Claims 1-16 and 19-22 are pending.
Claims 17 and 18 are cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,4,5,8,11,13-16, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lee et al, US 20220132518 A1, in view of Mochizuki et al, US 20200186312 A1, in view of Zakaria et al, US 20180234943 A1, in view of Park et al, US 20210250937 A1, and further in view of Eunjong et al, US 20240292232 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a device ([0048] communication device), comprising:
a processing system including a processor ([0256] the processor(s) 102 may process information);
and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations ([0260] The one or more memories 104 and 204 may be connected to the one or more processors 102 and 202 and store various types of data, signals, messages, information, programs, code, instructions, and/or commands.), the operations comprising:
obtaining data, wherein the data includes first data that indicates an amount of mobility of a user equipment ([0197] When a network designates a UE as a stationary UE, a UE with low mobility, or a UE with limited mobility or when the UE determines by itself that the UE is in the stationary state, low mobility state, or limited mobility state.),
and transmitting at least one message to the user equipment so that the user equipment is configured to adhere to the rules ([0197] If the measurement quality of a specific beam resource designated by the BS is above a prescribed level, the UE may monitor and receive a paging transmission resource mapped to the specific beam resource.).
Lee does not disclose second data that indicates a function that is facilitated as part of a communication service involving the user equipment,
However, Mochizuki does disclose second data that indicates a function that is facilitated as part of a communication service involving the user equipment([0931] The method for repeatedly transmitting the paging via the beams with a wide coverage is applied to a service having a long allowable latency, whereas the method for transmitting the paging through the beam sweeping is applied to a service having a short allowable latency.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with second data that indicates a function that is facilitated as part of a communication service involving the user equipment as taught by Mochizuki. The motivation for doing so would be to further quality improvement in retransmission through combination of the reception results of the first transmission and the reception results of the retransmission. (Mochizuki, [0021])
Lee and Mochizuki do not disclose and third data that indicates a requirement pertaining to a quality of service associated with the communication service;
However, Zakaria does disclose and third data that indicates a requirement pertaining to a quality of service associated with the communication service ([0034] Based on a QOS parameter value the respective Paging Priority IE value received by the SBSS 202 indicate that ordinary paging is
not performed, operations S226-S234 are not performed, and instead the SBSS 202 proceeds directly
to alerting (S236));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Mochizuki with and third data that indicates a requirement pertaining to a quality of service associated with the communication service as taught by Zakaria. The motivation for doing so would be to improve utilization of limited satellite transmission resources. (Zakaria, [0025])
Lee, Mochizuki, and Zakaria do not disclose wherein the rules specify a number of beams to use when sending paging messages, a paging transmission delivery sequence, or a combination thereof,
However, Park does disclose wherein the rules specify a number of beams to use when sending paging messages, a paging transmission delivery sequence, or a combination thereof([0043] The BS may be capable of transmitting a paging communication to the UE using one of the selected beams. However, due to UE mobility and/or other factors, the best beam(s) (or beams that satisfied the signal strength and/or signal quality thresholds) that were selected prior to the UE transitioning to the idle mode or the inactive mode may be outdated.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Mochizuki, and Zakaria with wherein the rules specify a number of beams to use when sending paging messages, a paging transmission delivery sequence, or a combination thereof as taught by Park. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spectral efficiency and lower costs. (Park, [0005])
Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, and Park do not disclose based on the obtaining of the data, analyzing the data using at least one algorithm to establish rules in relation to paging involving beams of network infrastructure and the user equipment, and wherein the at least one algorithm includes a machine learning-based algorithm, an artificial intelligence-based algorithm, or a combination thereof.
