DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a working component” in claims 1, 16, and 17 (noting that the term “working” is a function, such that the claim recites a component for performing the function of working, but recites no additional structure sufficient to perform the function of working);
“a locking mechanism” in claims 1, 16, and 17 (noting that the term “locking” is a function, such that the claim recites a mechanism for performing the function of locking, but recites no additional structure sufficient to perform the function of locking);
“a driving assembly…capable of driving the locking mechanism to be in the locking position” in claim 1;
“a first limiting portion…allows the locking mechanism to leave the locking position when the locking mechanism is disengaged from the locking position” in claim 1;
“a second limiting portion…abuts against the locking mechanism when the locking mechanism is in the locking position” in claim 1;
“a biasing element…capable of providing a biasing force for pushing the locking mechanism to be in the locking position and maintaining the locking mechanism in the locking position” in claim 2;
“a pushing member…abuts against the locking mechanism” in claim 2;
“the locking mechanism” in claims 2, 3, 4, 9, 11, 12, 14, and 15 (noting that the term “locking” is a function, such that the claim recites a mechanism for performing the function of locking, but recites no additional structure sufficient to perform the function of locking);
a blocking element…restricts the operation member from moving forward by a distance when the locking mechanism is disengaged from the locking position” in claim 3;
“the first limiting portion” in claim 8 (noting that the term “limiting” is a function, such that the claim recites a first portion for performing the function of limiting, but recites no additional structure sufficient to perform the function of limiting);
“the second limiting portion” in claim 8 (noting that the term “limiting” is a function, such that the claim recites a second portion for performing the function of limiting, but recites no additional structure sufficient to perform the function of limiting);
“the working component” in claim 10 (noting that the term “working” is a function, such that the claim recites a component for performing the function of working, but recites no additional structure sufficient to perform the function of working);
“the driving assembly” in claim 13 (noting that the term “driving” is a function, such that the claim recites an assembly for performing the function of driving, but recites no additional structure sufficient to perform the function of driving);
“a biasing element” in claims 16 and 17 (noting that the term “biasing” is a function, such that the claim recites an element for performing the function of biasing, but recites no additional structure sufficient to perform the function of biasing);
“a pushing member…pushes the locking mechanism” in claims 16 and 17;
“a first limiting portion” in claims 16 and 17 (noting that the term “limiting” is a function, such that the claim recites a first portion for performing the function of limiting, but recites no additional structure sufficient to perform the function of limiting);
“a driving assembly…for driving the locking mechanism to be in the locking position” in claim 17; and
a blocking element…limits a moving distance of the stopper member” in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Lines 18-19 of claim 1 state, “the operation member comprises a plurality of radially arranged through holes for the locking mechanism to pass through to enter an interior of the operation member.” This limitation is viewed to be vague and indefinite, because noting that the locking mechanism is seemingly claimed as a singular element, it is unclear as claimed if the singular locking mechanism passes through each of the plurality of radially arranged through holes or if instead the singular locking mechanism passes through a selected one of the plurality of radially arranged through holes, for example.
Claim limitation “first limiting portion” in each of claims 1, 8, 16, and 17 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Examiner notes that the specification simply states the following as it pertains to the “first limiting portion”.
[0010] In some examples, the chuck device further includes a limiting member, where the limiting member includes a first limiting portion and a second limiting portion, the second limiting portion abuts against the locking mechanism when the locking mechanism is in the locking position, and the first limiting portion allows the locking mechanism to leave the locking position when the locking mechanism is disengaged from the locking position.
[0011] In some examples, the limiting member further includes an incline which connects the first limiting portion to the second limiting portion.
[0053] The chuck device 120 further includes a limiting member 140 which encircles a mounting cavity for limiting the locking mechanism 123, and the mounting hole 124 is at least partially exposed to an inside of the mounting cavity 130. The limiting member 140 includes a first limiting portion 141 and a second limiting portion 142. When the locking mechanism 123 is in the locking position, the second limiting portion 142 abuts against the locking mechanism 123. When the locking mechanism 123 is disengaged from the locking position, the first limiting portion 141 abuts against the locking mechanism 123. In a direction perpendicular to the first direction 101, the first limiting portion 141 is away from the locking mechanism 123 with respect to the second limiting portion 142. In this example, the locking mechanism 123 includes a plurality of spheres. In order that the locking mechanism 123 can slide smoothly from the position where the locking mechanism 123 abuts against the second limiting portion 142 to the position where the locking mechanism 123 abuts against the first limiting portion 141, an incline 143 is disposed between the first limiting portion 141 and the second limiting portion 142.
