DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s claim to priority to U.S. Provisional App. No. 63/223,210 filed July 19, 2021.
Status of Claims
This Office Action is responsive to the claims filed on 03/10/2026. Claims 2, 17, 19, and 22 were previously cancelled. Claims 9-11 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 16, and 21 have been amended. Claims 25-27 are newly presented. Claims 1, 3-16, 18, 20, 21, and 23-27 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “optical emitter” in claim 1, line 4, claim 16, line 7, and claim 21, line 5; “optical detector” in claim 1, line 7, claim 16, line 9, and claim 21, line 8; and “a second optical emitter” in claim 8, line 1. The corresponding structure for the optical emitters defined within the specification is “light emitting diodes (LED), vertical-cavity surface-emitting lasers (VCSELs), electroluminescent (EL) devices” (Pg. 20, Lines 21-23) and any functional equivalents. The corresponding structure for the optical detector defined within the specification is “a photodiode, a phototransistor, a charge-coupled device (CCD), a junction field effect transistor (JFET) optical sensor, a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS) optical sensor, an integrated photo detector integrated circuit, a light to voltage converter” (Pg. 20, Lines 23-27) and any functional equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25, line 2 recites the claim limitation “a trend in a magnitude” which is indefinite because it is unclear if this trend and magnitude is the same “tend” and “magnitude” that is already recited in claim 1, lines 14 and 15, respectively; OR a new trend and magnitude. It is further unclear if the control circuitry determining the trend of the magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations is a further required limitation. For the purpose of examination, this is understood to mean “a trend” and “a magnitude” is the same “tend” and “magnitude” that is already recited in claim 1, lines 14 and 15, respectively; OR a new trend and magnitude; and the control circuitry determining the trend of the magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations is a further required limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12-16, 20, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang (US 20220192600) in view of Nitzan (US 20130310669) and Luxon (WO 2017087366 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bang teaches a monitoring device (Paragraph [0052]; implantable cardiac monitoring device (ICM), device 100, Fig. 1) comprising:
an implantable housing (Paragraph [0052]; other implantable devices, including, but not limited to: a biocompatible housing; Paragraph [0085]; Implantable device 100 comprises one or more housings, housing 101 shown, Fig. 3) defining an interior volume (Paragraph [0085]; housing 101 can comprise a volume, Fig. 3 shows an interior volume), the implantable housing comprising:
control circuitry disposed within the interior volume (Paragraph [0091]; Implantable device 100 can further comprise a module configured to control; control assembly 160; Fig. 3);
an optical emitter (Paragraph [0093]; Functional element 190 can comprise one, two or more sensors, transducers…; consisting of: a light) coupled to the implantable housing (Paragraph [0093]; implantable device 100 further comprises one or more functional elements, functional element 190 shown) and in electrical communication with the control circuitry (Paragraph [0091]; Control assembly 160 can further comprise processor 165. Processor 165 can comprise an electronic module configured to instruct one or more components of implantable device 100 to perform one or more functions; Fig. 3), wherein the optical emitter is configured to emit light at a first wavelength (Paragraph [0042]; light energy to tissue (e.g. a transducer comprising a laser, light emitting diode and/or optical component such as a lens or prism)); and
an optical detector (Paragraph [0093]; an optical sensor, Fig. 3) coupled to the implantable housing (Paragraph [0093]; implantable device 100 further comprises one or more functional elements, functional element 190 shown, Fig. 3) and in electrical communication with the control circuitry (Paragraph [0091]; Control assembly 160 can further comprise processor 165. Processor 165 can comprise an electronic module configured to instruct one or more components of implantable device 100 to perform one or more functions), wherein the optical detector is configured to detect incident light (Paragraph [0093]; an optical sensor;); and
wherein the monitoring device is configured to be implanted in a subcutaneous tissue of a patient (Paragraph [0084]; Implantable device 100 comprises one or more devices that are configured to be implanted under the skin of a patient (e.g. implantable device 100 can be implanted into subcutaneous tissue) and collect patient data (e.g. patient physiologic data) from one or more sensors positioned under the skin of the patient).
Bang does not explicitly teach the monitoring device is an optical cardiogenic modulation monitoring device wherein the monitoring device is configured so that light emitted from the optical emitter propagates through lung tissue;
wherein the control circuitry is configured to use detected incident light to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue;
wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend, an average, or a statistical measure of at least one of a magnitude and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations over a time period.
