DETAILED ACTION
This Application was published as US 20240021211.
Apparent priority is 15 July 2022.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the objection to claims 1-6, 8-9 and 11 set forth in the Office Action mailed 5/29/25. Claim 7 is cancelled and therefore the objection is moot.
Response to Arguments
35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-15, and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MorphVOX Pro 5.0 ( This single product is described on multiple pages of screamingbee.com, which are cited separately by webpage title), hereinafter as MorphVOX, in view of Karri et al. (US 20230051306 A1), Shau (US 20130144626 A1), Screaming Bee ("Adding Voice Overs"), hereinafter as Screaming Bee-ScriptVOX, Gopala (US 20210074260 A1), and Gildein (US 20170076713 A1).
Regarding claim 1 MorphVOX discloses: A method, comprising:
receiving, by a processor, over a communication channel with a plurality of user, ("MorphVOX Pro can be used for voice changing in Zoom conferences." [Zoom - Voice Changer pg. 1, 1st paragraph] – a voice conference is a communication channel with a plurality of users) a voice sample of a natural voice of one of the plurality of users; ("Morph audio files or record your morphed voice to a file." [Voice Changing Software - Online Gaming and Utilities pg. 2, Standard Features section])(MorphVOX Pro - Pitch and Timbre, page 1, Examples, shows that if the settings are not changed, the output is the user’s normal (natural) voice.)
wherein the voice sample is represented by a waveform captured in a sound format including Audio Video Interleaved (AVI); (not explicitly disclosed)
electronically analyzing, by the processor, the waveform for a plurality of attributes of the voice sample, wherein the plurality of attributes at least includes pitch, tone, volume, intensity and rhythm; ("Live vocal visualization - Color Blast, Frequency Spectrum, Spectogram" [Voice Changing Software - Online Gaming and Utilities pg. 1, New Features section] – the attribute of voice pitch and volume/intensity is analyzed to display it as a frequency spectrum and spectrogram. Intensity is directly related to volume and is therefore inherently disclosed by the volume)
receiving, by the processor, entered values for the plurality of attributes of the voice sample; (Tweak Settings figure shows a numerical input box to the right of the Pitch Shift slider where a value for the pitch can be entered. Additionally, the sliders on the equalizer control volume/intensity. [Voice Changing Software - Online Gaming and Utilities pg. 3])
applying, by the processor, the entered values to the plurality of attributes of the waveform;
electronically adjusting, by the processor, the plurality of attributes of the waveform based on the applied entered values to generate a manipulated voice sample;
replacing, by the processor, the natural voice of the one of the plurality of users with a modified voice of the one of the plurality of users based on the manipulated voice sample; ("Pitch Shift Slider: Adjusts the pitch of your voice. Move the slider to the left to make your voice lower, or move the slider to the right to make your voice higher." [MorphVOX Pro - Pitch and Timbre pg. 1, 2nd paragraph]) (Tweak Settings figure shows sliders on the equalizer to control volume/intensity. [Voice Changing Software - Online Gaming and Utilities pg. 3])
outputting, by the processor, to a speaker audio output device, the modified voice of the one of the plurality of users; ("Microphone and Speakers" [MorphVOX Pro - Getting Started pg. 1, System Requirements section])
replacing, by the processor, a natural voice of a speaker of one the plurality of users with a modified voice for the speaker of one of the plurality of users during a communication session; ("Full integration with online games and chat programs" [Voice Changing Software - Online Gaming and Utilities pg. 2, Standard Features section] – using MorphVOX in a game would be a communication session.)
and providing, by the processor, audio notification to other participants of the plurality of users to the communication session that the speaker of the one of the plurality of users is using the modified voice. (Not explicitly disclosed)
MorphVOX does not explicitly disclose that the attributes of tone and rhythm are manipulated. MorphVOX also does not explicitly disclose an AVI file format or an audio notification.
Karri discloses manipulating tone of a voice. (“systems identify if the target user's name, or an activity name, should be added to the voice reply, if the tone/texture/pitch of a voice reply should be changed” [0014])
MorphVOX and Karri are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose voice manipulation systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the voice changer of MorphVOX to also adjust tone, as disclosed by Karri. Doing so would have been beneficial in order to match a user’s preferred voice (Karri [0025]).
