DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments, Amendments
Applicant is thanked for their request for reconsideration under 37CFR §1.116, in response to the April 1, 2026 final office action. The remarks filed have been fully considered and are persuasive, and therefore the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made, below.
Specification Objections
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). The claims filed December 4, 2025 recite subject matter not found in the original disclosure, and so Applicant is welcome to amend the specification acknowledging that such amendments would have priority to the December 4, 2025 filing date.
As originally filed, only specification paragraph [0063/0064]1 provides support for limitations reciting wherein the breezeless member “blocks”2 airflow from the front side, where the volume of the air blown through the front side is “reduced”. An operation of the outer deflector3 and the rotation flow guide4 wherein they “block” an air outlet is not discussed.
Accordingly, correction of the specification is required to disclose wherein “an outer deflector … configured to move between one or more open positions where the outer deflector does not block …and a closed position where the outer deflector blocks..”, and the rotation flow guide is configured to …block an air outlet end…”
Claim Objections
In re Claim 1, in view of the antecedence for “a bottom side of the first air outlet” in line 12, the limitation “a bottom side of the first air outlet” in line 13 is unclear. For purposes of examination, line 13 has been understood as if to read, “[[a]] the bottom side of the first air outlet”.
In re Claim 18, the limitation “a second drive motor” is unclear, as Claim 1 lacks antecedence for a “first drive motor”5. For purposes of examination, the limitation has been understood as if to disclose, “a [[first]] flow guide drive motor”
Claims 2 – 4, 6, and 8 – 23 are objected, as being dependent from an objected base claim.
Claim Interpretation
In re Claims 1 – 4, 6, 8, 9, 14 – 19, and 21 – 23: the limitations “block”6 and “closed” have been interpreted as “impeded”.
As an analogy, a window screen “blocks” and/or “closes” a window frame opening, allowing airflow to pass through the window frame opening.
In re Claim 20, the limitation “block” has been interpreted as “occlude”, which aligns with Applicants disclosure in specification paragraph [0089].
As an analogy, a window pane “blocks” and/or “closes” a window frame opening, preventing objects from passing therethrough.
As explained in MPEP §2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. §112(f):
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. §112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In re Claim 1, the claim limitation(s) is/are: “a breezeless member configured to scatter air” has been interpreted as an element in a claim expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
The specification discloses that the corresponding structure of a “breezeless member” comprises:
an air-scattering device 22 and an air-scattering plate 21, wherein the air-scattering device 22 is located at an inner side of the air-scattering plate 21.
The air-scattering plate 21 has a first air-scattering structure 211, capable of scattering the airflow. The first air-scattering structure 211 is a plurality of air-scattering holes; or is a grid form having a hollow structure.
The air-scattering device 22 includes a mounting plate 221, a first air-scattering mechanism 222 [0079], and a limiting plate 23 connected between the mounting plate 221 and the air-scattering plate 21 [0080].
(1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. §112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. §112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 9, 14 – 16, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over He et al (CN 207555772).
In re Claims 1, 2, and 21, He et al discloses an air-conditioning indoor unit (fig 1, 2, 7, 10: (100))7 comprising:
a surface frame (10) comprising an air inlet (130) and a first air outlet (110), and a second air outlet (120)8,
wherein the first air outlet (110) is defined on a front lower part of the surface frame (as seen in, at least fig 8);
wherein the second air outlet (120) is defined on a least one of a left end or a right end of the surface frame2;
a breezeless member (20A) configured to scatter air (“calm sense pattern”) passing therethrough [0061, 0070, 0079], arranged at a front side (annotated, right) of the surface frame, and configured to move between an open position (figs 7, 8) where the breezeless member does not block a front side of the first air outlet and a closed position (figs 9, 10) where the breezeless member blocks the front side of the first air outlet;
an outer deflector (20B) configured to move between one or more open positions where the outer deflector does not block a bottom side of the first air outlet (figs 7, 8) and a closed position where the outer deflector blocks a bottom side of the first air outlet (figs 9, 10);
a heat exchanger (10) disposed within the surface frame; and
a fan (50) disposed within the surface frame,
wherein the air-conditioning indoor unit is configured to operate in:
a first operation mode group where the breezeless member (20A) is in the open position and the outer deflector (20B) is in one of the open positions (fig 8): and
a second operation mode group where the breezeless member (20A) is in the closed position and the outer deflector (20B) is in one of the open positions or the closed position (fig 10).