However, Eunjong does disclose based on the obtaining of the data, analyzing the data using at least one algorithm to establish rules in relation to paging involving beams of network infrastructure and the user equipment ([0106][0107] [0189][0239] Machine learning requires data and learning models. In the machine learning, a data learning method may be roughly divided into three methods, that is, supervised learning, unsupervised learning and reinforcement learning. The neural network learning refers to a process of repeatedly inputting training data to a neural network. The ML model may be a model that has been trained based on supervised learning, unsupervised learning, reinforcement learning, or the like. And/or, when output candidate beams are output by softmax, beams up to an N-th output value may be defined as candidate beams for the serving beam based on N value determined by the base station or by a specific rule. And/or, when a UE with a connection to a specific beam used as an input value (i.e., a serving beam to which an index is input) measures surrounding beams, beams that are predicted/judged/learned to have the highest intensity may be candidate beams. The UE may select one qualified beam through SSB measurement and receive a paging message/SDT message mapped to a resource associated with it.),
and wherein the at least one algorithm includes a machine learning-based algorithm, an artificial intelligence-based algorithm, or a combination thereof([0098][0191][0246] Advance in machine learning will create a more intelligent network for real-time communication in 6G. When AI is introduced to communication, real-time data transmission can be simplified and improved. And/or, the base station may also transmit, to the UE, information on the number (N) of candidate beams derived together with the information (e.g., the information on the algorithm/ML model for deriving the optimal candidate beams). The UE derives only N optimal candidate beams among all the SSBs based on the first selected SSB (or serving beam) using the ML model and performs a measurement only on the optimal candidate beams to select a qualified beam. The UE may also receive a paging message associated with the selected beam. );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, and Park with based on the obtaining of the data, analyzing the data using at least one algorithm to establish rules in relation to paging involving beams of network infrastructure and the user equipment, and wherein the rules specify a number of beams to use when sending paging messages, a paging transmission delivery sequence, or a combination thereof as taught by Eunjong. The motivation for doing so would be to increase efficiency and reduce processing delay using AI. (Eunjong, [0098])
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the device wherein the network infrastructure includes a first base station that is configured to emit a first plurality of beams, and wherein the rules indicate that the user equipment is to scan for the paging messages using a second plurality of beams included in the first plurality of beams([0197] When the UE determines by itself that the UE is in the stationary state, low mobility state, or limited mobility state, if the measurement quality of a specific beam resource designated by the BS is above a prescribed level, the UE may monitor and receive a paging transmission resource mapped to the specific beam resource.).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the device wherein the network infrastructure includes a second base station that is configured to emit a third plurality of beams, and wherein the rules indicate that the user equipment is to scan for the paging messages using a fourth plurality of beams included in the third plurality of beams([0197] When the UE determines by itself that the UE is in the stationary state, low mobility state, or limited mobility state, if the measurement quality of a specific beam resource designated by the BS is above a prescribed level, the UE may monitor and receive a paging transmission resource mapped to the specific beam resource.).
Regarding claim 5, Lee does not disclose the device wherein the data includes fourth data that indicates a type of the user equipment.
However, Mochizuki does disclose the device wherein the data includes fourth data that indicates a type of the user equipment([0207] FIG. 8 data for the UE #1.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with as the device wherein the data includes fourth data that indicates a type of the user equipment taught by Mochizuki. The motivation for doing so would be to increase spectral efficiency and communication capacity. (Mochizuki, [0043]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee does disclose the device wherein the rules indicate that the network infrastructure is to send the paging messages directed to the user equipment using a first plurality of beams included in the beams([0197] a UE with low mobility, or a UE with limited mobility or when the UE determines by itself that the UE is in the stationary state, low mobility state, or limited mobility state, if the measurement quality of a specific beam resource designated by the BS is above a prescribed level, the UE may monitor and receive a paging transmission resource mapped to the specific beam resource.).
Regarding claim 11, Lee does not disclose the device wherein the at least one beam corresponds to a beam that the user equipment was last camped on prior to entering an idle mode of operation.
