The Amendment filed on 02/23/26 has been received. Application No. 17/866,018 of claims 1-20 are now pending, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments and arguments did not overcome the previous, 35 USC 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant made the following arguments:
Applicant argues regarding claims 1-20, “Wilner does not teach a computerized system for improving the information handling system end-products by improving GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by an information handling system manufacturer.…Wilner does not teach or describe anything related to the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system as a specialized computerized hardware system for an information handling system manufacturer to determine a distributed GHG emission value describing GHG emitted during manufacture of an end-product at the manufacturing facility from multiple hardware component sources and materials sources for improving the information handling system end-products by improving GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by an information handling system manufacturer”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wilner disclose in paragraphs [0011]-[0012] reporting component functions, a method of managing greenhouse gas emissions while paragraph [0116] discloses data validation component functions along with master/meta data component features on data retrieval from external systems and/or applications. Furthermore, Figure 26A, paragraphs [0196] and [0201]-[0202] of Wilner disclose the emissions management system features, such as managing and reporting emission values while the reporting component provides the process to determine historical emissions and future emissions for a portfolio and its usage efficiency in which “system reporting component 2602A can be configured to determine changes in emissions for one or more emission sources according to the specified scenario and/or action. For example, the reporting component 2602A may determine an amount of emissions that would be reduced by one or more emission sources in one or more projects of the portfolio as a result of the user-specified action” [0202]. Therefore, the combination of Wilner and Dilip discloses the claimed limitations. The Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claims 1-20, “Wilner also fails to teach verification of secure source of chain of possession for the plurality of data field values for supply chain sources and manufacturing facilities used in assembly of an information handling system end product to determine GHG emission units… Dilip also fails to meet the above limitations”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Dilip teaches in paragraphs [0008]-[0010] the carbon emissions management application functions in which utilization of real time emission data obtained from detectors in which “carbon emissions management application performs analytics 104 using the real time emission data 101 obtained from detectors via the communication protocol, user information 103, for example, scope 2 emissions such as emissions resulting from purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc., and supply chain data 102, for example, scope 3 emissions such as emissions resulting from the extraction and production of purchased materials and fuels from the suppliers. The carbon emissions management application displays the analyzed emission data on a dashboard with comparisons of historic emission data, types of emissions in the current year categorized, for example, based on types of scope 1 greenhouse gases, geographical location of the detectors, for example, a factory location, a manufacturing facility location, country if the entity's facilities are dispersed around the world, by products that the entity produces, and by suppliers that contribute to the emissions” (analogous to secure source of chain of possession for the plurality of data field values for supply chain sources and manufacturing facilities used in assembly of an information handling system end product to determine GHG emission units) [0008]. Therefore, the combination of Wilner and Dilip discloses the claimed limitations. The Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding claims 1-20, “none of the combination of references teaches the claimed specialized computerized hardware system executing machine readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to determine a distributed GHG emission value of an information handling system end-product produced by the assembly manufacturing from components sourced from the plurality of manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources for an information handling system manufacturer… None of the cited or other embodiments in Dilip's comprehensive financial accounting system of GHG allowances and their financial values relates to or describes anything about the claimed specialized computerized hardware system executing machine readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to determine a distributed GHG emission value of an information handling system end-product produced by the assembly manufacturing from components sourced from the plurality of manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources. There are no teachings in Dilip of this system, assessment of hardware component sources or material sources used in assembly manufacturing and GHGs attributed thereto of an information handling system end product”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner points to Response to Arguments II above. In response to Applicant's argument that there is no suggestion to combine the references, the Examiner recognizes that references cannot be arbitrarily combined and that there must be some reason why one skilled in the art would be motivated to make the proposed combination of primary and secondary references. In re Nomiya, 184 USPQ 607 (CCPA 1975). However, there is no requirement that a motivation to make the modification be expressly articulated. The test for combining references is what the combination of disclosures taken as a whole would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re McLaughlin, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). References are evaluated by what they suggest to one versed in the art, rather than by their specific disclosures. In re Bozek, 163 USPQ 545 (CCP A 1969). In this case, Wilner discloses electronic gas emission management system while Dilip teaches real time carbon emissions assimilation, reporting and management system. Therefore, the combination of Wilner and Dilip discloses the claimed limitations. The Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-11, and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilner et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0391921; hereinafter “Wilner”) in view of Dilip et al. (U.S. PGPub 2016/0055596; hereinafter “Dilip”).