Claims 5 and 7 have been cancelled by Applicant
In re Claim 8, He et al discloses wherein the second operation mode group (fig 10) comprises at least one of:
a third operation mode where the bottom side of the first air outlet is closed by the outer deflector (20B) [0073]; or
a fourth operation mode where the outer deflector has one end abutting the breezeless member and another end spaced apart from the bottom of the surface frame to partially open the bottom side of the first air outlet.
In re Claim 9, He et al discloses wherein the outer deflector (20B) is configured to rotate between the closed position (fig 10) and the one or more open positions the airflow direction of the front air outlet 110 can be adjusted by controlling the first air guide plate 20A and the second air guide plate 20B to rotate to different angles“” [0074].
In re Claim 14, He et al discloses wherein the breezeless member (figs 11 – 14: (20A)) comprises
an air-scattering plate (fig 13: (20)); and
an air-scattering device (220A) disposed on the air-scattering plate (20) and located on an inner (interior) side of the air-scattering plate, the air-scattering plate (20) comprises a first air-scattering structure (230) and the air-scattering device comprises:
a mounting plate (annotated, below)having a plurality of first ventilation holes (220) [0071] and connected to the air-scattering plate (20); and
a first air-scattering mechanism (220A) disposed within the plurality of first ventilation holes (220) and comprising at least one of a first stationary blade) [0070] or a first rotatable blade, the first stationary blade being opposite to the first rotatable blade.
Claims 10 – 13 have been withdrawn by Applicant.
In re Claim 15, He et al discloses wherein the outer deflector (fig 14: (20B)) comprises a second air-scattering structure (230) [0079].
In re Claim 16, He et al discloses wherein:
the second air-scattering structure comprises a plurality of air-scattering holes (230) [0079] formed on the outer deflector; or
the outer deflector is formed in a grid form having a hollow structure as the second air- scattering structure; or
the second air-scattering structure comprises a plurality of second ventilation holes formed on the outer deflector and a plurality of second air-scattering mechanisms respectively disposed in the plurality of second ventilation holes, each of the plurality of second air-scattering mechanisms comprising at least one of a second stationary blade or a second rotatable blade, the second stationary blade being opposite to the second rotatable blade.
In re Claim 23, He et al discloses wherein when the air- conditioning indoor unit is operating in the second operation mode group (fig 10), the breezeless member (20A) abuts the outer deflector (20B).
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN 107910720).
In re Claims 1 and 6, Liu discloses an air-conditioning indoor unit (figs 1 – 8: (100)) comprising:
a surface frame (“a chassis, a front frame”) comprising an air inlet [0046] and a first air outlet (downstream of (110)) wherein the first air outlet is defined on a front lower part of the surface frame (as seen in the figures);
a breezeless member (170) configured to scatter air passing therethrough, arranged at a front side of the surface frame [0073], and configured to move in a manner that the breezeless member is movable between an open a first position (figs 2, 3) where the breezeless member does not block a front side of the first air outlet and a second closed position (figs 4, 5) where the breezeless member blocks the front side of the first air outlet [0074];
an outer deflector (140) movably disposed at the first air outlet, wherein the outer deflector is configured to move between one or more open positions (fig 2) where the outer deflector does not block a bottom side of the first air outlet and a closed position (figs 3 – 5) where the outer deflector blocks a bottom side of the first air outlet;
a heat exchanger disposed within the surface frame and a fan disposed within the surface frame ([0046], and as seen in the figures),
wherein the air-conditioning indoor unit is configured to operate in:
a first operation mode group (figs 2 – 3) where the breezeless member (170) is in the open position and the outer deflector (140) is in one of the open positions: and
a second operation mode group (figs 4 – 5) where the breezeless member (170) is in the closed position and the outer deflector (140) is in one of the open positions or the closed position;
wherein the first operation mode group (fig 2) comprises at least one of: a first operation mode or a second operation mode;
in the first operation mode, the front side of the first air outlet is opened by the breezeless member (170), and where the bottom side of the first air outlet is partially opened [0067] by the outer deflector (140); or
a second operation mode where air blown from the first air outlet is guided downwardly (“vertical position”) by moving and positioning the outer deflector (140) at the front side of the first air outlet [0069].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1 – 3, and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over He et al (CN 207555772) in view of Okamoto et al US 2016/0363328).