However, Mochizuki does disclose the device wherein the at least one beam corresponds to a beam that the user equipment was last camped on prior to entering an idle mode of operation ([0925] The cell can transmit the paging to the UE via the beams with a wide coverage. The UE in an idle state can receive the beams with a wide coverage.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the device wherein the at least one beam corresponds to a beam that the user equipment was last camped on prior to entering an idle mode of operation as taught by Mochizuki. The motivation for doing so would be to increase spectral efficiency and communication capacity. (Mochizuki, [0043])
Regarding claim 13, Lee does disclose the device wherein the operations further comprise:receiving a second message from the user equipment that indicates that the user equipment has exited a coverage of a first beam of the beams and has entered a coverage of a second beam of the beams([0023] Receive the paging message on the second beam resource. The second beam resource may be determined from among the new beam resources selected by the UE).
Regarding claim 14, Lee does disclose the device wherein the operations further comprise ([0158] the UE may perform a random access operation.):
transmitting a first paging message of the paging messages to the user equipment using a first beam of the beams ([0197] The UE may monitor and receive a paging transmission resource mapped to the specific beam resource.);
determining that a response is not received from the user equipment within a threshold amount of time relative to the transmitting of the first paging message ([0018] receive a paging message on the specific beam resources based on measurement quality of the specific beam resources greater than or equal to a specific threshold);
and based on the determining that the response is not received from the user equipment within the threshold amount of time ([0222] When the indicated one or more SSB indices are not the best SSB index for a prescribed period of time),
transmitting a second paging message to the user equipment using at least a second beam of the beams ([0232] The UE and BS may perform paging transmission/reception based on one or more SSB indices newly reported by the UE).
Regarding claim 15, Lee does not disclose the device wherein the at least a second beam includes a second beam and a third beam.
However, Mochizuki does disclose the device wherein the at least a second beam includes a second beam and a third beam ([0661] FIG. 24A DL/UL data subframe 3205 in which downlink data and uplink data are transmitted is interposed between the downlink beam sweeping block 3201 and the uplink beam sweeping block 3203.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the device wherein the at least a second beam includes a second beam and a third beam as taught by Mochizuki. The motivation for doing so would be to increase spectral efficiency and communication capacity. (Mochizuki, [0043])
Regarding claim 16, Lee does not disclose the device wherein the second beam and the third beam are adjacent to the first beam.
However, Mochizuki does disclose the device wherein the second beam and the third beam are adjacent to the first beam ([0665] A PBCH, and a reference signal (RS) are transmitted via each of the beams in the downlink beam sweeping block 3201. In the uplink beam sweeping block, the RACH resource, etc. is allocated by the respective beams.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with the device wherein the second beam and the third beam are adjacent to the first beam as taught by Mochizuki. The motivation for doing so would be to increase spectral efficiency and communication capacity. (Mochizuki, [0043]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee does disclose the method wherein the network element identifies the first plurality of beams based on ([0197] The UE may monitor and receive a paging transmission resource mapped to the specific beam resource.):
an identity of a user of the processing system, an identity of an application executed by the processing system ([0095] The UE establishes synchronization with the BS based on the PSS/SSS and acquires information such as a cell identity (ID)),
an amount of mobility of the processing system ([0197] When a network designates a UE as a stationary UE, a UE with low mobility, or a UE with limited mobility or when the UE determines by itself that the UE is in the stationary state, low mobility state, or limited mobility state.),
Lee does not disclose a quality of service that is required by the application, or any combination thereof.
However, Mochizuki does disclose a quality of service that is required by the application, or any combination thereof ([0931] The method for repeatedly transmitting the paging via the beams with a wide coverage is applied to a service having a long allowable latency, whereas the method for transmitting the paging through the beam sweeping is applied to a service having a short allowable latency.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with a quality of service that is required by the application, or any combination thereof as taught by Mochizuki. The motivation for doing so would be to increase spectral efficiency and communication capacity. (Mochizuki, [0043])
Regarding claim 22, Lee does disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium ([0024] nontransitory computer readable medium) of wherein the first plurality of beams is identified based on: an identity of a user of the processing system ([0197] The UE may monitor and receive a paging transmission resource mapped to the specific beam resource.), an identity of an application executed by the processing system, an amount of mobility of the processing system ([0197] When a network designates a UE as a stationary UE, a UE with low mobility, or a UE with limited mobility or when the UE determines by itself that the UE is in the stationary state, low mobility state, or limited mobility state ), Lee does not disclose and a quality of service that is required by the application.
