DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 04/23/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending. Claim 1 is amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states that the “second suction nozzle unit spaced apart from the second suction nozzle unit.” This is unclear on how the second suction nozzle unit can be spaced apart from itself. Examiner is determining that the limitation was to read as “ the second suction nozzle unit spaced apart from the second spray nozzle unit.”
Claims 2-10 rejected under 112(b) due to dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikata et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0282892 (henceforth referred to as Fujikata) in view of Fujiwara et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0093905 (henceforth referred to as Fujiwara) and Nulman et al. WO2019246245 (henceforth referred to as Nulman).
As to claim 1, (Currently amended) Fujikata teaches a wafer processing method comprising:
mounting a wafer part on a chuck table (FIG. 2 paragraph [0047] rectangular flat-plate type holding member 35 reads on the claimed chuck table);
loading a ring cover unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] seal holder 32 reads on the claimed ring cover unit) on the chuck table to restrain the wafer part to the chuck table (paragraph [0050] press ring 34 presses the seal holder 32 against the holding member 35 to hold the wafer);
unloading the ring cover unit from the chuck table (paragraph [0051] the protruding portions 34a of the press ring 34 are detached from the inverted L-shaped clampers 37, and the holding of the substrate is released); and
spraying, by a first spray nozzle unit of a spray arm module, a cleaning solution onto the wafer part to clean the wafer part (FIG. 3 paragraph [0053] spray unit 60), the first spray nozzle unit including a first spray nozzle.
Fujikata differs from the instant claim in failing to teach spraying, by a spray suction arm module, first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part and concurrently suctioning, by the spray suction arm module, foreign materials floating on or in at least one of the first or second processing solutions; wherein: the spray suction arm module includes a second spray nozzle unit and a second suction nozzle unit spaced apart from the second suction nozzle unit, where the second spray nozzle unit including includes a second spray nozzle and a third spray nozzle, the second spray nozzle is configured to spray the first processing solution onto the wafer part and the third spray nozzle is configured to spray the second processing solution onto the wafer part, the second processing solution being chemically different from the first processing solution, the second spray nozzle unit is disposed at a predetermined height from the wafer part to spray the first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part mounted on the chuck table, the second suction nozzle unit is immersed in and below a free surface of at least one of the first or second processing solutions to suction at least one of the first or second processing solutions along with the foreign materials accommodated in the chuck table to a suction tank, the second spray nozzle unit being disposed above and spaced apart from the free surface of the at least one of the first or second processing solutions, and the suction tank includes a filter unit configured to filter out particles contained in the foreign materials suctioned through the second suction nozzle unit.
Fujiwara taches a similar wafer processing method (FIG. 38 paragraph [0416] substrate processing apparatus 1). Fujiwara teaches
spraying, by a spray suction arm module, first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part (paragraph [0429] nozzle 501a sprays an acidic chemical liquid, nozzle 501b sprays an alkaline chemical liquid, and nozzle 501c sprays a rinse liquid) and concurrently suctioning, by the spray suction arm module(paragraph [0454] a processing liquid on the front surface area of the substrate 911 is sucked into the suction tube 502a or 502b), foreign materials floating on or in at least one of the first or second processing solutions;
wherein:
the spray suction arm module includes a second spray nozzle unit and a second suction nozzle unit spaced apart from the second suction nozzle unit (FIGS. 39 and 43-44 the suction nozzles 502 are spaced apart from the spray nozzles 501), where the second spray nozzle unit including includes a second spray nozzle and a third spray nozzle (paragraph [0429] there are three spray nozzles 501a-501c),
the second spray nozzle is configured to spray the first processing solution onto the wafer part and the third spray nozzle is configured to spray the second processing solution onto the wafer part, the second processing solution being chemically different from the first processing solution (paragraph [0429] nozzle 501a sprays an acidic chemical liquid, nozzle 501b sprays an alkaline chemical liquid, and nozzle 501c sprays a rinse liquid),
the second spray nozzle unit is disposed at a predetermined height from the wafer part to spray the first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part mounted on the chuck table (FIGS. 43-44 nozzles 501a-501c are at a predetermined height from the wafer part),
the second suction nozzle unit is immersed in and below a free surface of at least one of the first or second processing solutions (FIGS. 43-44 the suction nozzles 502 are immersed in and below a free surface of at least one of the first or second processing solutions) to suction at least one of the first or second processing solutions along with the foreign materials accommodated in the chuck table to a suction tank (paragraph [0453] the sucked processing liquid is collected in the collection tank), the second spray nozzle unit being disposed above and spaced apart from the free surface of the at least one of the first or second processing solutions (FIGS. 43-44 nozzles 501a-501c are disposed above and spaced apart from the free surface of the liquid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer processing method as taught by Fujikata with a spray suction arm module as taught by Fujiwara in order as it can spray the treatment liquid then subsequently remove the residual processing liquid (paragraphs [0429] and [0449]).
