DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendments and remarks filed on 6/3/2026. The amendments and remarks filed on 6/3/2026 have been entered. Claims 9-10 and 12 have been canceled. Accordingly Claims 1,3-8,11 and 15-20 are pending. The previous rejections of claims 1,3-8,11 and 15-20 have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments and remarks in the claim set filed on 6/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-8,11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rong et. al. “Cardiac sensing Exploiting an Ultra-Wideband Terahertz Sensing System.” 2020)(hereinafter, “Rong”) in view of Fung et. al. (U.S. 20150229341, August 13, 2015)(hereinafter, “Fung”) and Leijssen et. al. (U.S. 20200178824, June 11, 2020)(hereinafter, “Leijssen”).
Regarding Claim 1, Rong teaches: A method for non-contact vital sign measurement of a subject (Fig. 1, Section: Introduction), the method comprising:
receiving a terahertz (THz) radar return signal measuring a region of interest of the subject (“…a novel ultra-wideband (sub)Terahertz sensing system (UWTS) not only capable of high spatial resolution imaging but also capable of remote cardiac sensing.”, section: Introduction. See Fig. 1);
processing the radar return signal to generate micro-Doppler data and reflectance-based data of the region of interest wherein the reflectance-based data indicates an absorption level of a reflected THz radar return signal relative to a transmitted three-dimensional (3D) THz radar signal (“The SFMCW radar transmits a series of discrete narrow band pulses in a stepwise to achieve a larger effective bandwidth. As such, the modulated waveform consists of a group of N coherent pulses with pulse duration T…” Section II: Signal Model;“…with wider bandwidth, our UWTS system can perform time-domain based micromotion analysis and extract meaningful motion information in the temporal domain. Time-frequency methods, such as the popular micro-Doppler analysis [23], are utilized when using conventional RF devices for motion analysis, such gaits, hand gesture, head motion, heartbeat. The time-varying characteristics of motion pattern is analyzed with the help of spectral analysis.” Section III(A): Spatial/Range Resolvability; See Fig. 1);
with regards to limitation: and estimating vital sign information of the subject from the micro-Doppler data and changes in the reflectance-based data, wherein the changes in the reflectance-based data indicate changes in amounts of oxygenated and deoxygenated blood, which have different absorption levels, Rong further teaches: “…we exploit the spatial resolution and large signaling BW to enable precise pulse measurement by pointing a narrow-focused beam to the strategic body parts and, by doing so, significantly reducing the breathing artifacts and other random body movement interferences. Herein, we present results denoting that the vital signs can be extracted in the presence of breathing for various body parts…” Section I: Introduction; “To demonstrate the superior cardiac sensitivity of the proposed system we map the extracted phase variations (I/Q samples) due to heartbeat onto a unit circle in Fig. 4…” Section III(A): Spatial/Range Resolvability.
Rong does not explicitly teach the changes in the reflectance-based data indicate changes in amounts of oxygenated and deoxygenated blood.
Fung in the field of photoplethysmography systems teaches: “The sensor assembly sensors can provide various types of physiological data that can be evaluated by the computing device 104 to determine the physiological state of the driver 118. Various types of physiological data that can be received from the sensor assembly sensors include, but are not limited to, heart information, such as, heart rate, blood pressure, blood flow, oxygen content, blood alcohol content (BAC), brain information, such as, functional near infrared spectroscopy (fNIRS), respiration rate information, as well as other kinds of information related to the autonomic nervous system or other biological systems of the driver 118.” [0031]; “The one or more optical sensors 202 can each measure the amount of light that is reflected by the tissue in order to determine an amount of light that is absorbed by the driver's body. In other words, the optical sensors 202 can measure the pulsation change in the driver's blood volume with respect to oxygen saturation as more blood will absorb a higher amount of light, and less blood will absorb a lesser amount of light.” [0041].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reflectance-based data in Rong to indicate changes in amounts of oxygenated and deoxygenated blood as taught in Fung to “…provide various types of physiological data that can be evaluated…” (Fung, [0031]).