As per claim 1, Wilner discloses an information handling system of a database management control platform executing computer readable code instructions of a transparent greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions validation and reporting service system comprising: a network interface device receiving a plurality of data field values for records of consumption; (See paras. 11-12, 111 and 297, wherein emission values for emission sources and retrieving fields of data are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
a hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to: (See paras. 28, 108, 111, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See para. 229, wherein valid range for emission values are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
confirm the plurality of data field values received includes attached validation data to identify a data reporting sources from within a manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources for each of the components used in assembly manufacturing for the information handling system end-products; (See Fig. 5, paras. 108, 111 and 116, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See Fig. 15, paras. 163, 210, 233, and 267, wherein user-defined reports and manufacturing corporation defining a universal emission portfolio for managing greenhouse gas emissions are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
store the plurality of data field values in a database repository; (See paras. 7, 12, wherein stored emission values are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
determine an overall GHG emission value describing GHG emissions from the plurality of manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources for the components used in assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-products over a user-specified reporting period based on the received plurality of data field values; (See paras. 21, 24-25, 33, wherein time period configured to display data and reporting component functions are disclosed, also See Fig. 5, paras. 108, 111 and 116, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See Fig. 15, paras. 163, 233, and 267, wherein user-defined reports and manufacturing corporation defining a universal emission portfolio for managing greenhouse gas emissions are disclosed, also See Fig. 26A, paras. 196, 201-202, wherein the emissions management system features, such as managing and reporting emission values while the reporting component provides the process to determine historical emissions and future emissions for a portfolio and its usage efficiency in which “system reporting component 2602A can be configured to determine changes in emissions for one or more emission sources according to the specified scenario and/or action. For example, the reporting component 2602A may determine an amount of emissions that would be reduced by one or more emission sources in one or more projects of the portfolio as a result of the user-specified action” [0202]; as taught by Wilner.)
and a display device displaying a graphical user interface (GUI) of the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product of a plurality of information handling system end-products produced by the assembly manufacturing. (See Figs. 4-5, paras. 25, 154 and 163, wherein displaying data within user interface are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
However, Wilner fails to disclose a plurality of data field values for records of electricity, water, and fuel consumption associated with a data fields for component manufacturing of components used in assembly manufacturing of an information handling system end-product for input within a stored GHG emission equation to determine GHG emissions units for manufacture of the information handling system end-product; verify a secure source and chain of possession for the plurality of data field values for the data reporting sources of each of the manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources for the component used in assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-products; the determined GHG emissions units from the GHG emission equation; determine a distributed GHG emission value of an information handling system end-product produced by the assembly manufacturing from components sourced from the plurality of manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources; information handling system end-products manufactured by an information handling system manufacturer; a plurality of information handling system end-products produced by the assembly manufacturing to improve GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by the information handling system manufacturer.
On the other hand, Dilip teaches a plurality of data field values for records of electricity, water, and fuel consumption associated with a data fields for component manufacturing of components used in assembly manufacturing of an information handling system end-product for input within a stored GHG emission equation to determine GHG emissions units for manufacture of the information handling system end-product; (See Fig. 1, paras. 6-7, wherein emission results, emission data in which “flowchart to develop the utility software to validate this patent (containing both the analytical and accounting portions including the sensor hardware that has been integrated to this software to provide real time emission results) comprising the steps for assimilating real time emission data 101, analyzing the real time emission data 101, and reporting the real time emission data” [0006] and “carbon emissions management application converts the GHG emission data into carbon and carbon dioxide equivalents for reporting purposes. The GHG protocol categorizes the direct and indirect emissions into three broad scopes, that is, scope 1 emission, scope 2 emissions, and scope 3 emissions. The scope 1 emissions comprise direct GHG emissions from the detectors. The scope 2 emissions comprise indirect GHG emissions resulting from consumption of purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc. The carbon score for scope 2 emissions are calculated, for example, based on the amount of purchased electricity” [0007] are disclosed, also See paras. 87-98, wherein values of utilized electricity, steam, emission values are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
verify a secure source and chain of possession for the plurality of data field values for the data reporting sources of each of the manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources for each of the components used in assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-products; (See paras. 8-10, wherein supply chain data, sources in which “carbon emissions management application performs analytics 104 using the real time emission data 101 obtained from detectors via the communication protocol, user information 103, for example, scope 2 emissions such as emissions resulting from purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc., and supply chain data 102, for example, scope 3 emissions such as emissions resulting from the extraction and production of purchased materials and fuels from the suppliers. The carbon emissions management application displays the analyzed emission data on a dashboard with comparisons of historic emission data, types of emissions in the current year categorized, for example, based on types of scope 1 greenhouse gases, geographical location of the detectors, for example, a factory location, a manufacturing facility location, country if the entity's facilities are dispersed around the world, by products that the entity produces, and by suppliers that contribute to the emissions” [0008] are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
the determined GHG emissions units from the GHG emission equation; (See paras. 36-37, wherein carbon emissions management application functions are disclosed, also See paras. 49-50, wherein calculated carbon score for scope emissions in which “scope 2 emissions comprise indirect GHG emissions resulting from consumption of purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc. The carbon score for scope 2 emissions are calculated, for example, based on the amount of purchased electricity. The scope 3 emissions comprise other indirect emissions resulting from, for example, extraction and production of purchased materials and fuels, transport-related activities in automobiles not owned or controlled by a reporting entity, electricity-related activities such as transmission and distribution losses not covered under scope 2 emissions, outsourced activities, waste disposal, etc.” [0049] are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
determine a distributed GHG emission value of an information handling system end-product produced by the assembly manufacturing from components sourced from the plurality of manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources; (See paras. 8-10, wherein carbon emissions management application aggregating emission data by suppliers process in which “types of emissions in the current year categorized, for example, based on types of scope 1 greenhouse gases, geographical location of the detectors, for example, a factory location, a manufacturing facility location, country if the entity's facilities are dispersed around the world, by products that the entity produces, and by suppliers that contribute to the emissions. The carbon emissions management application instantaneously aggregates the emission data provided by the suppliers with the entity's emission data. The carbon emissions management application adds inputs provided by the suppliers as a carbon footprint contributing to the entity's data as a whole” [0008] are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
information handling system end-products manufactured by an information handling system manufacturer; (See paras. 8, 30, 39, wherein carbon emissions management application features, products made by entity, suppliers contribute to emissions are disclosed, also See paras. 36, 50, wherein manufacturing facilities are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
a plurality of information handling system end-products produced by the assembly manufacturing to improve GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by the information handling system manufacturer. (See paras. 95-101, wherein emission factors, emissions compared to reduction target, reduction checklist to reduce overall carbon footprint for organization (analogous to improve GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by the information handling system manufacturer) are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Dilip teachings in the Wilner system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for real time carbon emissions assimilation, reporting and management taught by Dilip in the Wilner system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner and Dilip) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Wilner fails to disclose the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to determine the distributed GHG emission value describing GHG emitted during the assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product based on the overall GHG emission value and a number of the information handling system end-products assembly manufactured from components source by the plurality of manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources to an assembly manufacturing facility over a period of time in which the plurality of data field values were recorded within a supply chain.
