DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 2, 5, 15, 17, and 18 are currently pending. Claims 1, 2, 15, and 17 were amended. Claims 3, 4, 6-14, and 16 were canceled. Claim 18 is new.
The interpretation of claims 1, 11, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) has been withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite has been withdrawn in view of the response provided on pg. 5 of the REMARKS filed on July 1, 2025 and the claim amendments.
Applicant’s arguments on pg. 6 of the REMARKS regarding the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection over US 2020/0099637 to Kurokawa et al. for independent claims 1, 11, and 17 have been withdrawn. However, after further consideration and an updated search, a new ground of rejection has been asserted. See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 below for details.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 should be corrected as: “wherein the processor is further configured to”.
Claim 15 should be corrected as: “wherein the processor is further configured to”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claim 5 recites “the message that is transmitted by the first user”. It is unclear if this message is referring to the “chat message” or the “message that shares a file” in parent claim 1. Claim 1 recites the first user transmitting “chat message[s]” and also the first user transmitting “a message that shares the file”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0012985 to Meyers et al. (hereinafter, “Meyers”).
As per claim 1: Meyers discloses: A message providing system comprising (a messaging architecture 100 that includes a messaging system 102 [Meyers, ¶0015; Fig. 1]): a processor configured to (processor 134 [Meyers, ¶0017, 0023; Fig. 1]): run a program (Fig. 12 is a computing environment in which the messaging architecture 100 is deployed; programs are deployed by the computing environment [Meyers, ¶0068-0069; Fig. 12]); acquire user information about a second user who is a receiver of a chat message from a first user who is a transmitter of the chat message (a user 106 (“first user”) adds recipient(s) (“second user”) to a message that will be sent [Meyers, ¶0027]; the added recipients are used to identify, by an access control component, permissions to the message and attachment [Meyers, ¶0040]); in a case where a message that shares a file is produced by the first user (user 106 generates a message with an attachment or shared objects that are linked [Meyers, ¶0027]), determine whether the second user has an access right to the file based on the acquired user information (the access control component 132 of the messaging system determines permissions of each added recipient to the message [Meyers, ¶0028]); notify the first user by displaying information indicating that the second user does not have access right to the file before the message that shares the file is transmitted to the second user (notifying user 106 about the permissions via a user interface display, including giving the user 106 a chance to confirm, modify, or cancel these permission [Meyers, ¶0042]; this occurs before the message is sent to the recipient(s) [Meyers, ¶0047; Fig. 4-2(238 & 306)]); and perform a process to give the second user access right to the file in a case where an instruction for performing the process is received from the first user (once the user is notified, the user can send the message to the recipient [Meyers, ¶0047]; for example, permission to access the attachment is granted by the user in the notification [Meyers, ¶0046; Fig. 4D]).
As per claim 2: Meyers discloses all limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Meyers discloses: wherein the processor configured to: notifying the first user that the second user does not have the access right to the file before the first user inputs an instruction to transmit the message to the second user (the access control component sets the permission to the recipients when they do not have permissions to receive/access the message and attachment; the user is notify of these permissions (i.e., the user is informed that the recipient did not have prior permissions) and is given a chance to confirm, modify, or cancel these permissions before the message with the attachment is sent [Meyers, ¶0042-0047]).
As per claim 5: Meyers discloses all limitations of claim 1. Furthermore, Meyers discloses: wherein the user information is a content of the message that is transmitted by the first user (identifying the added recipients to the message [Meyers, ¶0040]).
As per claim 17: Claim 17 is different from overall scope of claim 1. Claim 17 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program, when executed, to perform a process corresponding to the same functions of the system in claim 1. Therefore, the response provided in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 17.
As per claim 18: Claim 18 is different from overall scope of claim 1. Claim 18 is directed to a method corresponding to the same functions of the system in claim 1. Therefore, the response provided in claim 1 is equally applicable to claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyers in view of US 2020/0304436 to Maruyama et al. (hereinafter, “Maruyama”).
As per claim 15: Meyers discloses all limitations of claim 1. Meyers do not explicitly disclose, but Maruyama discloses: wherein the processor is configured to notify the first user by using message transmission with a chatbot (a chatbot server manages a chatbot that performs control in a chatroom [Maruyama, ¶0027, 0029]; for example, the chatbot can notify a printing completion by posting a message [Maruyama, ¶0068]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the access control component in Meyers to a chatbot to enable a chatroom environment. Meyers disclosed well-known messaging systems that included email systems, instant messaging systems, communications systems within social networks, among others [Meyers, ¶0002]. Hence, it would have been obvious to try Meyer’s messaging access control system in a chatroom environment with reasonable success and enable the control of sharing content in a chatroom with a chatbot as a “moderator”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT B LEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494