[0054] When the first limiting portion 141 abuts against the locking mechanism 123, the locking mechanism 123 is disengaged from the locking position. Since the first limiting portion 141 is away from the locking mechanism 123 with respect to the second limiting portion 142, the locking mechanism 123 may move along the first direction 101 with respect to the connection shaft 121, thereby releasing the working component 200 from the limitation by the locking mechanism 123. When the second limiting portion 142 abuts against the locking mechanism 123, the locking mechanism 123 is in the locking position and engaged with the recess portion 210, the position of the locking mechanism 123 is limited by the limiting member 140, and the working component 200 is connected by the locking mechanism 123. Two or more locking mechanisms 123 may be provided to enhance the stability of clamping the working component 200.
[0055] …When the working component 200 is removed, the operation member 128 can be operated to move forward with respect to the connection shaft 121, the driving assembly 12a and the limiting member 140 both move forward, and the first limiting portion 141 is aligned with the locking mechanism 123. When the working component 200 is pulled forward, the working component 200 presses the locking mechanism 123 to move along the second direction, and the locking mechanism 123 abuts against the second limiting portion 141 so that the locking mechanism 123 enters the release position. The locking mechanism 123 can move along the second direction 102 so that the working component 200 can be completely disengaged from the connection cavity 122.
Based on the foregoing, the specification filed on 7/15/2022 does not provide sufficient details concerning the “first limiting portion” such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how or in what way that the first limitation portion performs the claimed function of “allows the locking mechanism to leave the locking position when the locking mechanism is disengaged from the locking position” of claim 1 and performs the claimed function of “limiting” of claims 8, 16, and 17. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
NOTE: Examiner suggests the following amendments so as to overcome this particular rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: Amending “a first limiting portion” to “a first limiter” and amending “the first limiting portion” to “the first limiter”.
Claim limitation “second limiting portion” in each of claims 1 and 8 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Examiner notes that the specification simply states the following as it pertains to “second limiting portion”.
[0010] In some examples, the chuck device further includes a limiting member, where the limiting member includes a first limiting portion and a second limiting portion, the second limiting portion abuts against the locking mechanism when the locking mechanism is in the locking position, and the first limiting portion allows the locking mechanism to leave the locking position when the locking mechanism is disengaged from the locking position.
[0011] In some examples, the limiting member further includes an incline which connects the first limiting portion to the second limiting portion.
[0053] The chuck device 120 further includes a limiting member 140 which encircles a mounting cavity for limiting the locking mechanism 123, and the mounting hole 124 is at least partially exposed to an inside of the mounting cavity 130. The limiting member 140 includes a first limiting portion 141 and a second limiting portion 142. When the locking mechanism 123 is in the locking position, the second limiting portion 142 abuts against the locking mechanism 123. When the locking mechanism 123 is disengaged from the locking position, the first limiting portion 141 abuts against the locking mechanism 123. In a direction perpendicular to the first direction 101, the first limiting portion 141 is away from the locking mechanism 123 with respect to the second limiting portion 142. In this example, the locking mechanism 123 includes a plurality of spheres. In order that the locking mechanism 123 can slide smoothly from the position where the locking mechanism 123 abuts against the second limiting portion 142 to the position where the locking mechanism 123 abuts against the first limiting portion 141, an incline 143 is disposed between the first limiting portion 141 and the second limiting portion 142.
[0054] When the first limiting portion 141 abuts against the locking mechanism 123, the locking mechanism 123 is disengaged from the locking position. Since the first limiting portion 141 is away from the locking mechanism 123 with respect to the second limiting portion 142, the locking mechanism 123 may move along the first direction 101 with respect to the connection shaft 121, thereby releasing the working component 200 from the limitation by the locking mechanism 123. When the second limiting portion 142 abuts against the locking mechanism 123, the locking mechanism 123 is in the locking position and engaged with the recess portion 210, the position of the locking mechanism 123 is limited by the limiting member 140, and the working component 200 is connected by the locking mechanism 123. Two or more locking mechanisms 123 may be provided to enhance the stability of clamping the working component 200.
[0055] …When the working component 200 is removed, the operation member 128 can be operated to move forward with respect to the connection shaft 121, the driving assembly 12a and the limiting member 140 both move forward, and the first limiting portion 141 is aligned with the locking mechanism 123. When the working component 200 is pulled forward, the working component 200 presses the locking mechanism 123 to move along the second direction, and the locking mechanism 123 abuts against the second limiting portion 141 so that the locking mechanism 123 enters the release position. The locking mechanism 123 can move along the second direction 102 so that the working component 200 can be completely disengaged from the connection cavity 122.