Nitzan, however, teaches an optical cardiogenic modulation monitoring device (Paragraphs [0033] and [0055]; a method is presented for the measurement of the pulmonary PPG signal; The preferred pulse oximeter is a device) comprising:
an optical emitter (Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] and [0043]; light source; such as a laser diode or LED, Fig. 6), wherein the optical emitter is configured to emit light at a first wavelength (Paragraphs [0009] and [0042]; PPG probe consists of a light source emitting light into the tissue; infrared light which is less absorbed than visible light, is preferred… infrared light, of 700-1000 nm wavelength); and
an optical detector (Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] and [0044]; a detector are applied to the thoracic wall of a patient and the detector measures the light which was emitted from the light source; The "detector" thus defined may be an electro-optic light detecting element, such as a PIN diode or avalanche photodiode, Fig. 6), wherein the optical detector is configured to detect incident light (Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] and [0044]; light detecting element which detects the light scattered from the tissue);
wherein the monitoring device is configured so that light emitted from the optical emitter propagates through lung tissue (Paragraphs [0034]-[0039]; light emitted from a light-source reaches the lungs and that the light transmitted through the lung tissue is detected, Fig. 6);
wherein the control circuitry is configured to use detected incident light to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue (Paragraph [0033]; a method is presented for the measurement of the pulmonary PPG signal, presenting the oscillations at the heart rate of the transmission of light through a region in the microcirculation of the pulmonary system, Figs. 2 and 3; Examiner notes the measured PPG signal is a result of cardiogenic oscillations as understood in light of the Applicant’s specification, pg. 33, ln. 7-13 and Fig. 24, and is thus considered to read on the claimed limitation of using detected incident light to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue in its broadest reasonable interpretation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the device of Bang to have further used the detected incident light to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue and thus additionally have been an optical cardiogenic modulation monitoring device by performing the monitoring method as taught by Nitzan because it would further increase the utility of the device by measuring of parameters such as dissolved oxygen deep within the lung (Nitzan, Paragraph [0033]) and obtaining the PPG amplitude which is used to provide information on the arterial compliance of the systemic circulation (Nitzan, Paragraph [0009]) thereby giving more information about the state of the cardiopulmonary system and allowing more accurate diagnoses of lung or heart problems.
Together Bang and Nitzan do not explicitly teach the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend, an average, or a statistical measure of at least one of a magnitude and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations over a time period.
Luxon, however, teaches an optical cardiogenic modulation monitoring device (Paragraph [0007]; respiratory monitor that is capable of directly monitoring cardiac function in a remote setting. The respiratory monitor, or airway device/controller, detects minor variations in expiratory airflow pressure known as cardiogenic oscillations) comprising control circuitry (Paragraph [0125]; computer system 1100 which is a form of a data processing system… coupled to one or more microprocessors 1103);
wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend, an average, or a statistical measure (Paragraph [0144]; multiple airway devices/controllers may be collected and aggregated and analyzed for trends.; Paragraph [0155]; one or more cardiogenic oscillation curves, each relating to one heartbeat, can be collected and identified and averaged) of at least one of a magnitude (Paragraphs [0007] and [0015]; Variations in waveform peak-to-peak period and magnitude, in addition to other parameters, may be determined) and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations (Paragraph [0162]; Analysis of the shape of the cardiogenic oscillation curve may provide information on the patient… Changes in the cardiogenic oscillation curve may indicate specific disease states, or relative disease states) over a time period (Paragraph [0162]; the change in the shape of the curve compared to normal or over time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Bang in view of Nitzan such that the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend, an average, or a statistical measure of at least one of a magnitude and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations over a time period as taught by Luxon because it would have allowed determining specific disease states based on the changes of the cardiogenic oscillation (Paragraph [0162]) and therefore allowed tracking a patient’s cardiac health and be used to adjust his/her care accordingly (Paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 3, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Bang discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose at least one of absorption, scattering and phase of the light detected by the optical detector is used to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue.
Nitzan, however, further teaches the at least one of absorption and scattering of the light detected by the optical detector is used to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue (Paragraphs [0047] and [0058]; These methods derive the required parameter from spectroscopic absorption measurements; a significant quantity of the light reaching the detector have been scattered by the lung tissue and the PPG pulse will mainly represent the blood volume changes in the pulmonary circulation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the optical detector of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon to have used the absorption and scattering of the light to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue because it would have been a well-understood method of obtaining the PPG signal, and thus measuring oxygen saturation of blood (Nitzan, Paragraphs [0006], [0009], and [0047]) that further allows measurement of concentrations of blood analytes (Paragraph [0013]) thereby providing additional information about the cardiopulmonary system.
Regarding claim 4, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 3 as noted above.
Bang discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose the absorption is used to determine an optical density of an optical path from the optical emitter to the optical detector and the optical density is used to measure the cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue.