With regards to limitations: wherein the vital sign information comprises at least one of a heart rate, a heartbeat waveform, a heart rate variability (HRV), vascular aging information, or artery stiffness information, and wherein the micro-Doppler data is determined based on phase variation data associated with the radar return signal that is used to determine the breathing rate, and the reflectance-based data is based on magnitude variation data associated with the radar return signal that is used to determine the heart rate, Rong further teaches: “In Fig. 6(a), the radar measurement (in blue curve) is well aligned with the reference pulse waveform (in red curve). In Fig. 6(b)(c), more quantitative representation of the results are given. In Fig. 6(b), the R-peaks extracted from the reference pulse are plotted against the measurement results. R-R intervals indicates important heart health conditions when performing heart-variability analysis…Additionally, the heart rate estimates using UWTS are consistent with the reference heart rates. These results are summarized in Table II, where the heart rate is computed as the averaged R-R interval times 60 s. The unit is beats per minute.” Section IV(B): Cardiac Measurements of Peripheral Body Parts; The range profile is obtained by performaing inverse Fourier transform of the N fast frequnecy samples with respect to n for every frame. Then, the normalized baseband slow-time (m) versus fast-time (k) data matrix is computed... The phase information directly related to motion of interest is perserved in the term ej2πf0τD(m) . To extract signal of interest with maximum SNR…” section II: Signal Model; “Our UWTS system can detect physical displacement as small as a few micrometers at short distance if the scattering field is able to generate enough backscattered energy. This ability is evident from Eqn. 5. Theoretically, the extracted phase variation is linearly related to the target motion…” section III(B): Advantage of Phase Sensitivity.
The combination does not explicitly teach: the data is determined based on phase variation data used in determining the breathing rate and the reflectance-based data is based on magnitude variation data associated with the data used to determine the heart rate.
Leijssen in the field of vital sign monitoring systems teaches: “…the lower frequency provides deeper penetration into the human body than the higher frequency; whereas, the phase shift at the higher frequency is more strongly influenced by both heart rate and respiration as compared with the phase shift at lower frequency... it is straightforward to employ an oscillator circuit, to compose with the coil, having an electrical oscillator that can operate at the two frequencies, and provides the frequency variation and the absorbed magnetic energy variation according to the impedance magnitude and phase variation over time.” [0032]; “FIG. 4, the analog and/or DSP circuitry 40 generates both cardiac and respiratory vital signs by processing the lower frequency magnitude signal 31, the higher frequency magnitude signal 33, and the high frequency phase shift signal 38. More specifically, in this illustrative embodiment a cardiac signal 44 is generated by combining the lower frequency magnitude signal 31 and the higher frequency phase variation signal 38; while, a respiratory signal 46 is generated by combining the higher frequency magnitude signal 33 and the higher frequency phase shift signal 38. At least one vital sign parameter is derived from the cardiac and respiratory signals 44, 46. For example, a heart rate signal can be derived from the cardiac signal 44 as the principle periodicity, e.g. extracted by a Fourier transform, determining an average peak-to-peak time interval, or so forth. Similarly, a breathing rate signal can be derived as the principle frequency of the respiratory signal 46. A breathing depth signal can also be derived from the respiratory signal 46, e.g. as the magnitude of, or a peak-to-valley metric of, the respiratory signal 46. The heart rate signal, the breathing signal, and/or the breathing depth signal can then be transmitted by the processor 40 to the display 42 for display thereon, or transmitted to a computer system (e.g., a phone, watch, or PC) to a user.” [0052].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the data processing in the combination to determine based on phase variation data used in determining the breathing rate and the reflectance-based data is based on magnitude variation data associated with the data used to determine the heart rate as taught in Leijssen for “Unobtrusive continuous vital sign monitoring, especially of the life-critical heart rate and breathing parameters such as breathing rate and/or breath depth…” (Leijssen, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: further comprising transmitting the 3D THz radar signal using an ultra-wideband (UWB) radar emitter (“…a novel ultra-wideband (sub)Terahertz sensing system (UWTS) not only capable of high spatial resolution imaging but also capable of remote cardiac sensing.”, section: Introduction. See Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: wherein the 3D THz radar signal is between 100 gigahertz and 1OTHz (“…we increase the operating frequency to THz waves, ranging from 100 GHz to a few THz. These non-ionizing frequencies possess unique electromagnetic characteristics: sub-millimeter free space wavelength and availability of large frequency bandwidth.” (section: Introduction);“In this example three scenarios are considered, in which the center frequency varies from 300 GHz, 350 GHz, and 450 GHz while the BW is fixed at 30 GHz.” Section II (B): Advantage of Phase Sensitivity).