Based on the foregoing, the specification filed on 7/15/2022 does not provide sufficient details concerning the “second limiting portion” such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how or in what way that the first limitation portion performs the claimed function of “abuts against the locking mechanism when the locking mechanism is in the locking position” of claim 1 and performs the claimed function of “limiting” of claim 8. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
NOTE: Examiner suggests the following amendments so as to overcome this particular rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: Amending “a second limiting portion” to “a second limiter” and amending “the second limiting portion” to “the second limiter”.
Claim limitation “biasing element” in each of claims 2, 16, and 17 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Examiner notes that the specification simply states the following as it pertains to the “biasing element”.
[0005] In some examples, the driving assembly includes a biasing element and a pushing member, where the pushing member abuts against the locking mechanism, and the biasing element is capable of providing a biasing force for maintaining the locking mechanism in the locking position and pushing the locking mechanism to be in the locking position.
[0049] The chuck device 120 further includes an operation member 128, a driving assembly 12a, and a stopper member 180. The operation member 128 is operable to allow the locking mechanism 123 to leave the locking position. The driving assembly 12a is disposed inside the operation member, moves along the first direction 101 with respect to the connection shaft 121, and can push the locking mechanism 123 to be in the locking position. The driving assembly 12a includes a biasing element 125 and a pushing member 160, where the pushing member 160 is disposed between the operation member 128 and the biasing element 125 and abuts against the locking mechanism 123, and the pushing member 160 pushes the locking mechanism 123 to be in the locking position. The biasing element 125 can provide a biasing force for maintaining the locking mechanism 123 in the locking position and pushing the locking mechanism 123 to be in the locking position. The biasing element 125 and the pushing member 160 are disposed inside the operation member, the biasing element 125 connects the pushing member 160 to the operation member 125, and the pushing member 160 pushes the locking mechanism 123 to be in the locking position.
[0050] The connection shaft 121 is disposed in front of the housing. When the locking mechanism 123 is in the locking position, the biasing element 125 pushes the pushing member 160 forward and pushes the operation member 128 backward. The biasing element 125 implements the biasing of the pushing member 160 and the limitation of the operation member 128, which can reduce not only a cost but also the size of the chuck device 120.
[0055] … The biasing element 125 maintains the locking mechanism 123 in the locking position when the working component 200 is not mounted. When the user inserts the working component 200 into the connection cavity 122, the working component 200 presses the locking mechanism 123 and thus the locking mechanism 123 pushes the pushing member 160 and compresses the biasing element 125 backward so that the locking mechanism 123 enters the release position. The locking mechanism 123 can move along the second direction 102 so that the working component 200 can be completely inserted into the connection cavity 122. After the working component 200 is completely inserted into the connection cavity 122, the recess portion 210 is aligned with the locking mechanism 123, and the pushing member 160 pushes the locking mechanism 123 so that the locking mechanism 123 is in the locking position. At this time, the locking mechanism 123 is partially placed into the recess portion 210 so that the locking mechanism 123 can partially abut against the working component 200 and lock the working component 200 through the biasing force provided by the biasing element 125. When the working component 200 is removed, the operation member 128 can be operated to move forward with respect to the connection shaft 121, the driving assembly 12a and the limiting member 140 both move forward, and the first limiting portion 141 is aligned with the locking mechanism 123. When the working component 200 is pulled forward, the working component 200 presses the locking mechanism 123 to move along the second direction, and the locking mechanism 123 abuts against the second limiting portion 141 so that the locking mechanism 123 enters the release position. The locking mechanism 123 can move along the second direction 102 so that the working component 200 can be completely disengaged from the connection cavity 122.
[0056] The stopper member 180 is connected to the operation member 128. In this example, the stopper member 180 is a C-shaped circlip detachably connected to an inner sidewall of the operation member 128. The stopper member 180 is disposed along the first direction 101 on a side of the direction in which the driving assembly 12a moves out of the operation member 120. In this example, the stopper member 180 is disposed in front of the pushing member 160 along the first direction 101. More specifically, the stopper member 180 is disposed at a front end of the operation member to prevent the driving assembly 12a from moving out from inside the operation member 128 along the first direction 101. The stopper member 180 is provided so that the pushing member 160 and the biasing element 125 are confined in a gap 150 between the operation member 128 and the connection shaft 121. When the operation member 128 needs to be detached, the stopper member 180 is detached from the operation member 128, and then the limiting member 140 and the locking mechanism 123 are detached successively so that both the driving assembly 12a and the operation member 128 can be detached from the connection shaft 121. Thus, the operation member is detachably connected to the connection shaft to facilitate the maintenance of the chuck device. The connection shaft and the operation member can be detached and specific damaged parts can be replaced without replacing the entire chuck device, thereby reducing a maintenance cost.
