DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are currently pending. Claim 1 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed 12/01/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Nulman et al. WO2019246245.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikata et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0282892 (henceforth referred to as Fujikata) in view of Freer et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0040947 (henceforth referred to as Freer) and Nulman et al. WO2019246245 (henceforth referred to as Nulman).
As to claim 1, (Currently amended) Fujikata teaches a wafer processing method comprising:
mounting a wafer part on a chuck table (FIG. 2 paragraph [0047] rectangular flat-plate type holding member 35 reads on the claimed chuck table);
loading a ring cover unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] seal holder 32 reads on the claimed ring cover unit) on the chuck table to restrain the wafer part to the chuck table (paragraph [0050] press ring 34 presses the seal holder 32 against the holding member 35 to hold the wafer);
unloading the ring cover unit from the chuck table (paragraph [0051] the protruding portions 34a of the press ring 34 are detached from the inverted L-shaped clampers 37, and the holding of the substrate is released); and
spraying, by a first spray nozzle unit of a spray arm module, a cleaning solution onto the wafer part to clean the wafer part (FIG. 3 paragraph [0053] spray unit 60), the first spray nozzle unit including a first spray nozzle.
Fujikata differs from the instant claim in failing to teach spraying, by a spray suction arm module, first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part and concurrently suctioning, by the spray suction arm module, foreign materials floating on at least one of the first or second processing solutions; wherein: the spray suction arm module includes a second spray nozzle unit and a second suction nozzle unit where the second spray nozzle unit includes a second spray nozzle and a third spray nozzle, the second spray nozzle is configured to spray the first processing solution onto the wafer part and the third spray nozzle is configured to spray the second processing solution onto the wafer part, the second processing solution being chemically different from the first processing solution, the second spray nozzle unit is disposed at a predetermined height from the wafer part to spray the first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part mounted on the chuck table, the second suction nozzle unit is immersed in at least one of the first or second processing solutions to suction at least one of the first or second processing solutions along with the foreign materials accommodated in the chuck table to a suction tank, and the suction tank includes a filter unit configured to filter out particles contained in foreign materials suctioned through the second suction nozzle unit.
Freer teaches a similar wafer processing method (FIG. 3 paragraph [0031] cleaning apparatus for cleaning a substrate surface). Freer teaches spraying, by a spray suction arm module (FIG. 3 paragraph [0039] cleaning apparatus 300), first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part and suctioning (paragraphs [0039] and [0040] tri-state body cleaning material 302 and liquid and a vacuum supplied by the proximity head portion 304), by the spray suction arm module, foreign materials floating on at least one of the first or second processing solutions (paragraph [0040] proximity head portion 304 is configured to effectuate the removal of the tri-state body cleaning material and associated contaminant particles from the surface of the substrate 116);
wherein:
the spray suction arm module includes a second spray nozzle unit and a second suction nozzle unit where the second spray nozzle unit includes a second spray nozzle and a third spray nozzle (paragraphs [0039] and [0040] tri-state body cleaning material 302 is dispensed to the substrate surface and liquid is supplied by the proximity head portion 304 to the substrate surface. If the tri-state body or liquid can be dispensed onto the substrate surface, then there are nozzles present),
the second spray nozzle is configured to spray the first processing solution onto the wafer part (paragraph [0039] tri-state body cleaning material 302 is dispensed to the substrate surface) and the third spray nozzle is configured to spray the second processing solution onto the wafer part (paragraph [0040] liquid is supplied by the proximity head portion 304 to the substrate surface), the second processing solution being chemically different from the first processing solution (paragraphs [0028]- [0029] and [0040] the solid portion within the tri-state body can be aliphatic acids, carboxylic acids, paraffin, wax, polymers, polystyrene, polypeptides, visco-elastic materials, and a fatty acid. the liquid can be de-ionized water, ammonium peroxide, hydrogen peroxide, sc-1 solution, de-foaming agents, etc.),
the second spray nozzle unit is disposed at a predetermined height from the wafer part to spray the first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part mounted on the chuck table (paragraph [0039] the cleaning apparatus 300 moves over the substrate 116 surface. This means that the cleaning apparatus is at a predetermined height from the substrate surface),
the second suction nozzle unit (FIG. 3 paragraph [040] proximity head portion 304 applies a vacuum against the substrate 116 surface) is immersed (FIG. 2A In order for the vacuum to suction the liquid, it would be obvious to immerse the suction portion into the liquid) in at least one of the first or second processing solutions to suction at least one of the first or second processing solutions along with the foreign materials accommodated in the chuck table (paragraph [0040] proximity head portion 304 is configured to effectuate the removal of the tri-state body cleaning material and associated contaminant particles from the surface of the substrate 116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer processing method as taught by Fujikata with a spray suction arm module as taught by Freer in order to further process the wafer and suction the processing solution to ensure that the contaminants can be removed from the substrate surface (paragraph [0040]).