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: further comprising transmitting the 3D THz radar signal using a stepped-frequency continuous-wave (SFCW) radar emitter (“Herein we use a stepped-FMCW (SFMCW) radar…The SFMCW radar transmits a series of discrete narrow band pulses in a stepwise to achieve a larger effective bandwidth.” Section II: Signal model. See Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: further comprising estimating a macro body motion of the subject using the micro-Doppler data (“The short wavelength of THz waves previously used for high resolution imaging radars are also exploited here to enhance cardiac sensing performance…we exploit the spatial resolution and large signaling BW to enable precise pulse measurement by pointing a narrow-focused beam to the strategic body parts and, by doing so, significantly reducing the breathing artifacts and other random body movement interferences. Herein, we present results denoting that the vital signs can be extracted in the presence of breathing for various body parts…” section I: Introduction).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: further comprising extracting activity information from the micro-Doppler data (“Moreover, with wider bandwidth, our UWTS system can perform time-domain based micromotion analysis and extract meaningful motion information in the temporal domain. Time-frequency methods, such as the popular micro-Doppler analysis [23], are utilized when using conventional RF devices for motion analysis, such gaits, hand gesture, head motion, heartbeat. The time-varying characteristics of motion pattern is analyzed with the help of spectral analysis.” Section III (A): Spatial/Range Resolvability).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: wherein the activity information comprises at least one of a gait of the subject or a type of activity engaged in by the subject (“Moreover, with wider bandwidth, our UWTS system can perform time-domain based micromotion analysis and extract meaningful motion information in the temporal domain. Time-frequency methods, such as the popular micro-Doppler analysis [23], are utilized when using conventional RF devices for motion analysis, such gaits, hand gesture, head motion, heartbeat. The time-varying characteristics of motion pattern is analyzed with the help of spectral analysis.” Section III (A): Spatial/Range Resolvability).
Regarding Claim 11, Rong teaches: A terahertz-wave-plethysmography (TPG) sensor, comprising: a terahertz (THz) radar sensor (“…a novel ultra-wideband (sub)Terahertz sensing system (UWTS) not only capable of high spatial resolution imaging but also capable of remote cardiac sensing.”, section: Introduction. See Fig. 1);
and a signal processor configured to: receive a radar return signal from the THz radar sensor (“The SFMCW radar transmits a series of discrete narrow band pulses in a stepwise to achieve a larger effective bandwidth. As such, the modulated waveform consists of a group of N coherent pulses with pulse duration T…” Section II: Signal Model);
measure an absorption level of the radar return signal relative to a transmitted three-dimensional (3D) THz radar signal and micro-Doppler data of a region of interest of one or more subjects (“…with wider bandwidth, our UWTS system can perform time-domain based micromotion analysis and extract meaningful motion information in the temporal domain. Time-frequency methods, such as the popular micro-Doppler analysis [23], are utilized when using conventional RF devices for motion analysis, such gaits, hand gesture, head motion, heartbeat. The time-varying characteristics of motion pattern is analyzed with the help of spectral analysis.” Section III(A): Spatial/Range Resolvability; See Fig. 1);
with regards to limitation: and extract vital sign information of the one or more subjects based on the micro- Doppler data and changes in absorption levels of the radar return signal indicating changes in amounts of oxygenated and deoxygenated blood, Rong further teaches: “…we exploit the spatial resolution and large signaling BW to enable precise pulse measurement by pointing a narrow-focused beam to the strategic body parts and, by doing so, significantly reducing the breathing artifacts and other random body movement interferences. Herein, we present results denoting that the vital signs can be extracted in the presence of breathing for various body parts…” Section I: Introduction; “To demonstrate the superior cardiac sensitivity of the proposed system we map the extracted phase variations (I/Q samples) due to heartbeat onto a unit circle in Fig. 4…” Section III(A): Spatial/Range Resolvability.
Rong does not explicitly teach the changes in the reflectance-based data indicate changes in amounts of oxygenated and deoxygenated blood.
Fung in the field of photoplethysmography systems teaches: “The sensor assembly sensors can provide various types of physiological data that can be evaluated by the computing device 104 to determine the physiological state of the driver 118. Various types of physiological data that can be received from the sensor assembly sensors include, but are not limited to, heart information, such as, heart rate, blood pressure, blood flow, oxygen content, blood alcohol content (BAC), brain information, such as, functional near infrared spectroscopy (fNIRS), respiration rate information, as well as other kinds of information related to the autonomic nervous system or other biological systems of the driver 118.” [0031]; “The one or more optical sensors 202 can each measure the amount of light that is reflected by the tissue in order to determine an amount of light that is absorbed by the driver's body. In other words, the optical sensors 202 can measure the pulsation change in the driver's blood volume with respect to oxygen saturation as more blood will absorb a higher amount of light, and less blood will absorb a lesser amount of light.” [0041]
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reflectance-based data in Rong to indicate changes in amounts of oxygenated and deoxygenated blood as taught in Fung to “…provide various types of physiological data that can be evaluated…” (Fung, [0031]).