On the other hand, Dilip teaches the processor executing code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to determine the distributed GHG emission value describing GHG emitted during the assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product based on the overall GHG emission value and a number of the information handling system end-products assembly manufactured from components source by the plurality of manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources to an assembly manufacturing facility over a period of time in which the plurality of data field values were recorded within a supply chain. (See Fig. 1, paras. 6-7, wherein emission results, emission data in which “flowchart to develop the utility software to validate this patent (containing both the analytical and accounting portions including the sensor hardware that has been integrated to this software to provide real time emission results) comprising the steps for assimilating real time emission data 101, analyzing the real time emission data 101, and reporting the real time emission data” [0006] and “carbon emissions management application converts the GHG emission data into carbon and carbon dioxide equivalents for reporting purposes. The GHG protocol categorizes the direct and indirect emissions into three broad scopes, that is, scope 1 emission, scope 2 emissions, and scope 3 emissions. The scope 1 emissions comprise direct GHG emissions from the detectors. The scope 2 emissions comprise indirect GHG emissions resulting from consumption of purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc. The carbon score for scope 2 emissions are calculated, for example, based on the amount of purchased electricity” [0007] are disclosed, also See paras. 16-17, 87-98, wherein values of utilized electricity, steam, emission values are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
See claim 1 for motivation above.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip discloses the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system receiving a query from one of a group of platform users that includes the first platform user identifying the information handling system end-product and the GHG that is requested for display of the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product produced by the assembly manufacturing. (See Fig. 4, paras. 4-5, 44 and 147, wherein incorporating evolving infrastructure (i.e. distributed energy system) into projections of emission values and receiving queries based on user input are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip discloses the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to allow a previously authorized group of platform users to perform a query of the a first data field value for determination of the distributed GHG emission values for a plurality of types of information handling system end-products produced by the assembly manufacturing. (See paras. 233 and 258-259, wherein user selection of previously defined portfolio are disclosed, also See Fig. 24, paras. 108-111, and 186, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See para. 229, wherein valid range for emission values are disclosed, also See Figs. 4-5, paras. 25, 154 and 163, wherein displaying data within user interface are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip discloses the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to display the distributed GHG emission value determined for the information handling system end-product to a previously authorized group of platform users. (See paras. 233 and 258-259, wherein user selection of previously defined portfolio are disclosed, also See Fig. 24, paras. 108-111, and 186, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See para. 229, wherein valid range for emission values are disclosed, also See Figs. 4-5, paras. 25, 154 and 163, wherein displaying data within user interface are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip discloses wherein the GUI on the display device displays the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product in a timeline format showing greenhouse gases emitted over a time of manufacture of components from the plurality of manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources used in the assembly manufacturing, the assembly manufacturing, and transport of the information handling system end-product. (See para. 302, wherein key performance indicators (KPI) and data consumption/analysis are disclosed, also See Figs. 31-32, paras. 14, 21, and 270-271, wherein electricity purchased and emission impact are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
As per claim 9, Wilner discloses a method of reporting greenhouse gas emissions based on transparently gathered and verified data for assembly manufacturing of an information handling system end-product comprising: receiving a query, via a graphical user interface (GUI) on a display device for a transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system, identifying the information handling system end-product manufactured by an information handling system manufacturer, a reporting period, and a type of greenhouse gas emission (GHG); (See Fig. 4, paras. 44 and 147, wherein receiving queries based on user input are disclosed, also See paras. 108, 111, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See paras. 202, 229, wherein type of fuel used, reporting component functions and valid range for emission values are disclosed, also See para. 302, wherein key performance indicators (KPI) and data consumption/analysis are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
retrieving from a database repository, via a query and reporting user interface and a hardware processor executing computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system, an overall GHG emission value determined based on a GHG emission equation and a plurality of data field values of GHG emission values from a plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources for manufacture of a plurality of components used in assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product at an assembly manufacturing facility, where at least a portion of the plurality of data field values haves attached validation data to identify a data reporting source of the data field values such that the data field values have a secure source and chain of possession for each of those components as verified by a database management system (DBMS) platform orchestrating access to the database repository; (See Fig. 5, paras. 108, 111 and 116, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See Fig. 15, paras. 163, 233, and 267, wherein user-defined reports and manufacturing corporation defining a universal emission portfolio for managing greenhouse gas emissions are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
and displaying, via the display device, the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product via the GUI. (See Figs. 4-5, paras. 25, 154 and 163, wherein displaying data within user interface are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
However, Wilner fails to disclose determining, via a processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system, a distributed GHG emission value describing GHG emitted during manufacture of the information handling system end-product; based on an overall GHG emission value for the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources for manufacture of the plurality of components used in assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product and the assembly manufacturing facility that assembly manufactures the information handling system end-product over the reporting period and a number of the information handling system end-products manufactured over a period of time in which each of the plurality of data field values were stored at the database repository; and information handling system end-product on the GUI to improve GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by the information handling system manufacturer.