Karri does not explicitly disclose that the attribute of rhythm is manipulated, or an AVI file format or an audio notification.
Shau discloses a method for manipulating rhythm of a voice. (In this way, the original voice of the speaker is preserved while the rhythm is changed. [0014])
MorphVOX and Shau are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose methods of voice manipulation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the voice changer of MorphVOX in view of Karri with the rhythm changing method of Shau. Doing so would have been beneficial in order to match a desired beat or give a musical quality. (Shau [0002]).
Shau does not explicitly disclose an AVI file format or an audio notification.
Screaming Bee-ScriptVOX discloses: wherein the voice sample is represented by a waveform captured in a sound format including Audio Video Interleaved (AVI); (“Currently ScriptVOX can read the following files: WAV, MP3, WMA, WMV, AVI.” Pg. 2, Recording and Playing Back section.)
MorphVOX and Screaming Bee-ScriptVOX are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because ScriptVOX integrates MorphVOX Pro (Pg. 1, Para 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the voice changing software of MorphVOX in view of Karri and Shau to use the AVI file format as disclosed by Screaming Bee-ScriptVOX. Doing so would have been beneficial to let a user input video files. This combination falls under combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results or simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Screaming Bee-ScriptVOX does not disclose an audio notification.
Gopala teaches providing audio notification to other participants of the plurality of users to the communication session that the speaker of the plurality of users is using the modified voice. ([0066] “providing a visual indication, alert or notification that indicates how trustworthy the audio content is, e.g., when the audio content is deemed to be fake”[0059] “‘fake’ or ‘synthesized’ audio content may include a file with bit values (corresponding to audio intensity and/or frequencies) that is, at least in part, computer-generated or modified.”)
MorphVOX and Gopala are considered to be analogous art because they both relate to modification of audio in a communication system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the voice changing software of MorphVOX in view of Karri, Shau, and Screaming Bee-ScriptVOX to incorporate the teaching of Gopala in order to notify users that a speaker’s audio has been modified. Doing so would have been beneficial in order to notify the listeners that the speaker is using a modified voice and prevent the speaker from using the method for malicious purposes. (Gopala [0066] “recent technical advances are allowing malicious parties to generate increasingly realistic fake audio content. In order to address this problem, the audio analysis techniques may be implemented.”)
Gopala does not explicitly disclose that the notification is an audio notification.
Gildein teaches an audio notification. ([0036] … When text substitution is introduced (e.g., acronym, sensitive word, etc.), audio from text/speech converter 222 replaces the original audio word or phrase with a synthetic voice. In the case where translation generator 216 provides alternate natural language, audio composer 224 combines audio conditioner 220 and the natural language synthetic voice audio. Some embodiments can provide audio indicators such as, but not limited to, modified voice pitch or generic sound, to alert a teleconference participant where text substitution 214 exists.)
MorphVOX and Gildein are considered to be analogous art because they both relate to modification of audio in a communication system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the voice changing software of MorphVOX in view of Karri, Shau, Screaming Bee-ScriptVOX, and Gopala to incorporate the teaching of Gildein in order to notify with an audio notification that audio has been modified. Doing so would have been beneficial in order to notify the listeners that the speaker is using a modified voice and prevent the speaker from using the method for malicious purposes. (Gopala [0066] “recent technical advances are allowing malicious parties to generate increasingly realistic fake audio content. In order to address this problem, the audio analysis techniques may be implemented.”) This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Regarding claim 2, MorphVOX discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the manipulated voice sample is generated using a trained algorithm for machine learning. ("Advanced voice-learning algorithms for best quality sound" [Voice Changing Software - Online Gaming and Utilities pg. 2, Standard Features section])
Regarding claim 3, MorphVOX discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising displaying the plurality of attributes of the voice sample. ("Pre and post graphic equalizer for finely sculpted audio" [Voice Changing Software - Online Gaming and Utilities Page 1, New Features section] – the attribute of pitch and volume/intensity is displayed in a graphic equalizer)
Regarding claim 4, MorphVOX discloses: The method according to claim 3, wherein the displayed plurality of attributes of the voice sample includes a scale of values for adjusting the plurality of attributes of the voice sample. ("Pitch Shift Slider" and graphic equalizer [MorphVOX Pro - Pitch and Timbre pg. 1, 2nd paragraph])
Regarding claim 6, MorphVOX discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the communication session is a conference call. ("MorphVOX Pro can be used for voice changing in Zoom conferences." [Zoom - Voice Changer pg. 1, 1st paragraph])
Regarding claim 8, MorphVOX discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the entered values for the plurality of attributes of the voice sample is based on known attributes of desired natural voices. ("Many Free Voices [Man, Woman, and Child shown among others in adjacent figure]" [Voice Changing Software - Online Gaming and Utilities pg. 1, 1st paragraph] – the user’s voice, including pitch, can be modified to sound like any of the listed voice aliases, which are based on the desired natural voice’s characteristics)
Regarding claim 9, MorphVOX discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of attributes (claim 1) includes at least one of vocal fry, texture and intonation.