[0057] The gap 150 exists between the operation member 128 and the connection shaft 121, and the limiting member 140, the pushing member 160, and the biasing element 125 are disposed in the gap 150.
[0058] Referring to FIGS. 5 and 6, the operation member 128 includes a through hole 1281 for the locking mechanism 123 to pass through. The locking mechanism 123 is mounted to the operation member along a third direction 103, where the third direction 103 is perpendicular to or intersects with the first direction 101. When the chuck device 120 is assembled, the spherical locking mechanism 123 is placed into the gap 150 of the chuck device 120 via the through hole 1281. A fitting 220 is inserted into the gap 150 to abut against the biasing element and prevent the biasing element from pushing out the locking mechanism 123. The fitting 220 is pulled out and other elements such as the stopper member 180 are mounted. Here, the fitting 220 is configured to assist in the assembly of the chuck device 120. The through hole 1281 is provided to prevent the locking mechanism 123 from being placed into the gap 150 from an end of the gap 150 so that a height of the gap 150 may be less than a diameter of the locking mechanism 123, so as to reduce the size of the chuck device 120.
[0061] In addition, it has been found that when the chuck device 120 is unlocked using the operation member 128, the user occasionally applies such an excessive force that the operation member 128 compresses the biasing element 125 excessively. Thus, a small-diameter position of the operation member 128 abuts against the locking mechanism 123, which makes the locking mechanism fail to be disengaged from the locking position and causes the chuck device 120 to be stuck. Referring to FIG. 9, the working component cannot be effectively separated. Therefore, a blocking element 190 disposed at an end of the connection shaft 121 is further added, where a distance exists between the blocking element 190 and an end surface of the operation member 128. The blocking element 190 is disposed at an end of the operation member 128, and the distance exists between the blocking element 190 and the end surface of the operation member 128. The connection shaft 121 is disposed in front of the housing. When the locking mechanism is in the locking position, the biasing element 125 pushes the pushing member 160 forward and pushes the operation member 128 backward. When the locking mechanism is disengaged from the locking position, the operation member 128 moves forward with respect to the connection shaft 121, and the blocking element 190 provided can prevent the operation member 128 from moving forward excessively and avoid the situation where the locking mechanism and the operation member 128 are stuck since a rear portion of the operation member 128 abuts against the locking mechanism. Thus, the distance between the blocking element and the end surface of the operation member 128 is a distance by which the operation member 128 can move when operated. The limiting member and the operation member 128 can be regarded as being fixedly connected to each other. The distance is provided between the blocking element and the end surface of the operation member 128, and thus a certain distance also exists between the limiting member and the blocking element.
[0063] In this regard, a method for mounting the chuck device 120 is provided below. A. The operation member 128 is sleeved on the connection shaft 121. B. The driving assembly 12a is placed inside the operation member 128. C. Referring to FIGS. 5 and 6, the fitting 220 is placed between the operation member 128 and the connection shaft 121 to compress the biasing element 125. When the biasing element 125 is compressed, the locking mechanism 123 is placed between the operation member 128 and the connection shaft 121 via the through hole 1281 on the operation member 128, and then the fitting is taken out. The biasing element 125 and the pushing member 160 spring back and abut against the locking mechanism to prevent the locking mechanism from moving out of the mounting hole. D. The limiting member 140 is placed into the operation member 128, the driving assembly 12a is limited by the stopper member 180 on the inner wall of the operation member 128, and the blocking element 190 is mounted at the end of the connection shaft 121, where the distance exists between the blocking element 190 and the end surface of the operation member 128.
[0064] Optionally, step C further includes attracting the locking mechanism using a magnetic device so as to compress the biasing element 125. In this case, the locking mechanism is made of a magnetically attractable material.