In re Claims 1 – 3, In an alternate interpretation, He et al discloses an air-conditioning indoor unit (fig 1, 2, 7 - 10) comprising:
a surface frame (100) comprising an air inlet (130) and a first air outlet (110), and a second air outlet (120)9,
wherein the first air outlet (110) is defined on a front lower part of the surface frame (as seen in, at least fig 8);
wherein the second air outlet (120) is defined on a least one of a left end or a right end of the surface frame2;
a panel (10) disposed at the front side of the surface frame and comprising a breezeless member (annotated below) configured to scatter air passing therethrough [0061, 0070, 0079, 0083], arranged at a front side (annotated, right) of the surface frame, and configured to move between an open position (figs 7, 8) where the breezeless member does not block a front side of the first air outlet and a closed position (fig 2) where the breezeless member blocks the front side of the first air outlet;
an outer deflector (20B) configured to move between one or more open positions where the outer deflector does not block a bottom side of the first air outlet (figs 7, 8) and a closed position where the outer deflector blocks a bottom side of the first air outlet (figs 9, 10);
a heat exchanger (10) disposed within the surface frame; and
a fan (50) disposed within the surface frame,
wherein the air-conditioning indoor unit is configured to operate in:
a first operation mode group where the breezeless member is in the open position and the outer deflector (20B) is in one of the open positions (fig 8): and
a second operation mode group where the breezeless member is in the closed position (fig 2) and the outer deflector (20B) is in one of the open positions or the closed position (apparent, as there are no other possible positions).
He et al lacks wherein the breezeless member is received disposed within the receiving chamber when the breezeless member is in the first open position.
Okamoto et al teaches an indoor air conditioning unit (figs 1A, 1B, 2A – 3B: (1)), comprising
a surface frame (fig 4: (6)) comprising an air inlet (23), and a first air outlet (27), wherein the first outlet is defined on a front lower part of the surface frame (as seen in fig 4);
[AltContent: textbox (FIG 7B)]
a cover member (8), an outer deflector (50), a rotation flow guide (52), and a panel (7);
wherein the panel (7) is disposed at a front side of the surface frame (6);
a receiving chamber (annotated, above) is defined between the panel (7) and the surface frame (6);
wherein the cover member (8) is disposed within the receiving chamber when the panel (7) is in the open position (figs 2B, 3B, 9B) where the cover member does not block a front side of the first air outlet (27).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify He et al, as taught by Okamoto et al, such that the breezeless member is formed as a member separate from the panel, the panel moving outwardly as the breezeless member moves upwardly to be disposed within a receiving chamber behind the panel when the breezeless member is in the first open position, the breezeless member moving independently of the panel, for the benefit of providing vertical installation space savings by reducing/eliminating the upward movement of the panel.
Claims 4 and 22 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over He et al (CN 207555772) in view of Nakamura (WO 2004/085929).
In re Claims 4 and 22, the system of He et al has been discussed, but is silent as to whether, when the air-conditioning indoor unit is in an OFF state the outer deflector is in the closed position, the breezeless member is in the closed position. However, the technique of closing an air outlet when an air-conditioning indoor unit is in an OFF in known, as evidenced by Nakamura.
Nakamura teaches an air conditioner (figs 7, 8: (2d) [0104 - 0112] comprising a surface frame (23) comprising an air inlet (25) and a first air outlet (26), wherein the first air outlet is defined on a front lower part of the surface frame (as seen in fig 8), wherein the first air outlet penetrates forwardly (as seen in fig 8a, at (26)) a front part of the surface frame and downwardly (as seen in fig 8b, at (29)) a bottom of the surface frame;
a cover member (247) arranged at a front side of the surface frame, and configured to move in a manner that the cover member is movable between an open a first position where the cover member does not block a front side of the first air outlet (fig 8a) and a second closed position where the cover member blocks the front side of the first air outlet (fig 7a);
an outer deflector (29) movably disposed at the first air outlet, wherein the outer deflector is configured to move between one or more open positions where the outer deflector does not block a bottom side of the first air outlet and a closed position where the outer deflector blocks a bottom side of the first air outlet [0065];
wherein the air-conditioning indoor unit is configured to operate in:
a first operation mode group (fig 8) where the cover member (247) is in the open position and the outer deflector (29) is in one of the open positions: and
a second operation mode group (fig 7) where the cover member (247) is in the closed position and the outer deflector (29) is in one of the open positions or the closed positions [0005, 0108 - 0110],
wherein when the air-conditioning indoor unit is in an OFF state (fig 7) the bottom side of the first air outlet is closed by the outer deflector (29) is in the closed position [0005], and the front side of the first air outlet is closed by the cover member (247) is in the closed position [0039], and
wherein, when the air- conditioning indoor unit is in the OFF state, the cover member abuts the outer deflector at the front side of the first air outlet, (fig 7) and
as a result, in the indoor unit 2d of the air conditioner 1, the external appearance of the indoor unit 2d when operation, as viewed from the front view, harmonizes with the interior wall surface, further improving its aesthetic appeal. [0111]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of He et al, as taught by Nakamura, such that when the air-conditioning indoor unit is in an OFF state the outer deflector is in the closed position, the breezeless member is in the closed position, to provide an improved aesthetic appeal.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over He et al (CN 207555772).