However, Mochizuki does disclose and a quality of service that is required by the application ([0931] The method for repeatedly transmitting the paging via the beams with a wide coverage is applied to a service having a long allowable latency, whereas the method for transmitting the paging through the beam sweeping is applied to a service having a short allowable latency.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with and a quality of service that is required by the application as taught by Mochizuki. The motivation for doing so would be to increase spectral efficiency and communication capacity. (Mochizuki, [0043])
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lee et al, US 20220132518 A1, in view of Mochizuki et al, US 20200186312 A1, in view of Zakaria et al, US 20180234943 A1, in view of Park et al, US 20210250937 A1, and in view of Eunjong et al, US 20240292232 A1, and further in view of Gao et al, US 20220417915 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong do not disclose the device wherein a first count of beams included in the first plurality of beams is greater than a second count of beams included in the second plurality of beams.
However, Gao does disclose the device wherein a first count of beams included in the first plurality of beams is greater than a second count of beams included in the second plurality of beams ([0083] The second group of beams may be associated with a second number of beams to be measured per SSB that is greater than the first number).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong with the device wherein a first count of beams included in the first plurality of beams is greater than a second count of beams included in the second plurality of beams as taught by Gao. The motivation for doing so would be to improving the universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) mobile phone standard. (Gao, [0002]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lee et al, US 20220132518 A1, in view of Mochizuki et al, US 20200186312 A1, in view of Zakaria et al, US 20180234943 A1, in view of Park et al, US 20210250937 A1, and in view of Eunjong et al, US 20240292232 A1, and further in view of Park et al, US 20190182800 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong do not disclose the device wherein the user equipment is powered by a battery, and wherein the data includes fourth data that indicates a battery capacity of the battery or a remaining battery level of the battery.
However, Park does disclose the device wherein the user equipment is powered by a battery, and wherein the data includes fourth data that indicates a battery capacity of the battery or a remaining battery level of the battery ([0305] wireless device has no data to transmit/receive for a long period of time (e.g. for 24 hours or any other duration) and/or requires a very low battery consumption (e.g. requires 10 year battery life time or any other duration.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong with the device wherein the user equipment is powered by a battery, and wherein the data includes fourth data that indicates a battery capacity of the battery or a remaining battery level of the battery as taught by Park. The motivation for doing so would be to improve wireless communications by performing various beam procedures in a more timely and efficient manner. (Park, [0002])
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lee et al, US 20220132518 A1, in view of Mochizuki et al, US 20200186312 A1, in view of Zakaria et al, US 20180234943 A1, in view of Park et al, US 20210250937 A1, and in view of Eunjong et al, US 20240292232 A1, and further in view of Zhohov et al, US 20230180039 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong do not disclose the device wherein the data includes fourth data that indicates an amount of a network load.
However, Zhohov does disclose the device wherein the data includes fourth data that indicates an amount of a network load([0057] the amount of data transmitted is reduced, lowering the overall load of the network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong with the device wherein the data includes fourth data that indicates an amount of a network load as taught by Zhohov. The motivation for doing so would be to improve efficiency of operation, increase throughput, reduce congestion etc. (Zhohov, [0136])).
Claims 9,10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lee et al, US 20220132518 A1, in view of Mochizuki et al, US 20200186312 A1, in view of Zakaria et al, US 20180234943 A1, in view of Park et al, US 20210250937 A1, and in view of Eunjong et al, US 20240292232 A1, and further in view of Zhao et al, US 20200344703 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong do not disclose the device wherein the at least one message includes a respective identifier of each beam included in the first plurality of beams.