Nulman teaches a similar wafer processing method (paragraph [0039] a system and method for removing debris from processing chambers during semiconductor fabrication. In particular, embodiments of a self-cleaning immersion station that includes sprayers that spray wafers as they are transferred out of the immersion station.). Nulman teaches spraying a solution and concurrently suctioning (FIG. 14A paragraph [0058] the nozzle 165 directs a fan of high-pressure solvent spray toward the surface of the wafer 190, the spray forcibly breaks off and atomizes the lift-off material. The overwhelming majority particles of debris 233 that is dislodged from the wafer surface enters and becomes entrained in the suction flow within the suction head.); and the second suction nozzle unit to suction the foreign materials to a suction tank, and the suction tank includes a filter unit configured to filter out particles contained in the foreign materials suctioned through the second suction nozzle unit (FIG. 14B paragraph [0059] the suction conduit delivers the debris to a drain 240 that flows into a tank 245 with a filter 247).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer processing method as taught by Fujikata with a concurrent action of spraying and suctioning as taught by Nulman as the debris will immediately enter the suction flow and be removed from the chamber. Additionally, the suction/filter tank will help reduce the amount of debris that accumulates on the internal surface of the chamber (paragraph [0058]).
As to claim 2, (Original) Fujikata further teaches the mounting of the wafer part on the chuck table includes: holding, by a transfer device (FIG. 1 paragraph [0033] substrate transporting device 122), the wafer part transferred from a second transfer module (FIG. 1 paragraph [0033] there are cassette tables 102 in which cassettes 100 are mounted on. In order for cassettes to be placed on the table 102, there must be a second transfer module to transfer the cassettes to the table); and lowering the transfer device to mount the wafer part on the chuck table (FIG. 1 paragraph [0041] substrate transporting device 122 transports a substrate to each substrate holder 30).
As to claim 3, (Original) Fujikata further teaches the loading of the ring cover unit on the chuck table to restrain the wafer part to the chuck table includes: restraining the ring cover unit to a holding unit of a tilting device (FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] second holding member 36 includes a base portion 31 fixed to the hinge 33, and a ring-shaped seal holder 32 fixed to the base portion 31); coupling, by the tilting device, the ring cover unit to an upper side of the chuck table (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] clampers 37 restrain the press ring 34 by clamping onto the protruding portions 34a); restraining, by a chucking module of the chuck table, the ring cover unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] clampers 37 restrain the press ring 34 by clamping onto the protruding portions 34a); releasing, by the holding unit, restraint of the ring cover unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] the protruding portions 34a of the press ring 34 are detached from the inverted L-shaped clampers in order to release the substrate); and moving the tilting device outward from the chuck table (FIG. 2 paragraph [0047] hinge 33 can be freely opened in an outward direction).
As to claim 5, (Original) Fujikata further teaches the unloading of the ring cover unit from the chuck table includes:
rotating a tilting device to be positioned above the ring cover unit (paragraph [0050] press ring 34 is freely rotatably mounted on the seal holder 32 and is positioned above the seal holder 32);
restraining, by a holding unit of the tilting device, the ring cover unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] second holding member 36 includes a base portion 31 fixed to hinge 33, and a ring shaped seal holder 32 fixed to the base portion 31, which reads on the claimed ring cover unit being restrained by a tilting device);
releasing, by a chucking module of the chuck table, restraint of the ring cover unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] the protruding portions 34a of the press ring 34 are detached from the inverted L- shaped clampers in order to release the substrate); and
rotating, by the tilting device, the ring cover unit to move the ring cover unit outward from the chuck table (FIG. 2 paragraph [0047] hinge 33 can be freely opened in an outward direction).
As to claim 7, (Original) Fujikata further teaches before the unloading of the ring cover unit from the chuck table, spraying, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform intermediate cleaning on the wafer part (FIG. 3 paragraph [0053] resist residue removing apparatus 50 includes a processing bath 51 and a spray unit 60. Spray unit 60 is arranged in the processing bath 51 and includes nozzles which are arranged so as to confront the substrate holder 30).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikata et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0282892 (henceforth referred to as Fujikata), Freer et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0040947 (henceforth referred to as Freer), and Nulman et al. WO2019246245 (henceforth referred to as Nulman) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Ravkin et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0071730 (henceforth referred to as Ravkin).
As to claim 4, (Previously presented) Freer and Nulman further teach the spraying of, by the spray suction arm module, the first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part and the concurrent suctioning (Nulman FIG. 14A paragraph [0058] the nozzle 165 sprays while simultaneously suctioning the debris) of, by the spray suction arm module, the foreign materials from the processing solution include:
moving the spray suction arm module to be positioned above the wafer part (Freer paragraph [0039] the cleaning apparatus 300 can move translationally over the substrate); and
suctioning, by the spray suction arm module, the foreign materials (Freer paragraph [0040] proximity head portion 304 is configured to effectuate the removal of the tri-state body cleaning material and associated contaminant particles from the surface of the substrate 116).