On the other hand, Dilip teaches determining, via a processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system, a distributed GHG emission value describing GHG emitted during manufacture of the information handling system end-product; based on an overall GHG emission value for the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources for manufacture of the plurality of components used in assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product and the assembly manufacturing facility that assembly manufactures the information handling system end-product over the reporting period and a number of the information handling system end-products manufactured over a period of time in which each of the plurality of data field values were stored at the database repository; (See Fig. 1, paras. 6-7, wherein emission results, emission data in which “flowchart to develop the utility software to validate this patent (containing both the analytical and accounting portions including the sensor hardware that has been integrated to this software to provide real time emission results) comprising the steps for assimilating real time emission data 101, analyzing the real time emission data 101, and reporting the real time emission data” [0006] and “carbon emissions management application converts the GHG emission data into carbon and carbon dioxide equivalents for reporting purposes. The GHG protocol categorizes the direct and indirect emissions into three broad scopes, that is, scope 1 emission, scope 2 emissions, and scope 3 emissions. The scope 1 emissions comprise direct GHG emissions from the detectors. The scope 2 emissions comprise indirect GHG emissions resulting from consumption of purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc. The carbon score for scope 2 emissions are calculated, for example, based on the amount of purchased electricity” [0007] are disclosed, also See paras. 16-17, 87-98, wherein values of utilized electricity, steam, emission values are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
and information handling system end-product on the GUI to improve GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by the information handling system manufacturer. (See paras. 95-101, wherein emission factors, emissions compared to reduction target, reduction checklist to reduce overall carbon footprint for organization (analogous to improve GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by the information handling system manufacturer) are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Dilip teachings in the Wilner system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for real time carbon emissions assimilation, reporting and management taught by Dilip in the Wilner system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner and Dilip) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is hereby incorporated by reference, Wilner discloses receiving the plurality of data field values, each associated with a data field name identified; (See paras. 11-12, 111 and 297, wherein emission values for emission sources and retrieving fields of data are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
and storing the plurality of data field values in the database repository. (See paras. 7, 11, wherein storing emission values are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
However, Wilner fails to disclose GHG emission equation.
On the other hand, Dilip teaches GHG emission equation; (See Fig. 1, paras. 6-7, wherein emission results, emission data in which “flowchart to develop the utility software to validate this patent (containing both the analytical and accounting portions including the sensor hardware that has been integrated to this software to provide real time emission results) comprising the steps for assimilating real time emission data 101, analyzing the real time emission data 101, and reporting the real time emission data” [0006] and “carbon emissions management application converts the GHG emission data into carbon and carbon dioxide equivalents for reporting purposes. The GHG protocol categorizes the direct and indirect emissions into three broad scopes, that is, scope 1 emission, scope 2 emissions, and scope 3 emissions. The scope 1 emissions comprise direct GHG emissions from the detectors. The scope 2 emissions comprise indirect GHG emissions resulting from consumption of purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc. The carbon score for scope 2 emissions are calculated, for example, based on the amount of purchased electricity” [0007] are disclosed, also See paras. 87-98, wherein values of utilized electricity, steam, emission values are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
See claim 9 for motivation above.
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 9 is hereby incorporated by reference, Wilner fails to disclose verifying, via the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system, that the plurality of data field values have been received via a secure and authorized source, via an authorization controller of the DBMS platform confirming receipt from the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources of a digital token previously issued to the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources for manufacture of the plurality of components used in assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product.
On the other hand, Dilip teaches verifying, via the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system, that the plurality of data field values have been received via a secure and authorized source, via an authorization controller of the DBMS platform confirming receipt from the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources of a digital token previously issued to the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources for manufacture of the plurality of components used in assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product. (See paras. 8-10, wherein supply chain data, sources in which “carbon emissions management application performs analytics 104 using the real time emission data 101 obtained from detectors via the communication protocol, user information 103, for example, scope 2 emissions such as emissions resulting from purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc., and supply chain data 102, for example, scope 3 emissions such as emissions resulting from the extraction and production of purchased materials and fuels from the suppliers. The carbon emissions management application displays the analyzed emission data on a dashboard with comparisons of historic emission data, types of emissions in the current year categorized, for example, based on types of scope 1 greenhouse gases, geographical location of the detectors, for example, a factory location, a manufacturing facility location, country if the entity's facilities are dispersed around the world, by products that the entity produces, and by suppliers that contribute to the emissions” [0008] and “the carbon emissions management application requests 111 users to input required data and generates journal entries according to the choices made by the users, thereby providing the users the authority to decide how they want the emissions to be reported while also giving them the choice to experiment between different modes of reporting so that they can make the best decision for their particular situation in terms of the company and the governing body” [0010] are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
See claim 9 for motivation above.