MorphVOX does not explicitly disclose at least one of vocal fry, texture, and intonation.
Karri discloses manipulating texture of a voice. (“systems identify if the target user's name, or an activity name, should be added to the voice reply, if the tone/texture/pitch of a voice reply should be changed” [0014])
Rationale for combination as provided for Claim 1. Karri was cited for teaching the “tone” limitation of Claim 1 which refers to the “plurality of attributes” that are modified. Claim 9 provides further details regarding attributes to change which are combined under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 11, discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the modified voice of the one of the plurality of users based on the manipulated voice sample is substituted for the natural voice of the one of the plurality of users in real time. ("Full integration with online games and chat programs" [Voice Changing Software - Online Gaming and Utilities Page 2, Standard Features section])
Claim 12 is an apparatus claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally, “one or more processors; and a memory coupled with and readable by the one or more processors and having stored therein a set of instructions” of the Claim are taught by MorphVOX. ("SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS Windows 7/10 Pentium 4 1.0 GHz CPU 2.0 GB RAM" [MorphVOX Pro - Getting Started pg. 1, System Requirements section]) ("Download the latest MorphVOX installer program from our Website" [MorphVOX Pro - Getting Started pg. 1, Installation section])
Claim 13 is an apparatus claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 is an apparatus claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 3 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 is an apparatus claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 4 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 is an apparatus claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 6 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 is an apparatus claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 8 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 is a method apparatus claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 9 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is a computer readable medium claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale. Additionally, “A computer readable medium comprising microprocessor executable instructions” of the Claim are taught by MorphVOX. ("Download the latest MorphVOX installer program from our Website" [MorphVOX Pro - Getting Started pg. 1, Installation section])
Claim 21 is a computer readable medium claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 9 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 22 is a computer readable medium claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 8 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MorphVOX in view of Karri, Shau, Screaming Bee-ScriptVOX, Gopala, and Gildein, in further view of Screaming Bee (“MorphVOX Help – Voice Aliases”).
Regarding claim 5, MorphVOX disclose: The method according to claim 1, further comprising storing, by the processor, the manipulated voice sample along with the entered values for the plurality of attributes of the voice sample in a user profile. ("record your morphed voice to a file" [Voice Changing Software - Online Gaming and Utilities Page 2, Standard Features section.]) ("A Voice Alias is a way to store how your voice is morphed so the same settings can be used later. " [MorphVOX Pro Alias/Voices pg. 1, 1st paragraph])
MorphVOX does not explicitly disclose that the voice sample is stored with a correlation to the user profile.
Screaming Bee discloses storing, by the processor, the manipulated voice sample along with the entered values for the plurality of attributes of the voice sample in a user profile. (pg. 2, section 8. describes a playback page which is saved with the alias settings.)
MorphVOX and Screaming Bee are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they disclose voice changing methods. Screaming Bee discloses an earlier version of the MorphVOX software. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination with a saved playback phrase as taught by Screaming Bee. Doing so would have been beneficial to let a user preview saved alias settings.
Claim 16 is an apparatus claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 5 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
/JON CHRISTOPHER MEIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654