With regards to limitations: wherein the vital sign information comprises at least one of a heart rate, a heartbeat waveform, a heart rate variability (HRV), vascular aging information, or artery stiffness information, and wherein the micro-Doppler data is determined based on phase variation data associated with the radar return signal that is used to determine the breathing rate, and the reflectance-based data is based on magnitude variation data associated with the radar return signal that is used to determine the heart rate, Rong further teaches: “In Fig. 6(a), the radar measurement (in blue curve) is well aligned with the reference pulse waveform (in red curve). In Fig. 6(b)(c), more quantitative representation of the results are given. In Fig. 6(b), the R-peaks extracted from the reference pulse are plotted against the measurement results. R-R intervals indicates important heart health conditions when performing heart-variability analysis…Additionally, the heart rate estimates using UWTS are consistent with the reference heart rates. These results are summarized in Table II, where the heart rate is computed as the averaged R-R interval times 60 s. The unit is beats per minute.” Section IV(B): Cardiac Measurements of Peripheral Body Parts; The range profile is obtained by performaing inverse Fourier transform of the N fast frequnecy samples with respect to n for every frame. Then, the normalized baseband slow-time (m) versus fast-time (k) data matrix is computed... The phase information directly related to motion of interest is perserved in the term ej2πf0τD(m) . To extract signal of interest with maximum SNR…” section II: Signal Model; “Our UWTS system can detect physical displacement as small as a few micrometers at short distance if the scattering field is able to generate enough backscattered energy. This ability is evident from Eqn. 5. Theoretically, the extracted phase variation is linearly related to the target motion…” section III(B): Advantage of Phase Sensitivity.
The combination does not explicitly teach: the data is determined based on phase variation data used in determining the breathing rate and the reflectance-based data is based on magnitude variation data associated with the data used to determine the heart rate.
Leijssen in the field of vital sign monitoring systems teaches: “…the lower frequency provides deeper penetration into the human body than the higher frequency; whereas, the phase shift at the higher frequency is more strongly influenced by both heart rate and respiration as compared with the phase shift at lower frequency... it is straightforward to employ an oscillator circuit, to compose with the coil, having an electrical oscillator that can operate at the two frequencies, and provides the frequency variation and the absorbed magnetic energy variation according to the impedance magnitude and phase variation over time.” [0032]; “FIG. 4, the analog and/or DSP circuitry 40 generates both cardiac and respiratory vital signs by processing the lower frequency magnitude signal 31, the higher frequency magnitude signal 33, and the high frequency phase shift signal 38. More specifically, in this illustrative embodiment a cardiac signal 44 is generated by combining the lower frequency magnitude signal 31 and the higher frequency phase variation signal 38; while, a respiratory signal 46 is generated by combining the higher frequency magnitude signal 33 and the higher frequency phase shift signal 38. At least one vital sign parameter is derived from the cardiac and respiratory signals 44, 46. For example, a heart rate signal can be derived from the cardiac signal 44 as the principle periodicity, e.g. extracted by a Fourier transform, determining an average peak-to-peak time interval, or so forth. Similarly, a breathing rate signal can be derived as the principle frequency of the respiratory signal 46. A breathing depth signal can also be derived from the respiratory signal 46, e.g. as the magnitude of, or a peak-to-valley metric of, the respiratory signal 46. The heart rate signal, the breathing signal, and/or the breathing depth signal can then be transmitted by the processor 40 to the display 42 for display thereon, or transmitted to a computer system (e.g., a phone, watch, or PC) to a user.” [0052].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the data processing in the combination to determine based on phase variation data used in determining the breathing rate and the reflectance-based data is based on magnitude variation data associated with the data used to determine the heart rate as taught in Leijssen for “Unobtrusive continuous vital sign monitoring, especially of the life-critical heart rate and breathing parameters such as breathing rate and/or breath depth…” (Leijssen, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: wherein the micro-Doppler data comprises a set of micro-Doppler images of the region of interest (“…a novel ultra-wideband (sub)Terahertz sensing system (UWTS) not only capable of high spatial resolution imaging but also capable of remote cardiac sensing.”, section: Introduction; “Using this system we extracted the vital signs from various body parts leveraging the advantages of THz waves including highly directive beams and great range resolution due to large bandwidth. Being able use high spatial resolution THz images to strategically detect pulse information.” Section V: conclusion).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: wherein the radar return signal is reflected by a dermis layer of skin of the one or more subjects (“Three representative examples are provided, in which measurements are taken from inner elbow, wrist and head. During the experiments, the test subject maintains quasi-stationary status, breathing normally but with minimum body movement.” Section IV(B):Cardiac measurements of peripheral body parts. See Figs. 1 and 6).