As per claim 15, Wilner discloses an information handling system of a database management control platform executing computer readable code instructions of a transparent greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions validation and reporting service system comprising: a network interface device receiving, from a plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources plurality of data field values for records of consumption for component manufacturing of components used in assembly manufacturing of information handling system end-products for input within a stored GHG emission equation to determine GHG emissions units for manufacture of the information handling system end-products; (See paras. 11-12, 111 and 297, wherein emission values for emission sources and retrieving fields of data are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
a hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to: (See paras. 108, 111, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See para. 229, wherein valid range for emission values are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
confirm the received plurality of data field values includes attached validation data to identify a data reporting source from within plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources; (See Fig. 5, paras. 108, 111 and 116, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See Fig. 15, paras. 163, 233, and 267, wherein user-defined reports and manufacturing corporation defining a universal emission portfolio for managing greenhouse gas emissions are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
store the plurality of data field values in a database repository; (See paras. 7, 12, wherein stored emission values are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
receive a query from a platform user, via a graphical user interface (GUI), (See Fig. 4, paras. 44 and 147, wherein receiving queries based on user input are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
determine an overall GHG emission value for the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources for manufacturing components; (See paras. 21, 24-25, 33, wherein time period configured to display data and reporting component functions are disclosed, also See Fig. 5, paras. 108, 111 and 116, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See Fig. 15, paras. 163, 233, and 267, wherein user-defined reports and manufacturing corporation defining a universal emission portfolio for managing greenhouse gas emissions are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
and a display device displaying the distributed GHG emission value in the GUI for the first information handling system end-product to the platform user. (See Figs. 4-5, paras. 25, 154 and 163, wherein displaying data within user interface are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
However, Wilner fails to disclose supply chain used manufacturing components from a supply chain for assembly manufacturing the information handling system end-products at an assembly manufacturing facility of an information handling system manufacture; verify a secure source and chain of possession for each of the plurality of data field values for each of those components used for assembly manufacturing the information handling system end-products; identifying an first information handling system end-product for end-user consumption, a reporting period, and a type of GHG, wherein the platform user queries GHG emissions platform user queries GHG emissions are entities involved in the supply chain for manufacture of components, assembly manufacturing, and transport of the first information handling system end-product to the end-user; for the assembly manufacturing facility that manufactures the information handling system end-products and for the transportation of the information handling system end-products from the plurality data field values received; and the GHG emission equation; determine a distributed GHG emission value describing GHG emitted during manufacture of the first information handling system end-product; based on the overall GHG emission value and a number of the information handling system end-products manufactured over the reporting period in which the plurality data field values were recorded; and information handling system end-product to the platform user to improve GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by the information handling system manufacturer.
On the other hand, Dilip teaches manufacturing components from a supply chain for assembly manufacturing the information handling system end-products at an assembly manufacturing facility of an information handling system manufacture; (See Fig. 1, paras. 6-7, wherein emission results, emission data in which “flowchart to develop the utility software to validate this patent (containing both the analytical and accounting portions including the sensor hardware that has been integrated to this software to provide real time emission results) comprising the steps for assimilating real time emission data 101, analyzing the real time emission data 101, and reporting the real time emission data” [0006] and “carbon emissions management application converts the GHG emission data into carbon and carbon dioxide equivalents for reporting purposes. The GHG protocol categorizes the direct and indirect emissions into three broad scopes, that is, scope 1 emission, scope 2 emissions, and scope 3 emissions. The scope 1 emissions comprise direct GHG emissions from the detectors. The scope 2 emissions comprise indirect GHG emissions resulting from consumption of purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc. The carbon score for scope 2 emissions are calculated, for example, based on the amount of purchased electricity” [0007] are disclosed, also See paras. 87-98, wherein values of utilized electricity, steam, emission values are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
verify a secure source and chain of possession for each of the plurality of data field values; (See paras. 8-10, wherein supply chain data, sources in which “carbon emissions management application performs analytics 104 using the real time emission data 101 obtained from detectors via the communication protocol, user information 103, for example, scope 2 emissions such as emissions resulting from purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc., and supply chain data 102, for example, scope 3 emissions such as emissions resulting from the extraction and production of purchased materials and fuels from the suppliers. The carbon emissions management application displays the analyzed emission data on a dashboard with comparisons of historic emission data, types of emissions in the current year categorized, for example, based on types of scope 1 greenhouse gases, geographical location of the detectors, for example, a factory location, a manufacturing facility location, country if the entity's facilities are dispersed around the world, by products that the entity produces, and by suppliers that contribute to the emissions” [0008] are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