However, Zhao does disclose the device wherein the at least one message includes a respective identifier of each beam included in the first plurality of beams ([0003] [0094] A paging- scheduling signaling message may be transmitted in a beam scanning way, a paging message may be transmitted on a time resource corresponding to each beam direction. The cell-level broadcast signaling message is scrambled by an RNTI for identifying a cell.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong with the device wherein the at least one message includes a respective identifier of each beam included in the first plurality of beams as taught by Zhao. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the expense of beam scanning under the condition that more high-frequency beams exist. (Zhao, [0004])
Regarding claim 10, Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong do not disclose the device wherein based on the transmitting of the at least one message the user equipment scans at least one beam included in the first plurality of beams based on at least one identifier of the at least one beam.
However, Zhao does disclose the device wherein based on the transmitting of the at least one message the user equipment scans at least one beam included in the first plurality of beams based on at least one identifier of the at least one beam ([0003] [0094] A paging-scheduling signaling message may be transmitted in a beam scanning way, a paging message may be transmitted on a time resource corresponding to each beam direction. The cell-level broadcast signaling message is scrambled by an RNTI for identifying a cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong with the device wherein based on the transmitting of the at least one message the user equipment scans at least one beam included in the first plurality of beams based on at least one identifier of the at least one beam as taught by Zhao. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the expense of beam scanning under the condition that more high-frequency beams exist. (Zhao, [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong do not disclose the device wherein the rules indicate a periodicity or rate at which the user equipment reports an identifier of a beam that the user equipment is camped to.
However, Zhao does disclose the device wherein the rules indicate a periodicity or rate at which the user equipment reports an identifier of a beam that the user equipment is camped to ([0003] [0094] A terminal may scan through a transmitted and/or received beam to determine a transmitted and/or received beam corresponding to the paging-scheduling signaling message. The usergroup-level broadcast signaling message is scrambled by an RNTI for identifying a user group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Mochizuki, Zakaria, Park, and Eunjong with the device wherein the rules indicate a periodicity or rate at which the user equipment reports an identifier of a beam that the user equipment is camped to as taught by Zhao. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the expense of beam scanning under the condition that more high-frequency beams exist. (Zhao, [0004]).
Claims 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lee et al, US 20220132518 A1, in view of Zhao et al, US 20200344703 A1, in view of Park et al, US 20210250937 A1, and further in view of Eunjong et al, US 20240292232 A1.
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a processing system including a processor, a message from a network element that identifies a first plurality of beams that the processing system is to scan for paging messages ([0197] When the UE determines by itself that the UE is in the stationary state, low mobility state, or limited mobility state, if the measurement quality of a specific beam resource designated by the BS is above a prescribed level, the UE may monitor and receive a paging transmission resource mapped to the specific beam resource),
wherein the first plurality of beams is included as part of a second plurality of beams that is emitted by network infrastructure, wherein a first count of the first plurality of beams is less than a second count of the second plurality of beams ([0197] when the measurement quality of the specific beam resource is less than the prescribed level, the UE may select a new beam resource and report the new beam resource to the BS.),
Lee does not disclose and scanning, by the processing system and based on the receiving of the message, each beam included in the first plurality of beams for a paging message directed to the processing system.
However, Zhao does disclose and scanning, by the processing system and based on the receiving of the message, each beam included in the first plurality of beams for a paging message directed to the processing system ([0003] [0094] A terminal may scan through a transmitted and/or received beam to determine a transmitted and/or received beam corresponding to the paging-scheduling signaling message. The user-group-level broadcast signaling message is scrambled by an RNTI for identifying a user group.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with and scanning, by the processing system and based on the receiving of the message, each beam included in the first plurality of beams for a paging message directed to the processing system as taught by Zhao. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the expense of beam scanning under the condition that more high-frequency beams exist. (Zhao, [0004]).