Nitzan, however, further teaches the absorption is used to determine an optical density of an optical path from the optical emitter to the optical detector and the optical density is used to measure the cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue (Paragraphs [0013]-[0015] and [0051]; The transmitted light intensity, through a tissue sample which includes vessels with whole blood is based on Beer-Lambert law and is given by equation (2) where l is the effective optical path-length… α is the absorption constant of the tissue; in the pulmonary pulse oximetry technique, if the difference between the pathlengths of the two wavelengths in the infrared is significant, calibration by extracted blood from the pulmonary artery is required; Examiner notes the calculation of the absorption constant is considered to read on an optical density in its broadest reasonable interpretation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the device of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon to have used the absorption to determine an optical density of an optical path from the optical emitter to the optical detector and the optical density is used to measure the cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue as taught by Nitzan. This would have allowed measurement of the PPG signal and further using the PPG signal to assess the oxygen saturation of the tissue (Nitzan, Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 5, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Bang discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose both an AC component and a DC component of the light detected by the optical detector are used to determine used to measure the cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue.
Nitzan, however, further teaches both an AC component (Paragraphs [0009] and [0013]-[0015]; The amplitude of the PPG signal, (ID-IS), is related to the maximal change in arterial blood volume during systole) and a DC component (Paragraphs [0009] and [0013]-[0015]; The minimal value of the PPG signal, IS) of the light detected by the optical detector are used to determine used to measure the cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue (Paragraphs [0013]-[0015] and [0051]; ln(ID/IS) can be approximated by ΔIa/IS; the ratio R, defined by equation (5); the determination of the relationship between SaO2 and the measured parameter R derived from the two PPG signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the device of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon such that both an AC component and a DC component of the light are detected by the optical detector and are used to determine used to measure the cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue as taught by Nitzan. This would have allowed deriving the oxygen saturation of the tissue (Nitzan, Paragraph [0015]) that further could be used for pulse oximetry without needing to perform a calibration (Nitzan, Paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 6, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Bang discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose the first wavelength is from 800 nm to 1000 nm.
Nitzan, however, further teaches the first wavelength is from 800 nm to 1000 nm (Paragraph [0051]; wavelengths in the infrared are preferably used for the measurement of the pulmonary PPG signals; Paragraph [0042]; infrared light, of 700-1000 nm wavelength).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon such that the first wavelength is from 800 nm to 1000 nm as taught by Nitzan because it would allow the measurement of light absorption of arterial blood required for the determination of oxygen saturation by measuring the difference in absorption between the pathlengths of red and infrared PPG signals. (Paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 8, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Bang discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose a second optical emitter;
wherein the second optical emitter is configured to emit light at a second wavelength.
Nitzan further teaches the device further comprises a second optical emitter (Paragraph [0041]; a second detector can be attached to the esophageal wall or the thoracic wall, where the second detector and the light source are separated by less than 8 mm); wherein the second optical emitter is configured to emit light at a second wavelength (Paragraphs [0041]-[0045]; the measurement of pulmonary PPG in two wavelengths provides information on the oxygen saturation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon to have included a second optical emitter; wherein the second optical emitter is configured to emit light at a second wavelength as taught by Nitzan because it would have allowed determining an approximation of the dissolved oxygen by obtaining a ratio of the absorbance between the two wavelengths of light (Nitzan, Paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 12, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Bang discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose the optical emitter is disposed from 1 cm to 10 cm away from the optical detector.
Nitzan, however, further teaches the optical emitter is disposed from 1 cm to 10 cm away from the optical detector (Paragraph [0054]; In the pulmonary pulse oximeter the light-sources emit infrared light and the light sources-detector separation is higher than 10-20 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon such that the optical emitter is disposed from 1 cm to 10 cm away from the optical detector as further taught by Nitzan because it would have allow penetration of light to depth of 10-20 mm relative to the measurement surface, which contains pulmonary tissue in order to measure the oxygen saturation in internal tissue (Paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 13, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Bang discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose the light from the optical emitter propagates a depth of 1 cm to 5 cm into the lung tissue as measured from a surface of the optical cardiogenic monitoring device.
Nitzan further teaches the light from the optical emitter propagates a depth of 1 cm to 5 cm into the lung tissue as measured from a surface of the optical cardiogenic monitoring device (Paragraph [0054]; allow penetration of light to depth of 10-20 mm relative to the measurement surface, which contains pulmonary tissue).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon such that the light from the optical emitter propagates a depth of 1 cm to 5 cm into the lung tissue as measured from a surface of the optical cardiogenic monitoring device as taught by Nitzan because it would have ensured the light propagated passes through pulmonary tissue, thereby ensuring the oxygen saturation is measured from the pulmonary tissue.
Regarding claim 14, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Bang further teaches the device further comprises at least one of a posture sensor (Paragraph [0052]; an accelerometer (e.g. a three-axis accelerometer or other sensor for monitoring patient activity level, body posture and/or body position)), and heart rate sensor (Paragraph [0057]-[0059]; System 10 can be configured to determine a heart rate and activity calculation to perform a heart rate variability (HRV) assessment).
Regarding claim 15, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 14 as noted above.