Nulman teaches a similar wafer processing method (paragraph [0039] a system and method for removing debris from processing chambers during semiconductor fabrication. In particular, embodiments of a self-cleaning immersion station that includes sprayers that spray wafers as they are transferred out of the immersion station.). Nulman teaches the suction tank includes a filter unit configured to filter out particles contained in the foreign materials suctioned through the second suction nozzle unit (FIG. 14B paragraph [0059] the suction conduit delivers the debris to a drain 240 that flows into a tank 245 with a filter 247).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer processing method as taught by Fujikata with a suction tank as taught by Nulman as the suction/filter tank will help reduce the amount of debris that accumulates on the internal surface of the chamber (paragraph [0058]).
As to claim 2, (Original) Fujikata further teaches the mounting of the wafer part on the chuck table includes: holding, by a transfer device (FIG. 1 paragraph [0033] substrate transporting device 122), the wafer part transferred from a second transfer module (FIG. 1 paragraph [0033] there are cassette tables 102 in which cassettes 100 are mounted on. In order for cassettes to be placed on the table 102, there must be a second transfer module to transfer the cassettes to the table); and lowering the transfer device to mount the wafer part on the chuck table (FIG. 1 paragraph [0041] substrate transporting device 122 transports a substrate to each substrate holder 30).
As to claim 3, (Original) Fujikata further teaches the loading of the ring cover unit on the chuck table to restrain the wafer part to the chuck table includes: restraining the ring cover unit to a holding unit of a tilting device (FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] second holding member 36 includes a base portion 31 fixed to the hinge 33, and a ring-shaped seal holder 32 fixed to the base portion 31); coupling, by the tilting device, the ring cover unit to an upper side of the chuck table (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] clampers 37 restrain the press ring 34 by clamping onto the protruding portions 34a); restraining, by a chucking module of the chuck table, the ring cover unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] clampers 37 restrain the press ring 34 by clamping onto the protruding portions 34a); releasing, by the holding unit, restraint of the ring cover unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] the protruding portions 34a of the press ring 34 are detached from the inverted L-shaped clampers in order to release the substrate); and moving the tilting device outward from the chuck table (FIG. 2 paragraph [0047] hinge 33 can be freely opened in an outward direction).
As to claim 4, (Previously presented) Fujiwara further teaches the spraying of, by the spray suction arm module, the first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part (paragraph [0429] nozzle 501a sprays an acidic chemical liquid, nozzle 501b sprays an alkaline chemical liquid, and nozzle 501c sprays a rinse liquid) and the concurrent suctioning of, by the spray suction arm module (paragraph [0454] a processing liquid on the front surface area of the substrate 911 is sucked into the suction tube 502a or 502b), the foreign materials from the processing solution include:
moving the spray suction arm module to be positioned above the wafer part; swinging the spray suction arm module within a set angle range to spray the first and second processing solutions onto the wafer part (FIGS. 26-27 and 38 paragraph [0139] the drive unit 54 moves the discharge head 51 in a rotational manner. The rotational manner reads on the claimed swinging motion); and
suctioning, by the spray suction arm module, the foreign materials within a certain range (When the arm 52 is moved into place, it will suction materials within a certain range).
As to claim 5, (Original) Fujikata further teaches the unloading of the ring cover unit from the chuck table includes: rotating a tilting device to be positioned above the ring cover unit (paragraph [0050] press ring 34 is freely rotatably mounted on the seal holder 32 and is positioned above the seal holder 32);
restraining, by a holding unit of the tilting device, the ring cover unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] second holding member 36 includes a base portion 31 fixed to hinge 33, and a ring shaped seal holder 32 fixed to the base portion 31, which reads on the claimed ring cover unit being restrained by a tilting device);
releasing, by a chucking module of the chuck table, restraint of the ring cover unit (FIG. 2 paragraph [0051] the protruding portions 34a of the press ring 34 are detached from the inverted L-shaped clampers in order to release the substrate); and
rotating, by the tilting device, the ring cover unit to move the ring cover unit outward from the chuck table (FIG. 2 paragraph [0047] hinge 33 can be freely opened in an outward direction).