[0066] Referring to FIGS. 11 to 13, the chuck assembly 120a further includes a mounting hole 124a formed on the connection shaft 121a. The locking mechanism 123a is configured to partially pass through the mounting hole 124a and is movable along a second direction 102a with respect to the mounting hole 124a. The chuck assembly 120a further includes a biasing element 125a which can provide a biasing force for maintaining the locking mechanism 123a in locking position. The mounting hole 124a communicates with the connection cavity 122a, and the working component 200 can be placed into the connection cavity 122a. The locking mechanism 123a passing through the mounting hole 124a can partially abut against the working component 200 and lock the working component 200 through the biasing force provided by the biasing element 125a.
[0071] …The biasing element 125a connects the operation member 128a to the connection shaft 121a. The biasing element 125a is disposed in a gap 150a between the operation member 128a and the connection shaft 121a. The biasing element 125a biases the operation member 128a so that the second contact surface 1292a is aligned with the locking device 123a. Thus, the locking device 123a is maintained in the locking position through the biasing force provided by the biasing element 125a. The user may push the operation member 128a forward such that the operation member 128a compresses the biasing element 125a, so as to change the contact surface aligned with the locking device 123a. When the working component 200 is not mounted, the biasing element 125a maintains the locking device 123a in the locking position. The user inserts the working component 200 into the connection cavity 122a, and the working component 200 presses the locking device 123a. Thus, the locking device 123a pushes the operation member 128a and compresses the biasing element 125a forward so that the locking device 123a enters the release position. The locking device 123a can move along the second direction 102a so that the working component 200 can be completely inserted into the connection cavity 122a. After the working component 200 is completely inserted into the connection cavity 122a, the locking device 123a is partially placed into the recess portion 210 so that the locking device 123a no longer pushes the operation member 128a. The operation member 128a returns to an original position under the action of the biasing element 125a so that the locking device 123a is in the locking position. In this case, the locking device 123a is partially placed into the recess portion 210 and limited by the operation member 128a so that the chuck assembly 120a can connect the working component 200.
Based on the foregoing, the specification filed on 7/15/2022 does not provide sufficient details concerning the “biasing element” such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how or in what way that the biasing element performs the claimed function of
“capable of providing a biasing force for pushing the locking mechanism to be in the locking position and maintaining the locking mechanism in the locking position” of claim 2 and performs the claimed function of “biasing” of claims 16 and 17. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
NOTE: Examiner suggests the following amendments so as to overcome this particular rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: Amending “a biasing element” to “a biaser” and amending “the biasing element” to “the biaser”.
Claim limitation “pushing member” in each of claims 2, 16, and 17 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Examiner notes that the specification simply states the following as it pertains to “pushing member”.
[0005] In some examples, the driving assembly includes a biasing element and a pushing member, where the pushing member abuts against the locking mechanism, and the biasing element is capable of providing a biasing force for maintaining the locking mechanism in the locking position and pushing the locking mechanism to be in the locking position.
[0049] The chuck device 120 further includes an operation member 128, a driving assembly 12a, and a stopper member 180. The operation member 128 is operable to allow the locking mechanism 123 to leave the locking position. The driving assembly 12a is disposed inside the operation member, moves along the first direction 101 with respect to the connection shaft 121, and can push the locking mechanism 123 to be in the locking position. The driving assembly 12a includes a biasing element 125 and a pushing member 160, where the pushing member 160 is disposed between the operation member 128 and the biasing element 125 and abuts against the locking mechanism 123, and the pushing member 160 pushes the locking mechanism 123 to be in the locking position. The biasing element 125 can provide a biasing force for maintaining the locking mechanism 123 in the locking position and pushing the locking mechanism 123 to be in the locking position. The biasing element 125 and the pushing member 160 are disposed inside the operation member, the biasing element 125 connects the pushing member 160 to the operation member 125, and the pushing member 160 pushes the locking mechanism 123 to be in the locking position.
[0050] The connection shaft 121 is disposed in front of the housing. When the locking mechanism 123 is in the locking position, the biasing element 125 pushes the pushing member 160 forward and pushes the operation member 128 backward. The biasing element 125 implements the biasing of the pushing member 160 and the limitation of the operation member 128, which can reduce not only a cost but also the size of the chuck device 120.