Bang fails to explicitly disclose the cardiogenic oscillation measurements are interpreted in view of at least one of heart rate, respiration, circadian rhythm, and posture.
Nitzan further teaches the cardiogenic oscillation measurements are interpreted in view of at least one of heart rate (Paragraph [0034]; The light transmitted through the lung tissue oscillates at the heart rate, like the systemic PPG, and like the latter the pulmonary PPG is related to the blood volume change in the pulmonary arteries through Equation 1) and respiration (Paragraph [0063]; In another preferred embodiment the pulmonary PPG signal is obtained during specific phase of the respiration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon such that the cardiogenic oscillation measurements are interpreted in view of at least one of heart rate and respiration because it would have allowed the pulmonary PPG signal to provide information on cardiovascular parameters in the cardio-pulmonary system during different parts of the cardiac and respiratory cycles (Nitzan, Paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Bang teaches a method (Paragraph [0052]; implantable cardiac monitoring device (ICM), device 100, Fig. 1; Paragraph [0064]; Implantation of device 100) comprising:
implanting an monitoring device (Paragraph [0064]; Implantation of device 100 can be performed during a brief (e.g. between 1 and 5 minutes) procedure in an office,) in the patient subcutaneously (Paragraph [0084]; Implantable device 100 comprises one or more devices that are configured to be implanted under the skin of a patient (e.g. implantable device 100 can be implanted into subcutaneous tissue)) at or near a site of the lung tissue (Paragraph [0087]; can be positioned within housing 101, and configured to record sounds (e.g. heart or lung sounds)), the monitoring device comprising an implantable housing (Paragraph [0052]; other implantable devices, including, but not limited to: a biocompatible housing; Paragraph [0085]; Implantable device 100 comprises one or more housings, housing 101 shown, Fig. 3) defining an interior volume (Paragraph [0085]; housing 101 can comprise a volume, Fig. 3 shows an interior volume), the implantable housing comprising:
control circuitry disposed within the interior volume (Paragraph [0091]; Implantable device 100 can further comprise a module configured to control; control assembly 160; Fig. 3):
an optical emitter (Paragraph [0093]; Functional element 190 can comprise one, two or more sensors, transducers…; consisting of: a light) coupled to the implantable housing (Paragraph [0093]; implantable device 100 further comprises one or more functional elements, functional element 190 shown) and in electrical communication with the control circuitry (Paragraph [0091]; Control assembly 160 can further comprise processor 165. Processor 165 can comprise an electronic module configured to instruct one or more components of implantable device 100 to perform one or more functions; Fig. 3):
and an optical detector (Paragraph [0093]; an optical sensor, Fig. 3) coupled to the implantable housing (Paragraph [0093]; implantable device 100 further comprises one or more functional elements, functional element 190 shown, Fig. 3) and in electrical communication with the control circuitry (Paragraph [0091]; Control assembly 160 can further comprise processor 165. Processor 165 can comprise an electronic module configured to instruct one or more components of implantable device 100 to perform one or more functions);
emitting light with the optical emitter into lung tissue of the patient;
detecting incident light with the optical detector; and
measuring cardiogenic oscillations in the patient based on the light detected by the optical detector; and
wherein the emitted light is configured to propagate through the lung tissue of the patient from the optical emitter to the optical detector in an arc-shaped optical path.
Bang does not explicitly teach the monitoring device is an optical cardiogenic modulation monitoring device for measuring cardiogenic oscillations in a patient; and
emitting light with the optical emitter into lung tissue of the patient;
detecting incident light with the optical detector; and
measuring cardiogenic oscillations in the patient based on the light detected by the optical detector;
wherein the emitted light is configured to propagate through the lung tissue of the patient from the optical emitter to the optical detector in an arc-shaped optical path; and
determining a trend, an average, or a statistical measure of at least one of a magnitude and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations over a time period.