Lee and Zhao do not disclose and wherein the paging messages are specified by rules, and wherein the rules specify a number of beams to use when sending the paging messages and a paging transmission delivery sequence,
However, Park does disclose and wherein the paging messages are specified by rules, and wherein the rules specify a number of beams to use when sending the paging messages and a paging transmission delivery sequence(([0043] The BS may be capable of transmitting a paging communication to the UE using one of the selected beams. However, due to UE mobility and/or other factors, the best beam(s) (or beams that satisfied the signal strength and/or signal quality thresholds) that were selected prior to the UE transitioning to the idle mode or the inactive mode may be outdated.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Zhao with and wherein the paging messages are specified by rules, and wherein the rules specify a number of beams to use when sending the paging messages and a paging transmission delivery sequence as taught by Park. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spectral efficiency and lower costs. (Park, [0005])),
Lee, Zhao, and Park do not disclose wherein the rules are established based on a use of at least one algorithm, and wherein the at least one algorithm includes a machine learning-based algorithm, an artificial intelligence-based algorithm, or a combination thereof;
However, Eunjong does disclose wherein the rules are established based on a use of at least one algorithm(([0106][0107] [0189][0239] Machine learning requires data and learning models. In the machine learning, a data learning method may be roughly divided into three methods, that is, supervised learning, unsupervised learning and reinforcement learning. The neural network learning refers to a process of repeatedly inputting training data to a neural network. The ML model may be a model that has been trained based on supervised learning, unsupervised learning, reinforcement learning, or the like. And/or, when output candidate beams are output by softmax, beams up to an N-th output value may be defined as candidate beams for the serving beam based on N value determined by the base station or by a specific rule. And/or, when a UE with a connection to a specific beam used as an input value (i.e., a serving beam to which an index is input) measures surrounding beams, beams that are predicted/judged/learned to have the highest intensity may be candidate beams. The UE may select one qualified beam through SSB measurement and receive a paging message/SDT message mapped to a resource associated with it.),
and wherein the at least one algorithm includes a machine learning-based algorithm, an artificial intelligence-based algorithm, or a combination thereof ([0098][0191][0246] Advance in machine learning will create a more intelligent network for real-time communication in 6G. When AI is introduced to communication, real-time data transmission can be simplified and improved. And/or, the base station may also transmit, to the UE, information on the number (N) of candidate beams derived together with the information (e.g., the information on the algorithm/ML model for deriving the optimal candidate beams). The UE derives only N optimal candidate beams among all the SSBs based on the first selected SSB (or serving beam) using the ML model and performs a measurement only on the optimal candidate beams to select a qualified beam. The UE may also receive a paging message associated with the selected beam. );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Zhao, and Park with wherein the rules are established based on a use of at least one algorithm, and wherein the at least one algorithm includes a machine learning-based algorithm, an artificial intelligence-based algorithm, or a combination thereof as taught by Eunjong. The motivation for doing so would be to increase efficiency and reduce processing delay using AI. (Eunjong, [0098])
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Lee et al, US 20220132518 A1, in view of Gao et al, US 20220417915 A1, in view of Zhao et al, US 20200344703 A1, and further in view of Park et al, US 20210250937 A1, and further in view of Eunjong et al, US 20240292232 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising ([0024] [0260] non-transitory computer readable medium. The one or more memories 104 and 204 may be connected to the one or more processors 102 and 202 and store various types of data, signals, messages, information, programs, code, instructions, and/or commands.):
Lee does not disclose wherein a first count of the first plurality of beams is less than a second count of the second plurality of beams,
However, Gao does disclose wherein a first count of the first plurality of beams is less than a second count of the second plurality of beams ([0087] Transmission beams with a timing offset less than T2 are placed in a third group (e.g., Beam Group 3) that is associated with measuring three transmission beams per SSB.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with wherein a first count of the first plurality of beams is less than a second count of the second plurality of beams as taught by Gao. The motivation for doing so would be to improving the universal mobile telecommunications system (UMTS) mobile phone standard. (Gao, [0002])
Lee and Gao do not disclose receiving a message that identifies a first plurality of beams that the processing system is to scan for paging messages, wherein the first plurality of beams is included as part of a second plurality of beams that is emitted by network infrastructure, wherein the paging messages are specified by rules, and wherein the rules specify a number of beams to use when sending the paging messages and a paging transmission delivery sequence, and scanning, based on the receiving of the message, each beam included in the first plurality of beams for a paging message.