identifying an first information handling system end-product for end-user consumption, a reporting period, and a type of GHG, wherein the platform user queries GHG emissions platform user queries GHG emissions are entities involved in the supply chain for manufacture of components, assembly manufacturing, and transport of the first information handling system end-product to the end-user; (See paras. 8-10, wherein supply chain data, sources in which “carbon emissions management application performs analytics 104 using the real time emission data 101 obtained from detectors via the communication protocol, user information 103, for example, scope 2 emissions such as emissions resulting from purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc., and supply chain data 102, for example, scope 3 emissions such as emissions resulting from the extraction and production of purchased materials and fuels from the suppliers. The carbon emissions management application displays the analyzed emission data on a dashboard with comparisons of historic emission data, types of emissions in the current year categorized, for example, based on types of scope 1 greenhouse gases, geographical location of the detectors, for example, a factory location, a manufacturing facility location, country if the entity's facilities are dispersed around the world, by products that the entity produces, and by suppliers that contribute to the emissions” [0008] are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
for the assembly manufacturing facility that manufactures the information handling system end-products and for the transportation of the information handling system end-products from the plurality data field values received; (See paras. 8-10, wherein supply chain data, sources in which “carbon emissions management application performs analytics 104 using the real time emission data 101 obtained from detectors via the communication protocol, user information 103, for example, scope 2 emissions such as emissions resulting from purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc., and supply chain data 102, for example, scope 3 emissions such as emissions resulting from the extraction and production of purchased materials and fuels from the suppliers. The carbon emissions management application displays the analyzed emission data on a dashboard with comparisons of historic emission data, types of emissions in the current year categorized, for example, based on types of scope 1 greenhouse gases, geographical location of the detectors, for example, a factory location, a manufacturing facility location, country if the entity's facilities are dispersed around the world, by products that the entity produces, and by suppliers that contribute to the emissions” [0008] are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
and the GHG emission equation; (See paras. 36-37, wherein carbon emissions management application functions are disclosed, also See paras. 49-50, wherein calculated carbon score for scope emissions in which “scope 2 emissions comprise indirect GHG emissions resulting from consumption of purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc. The carbon score for scope 2 emissions are calculated, for example, based on the amount of purchased electricity. The scope 3 emissions comprise other indirect emissions resulting from, for example, extraction and production of purchased materials and fuels, transport-related activities in automobiles not owned or controlled by a reporting entity, electricity-related activities such as transmission and distribution losses not covered under scope 2 emissions, outsourced activities, waste disposal, etc.” [0049] are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
determine a distributed GHG emission value describing GHG emitted during manufacture of the first information handling system end-product; (See paras. 8-10, wherein carbon emissions management application aggregating emission data by suppliers process in which “types of emissions in the current year categorized, for example, based on types of scope 1 greenhouse gases, geographical location of the detectors, for example, a factory location, a manufacturing facility location, country if the entity's facilities are dispersed around the world, by products that the entity produces, and by suppliers that contribute to the emissions. The carbon emissions management application instantaneously aggregates the emission data provided by the suppliers with the entity's emission data. The carbon emissions management application adds inputs provided by the suppliers as a carbon footprint contributing to the entity's data as a whole” [0008] are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
based on the overall GHG emission value and a number of the information handling system end-products manufactured over the reporting period in which the plurality data field values were recorded; (See Fig. 1, paras. 6-7, wherein emission results, emission data in which “flowchart to develop the utility software to validate this patent (containing both the analytical and accounting portions including the sensor hardware that has been integrated to this software to provide real time emission results) comprising the steps for assimilating real time emission data 101, analyzing the real time emission data 101, and reporting the real time emission data” [0006] and “carbon emissions management application converts the GHG emission data into carbon and carbon dioxide equivalents for reporting purposes. The GHG protocol categorizes the direct and indirect emissions into three broad scopes, that is, scope 1 emission, scope 2 emissions, and scope 3 emissions. The scope 1 emissions comprise direct GHG emissions from the detectors. The scope 2 emissions comprise indirect GHG emissions resulting from consumption of purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc. The carbon score for scope 2 emissions are calculated, for example, based on the amount of purchased electricity” [0007] are disclosed, also See paras. 16-17, 87-98, wherein values of utilized electricity, steam, emission values are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
and information handling system end-product to the platform user to improve GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by the information handling system manufacturer. (See paras. 95-101, wherein emission factors, emissions compared to reduction target, reduction checklist to reduce overall carbon footprint for organization (analogous to improve GHG emissions resulting in manufacture of the information handling system end-product manufactured by the information handling system manufacturer) are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Dilip teachings in the Wilner system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for real time carbon emissions assimilation, reporting and management taught by Dilip in the Wilner system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner and Dilip) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
Claims 12-13, 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilner et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0391921; hereinafter “Wilner”) in view of Dilip et al. (U.S. PGPub 2016/0055596; hereinafter “Dilip”) and further in view of Kumar et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0334895; hereinafter “Kumar”).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 9 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip fails to disclose verifying, via the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system that the plurality of data field values have not been manipulated by unauthorized sources, via a blockchain controller of the DBMS platform confirming conformity of time stamps within blockchains for each of the plurality of data field values received from the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources for manufacture of the plurality of components used in assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product.