Nitzan, however, teaches a method for measuring cardiogenic oscillations (Paragraphs [0033] and [0055]; a method is presented for the measurement of the pulmonary PPG signal) in a patient (Paragraph [0035]; applied to the thoracic wall of a patient) comprising:
using an optical cardiogenic monitoring device in a patient (Paragraph [0038]; A light source is applied to the thoracic wall of a patient and a detector is inserted into the esophagus and brought into close contact with its wall in a site where the pulmonary tissue is in tight proximity to the esophageal wall), the optical cardiogenic monitoring device comprising an optical emitter (Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] and [0043]; light source; such as a laser diode or LED, Fig. 6) and an optical detector (Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] and [0044]; a detector are applied to the thoracic wall of a patient and the detector measures the light which was emitted from the light source; The "detector" thus defined may be an electro-optic light detecting element, such as a PIN diode or avalanche photodiode, Fig. 6);
emitting light with the optical emitter into the lung tissue of the patient (Paragraphs [0009] and [0042]; PPG probe consists of a light source emitting light into the tissue; infrared light which is less absorbed than visible light, is preferred… infrared light, of 700-1000 nm wavelength);
detecting incident light with the optical detector (Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] and [0044]; light detecting element which detects the light scattered from the tissue); and
measuring cardiogenic oscillations in the patient based on the light detected by the optical detector (Paragraph [0033]; a method is presented for the measurement of the pulmonary PPG signal, presenting the oscillations at the heart rate of the transmission of light through a region in the microcirculation of the pulmonary system, Figs. 2 and 3; Examiner notes the measured PPG signal is a result of cardiogenic oscillations as understood in light of the Applicant’s specification, pg. 33, ln. 7-13 and Fig. 24, and is thus considered to read on the claimed limitation of using detected incident light to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue in its broadest reasonable interpretation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Bang to have included measuring cardiogenic oscillations in a patient; the monitoring device being an optical cardiogenic monitoring device; and measuring cardiogenic oscillations in the patient based on the light detected by the optical detector as taught by Nitzan because it would further increase the utility of the device using the method by measuring of parameters such as dissolved oxygen deep within the lung (Nitzan, Paragraph [0033]) and obtaining the PPG amplitude which is used to provide information on the arterial compliance of the systemic circulation (Nitzan, Paragraph [0009]) thereby giving more information about the state of the cardiopulmonary system and allowing more accurate diagnoses of lung or heart problems.
Together Bang and Nitzan do not explicitly teach determining a trend, an average, or a statistical measure of at least one of a magnitude and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations over a time period.
Luxon, however, teaches a method for measuring cardiogenic oscillations in a patient (Paragraph [0007]; respiratory monitor that is capable of directly monitoring cardiac function in a remote setting. The respiratory monitor, or airway device/controller, detects minor variations in expiratory airflow pressure known as cardiogenic oscillations) comprising:
determining a trend, an average, or a statistical measure (Paragraph [0144]; multiple airway devices/controllers may be collected and aggregated and analyzed for trends.; Paragraph [0155]; one or more cardiogenic oscillation curves, each relating to one heartbeat, can be collected and identified and averaged) of at least one of a magnitude (Paragraphs [0007] and [0015]; Variations in waveform peak-to-peak period and magnitude, in addition to other parameters, may be determined) and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations (Paragraph [0162]; Analysis of the shape of the cardiogenic oscillation curve may provide information on the patient… Changes in the cardiogenic oscillation curve may indicate specific disease states, or relative disease states) over a time period (Paragraph [0162]; the change in the shape of the curve compared to normal or over time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Bang in view of Nitzan such that the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend, an average, or a statistical measure of at least one of a magnitude and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations over a time period as taught by Luxon because it would have allowed determining specific disease states based on the changes of the cardiogenic oscillation (Paragraph [0162]) and therefore allowed tracking a patient’s cardiac health and be used to adjust his/her care accordingly (Paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 20, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 16 as noted above.
Bang discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose emitting light with the optical emitter into the lung tissue of the patient comprises propagating the light from 1 cm to 5 cm into the tissue of the patient relative to a surface of the optical cardiogenic monitoring device.
Nitzan further teaches the light from the optical emitter propagates a depth of 1 cm to 5 cm into the lung tissue as measured from a surface of the optical cardiogenic monitoring device (Paragraph [0054]; allow penetration of light to depth of 10-20 mm relative to the measurement surface, which contains pulmonary tissue).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon such that the light from the optical emitter propagates a depth of 1 cm to 5 cm into the lung tissue as measured from a surface of the optical cardiogenic monitoring device as taught by Nitzan because it would have ensured the light propagated passes through pulmonary tissue, thereby ensuring the oxygen saturation is measured from the pulmonary tissue.
Regarding claim 24, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Bang does not explicitly teach the time period is between about one hour and one month.
Luxon, however, further teaches the time period is between about one hour and one month (Paragraph [0119]; the user may be prompted at certain time(s) of the day to use the device, so that the device is used at the same time each day; Paragraph [0226]; may move on to actual data collection for analysis and trending… user may periodically be prompted by the controller… for example once/day, once/week, once/month, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Bang in view of Nitzan, and Luxon such that the time period is between about one hour and one month as taught by Luxon because it would have allowed monitoring a condition over time and further ensure proper treatment over time (Paragraphs [0215]-[0216]).
Regarding claim 25, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Bang does not explicitly teach the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend in a magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations over the time period.