As to claim 7, (Original) Fujikata further teaches before the unloading of the ring cover unit from the chuck table, spraying, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform intermediate cleaning on the wafer part (FIG. 3 paragraph [0053] resist residue removing apparatus 50 includes a processing bath 51 and a spray unit 60. Spray unit 60 is arranged in the processing bath 51 and includes nozzles which are arranged so as to confront the substrate holder 30).
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikata et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0282892 (henceforth referred to as Fujikata), Fujiwara et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0093905 (henceforth referred to as Fujiwara), and Nulman et al. WO2019246245 (henceforth referred to as Nulman) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Sotozaki et al. Japanese Patent JP2001007069 (henceforth referred to as Sotozaki).
As to claim 6, (Original) Fujikata, Fujiwara, and Nulman differ from the instant claim by failing to teach the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to clean the wafer part includes: moving the spray arm module to be positioned above the wafer part; and swinging the spray arm module within a set angle range to spray the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform final-cleaning on the wafer part.
Sotozaki teaches a similar wafer processing method (paragraph [0022] wafer cleaning method). Sotozaki teaches the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to clean the wafer part includes:
moving the spray arm module to be positioned above the wafer part (paragraph [0016] swing means 50. The spray arm module can be moved and positioned into place to clean the workpiece); and
swinging the spray arm module within a set angle range to spray the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform final-cleaning on the wafer part (FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] the dashed and dotted lines indicated the movement trajectories of the nozzle 31, which would read on the claimed angle range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer processing method as taught by Fujikata, Fujiwara, and Nulman with a way to swing the spray arm module as taught by Sotozaki in order to position the nozzle into the start position (paragraph [0030]).
As to claim 8, (Original) The combination of Fujiwara and Sotozaki further teach the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform the intermediate cleaning on the wafer part includes:
moving the spray suction arm module outward from the wafer part (Fujiwara FIGS. 26-27 and 38 paragraph [0139] the drive unit 54 moves the discharge head 51 in a rotational manner. If the discharge head can be moved to the substrate, it would be obvious that the discharge head can be moved away from the substrate);
moving the spray arm module to be positioned above the wafer part; and swinging the spray arm module within a set angle range to spray the cleaning solution onto the wafer part (Sotozaki FIG. 1 paragraph [0018] the dashed and dotted lines indicated the movement trajectories of the nozzle 31, which would read on the claimed angle range).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikata et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0282892 (henceforth referred to as Fujikata), Fujiwara et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0093905 (henceforth referred to as Fujiwara), Nulman et al. WO2019246245 (henceforth referred to as Nulman), and Sotozaki et al. Japanese Patent JP2001007069 (henceforth referred to as Sotozaki) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Bleck et al. U.S. Patent 5,762,751 (henceforth referred to as Bleck).
As to claim 9, (Original) Fujikata, Fujiwara, Nulman, and Sotozaki differ from the instant claim in failing to teach after the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform the intermediate cleaning on the wafer part, primarily drying the wafer part on the chuck table.
Bleck teaches a similar wafer processing apparatus and method (FIG. 1 column 4 line 8 processing station 10). Bleck teaches after the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to perform the intermediate cleaning on the wafer part, primarily drying the wafer part on the chuck table (column 5 lines 22-23 a drying nozzle 45 which directs a jet of drying gas toward a wafer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wafer processing method as taught by Fujikata, Fujiwara, Nulman, and Sotozaki with a way to dry the wafer as taught by Bleck in order to remove excess chemical and prepare the wafer for further processing.
As to claim 10, (Original) Fujikata further teaches after the spraying of, by the spray arm module, the cleaning solution onto the wafer part to clean the wafer part (FIG. 3 paragraph [0053] spray unit 60).
Fujikata, Fujiwara, Nulman, Sotozaki, and Bleck differ from the instant claim in failing to teach secondarily drying the wafer part on the chuck table. However, as shown above, Bleck teaches a wafer processing method in which the chuck table can dry the wafer part (column 5 lines 22-23 a drying nozzle 45 which directs a jet of drying gas toward a wafer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dry a wafer part as taught by Fujikata, Freer, Nulman, Sotozaki, and Bleck after spraying a cleaning solution on the wafer part to achieve the predictable result of a wafer being cleaned and dried more than once resulting in cleaner and dry workpiece.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711