On the other hand, Kumar teaches verifying, via the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system that the plurality of data field values have not been manipulated by unauthorized sources, via a blockchain controller of the DBMS platform confirming conformity of time stamps within blockchains for each of the plurality of data field values received from the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources for manufacture of the plurality of components used in assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product. (See para. 11, wherein data integration in blockchain to generate reports are disclosed, also See paras. 41, 57, wherein data stored in series of blocks, time stamp and hash value and data authentication process are disclosed; as taught by Kumar.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Kumar teachings in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for collecting and storing environment data in a digital trust model, and processing the data using an accounting infrastructure taught by Kumar in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner, Dilip and Kumar) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 9 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip fails to disclose displaying, via the GUI on the display device, the distributed GHG emission value in a network format showing a proportion of overall GHG emissions emitted by each of the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources and the assembly manufacturing facility within a supply chain to manufacture and transport the information handling system end-product to an end consumer; including for raw materials for manufacture of the components and the information handling system end- product.
On the other hand, Kumar teaches displaying, via the GUI on the display device, the distributed GHG emission value in a network format showing a proportion of overall GHG emissions emitted by each of the plurality of component manufacturing facilities and supply chain sources and the assembly manufacturing facility within a supply chain to manufacture and transport the information handling system end-product to an end consumer; including for raw materials for manufacture of the components and the information handling system end- product. (See para. 52, wherein evaluating supply chain are disclosed, also See paras. 14, 28, wherein tracking energy consumption of the enterprise are disclosed, also See Fig. 4, paras. 41-43 and 48, wherein overall consumption and measuring of overall consumption are disclosed; as taught by Kumar.)
See claim 12 for motivation above.
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 15 is hereby incorporated by reference, Wilner discloses the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to: determine a distributed indirect GHG emission value describing GHG emitted during manufacture of the component; (See para. 212, wherein indirect emissions from sources are disclosed, also See paras. 21, 24-25, 33, wherein time period configured to display data and reporting component functions are disclosed, also See Fig. 5, paras. 108, 111 and 116, wherein data validation component functions and reporting data process are disclosed, also See Fig. 15, paras. 163, 233, and 267, wherein user-defined reports and manufacturing corporation defining a universal emission portfolio for managing greenhouse gas emissions are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
and the display device displaying, via the GUI, the distributed indirect GHG emission value to the platform user for manufacture of the component by the first component manufacturing facility and used in the assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product. (See Figs. 4-5, paras. 25, 154 and 163, wherein displaying data within user interface are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
However, Wilner fails to disclose the overall GHG emission value for manufacture of the component and a number of the components manufactured over the reporting period by the first component manufacturing facility.
On the other hand, Dilip teaches the overall GHG emission value for manufacture of the component and a number of the components manufactured over the reporting period by the first component manufacturing facility. (See Fig. 1, paras. 6-7, wherein emission results, emission data in which “flowchart to develop the utility software to validate this patent (containing both the analytical and accounting portions including the sensor hardware that has been integrated to this software to provide real time emission results) comprising the steps for assimilating real time emission data 101, analyzing the real time emission data 101, and reporting the real time emission data” [0006] and “carbon emissions management application converts the GHG emission data into carbon and carbon dioxide equivalents for reporting purposes. The GHG protocol categorizes the direct and indirect emissions into three broad scopes, that is, scope 1 emission, scope 2 emissions, and scope 3 emissions. The scope 1 emissions comprise direct GHG emissions from the detectors. The scope 2 emissions comprise indirect GHG emissions resulting from consumption of purchased electricity, heat, steam, etc. The carbon score for scope 2 emissions are calculated, for example, based on the amount of purchased electricity” [0007] are disclosed, also See paras. 16-17, 87-98, wherein values of utilized electricity, steam, emission values are disclosed; as taught by Dilip.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Dilip teachings in the Wilner system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for real time carbon emissions assimilation, reporting and management taught by Dilip in the Wilner system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner and Dilip) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
However, the combination of Wilner and Dilip fails to disclose query the database repository to identify a component manufactured by a first component manufacturing facility that is integrated into the first information handling system end-product by the platform user; query the database repository to determine a number of the components manufactured by the first component manufacturing facility over the reporting period.
However, Kumar teaches query the database repository to identify a component manufactured by a first component manufacturing facility that is integrated into the first information handling system end-product by the platform user; (See para. 12, wherein data collection process from plurality of measuring devices, third party, or enriched environmental data are disclosed; as taught by Kumar.)
query the database repository to determine a number of the components manufactured by the first component manufacturing facility over the reporting period. (See para. 12, wherein data collection process from plurality of measuring devices, third party, or enriched environmental data are disclosed; as taught by Kumar.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Kumar teachings in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for collecting and storing environment data in a digital trust model, and processing the data using an accounting infrastructure taught by Kumar in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner, Dilip and Kumar) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
Claims 6, 7, 14, 16, 18-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilner et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0391921; hereinafter “Wilner”) in view of Dilip et al. (U.S. PGPub 2016/0055596; hereinafter “Dilip”) and further in view of Shah et at. (U.S. PGPub 2017/0212668; hereinafter “Shah”).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip discloses wherein the GUI on the display device displays the distributed GHG emission value that identifies a portion of the distributed GHG emission value attributable to electricity consumed during manufacture of components from the plurality of manufacturing facilities or supply chain sources used in the assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product. (See para. 302, wherein key performance indicators (KPI) and data consumption/analysis are disclosed, also See Figs. 31-32, paras. 270-271, wherein electricity purchased and emission impact are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
However, the combination of Wilner and Dilip fails to disclose a pie chart format.