Luxon, however, further teaches the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend in a magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations (Paragraph [0144]; multiple airway devices/controllers may be collected and aggregated and analyzed for trends.; Paragraph [0155]; one or more cardiogenic oscillation curves, each relating to one heartbeat, can be collected and identified and averaged; (Paragraphs [0007] and [0015]; Variations in waveform peak-to-peak period and magnitude, in addition to other parameters, may be determined) over the time period (Paragraph [0162]; the change in the shape of the curve compared to normal or over time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon such that the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend in a magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations over the time period as taught by Luxon because it would have allowed determining specific disease states based on the changes of the cardiogenic oscillation (Paragraph [0162]) and therefore allowed tracking a patient’s cardiac health and be used to adjust his/her care accordingly (Paragraph [0013]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of DiLorenzo (US 20200268536).
Regarding claim 7, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon fail to explicitly disclose the first wavelength is from 150 nm to 250 nm.
DiLorenzo, however, teaches a device (Paragraphs [0034] and [0426]; The apparatus for performing the stimulation are also described) comprising an optical emitter (Paragraphs [0139] and [0428]; Said modulator may take the form of … optical source; modulation comprising at least one of stimulation… optical stimulation) configured to emit light at a first wavelength, wherein the first wavelength is from 150 nm to 250 nm (Paragraph [0428]; ultraviolet C (UV-C) 280 nm-200 nm, and vacuum UV (UV-V) 200 nm-100 nm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon such that the optical emitter is configured to further emit light at a wavelength of 150 to 250 nm as it would have allowed stimulation of the nervous system (DiLorenzo, Paragraph [0034]) in the event of cardiac failure or other detected heart diseases and failures (DiLorenzo, Paragraph [0493]).
Claim 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang (US 20220192600) in view of Nitzan (US 20130310669), Hedberg (US 20100106210), and Luxon (WO 2017087366 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Bang teaches a monitoring device (Paragraph [0052]; implantable cardiac monitoring device (ICM), device 100, Fig. 1) comprising:
an implantable housing (Paragraph [0052]; other implantable devices, including, but not limited to: a biocompatible housing; Paragraph [0085]; Implantable device 100 comprises one or more housings, housing 101 shown, Fig. 3) defining an interior volume (Paragraph [0085]; housing 101 can comprise a volume, Fig. 3 shows an interior volume), the implantable housing comprising:
control circuitry disposed within the interior volume (Paragraph [0091]; Implantable device 100 can further comprise a module configured to control; control assembly 160; Fig. 3);
an optical emitter (Paragraph [0093]; Functional element 190 can comprise one, two or more sensors, transducers…; consisting of: a light) coupled to the implantable housing (Paragraph [0093]; implantable device 100 further comprises one or more functional elements, functional element 190 shown) and in electrical communication with the control circuitry (Paragraph [0091]; Control assembly 160 can further comprise processor 165. Processor 165 can comprise an electronic module configured to instruct one or more components of implantable device 100 to perform one or more functions; Fig. 3), wherein the optical emitter is configured to emit light at a first wavelength (Paragraph [0042]; light energy to tissue (e.g. a transducer comprising a laser, light emitting diode and/or optical component such as a lens or prism)); and
an optical detector (Paragraph [0093]; an optical sensor, Fig. 3) coupled to the implantable housing (Paragraph [0093]; implantable device 100 further comprises one or more functional elements, functional element 190 shown, Fig. 3) and in electrical communication with the control circuitry (Paragraph [0091]; Control assembly 160 can further comprise processor 165. Processor 165 can comprise an electronic module configured to instruct one or more components of implantable device 100 to perform one or more functions), wherein the optical detector is configured to detect incident light (Paragraph [0093]; an optical sensor;); and
wherein the optical cardiogenic monitoring device is configured to be implanted in a subcutaneous tissue of a patient (Paragraph [0084]; Implantable device 100 comprises one or more devices that are configured to be implanted under the skin of a patient (e.g. implantable device 100 can be implanted into subcutaneous tissue) and collect patient data (e.g. patient physiologic data) from one or more sensors positioned under the skin of the patient).
Bang does not explicitly teach the monitoring device is an optical cardiogenic modulation monitoring device wherein the monitoring device is configured so that light emitted from the optical emitter propagates through lung tissue;
wherein the control circuitry is configured to use detected incident light to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue; and
wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend, an average, or a statistical measure of at least one of a magnitude and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations over a time period.