[0055] …When the user inserts the working component 200 into the connection cavity 122, the working component 200 presses the locking mechanism 123 and thus the locking mechanism 123 pushes the pushing member 160 and compresses the biasing element 125 backward so that the locking mechanism 123 enters the release position. The locking mechanism 123 can move along the second direction 102 so that the working component 200 can be completely inserted into the connection cavity 122. After the working component 200 is completely inserted into the connection cavity 122, the recess portion 210 is aligned with the locking mechanism 123, and the pushing member 160 pushes the locking mechanism 123 so that the locking mechanism 123 is in the locking position. At this time, the locking mechanism 123 is partially placed into the recess portion 210 so that the locking mechanism 123 can partially abut against the working component 200 and lock the working component 200 through the biasing force provided by the biasing element 125. When the working component 200 is removed, the operation member 128 can be operated to move forward with respect to the connection shaft 121, the driving assembly 12a and the limiting member 140 both move forward, and the first limiting portion 141 is aligned with the locking mechanism 123. When the working component 200 is pulled forward, the working component 200 presses the locking mechanism 123 to move along the second direction, and the locking mechanism 123 abuts against the second limiting portion 141 so that the locking mechanism 123 enters the release position. The locking mechanism 123 can move along the second direction 102 so that the working component 200 can be completely disengaged from the connection cavity 122.
[0056] The stopper member 180 is connected to the operation member 128. In this example, the stopper member 180 is a C-shaped circlip detachably connected to an inner sidewall of the operation member 128. The stopper member 180 is disposed along the first direction 101 on a side of the direction in which the driving assembly 12a moves out of the operation member 120. In this example, the stopper member 180 is disposed in front of the pushing member 160 along the first direction 101. More specifically, the stopper member 180 is disposed at a front end of the operation member to prevent the driving assembly 12a from moving out from inside the operation member 128 along the first direction 101. The stopper member 180 is provided so that the pushing member 160 and the biasing element 125 are confined in a gap 150 between the operation member 128 and the connection shaft 121. When the operation member 128 needs to be detached, the stopper member 180 is detached from the operation member 128, and then the limiting member 140 and the locking mechanism 123 are detached successively so that both the driving assembly 12a and the operation member 128 can be detached from the connection shaft 121. Thus, the operation member is detachably connected to the connection shaft to facilitate the maintenance of the chuck device. The connection shaft and the operation member can be detached and specific damaged parts can be replaced without replacing the entire chuck device, thereby reducing a maintenance cost.
[0057] The gap 150 exists between the operation member 128 and the connection shaft 121, and the limiting member 140, the pushing member 160, and the biasing element 125 are disposed in the gap 150.
[0061] …When the locking mechanism is in the locking position, the biasing element 125 pushes the pushing member 160 forward and pushes the operation member 128 backward. When the locking mechanism is disengaged from the locking position, the operation member 128 moves forward with respect to the connection shaft 121, and the blocking element 190 provided can prevent the operation member 128 from moving forward excessively and avoid the situation where the locking mechanism and the operation member 128 are stuck since a rear portion of the operation member 128 abuts against the locking mechanism. Thus, the distance between the blocking element and the end surface of the operation member 128 is a distance by which the operation member 128 can move when operated. The limiting member and the operation member 128 can be regarded as being fixedly connected to each other. The distance is provided between the blocking element and the end surface of the operation member 128, and thus a certain distance also exists between the limiting member and the blocking element.
[0063] …The biasing element 125 and the pushing member 160 spring back and abut against the locking mechanism to prevent the locking mechanism from moving out of the mounting hole. D. The limiting member 140 is placed into the operation member 128, the driving assembly 12a is limited by the stopper member 180 on the inner wall of the operation member 128, and the blocking element 190 is mounted at the end of the connection shaft 121, where the distance exists between the blocking element 190 and the end surface of the operation member 128.
Based on the foregoing, the specification filed on 7/15/2022 does not provide sufficient details concerning the “pushing member” such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how or in what way that the first limitation portion performs the claimed function of
“abuts against the locking mechanism” of claim 2 and performs the claimed function of “pushes the locking mechanism” of claims 16 and 17. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
NOTE: Examiner suggests the following amendments so as to overcome this particular rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: Amending “a pushing member” to “a pusher” and amending “the pushing member” to “the pusher”.
Lines 1-3 of claim 10 state, “the operation member comprises a through hole for the locking mechanism to pass through to enter an interior of the operation member.” This limitation is viewed to be vague and indefinite, because it is unclear if the “through hole” of claim 10 is provided in addition to the “plurality of radially arranged through holes” of line 18 of claim 1, or if instead the “through hole” of claim 10 is one of the “plurality of radially arranged through holes” of line 18 of claim 1, for example.
Lines 12-13 of claim 16 state, “the operation member comprises a plurality of radially arranged openings for the locking mechanism to pass through to enter an interior of the operation member.” This limitation is viewed to be vague and indefinite, because noting that the locking mechanism is seemingly claimed as a singular element, it is unclear as claimed if the singular locking mechanism passes through each of the plurality of radially arranged openings or if instead the singular locking mechanism passes through a selected one of the plurality of radially arranged openings, for example.
