DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Species (b) (Figure 2) in the reply filed on 8-125 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement (i.e. applicant did not indicate that the election was made with or made without traverse), the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 12-13 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species. The examiner notes that claims 11, 14, and 18-19 are also drawn to nonelected species and are withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 15-17 are examined.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
●Heating Element in claim(s) 1, 2, 17
●Audio Assembly in claim(s) 1, 17
●User Input Component in claim(s) 7, 16, 17
●Means for Selecting in claim(s) 16, 17
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 is considered to be indefinite in that “the user input component” (L1) lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lord (US 2015/0245660 A1) in view of Liu (US 2013/0333711 A1).
Claims 1-7, 9, and 15-17: Lord teaches an audio playing vaporizer device with a cylindrical profile (¶s3-8 Fig6-7). The audio playing vaporizer device comprising:
●a main unit including
●a mouthpiece 31 (¶124)
●a reservoir storing a vaporizable material (¶125)
●a heating element 32 configured to vaporize the vaporizable material (¶126)
●a rechargeable battery 44 (¶127)
●a sensor 50 disposed about the mouthpiece 31, the sensor 50 configured to detect a user
contact and, upon detection of the user contact, output a sensor signal with, for
example, a speaker (i.e. the claimed “loud” speaker in that the speaker has a volume
(¶9 ¶129 ¶132 Fig9) at a bottom end of the main unit (¶115-115 ¶133-138 Figs6-8)
●a controller 47 disposed within the main unit, the controller 47 configured to receive the
sensor signal from the sensor 50 and, upon receipt of the sensor signal, output at least one of an audio signal and a heating element signal (¶130-132) with the heating element 32 configured to receive the heating element signal from the controller 47 and, upon receipt of the heating element signal, vaporize the vaporizable material
●a memory disposed within the main unit (¶87), the memory storing at least one audio file (a
plurality in that a sound may be a buzz or a beep which are different (¶104 ¶109)) (¶8-9 ¶15-16 ¶23 ¶35 ¶52-59 ¶104-119)
●an audio assembly 51 disposed within the main unit, the audio assembly 51 configured to
receive the audio signal from the controller 47 and, upon receipt of the audio signal, play the at least one audio file (¶130)
●a user input component (¶99) at an exterior of the main unit which provides a user with a
means of selecting (part of computer 20) one of the plurality of audio files for the audio assembly to play (¶37 ¶50 ¶99-112)
The sensor 50 is considered to be about the mouthpiece 31 in that the sensor detects a user at the mouthpiece by user inhalation and device pressure drop, i.e. the sensor for/about/provided-to detect action at the mouthpiece.
Other locations within reference may be included in the above recited locations (paragraphs, drawing, abstract, claims) to demonstrate further the features in the reference as claimed in the instant claims.
Claim 1, with respect to claimed heating element and audio assembly, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for the heating element and audio assembly to perform the claimed functions. Lord teaches a structure for the heating element and audio assembly to perform the same claimed functions. Lord is thus considered to meet this/these limitation of the claim.
Claims 1 and 17, Lord teaches that the battery 44 is rechargeable. Lord not teach that the main unit includes a micro universal serial bus (USB) port.
However, providing a micro universal serial bus (USB) port as part of an electronic cigarette is conventional and well-known in the art when the electronic cigarette provides power by way of a battery – as demonstrated by Liu. Liu teaches an electronic cigarette having rechargeable batteries which are recharged using an micro universal serial bus (USB) port (¶72).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have provided in Lord that the main unit includes a micro universal bus (USB) port for recharging the battery 44 as is conventional and well-known in the art when the electronic cigarette provides power by way of a battery – as demonstrated by Liu; further, a micro universal serial bus (USB) port provides one with the ability to recharge their electronic cigarette at almost any location.
Claim 2, with respect to claimed heating element, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for the heating element to perform the claimed functions. Lord teaches a structure for the heating element to perform the same claimed functions. Lord is thus considered to meet this/these limitation of the claim.
Claims 3 and 17, with respect to timing of the output of the audio signal and heating element signal (i.e. at the same time or at different times in any particular order) the timing of the outputs to which one skilled in the art would consider performing (when making the device to operate) is a function of, among other variables, the type of audio response (for example, buzz or beeps) desired, the audio purpose, how the heating element receives the heating element signal, and when heating is desired relative to inhalation. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have optimized the timing of the output of the audio signal and heating element signal (i.e. at the same time or at different times in any particular order) to which one skilled in the art would consider based on known variables, as those listed; and thus, the claimed timing cannot be considered critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum and workable ranges (i.e. timing) by routine experimentation,” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 195). The mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form (timing) by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929). See MPEP 2144.05 II.A.
Claim 7, with respect to claimed user input component, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for the user input component to perform the claimed functions. Lord teaches a structure for the user input component to perform the same claimed functions. Lord is thus considered to meet this/these limitation of the claim.
Claim 16, with respect to claimed user input component and means for selecting, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for the user input component and the means for selecting to perform the claimed functions. Lord teaches a structure for the user input component and the means for selecting to perform the same claimed functions. Lord is thus considered to meet this/these limitation of the claim.
Claim 17, with respect to claimed (a) heating element, (b) audio assembly, (c) user input component, and (d) means of selecting, because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The instant specification teaches a structure for (a)-(d) above to perform the claimed functions. Lord teaches a structure for (a)-(d) above to perform the same claimed functions. Lord is thus considered to meet this/these limitation of the claim.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lord (US 2015/0245660 A1) in view of Liu (US 2013/0333711 A1) as applied to claims 1-7, 9, and 15-17 above and further in view of Bellinger (US 2013/0104916 A1).
Claim 10, Lord does not teach that the user input component includes a dial.
However, dials are a conventional and well-known means for operating upon an electronic vaporizer – as demonstrated by Bellinger (¶20 ¶30).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have provided in Lord that the user input component includes a dial as is conventional and well-known in the art – as demonstrated by Bellinger – where successful results have been demonstrated.
Prior Art of Record
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s invention: Zeng teaches an electronic cigarette that plays music.
Conclusion
/LINDA L GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745