On the other hand, Shah teaches a pie chart format. (See para. 9, wherein different chart formats, such as line chart, pie chart, etc. are disclosed, also See para. 261, wherein energy consumption tracker widget displays a chart are disclosed; as taught by Shah.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Shah teachings in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for displaying a graphical visualization of data taught by Shah in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner, Dilip, and Shah) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip discloses wherein the GUI on the display device displays the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product that identifies a portion of the distributed GHG emission value attributable to transportation of the information handling system end-product to an end consumer from transportation data received in one of the plurality of data field values at the processor. (See para. 302, wherein key performance indicators (KPI) and data consumption/analysis are disclosed, also See Figs. 31-32, paras. 270-271, wherein electricity purchased and emission impact are disclosed; as taught by Wilner.)
However, the combination of Wilner and Dilip fails to disclose a pie chart format.
On the other hand, Shah teaches a pie chart format. (See para. 9, wherein different chart formats, such as line chart, pie chart, etc. are disclosed, also See para. 261, wherein energy consumption tracker widget displays a chart are disclosed; as taught by Shah.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Shah teachings in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for displaying a graphical visualization of data taught by Shah in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner, Dilip, and Shah) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 9 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip fails to disclose displaying, via the GUI on the display device, the distributed GHG emission value in a pie chart identifying a portion of the distributed GHG emission value attributable to consumption of petroleum products during manufacture of components and assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product.
On the other hand, Shah teaches displaying the distributed GHG emission value in a pie chart identifying a portion of the distributed GHG emission value attributable to consumption of petroleum products during manufacture of components and assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product. (See para. 9, wherein different chart formats, such as line chart, pie chart, etc. are disclosed, also See paras. 261 and 280, wherein energy consumption tracker widget displays a chart are disclosed; as taught by Shah.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Shah teachings in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for displaying a graphical visualization of data taught by Shah in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner, Dilip, and Shah) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 9 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip fails to disclose the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to: determine that the platform user is not authorized to view first data field value of the plurality of data field values, but is authorized to view the distributed GHG emission value determined for the first information handling system end-product that is partly based on the first data field value.
On the other hand, Shah teaches the hardware processor executing the computer readable code instructions of the transparent GHG emissions validation and reporting service system to: determine that the platform user is not authorized to view first data field value of the plurality of data field values, but is authorized to view the distributed GHG emission value determined for the first information handling system end-product that is partly based on the first data field value. (See Fig. 18, paras. 135, 247, 356, wherein authorized access to data are disclosed; as taught by Shah.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Shah teachings in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for providing authorized access data taught by Shah in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner, Dilip, and Shah) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 15 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip fails to disclose wherein the display device displays with the GUI the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product in a pie chart format that identifies a portion of the distributed GHG emission value attributable to the manufacture of a chemical.
On the other hand, Shah teaches wherein the display device displays with the GUI the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product in a pie chart format that identifies a portion of the distributed GHG emission value attributable to the manufacture of a chemical. (See para. 9, wherein different chart formats, such as line chart, pie chart, etc. are disclosed, also See paras. 261 and 280, wherein energy consumption tracker widget displays a chart are disclosed; as taught by Shah.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the Shah teachings in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system. Skilled artisan would have been motivated to incorporate a method for displaying a graphical visualization of data taught by Shah in the combination of Wilner and Dilip system for effective management of emission portfolio. In addition, both of the references (Wilner, Dilip, and Shah) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, data management. This close relation between both of the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 15 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip fails to disclose wherein the display device displays with the GUI the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product in a pie chart format that identifies a portion of the distributed GHG emission value attributable to the extraction of a raw material.
On the other hand, Shah teaches wherein the display device displays with the GUI the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product in a pie chart format that identifies a portion of the distributed GHG emission value attributable to the extraction of a raw material. (See para. 9, wherein different chart formats, such as line chart, pie chart, etc. are disclosed, also See paras. 261 and 280, wherein energy consumption tracker widget displays a chart are disclosed; as taught by Shah.)
See claim 18 for motivation above.
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 15 is hereby incorporated by reference, the combination of Wilner and Dilip fails to disclose wherein the display device displays with the GUI the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product in a pie chart format that identifies a portion of the distributed GHG emission value attributable to indirect GHG emissions occurring at steps in the supply chain for a plurality of components prior to assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product, as determined through mandatory reporting to a governmental regulatory agency.
On the other hand, Shah teaches wherein the display device displays with the GUI the distributed GHG emission value for the information handling system end-product in a pie chart format that identifies a portion of the distributed GHG emission value attributable to indirect GHG emissions occurring at steps in the supply chain for a plurality of components prior to assembly manufacturing of the information handling system end-product, as determined through mandatory reporting to a governmental regulatory agency. (See para. 9, wherein different chart formats, such as line chart, pie chart, etc. are disclosed, also See paras. 261 and 280, wherein energy consumption tracker widget displays a chart are disclosed; as taught by Shah.)
See claim 18 for motivation above.
Conclusion
1. The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
2. When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
POINT OF CONTACT
/L. L. H./
Examiner, Art Unit 2153
/KAVITA STANLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2153