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: further comprising: an ultra-wideband (UWB) radar emitter that emits the 3D THz radar signal, wherein the radar return signal is a reflection of the 3D THz radar signal (“…a novel ultra-wideband (sub)Terahertz sensing system (UWTS) not only capable of high spatial resolution imaging but also capable of remote cardiac sensing.”, section: Introduction. See Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: further comprising: a stepped-frequency continuous-wave (SFCW) radar emitter that emits the 3D THz radar signal, wherein the radar return signal is a reflection of the 3D THz radar signal (“Herein we use a stepped-FMCW (SFMCW) radar…The SFMCW radar transmits a series of discrete narrow band pulses in a stepwise to achieve a larger effective bandwidth.” Section II: Signal model. See Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Rong, Fung and Leijssen teach the claim limitations as noted above.
Rong further teaches: wherein the signal processor is further configured to identify a first human subject and a second human subject based on the radar return signal (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Rong teaches: processor configured to: receive a radar return signal from a terahertz (THz) radar sensor (“…a novel ultra-wideband (sub)Terahertz sensing system (UWTS) not only capable of high spatial resolution imaging but also capable of remote cardiac sensing.”, section: Introduction.; “The SFMCW radar transmits a series of discrete narrow band pulses in a stepwise to achieve a larger effective bandwidth. As such, the modulated waveform consists of a group of N coherent pulses with pulse duration T…” Section II: Signal Model; See Fig.1);
measure an absorption level of the radar return signal relative to a transmitted three- dimensional (3D) THz radar signal based on reflectance-based data and micro-Doppler data of a region of interest of one or more subjects (“…with wider bandwidth, our UWTS system can perform time-domain based micromotion analysis and extract meaningful motion information in the temporal domain. Time-frequency methods, such as the popular micro-Doppler analysis [23], are utilized when using conventional RF devices for motion analysis, such gaits, hand gesture, head motion, heartbeat. The time-varying characteristics of motion pattern is analyzed with the help of spectral analysis.” Section III(A): Spatial/Range Resolvability; See Fig. 1);
with regards to limitation: and extract vital sign information of the one or more subjects based on the micro-Doppler data and changes in absorption levels of the radar return signal indicating changes in amounts of oxygenated and deoxygenated blood, Rong further teaches: “…we exploit the spatial resolution and large signaling BW to enable precise pulse measurement by pointing a narrow-focused beam to the strategic body parts and, by doing so, significantly reducing the breathing artifacts and other random body movement interferences. Herein, we present results denoting that the vital signs can be extracted in the presence of breathing for various body parts…” Section I: Introduction; “To demonstrate the superior cardiac sensitivity of the proposed system we map the extracted phase variations (I/Q samples) due to heartbeat onto a unit circle in Fig. 4…” Section III(A): Spatial/Range Resolvability.
Rong does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium and the changes in the reflectance-based data indicate changes in amounts of oxygenated and deoxygenated blood.
Fung in the field of photoplethysmography systems teaches: “The sensor assembly sensors can provide various types of physiological data that can be evaluated by the computing device 104 to determine the physiological state of the driver 118. Various types of physiological data that can be received from the sensor assembly sensors include, but are not limited to, heart information, such as, heart rate, blood pressure, blood flow, oxygen content, blood alcohol content (BAC), brain information, such as, functional near infrared spectroscopy (fNIRS), respiration rate information, as well as other kinds of information related to the autonomic nervous system or other biological systems of the driver 118.” [0031]; “The one or more optical sensors 202 can each measure the amount of light that is reflected by the tissue in order to determine an amount of light that is absorbed by the driver's body. In other words, the optical sensors 202 can measure the pulsation change in the driver's blood volume with respect to oxygen saturation as more blood will absorb a higher amount of light, and less blood will absorb a lesser amount of light.” [0041]; “Non-transitory computer-readable storage media includes computer storage media and communication media. For example, flash memory drives, digital versatile discs (DVDs), compact discs (CDs), floppy disks, and tape cassettes. Non-transitory computer-readable storage media may include volatile and nonvolatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer readable instructions, data structures, modules or other data. Non-transitory computer readable storage media excludes transitory and propagated data signals.” [0090]
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Rong a non-transitory computer medium and modify the reflectance-based data in Rong to indicate changes in amounts of oxygenated and deoxygenated blood as taught in Fung to “…provide various types of physiological data that can be evaluated…” (Fung, [0031]).
