DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “determine that cargo has been removed from the cargo vehicle”; “receive weight data from one or more weight sensors disposed on a cargo vehicle”; and “calibrate the one or more weight sensors based on the empty weight”) read into the prior art of record, i.e. U.S. Patent No. 10,551,241 to Mount et al hereinafter “Mount”.
The applicant argues that “…Mount simply describes weighing the vehicle in multiple different conditions to provide accuracy over a range of weights…For example, in a first loading condition of the vehicle (e.g., empty)….” at Column 8, lines 1-6. The Examiner respectfully disagrees wherein the claimed limitation of the determination that “…cargo has been removed from the cargo vehicle…” is being interpreted as the cargo within the container being removed which results in an empty container or the container being in an empty state as found in Column 8, lines 1-13 of Mount. Claim 1 does not recite the determination of the cargo container as a whole being removed from the vehicle.
Also, the claimed limitation of the calibration of the one or more weight sensors (111 & 116, i.e. scales) being based on the empty weight is cited in Column 7, lines 18-28 & Column 8, lines 1-13 of Mount.
Also, the applicant argues that “…Mount fails to teach, disclose, or suggest a system configured to receive weight data from one or more weight sensors disposed on a cargo vehicle…as recited in Claim 1.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees wherein the claimed limitation of the processor receiving weight data from one or more weight sensors (116, i.e. scale) disposed on a cargo vehicle (110, i.e. trailer) is found in Column 5, lines 11-44 of Mount as seen in Figure 1. The scale (116) are sensors that may include load cells, resistance sensors, air pressure sensors, deflection-type sensors, and/or the like, or any combination of these as stated in Column 5, lines 32-44 of Mount.
For these reasons, the Examiner believes that the claimed limitations, i.e. “determine that cargo has been removed from the cargo vehicle”; “receive weight data from one or more weight sensors disposed on a cargo vehicle”; and “calibrate the one or more weight sensors based on the empty weight”, still reads into the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mount et al (US 10551241 B2) “hereinafter Mount”.
In regards to claim 1, Mount teaches a sensor controller comprising: a processor (304); and a memory (306), the memory (306) having stored thereon computer program code that, when executed by the processor (304), controls the processor (304) to (Column 8, lines 15-52): receive weight data from one or more weight sensors (114 & 116, i.e. scale) disposed on a cargo vehicle (102) (Column 5, lines 32-44); determine that cargo has been removed from the cargo vehicle (102); determine, based on the weight data, an empty weight of the cargo vehicle (102); and calibrate the one or more weight sensors (114 & 116) based on the empty weight (Column 7, line 57 – Column 8, line 13).
In regards to claim 4, Mount teaches wherein the computer program code, when executed by the processor (304), further controls the processor (304) to verify the cargo vehicle (102) is empty, before calibrating the weight sensors (114 & 116), by monitoring vibrations of the cargo vehicle (102) when the cargo vehicle (102) is in motion (Column 5, lines 34-44).
In regards to claim 6, Mount teaches wherein the computer program code, when executed by the processor (304), further controls the processor (304) to: monitor weight data from the one or more weight sensors (114 & 116) over time (Column 6, lines 35-53); and determine cargo unloading times based on changes to the weight data while the cargo vehicle (102) is stopped (Column 6, lines 35-53).
In regards to claim 15, Mount teaches wherein the weight data is received from a plurality of weight sensors (114 & 116) (Column 5, lines 45-63), at least one weight sensor of the plurality of weight sensors (114 & 116) being disposed on each axle of the cargo vehicle (102) (Column 5, lines 20-44).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mount et al (US 10551241 B2) “hereinafter Mount” in view of Watanabe (US 10132674 B2).
In regards to claim 14, Mount teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the sensor controller determines a deflection of the cargo vehicle based on data received from an accelerometer.
Watanabe teaches a loading weight detection device for weighing cargo further comprising a sensor controller (30a, i.e. data processing apparatus) determines a deflection of the cargo vehicle (10) based on data received from an accelerometer (21, i.e. acceleration sensor) (Column 9, lines 15-50).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention being made to provide a sensor controller that determines a deflection of the cargo vehicle based on data received from an accelerometer as taught by Watanabe into the sensor controller of Mount for the purpose of providing a loading weight detection device that is applicable to a great variety of mobile bodies, and can accurately detect a loading weight with a minimized number of input variables.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In regards to claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 11 & 16, the reasons for allowance have been previously stated in the office actions filed on 07/09/2025 and 09/23/2024.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L.J/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855