However, Zhao does disclose receiving a message that identifies a first plurality of beams that the processing system is to scan for paging messages ([0017] Receiving, by the terminal, the pagingscheduling signaling message according to a multiplexing mode of the synchronization block and the paging-scheduling signaling message),
wherein the first plurality of beams is included as part of a second plurality of beams that is emitted by network infrastructure ([0087] The cell-level broadcast signaling message may be scrambled by a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) for identifying a cell where the terminal is located so that all the terminals in the corresponding cells may receive the broadcast signaling message.), wherein the paging messages are specified by rules,
and scanning, based on the receiving of the message, each beam included in the first plurality of beams for a paging message ([0003] [0094] A paging-scheduling signaling message may be transmitted in a beam scanning way, a paging message may be transmitted on a time resource corresponding to each beam direction. The cell-level broadcast signaling message is scrambled by an RNTI for identifying a cell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Gao with receiving a message that identifies a first plurality of beams that the processing system is to scan for paging messages, wherein the first plurality of beams is included as part of a second plurality of beams that is emitted by network infrastructure, and scanning, by the processing system and based on the receiving of the message, each beam included in the first plurality of beams for a paging message directed to the processing system as taught by Zhao. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce the expense of beam scanning under the condition that more high-frequency beams exist. (Zhao, [0004]).
However, Park does disclose and wherein the rules specify a number of beams to use when sending the paging messages and a paging transmission delivery sequence ([0043] The BS may be capable of transmitting a paging communication to the UE using one of the selected beams. However, due to UE mobility and/or other factors, the best beam(s) (or beams that satisfied the signal strength and/or signal quality thresholds) that were selected prior to the UE transitioning to the idle mode or the inactive mode may be outdated.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Gao, and Zhao with wherein the paging messages are specified by rules, and wherein the rules specify a number of beams to use when sending the paging messages and a paging transmission delivery sequence as taught by Park. The motivation for doing so would be to improve spectral efficiency and lower costs. (Park, [0005])
Lee, Gao, Zhao, and Park do not disclose wherein the rules are established based on a use of at least one algorithm, and wherein the at least one algorithm includes a machine learning-based algorithm, an artificial intelligence-based algorithm, or a combination thereof;
However, Eunjong does disclose wherein the rules are established based on a use of at least one algorithm([0106][0107] [0189][0239] Machine learning requires data and learning models. In the machine learning, a data learning method may be roughly divided into three methods, that is, supervised learning, unsupervised learning and reinforcement learning. The neural network learning refers to a process of repeatedly inputting training data to a neural network. The ML model may be a model that has been trained based on supervised learning, unsupervised learning, reinforcement learning, or the like. And/or, when output candidate beams are output by softmax, beams up to an N-th output value may be defined as candidate beams for the serving beam based on N value determined by the base station or by a specific rule. And/or, when a UE with a connection to a specific beam used as an input value (i.e., a serving beam to which an index is input) measures surrounding beams, beams that are predicted/judged/learned to have the highest intensity may be candidate beams. The UE may select one qualified beam through SSB measurement and receive a paging message/SDT message mapped to a resource associated with it.),
and wherein the at least one algorithm includes a machine learning-based algorithm, an artificial intelligence-based algorithm, or a combination thereof([0098][0191][0246] Advance in machine learning will create a more intelligent network for real-time communication in 6G. When AI is introduced to communication, real-time data transmission can be simplified and improved. And/or, the base station may also transmit, to the UE, information on the number (N) of candidate beams derived together with the information (e.g., the information on the algorithm/ML model for deriving the optimal candidate beams). The UE derives only N optimal candidate beams among all the SSBs based on the first selected SSB (or serving beam) using the ML model and performs a measurement only on the optimal candidate beams to select a qualified beam. The UE may also receive a paging message associated with the selected beam. );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Gao, Zhao, and Park with wherein the rules are established based on a use of at least one algorithm, and wherein the at least one algorithm includes a machine learning-based algorithm, an artificial intelligence-based algorithm, or a combination thereof as taught by Eunjong. The motivation for doing so would be to increase efficiency and reduce processing delay using AI. (Eunjong, [0098])
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 and 19-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419