Lines 17-18 of claim 16 state, “a recess portion is aligned with the locking mechanism.” This limitation is viewed to be vague and indefinite, because it is unclear if the “recess portion” is an element of the “working component” of line 3 of claim 16, or if the “recess portion” of lines 17-18 are provided in addition to the structure of the “working component,” noting that the “working component” is disclosed in at least paragraph [0018] of Applicant’s specification as “includes recess portion.”
Lines 17-18 of claim 17 state, “the operation member comprises a plurality of radially arranged openings for the locking mechanism to pass through to enter an interior of the operation member.” This limitation is viewed to be vague and indefinite, because noting that the locking mechanism is seemingly claimed as a singular element, it is unclear as claimed if the singular locking mechanism passes through each of the plurality of radially arranged openings or if instead the singular locking mechanism passes through a selected one of the plurality of radially arranged openings, for example.
Lines 20-21 of claim 17 state, “the locking mechanism pushes a pushing member and compresses a biasing element.” This limitation is viewed to be vague and indefinite, because it is unclear if the “pushing member” and the “biasing element” of lines 20-21 are elements of the “driving assembly” of line 12 of claim 17, or if the “pushing member” and the “biasing element” of lines 20-21 are provided in addition to the structure of the “driving assembly,” noting that the “driving assembly” is disclosed in at least paragraph [0005] of Applicant’s specification as including “a biasing element and a pushing member.”
Lines 22-23 of claim 17 state, “a recess portion is aligned with the locking mechanism.” This limitation is viewed to be vague and indefinite, because it is unclear if the “recess portion” is an element of the “working component” of line 3 of claim 17, or if the “recess portion” of lines 22-23 are provided in addition to the structure of the “working component,” noting that the “working component” is disclosed in at least paragraph [0018] of Applicant’s specification as “includes recess portion.”
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform any of the following claimed function(s):
“allows the locking mechanism to leave the locking position when the locking mechanism is disengaged from the locking position” (claim 1, lines 21-24);
“abuts against the locking mechanism when the locking mechanism is in the locking position” (claim 1, lines 21-22);
“abuts against the locking mechanism” (claim 2, lines 2-3);
“limiting” (as it pertains to the “first limiting portion”) (claim 8, line 2; claim 16, line 21; claim 17, line 26);
“limiting” (as it pertains to the “second limiting portion”) (claim 8, line 3); and
“pushes the locking mechanism” (claim 16, line 18; claim 17, line 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junichi (WIPO Publication No. 2021/131495 A1) in view of Lin (U.S. PG. Publication No. 2012/0326399 A1).
Please note that Junichi was previously cited on the PTO-892 mailed on 4/25/2025.
Please note that an EPO Machine Translation of Junichi is relied upon below, and said EPO Machine Translation of Junichi has been furnished with this office action.
Claim 16: Figures 1 and 2 of Junichi show therein a power tool (1) comprising a housing (2), an output device (4), and a chuck device (40+80+130).
Next, please be advised that "a working component" is being interpreted by Examiner under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (“component”) that is coupled with functional language (“working”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Be advised that said "working component" is interpreted as comprising the structure disclosed within paragraph [0042] of Applicant's specification filed on 7/15/2022, as well as equivalents thereto.
With respect to the prior art and Junichi, Figure 5 of Junichi shows a tip tool (70) which is used for tightening work [EPO Machine Translation, paragraph 0041], e.g. screw tightening [EPO Machine Translation, paragraph 0001]. Since the tip tool (70) is a screwdriver (which as can be seen in Figure 5 has two screwdriver tips (71a, 71b)), it (70) corresponds in structure to the working component of line 3 of claim 16. This is because the working component of line 3 of claim 16 is disclosed in paragraph [0042] of Applicant's specification as being embodied as a screwdriver in one implemented form. Based on the foregoing, the tip tool (70) will hereinafter be referred to by Examiner as the working component (70).
Regarding the output device (4), it is capable of driving the working component (70).
Next, please be advised that "a locking mechanism" is being interpreted by Examiner under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (“mechanism”) that is coupled with functional language (“locking”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Be advised that said "locking mechanism" is interpreted as comprising the structure disclosed within paragraph [0008] of Applicant's specification filed on 7/15/2022, as well as equivalents thereto.