Nitzan, however, teaches an optical cardiogenic modulation monitoring device (Paragraphs [0033] and [0055]; a method is presented for the measurement of the pulmonary PPG signal; The preferred pulse oximeter is a device) comprising:
an optical emitter (Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] and [0043]; light source; such as a laser diode or LED, Fig. 6), wherein the optical emitter is configured to emit light at a first wavelength (Paragraphs [0009] and [0042]; PPG probe consists of a light source emitting light into the tissue; infrared light which is less absorbed than visible light, is preferred… infrared light, of 700-1000 nm wavelength); and
an optical detector (Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] and [0044]; a detector are applied to the thoracic wall of a patient and the detector measures the light which was emitted from the light source; The "detector" thus defined may be an electro-optic light detecting element, such as a PIN diode or avalanche photodiode, Fig. 6), wherein the optical detector is configured to detect incident light (Paragraphs [0035]-[0039] and [0044]; light detecting element which detects the light scattered from the tissue);
wherein the monitoring device is configured so that light emitted from the optical emitter propagates through lung tissue (Paragraphs [0034]-[0039]; light emitted from a light-source reaches the lungs and that the light transmitted through the lung tissue is detected, Fig. 6);
wherein the control circuitry is configured to use detected incident light to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue (Paragraph [0033]; a method is presented for the measurement of the pulmonary PPG signal, presenting the oscillations at the heart rate of the transmission of light through a region in the microcirculation of the pulmonary system, Figs. 2 and 3; Examiner notes the measured PPG signal is a result of cardiogenic oscillations as understood in light of the Applicant’s specification, pg. 33, ln. 7-13 and Fig. 24, and is thus considered to read on the claimed limitation of using detected incident light to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue in its broadest reasonable interpretation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have configured the device of Bang to have further used the detected incident light to measure cardiogenic oscillations of the lung tissue and thus additionally have been an optical cardiogenic modulation monitoring device by performing the monitoring method as taught by Nitzan because it would further increase the utility of the device by measuring of parameters such as dissolved oxygen deep within the lung (Nitzan, Paragraph [0033]) and obtaining the PPG amplitude which is used to provide information on the arterial compliance of the systemic circulation (Nitzan, Paragraph [0009]) thereby giving more information about the state of the cardiopulmonary system and allowing more accurate diagnoses of lung or heart problems.
Together Bang and Nitzan do not explicitly teach wherein the optical emitter and the optical detector are spaced along a common planar surface of the implantable housing; and
wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend, an average, or a statistical measure of at least one of a magnitude and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations over a time period.
Hedberg, however, teaches a monitoring device (Paragraph [0057]; a pacemaker 2 implanted in a patient) wherein the optical emitter and the optical detector are spaced along a common planar surface of the implantable housing (Paragraph [0073]; Fig. 9 shows the light source 74 and the light detector 79 are spaced along a common planar surface of the implantable housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Bang in view of Nitzan such that the optical emitter and the optical detector are spaced along a common planar surface of the implantable housing as taught by Hedberg because it would have allowed light to have entered the lung and further allow detection of scattered light penetrating deep into the lung tissue, thereby allowing measurement of the change of the amount blood and other fluids in the lung (Paragraph [0022]).
Together Bang, Nitzan, and Hedberg do not explicitly teach the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend, an average, or a statistical measure of at least one of a magnitude and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations over a time period.
Luxon, however, teaches an optical cardiogenic modulation monitoring device (Paragraph [0007]; respiratory monitor that is capable of directly monitoring cardiac function in a remote setting. The respiratory monitor, or airway device/controller, detects minor variations in expiratory airflow pressure known as cardiogenic oscillations) comprising control circuitry (Paragraph [0125]; computer system 1100 which is a form of a data processing system… coupled to one or more microprocessors 1103);
wherein the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend, an average, or a statistical measure (Paragraph [0144]; multiple airway devices/controllers may be collected and aggregated and analyzed for trends.; Paragraph [0155]; one or more cardiogenic oscillation curves, each relating to one heartbeat, can be collected and identified and averaged) of at least one of a magnitude (Paragraphs [0007] and [0015]; Variations in waveform peak-to-peak period and magnitude, in addition to other parameters, may be determined) and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations (Paragraph [0162]; Analysis of the shape of the cardiogenic oscillation curve may provide information on the patient… Changes in the cardiogenic oscillation curve may indicate specific disease states, or relative disease states) over a time period (Paragraph [0162]; the change in the shape of the curve compared to normal or over time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Bang in view of Nitzan and Hedberg such that the control circuitry is configured to determine a trend, an average, or a statistical measure of at least one of a magnitude and a morphology of the cardiogenic oscillations over a time period as taught by Luxon because it would have allowed determining specific disease states based on the changes of the cardiogenic oscillation (Paragraph [0162]) and therefore allowed tracking a patient’s cardiac health and be used to adjust his/her care accordingly (Paragraph [0013]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of An (US 20180344252).
Regarding claim 18, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 16 as noted above.
Together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon do not explicitly teach implanting the optical cardiogenic monitoring device subcutaneously comprises implanting the optical cardiogenic monitoring device in an intercostal space at or near the site of the lung tissue.