In re Claim 17, He et al discloses wherein the outer deflector (20a) is configured to move via a first drive motor disposed on the surface frame or on a base of the air-conditioning indoor unit [0057, 0072]. (In that He et al discloses the outer deflector (20B) is “rotatably disposed on the wall of the air outlet passage”[0072], and that the rotation angle can be controlled** to control the air outlet direction and air volume” [0057], He et al has been understood to disclose a drive motor** disposed on the surface frame.)
Claims 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 107910720), in view of Takada (US 2020/0240676)10.
In re clams 18 – 19, the system of Liu has been discussed, wherein:
the surface frame has an air outlet passage (110) in communication with the first air outlet; and
the air-conditioning indoor unit further comprises a rotation flow guide (annotated, below) provided in the air outlet passage and configured to rotate, todirect a volume of air blown from the air outlet passage towards one or more of the front side or bottom side of the first air outlet11;
wherein:
the rotation flow guide comprises an inner deflector that is rotatableabout a rotation axis located at or close to a middle of the inner deflector; or
the rotation flow guide (annotated in fig 5, below))12.
Liu is silent as to whether the rotation flow guide drive motor comprises a flow guide drive motor disposed on the surface frame or on the base of the air-conditioning unit.
Takada teaches an air conditioning indoor unit comprising a rotation flow guide (41) provided in an air outlet passage (35), the rotation flow guide configured to rotate, via a flow guide drive motor (45) disposed on the surface frame or on a base of the air-conditioning indoor unit (as seen in fig 3) [0070], to direct a volume of air blown from the air outlet passage towards one or more of the front side or bottom side of the first air outlet (3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Liu as taught by Takada, such that the system comprises a flow guide drive motor disposed on the surface frame or on the base of the air-conditioning unit for the benefit of providing actuation of the rotation flow guide independent of the flow guides/plates rotation, for improved user control .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art, either alone or in combination, fails to reasonable disclose or teach an air-conditioning indoor unit comprising:
a first air outlet is defined on a front lower part of a surface frame, wherein the first air outlet penetrates forwardly a front part of the surface frame and downwardly a bottom of the surface frame;
an air outlet passage in communication with the first air outlet
a breezeless member configured to scatter air passing through a first air outlet, arranged at a front side of the surface frame, and configured to move in a manner that the breezeless member is movable between an open a first position where the breezeless member does not block a front side of the first air outlet and a second closed position where the breezeless member blocks the front side of the first air outlet;
an outer deflector movably disposed at the first air outlet, wherein the outer deflector is configured to move between one or more open positions where the outer deflector does not block a bottom side of the first air outlet and a closed position where the outer deflector blocks a bottom side of the first air outlet;
wherein the air-conditioning indoor unit is configured to operate in:
a first operation mode group where the breezeless member is in the open position and the outer deflector is in one of the open positions: and
a second operation mode group where the breezeless member is in the closed position and the outer deflector is in one of the open positions or the closed position is in one of the open positions or the closed position when the breezeless member is at the first position, and
further comprises a rotation flow guide provided in the air outlet passage and configured to rotate, via a rotation flow guide drive motor to direct a volume of air blown from the air outlet passage towards one or more of the front side or bottom side of the first air outlet;
wherein, when the air-conditioning indoor unit is in an OFF state, the rotation flow guide is further configured to rotate to block13 an air outlet end of the air outlet passage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892: Notice of References Cited.
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866.217.9197 (toll-free). If you are a Pro Se inventor and would like assistance, please call the Pro Se assistance center at 866.767.3848. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, please call 800.786.9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571.272.1000.
/Frances F Hamilton/
Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 Specification paragraph [0064] as filed 07/15/22, paragraph [0063] in US 2022/0357074
2 Specification paragraph [0064] as filed 07/15/22, paragraph [0063] in US 2022/0357074
3 Claim 1
4 Claim 20
5 “A first drive motor” is disclosed in claim 17, not in claim 1.
6 Specification paragraph [0064] as filed 07/15/22, paragraph [0063] in US 2022/0357074
7 Claim 21
8 Claim 2
9 Claim 2
10 US 2020/0240676 filed 2017/10/18 (priority to WO 2019/077690 filed 2017/10/18, published 2019/04/25)
11 claim 18
12 claim 19
13 Please refer to the claim interpretations, above.