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 13-15 are REJECTED for the reasons set forth below.
Claims 10-12 are OBJECTED TO as depending from a rejected claim, but otherwise contain allowable subject matter.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species I, claims 1-3 and 7-15, in the reply filed on December 30, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3 and 7-15 are under examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation of PCT/JP2021/001317, filed January 15, 2021, which claims priority to JP 2020-004383, filed January 15, 2020. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. (WO 2018/026017) in view of Kagiya et al. (US 3,838,030).
The examiner will refer to the US version of Yoshida (US 10,538,605).
Regarding claims 1-3, Yoshida teaches a method of producing low molecular weight PTFE comprising the following steps:
(col. 2, lines 16-29.) Yoshida further teaches that the resulting low molecular weight PTFE may then be heated at temperatures preferably between 100 and 130°C. (col. 6, lines 12-22.) Heating the PTFE deactivates any remaining radical chain ends. (See Published Specification at para. [0118].)
The difference between Yoshida and the present claims is that the additives in the irradiation step (including chlorinated hydrocarbons) do not include those recited in claim 1. However, using these additives during irradiation of PTFE is known in the art. For example, Kagiya teaches a process for irradiating PTFE in the presence of oxygen and either halogenated methanes such as chloromethane or H2. (col. 1, lines 48-58; Example 3.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the additives of Kagiya (O2 and H2) in place of the additives of Yoshida (particularly the chlorinated hydrocarbons) with the reasonable expectation of forming a useful low molecular weight PTFE because Kagiya identifies both H2 and chloromethane as useful additives in the irradiation process. (See MPEP 2143(I)(B).)
Regarding claim 7, Yoshida teaches that the additive is present in the preferred amount of 0.001 to 10 mass%, relative to the amount of PTFE. (col. 3, lines 42-46.)
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Yoshida teaches that the radiation in the irradiation process has a preferred dose of 100 to 750 kGy. (col. 4, line 66 – col. 5, line 2.)
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida teaches that the resulting PTFE has a specific gravity of preferably 2.130 to 2.230. (col. 2, lines 32-33.)
Regarding claim 14, Yoshida teaches that both the irradiated PTFE and resulting low molecular weight PTFE are preferably in the form of a powder. (col. 2, lines 34-36.)
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida teaches that the resulting low molecular weight PTFE is heated up to a temperature lower than the primary melting point to provide a molded article with a specific gravity of 1.0 g/cm3 or higher. (col. 5, lines 12-29.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 10-12 contain allowable subject matter over the closest prior art, Yoshida in view of Kagiya. While Yoshida teaches that the irradiation process preferably contains substantially no oxygen (see col. 2, lines 30-31), the process of Kagiya (irradiating PTFE in the presence of O2 and either halogenated methane or H2) requires that O2 be present. Accordingly, when considering the teachings of both Yoshida and Kagiya, a person of ordinary skill would not reasonably conclude that adding just H2 as the additive in the process of Yoshida would result in a desirable low molecular weight PTFE. Thus, Yoshida in view of Kagiya does not teach or fairly suggest an irradiation process conducted in an substantially oxygen-free state.
Conclusion
CATHERINE S. BRANCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763