An, however, teaches a method of monitoring a patient (Paragraph [0004]; a method of treating a patient using an implantable medical device (IMD), the method comprising detecting activity of a body part of the patient using at least one oscillatory sensor of the IMD) comprising implanting a monitoring device subcutaneously (Paragraph [0074]; For example, the one or more of the electrodes 426A-426F and oscillatory sensors 428A, 428B may be positioned subcutaneously) in a patient (Paragraph [0065]; The intercostal veins #24, 26 may be a final implant location for a device or lead, or may provide an avenue for implantation of a device) in an intercostal space at or near the site of the lung tissue (Paragraphs [0063]-[0067]; The intercostal veins #24, 26 may be a final implant location for a device; The left anterior intercostal vein #68, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon such that the device is implanted subcutaneously in an intercostal space at or near the site of the lung tissue. This would further enhance the IMD’s ability to detect various activity of the lungs and provide physiological parameters regarding the overall health of the patient such as respiratory interval, respiratory amplitude, respiratory sound, respiratory depth, respiratory rate, a frequency of oscillation, and/or a pattern of oscillation of the lungs may indicate that the patient may be experiencing wheezing, rales, snoring, rhonchi, a pathological asymmetrical respiratory pattern (An, Paragraph [0127]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dixon (US 20220248993).
Regarding claim 23, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as noted above.
Bang teaches an accelerometer to detect posture (Paragraph [0052]; an accelerometer (e.g. a three-axis accelerometer or other sensor for monitoring patient activity level, body posture and/or body position)).
Together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon do not explicitly teach the cardiogenic oscillation measurements are interpreted in view the posture.
Dixon, however, teaches a optical cardiogenic modulation monitoring device (Paragraph [0005]; apparatus for determining data indicative of blood oxygen levels of internal organs) wherein the cardiogenic oscillation measurements (Paragraph [0047]; In some embodiments, the method further comprises averaging the determined modified ratio of ratio values using the cardiac oscillations across the phase of the respiratory cycle) are interpreted in view the posture (Paragraph [0237]-[0239]; one or more signals predominantly associated with the lung, the apparatus 100 may be positioned in the vicinity of the upper region of the lungs (e.g. near the apex of the lungs) where the lungs are above heart and the subject is oriented in a semi-upright body position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the device of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon such that the cardiogenic oscillation measurements are interpreted in view the posture as taught by Dixon. This is because the blood flow may be dependent on the postural position of the person. Unlike other organs of the body, oxygen levels fall during systole and increase during diastole. In addition, the changes in oxygen levels during the pulse period are very large (Paragraph [0238]).
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Lichtwarck-Aschoff (NPL: Lichtwarck-Aschoff, M. et al. 2004. Decreasing size of cardiogenic oscillations reflects decreasing compliance of the respiratory system during long-term ventilation. J Appl Physiol 96: 879-884).
Regarding claims 26, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 25 as noted above.
Together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon fail to explicitly disclose wherein the control circuitry is configured to:
detect a decrease in the magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations over the time period; and indicate a decreasing compliance of a respiratory system of the patient.
Lichtwarck-Aschoff, however, teaches detecting a decrease in the magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations over the time period; and indicate a decreasing compliance of a respiratory system of the patient (Abstract; Decreasing size of cardiogenic oscillations reflects decreasing compliance of the respiratory system during long-term ventilation; Pg. 881, Discussion; Despite unchanged cardiac stroke volume, the lung volume gain induced by the cardiogenic oscillations decreased together with overall compliance and time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon to detect a decrease in the magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations over the time period; and indicate a decreasing compliance of a respiratory system of the patient as taught by Lichtwarck-Aschoff because it would have been a known relationship between the magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations and further improves cardiogenic oscillations as a tool for measuring respiratory mechanics.
Regarding claims 27, together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon teach all of the limitations of claim 25 as noted above.
Together Bang, Nitzan, and Luxon fail to explicitly disclose wherein the control circuitry is configured to:
detect an increase in the magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations over the time period; and indicate an increasing compliance of a respiratory system of the patient.
Lichtwarck-Aschoff, however, teaches detecting an increase in the magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations over the time period; and indicate a increasing compliance of a respiratory system of the patient (Abstract; Decreasing size of cardiogenic oscillations reflects decreasing compliance of the respiratory system during long-term ventilation; Pg. 881, Discussion; Despite unchanged cardiac stroke volume, the lung volume gain induced by the cardiogenic oscillations decreased together with overall compliance and time; Pg. 884, left col.; the flattening of the cardiogenic oscillations reflects the increasing stiffness of the lung).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the system of Bang in view of Nitzan and Luxon to detect a increase in the magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations over the time period; and indicate a increasing compliance of a respiratory system of the patient as taught by Lichtwarck-Aschoff because it would have been a known relationship between the magnitude of the cardiogenic oscillations and further improves cardiogenic oscillations as a tool for measuring respiratory mechanics.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims and withdraws all objections to the claims.
Claim Interpretation under – 35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
Examiner maintains all claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f).
Claim Rejections under – 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
The amendments to the claims raises new rejections under 35 USC 112(b) which are now presented.
Claim Rejections under – 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been considered but are moot in view of the updated grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
/DEAN N EDUN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
8/24/26