Fujikata, Freer, and Nulman differ from the instant claim in failing to teach swinging the spray suction arm module within a set angle range to spray the first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part.
Ravkin teaches a similar wafer processing method (FIG. 1B paragraph [0052] wafer processing system 100’). Ravkin teaches the spray suction arm module is swinging within a set angle range (paragraph [0052] the proximity head 106 may be located at a first end of an arm which rotates around an axis defined by a second end of the arm).
The combination of Freer and Ravkin would result in the spray suction arm module to swing in in order to suction foreign materials within a certain range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer processing method as taught by Fujikata, Freer, and Nulman with a swinging arm as taught by Ravkin. It would have been obvious to have a swinging arm as it is one of the various ways to move a spray suction arm module.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikata et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0282892 (henceforth referred to as Fujikata), Freer et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0040947 (henceforth referred to as Freer), and Nulman et al. WO2019246245 (henceforth referred to as Nulman) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sotozaki et al. Japanese Patent JP2001007069 (henceforth referred to as Sotozaki).
As to claim 6, (Original) Fujikata, Freer, and Nulman differ from the instant claim by failing to teach the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to clean the wafer part includes: moving the spray arm module to be positioned above the wafer part; and swinging the spray arm module within a set angle range to spray the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform final-cleaning on the wafer part.
Sotozaki teaches a similar wafer processing method (paragraph [0022] wafer cleaning method). Sotozaki teaches the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to clean the wafer part includes:
moving the spray arm module to be positioned above the wafer part (paragraph [0016] swing means 50. The spray arm module can be moved and positioned into place to clean the workpiece); and
swinging the spray arm module within a set angle range to spray the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform final-cleaning on the wafer part (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] the dashed and dotted lines indicated the movement trajectories of the nozzle 31, which would read on the claimed angle range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer processing method as taught by Fujikata, Freer, and Nulman with a way to swing the spray arm module as taught by Sotozaki in order to position the nozzle into the start position (paragraph [0030]).
As to claim 8, (Original) The combination of Freer and Sotozaki further teach the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform the intermediate cleaning on the wafer part includes:
moving the spray suction arm module outward from the wafer part; moving the spray arm module to be positioned above the wafer part (Freer FIG. 3 shows that the cleaning apparatus 300 is away from the substrate. Paragraph [0039] the cleaning apparatus 300 can move over the substrate. It would be obvious that the cleaning apparatus 300 can be moved away from the substrate); and
swinging the spray arm module within a set angle range to spray the cleaning solution onto the wafer part (Sotozaki FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] the dashed and dotted lines indicated the movement trajectories of the nozzle 31, which would read on the claimed angle range).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikata et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0282892 (henceforth referred to as Fujikata), Freer et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0040947 (henceforth referred to as Freer), Nulman et al. WO2019246245 (henceforth referred to as Nulman), and Sotozaki et al. Japanese Patent JP2001007069 (henceforth referred to as Sotozaki) as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Bleck et al. U.S. Patent 5,762,751 (henceforth referred to as Bleck).
As to claim 9, (Original) Fujikata, Freer, Nulman and Sotozaki differ from the instant claim in failing to teach after the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform the intermediate cleaning on the wafer part, primarily drying the wafer part on the chuck table.
Bleck teaches a similar wafer processing apparatus and method (FIG. 1 column 4 line 8 processing station 10). Bleck teaches after the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform the intermediate cleaning on the wafer part, primarily drying the wafer part on the chuck table (column 5 lines 22-23 a drying nozzle 45 which directs a jet of drying gas toward a wafer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer processing method as taught by Fujikata, Freer, Nulman, and Sotozaki with a way to dry the wafer as taught by Bleck in order to remove excess chemical and prepare the wafer for further processing.
As to claim 10, (Original) Fujikata further teaches after the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to clean the wafer part (FIG. 3 paragraph [0053] spray unit 60).
Fujikata, Freer, Nulman, Sotozaki, and Bleck differ from the instant claim in failing to teach secondarily drying the wafer part on the chuck table. However, as shown above, Bleck teaches a wafer processing method in which the chuck table can dry the wafer part (column 5 lines 22-23 a drying nozzle 45 which directs a jet of drying gas toward a wafer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dry a wafer part as taught by Fujikata, Freer, Nulman, Sotozaki, and Bleck after spraying a cleaning solution on the wafer part to achieve the predictable result of a wafer being cleaned and dried more than once resulting in cleaner and dry workpiece.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711