With regards to limitations: wherein the vital sign information comprises at least one of a heart rate, a heartbeat waveform, a heart rate variability (HRV), vascular aging information, or artery stiffness information, and wherein the micro-Doppler data is determined based on phase variation data associated with the radar return signal that is used to determine the breathing rate, and the reflectance-based data is based on magnitude variation data associated with the radar return signal that is used to determine the heart rate, Rong further teaches: “In Fig. 6(a), the radar measurement (in blue curve) is well aligned with the reference pulse waveform (in red curve). In Fig. 6(b)(c), more quantitative representation of the results are given. In Fig. 6(b), the R-peaks extracted from the reference pulse are plotted against the measurement results. R-R intervals indicates important heart health conditions when performing heart-variability analysis…Additionally, the heart rate estimates using UWTS are consistent with the reference heart rates. These results are summarized in Table II, where the heart rate is computed as the averaged R-R interval times 60 s. The unit is beats per minute.” Section IV(B): Cardiac Measurements of Peripheral Body Parts; The range profile is obtained by performaing inverse Fourier transform of the N fast frequnecy samples with respect to n for every frame. Then, the normalized baseband slow-time (m) versus fast-time (k) data matrix is computed... The phase information directly related to motion of interest is perserved in the term ej2πf0τD(m) . To extract signal of interest with maximum SNR…” section II: Signal Model; “Our UWTS system can detect physical displacement as small as a few micrometers at short distance if the scattering field is able to generate enough backscattered energy. This ability is evident from Eqn. 5. Theoretically, the extracted phase variation is linearly related to the target motion…” section III(B): Advantage of Phase Sensitivity.
The combination does not explicitly teach: the data is determined based on phase variation data used in determining the breathing rate and the reflectance-based data is based on magnitude variation data associated with the data used to determine the heart rate.
Leijssen in the field of vital sign monitoring systems teaches: “…the lower frequency provides deeper penetration into the human body than the higher frequency; whereas, the phase shift at the higher frequency is more strongly influenced by both heart rate and respiration as compared with the phase shift at lower frequency... it is straightforward to employ an oscillator circuit, to compose with the coil, having an electrical oscillator that can operate at the two frequencies, and provides the frequency variation and the absorbed magnetic energy variation according to the impedance magnitude and phase variation over time.” [0032]; “FIG. 4, the analog and/or DSP circuitry 40 generates both cardiac and respiratory vital signs by processing the lower frequency magnitude signal 31, the higher frequency magnitude signal 33, and the high frequency phase shift signal 38. More specifically, in this illustrative embodiment a cardiac signal 44 is generated by combining the lower frequency magnitude signal 31 and the higher frequency phase variation signal 38; while, a respiratory signal 46 is generated by combining the higher frequency magnitude signal 33 and the higher frequency phase shift signal 38. At least one vital sign parameter is derived from the cardiac and respiratory signals 44, 46. For example, a heart rate signal can be derived from the cardiac signal 44 as the principle periodicity, e.g. extracted by a Fourier transform, determining an average peak-to-peak time interval, or so forth. Similarly, a breathing rate signal can be derived as the principle frequency of the respiratory signal 46. A breathing depth signal can also be derived from the respiratory signal 46, e.g. as the magnitude of, or a peak-to-valley metric of, the respiratory signal 46. The heart rate signal, the breathing signal, and/or the breathing depth signal can then be transmitted by the processor 40 to the display 42 for display thereon, or transmitted to a computer system (e.g., a phone, watch, or PC) to a user.” [0052].
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the data processing in the combination to determine based on phase variation data used in determining the breathing rate and the reflectance-based data is based on magnitude variation data associated with the data used to determine the heart rate as taught in Leijssen for “Unobtrusive continuous vital sign monitoring, especially of the life-critical heart rate and breathing parameters such as breathing rate and/or breath depth…” (Leijssen, [0002]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMAL ALY FARAG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798