DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kito et al. (US 6,188,140).
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kito et al. (US 6,188,140).
Regarding claim 1, Kito et al. discloses a locking/unlocking system configured to
a key cylinder device (1, 23, Fig.3) provided with a rotor (23) that is adapted to perform a rotary operation with a mechanical key (1);
an antenna coil (20) disposed so as to form a loop around the rotor; and
a control device (25) configured to allow the locking/unlocking of the reclosable body based on proximity wireless communication performed between the antenna coil and an antenna (antenna on transponder 7) installed in a mobile device (5) that is adapted to be carried by a user, so that the recloseable body is locked and unlocked (keyless system that locks or unlocks vehicle doors by identification code, c.6, l.56-61) without using the mechanical key when the user brings the mobile device close to the key cylinder device.
Regarding claim 2, Kito et al. discloses the locking/unlocking system wherein the antenna coil (20) is disposed on an outer circumferential face of the rotor (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 3, Kito et al. discloses the locking/unlocking system wherein the antenna coil is disposed at a position closer to a key hole adapted to receive the mechanical key (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 5, Kito et al. discloses the locking/unlocking system wherein a shape of the loop corresponds to a shape of the antenna (Fig.3).
Regarding claim 6, Kito et al. discloses the locking/unlocking system wherein the reclosable body is installed in a vehicle (Title).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kito et al. in view of Tsai (US 2002/0189306).
Regarding claim 4, Kito et al. fails to explicitly disclose a locking/unlocking system wherein the rotor is formed of a magnetic permeable material.
Tsai teaches lock cylinder including rotor (33, 34; tube made of iron and steel) made of steel for the purpose of providing a durable security material which is magnetically conducting.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the system disclosed by Kito et al. wherein the rotor is made of a magnetic permeable material, as taught by Tsai, for the expected benefit of providing a durable security material which is magnetically conducting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on September 2, 2025 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
In response to Applicant’s argument, nowhere in Kito et al. is it required that authorization requires turning the key device to lock or unlock, rather authorization (lock/unlock) is accomplished electromagnetically by transmitted signal in the structure of Kito et al. That which allows or denies operation is interpreted as locking or unlocking a device. Kito et al. discloses all of the structure and function as claimed. Applicant has failed to provide any distinction over what is taught by the reference of Kito et al. The argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675