With respect to the prior art and Junichi, Figure 4A of Junichi shows the chuck device (40+80+130) as comprising steel balls (85). The steel balls (85) (which are spherical elements) correspond in structure to the locking mechanism of line 6 of claim 16. This is because the locking mechanism of line 6 of claim 16 is disclosed in paragraph [0008] of Applicant's specification as being a sphere. Based on the foregoing, the steel balls (85) of Junichi will hereinafter be referred to by Examiner as the locking mechanism (85).
Regarding the locking mechanism (85), Figure 8 of Junichi shows it as having a locking position in which the working component (70) is locked. The chuck device (40+80+130) further comprises an operation member (40+80) that is operable to allow the locking mechanism (85) to leave the locking position. For example, as can be seen in Figure 7, when the sleeve (81) of the operation member (40+80) is pulled forward in the direction of arrow 75b, the anvil (40) of said operation member (40+80) allows the locking mechanism (85) to leave the locking position.
The chuck device (40+80+130), via the striking mechanism (130) thereof, further comprises a connection shaft (31) for connecting the output device (4) to the operation member (40+80), wherein the operation member is detachably connected to the connection shaft (31). Please be advised that a rear shaft portion (47) of the anvil (40) of the operation member (40+80) is detachably connected to a fitting hole (31a) of the connection shaft (31).
Next, as can best be seen in Figure 4A, the operation member (40+80) via the anvil (40) thereof, comprises a plurality of radially arranged openings (46) for the locking mechanism (85) to pass through to enter an interior of the operation member (40+80).
Please be advised that "a pushing member" is being interpreted by Examiner under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (“member”) that is coupled with functional language (“pushing”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. However, because adequate structure has not been identified in the specification for performing the claimed function, the pushing member is interpreted for the purpose of applying prior art as any known mechanical structure that can perform the function of "pushing."
Please also be advised that "a biasing element" is being interpreted by Examiner under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (“element”) that is coupled with functional language (“biasing”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. However, because adequate structure has not been identified in the specification for performing the claimed function, the biasing element is interpreted for the purpose of applying prior art as any known mechanical structure that can perform the function of "biasing."
Please also be advised that "a first limiting portion" is being interpreted by Examiner under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (“first portion”) that is coupled with functional language (“limiting”) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. However, because adequate structure has not been identified in the specification for performing the claimed function, the first limiting portion is interpreted for the purpose of applying prior art as any known mechanical structure that can perform the function of "limiting."
Junichi though, does not disclose the power tool (1) as comprising, “when the working component is inserted into the chuck device, the working component presses the locking mechanism and thus the locking mechanism pushes a pushing member and compresses a biasing element backward so that the locking mechanism enters a release position, after the working component is completely inserted into the chuck device, a recess portion is aligned with the locking mechanism, and the pushing member pushes the locking mechanism so that the locking mechanism is in the locking position.”
Figure 2 of Lin though, shows an operation member (100) comprising two balls (20). The two balls (20) (which are spherical elements) correspond in structure to the locking mechanism of line 6 of claim 16. This is because the locking mechanism of line 6 of claim 16 is disclosed in paragraph [0008] of Applicant's specification as being a sphere. Based on the foregoing, the two balls (20) of Lin will hereinafter be referred to by Examiner as the locking mechanism (20).
Regarding the locking mechanism (20), Figure 5 of Lin shows it as having a locking position in which a bit (60) is locked. Noting this, the operation member (100) is operable to allow the locking mechanism (20) to leave the locking position. For example, as can be seen in Figure 6, when the sleeve (20) of the operation member (100) is pulled forward in the direction of the arrow, the end (11) of the rod (10) of said operation member (100) allows the locking mechanism (20) to leave the locking position. Furthermore, as can be seen in at least Figure 2, the operation member (100), via the end (11) of the rod (10) thereof, comprises a plurality of radially arranged openings (14) for the locking mechanism (20) to pass through to enter an interior of the operation member (100).
Next, when the bit (60)/a working component is inserted, the bit (60)/working component presses the locking mechanism (20) (this can be seen between Figures 3 and 4) and thus the locking mechanism (20) pushes a pushing member (50) (which is a mechanical structure that can perform the function of "pushing") and compresses a biasing member (51) (which is a mechanical structure that can perform the function of "biasing") so that the locking mechanism (20) enters a release position. As can be seen in Figure 5 of Lin, after the bit (60)/working component is completely inserted, a recess portion (61) is aligned with the locking mechanism (20), and the pushing member (50) pushes the locking mechanism (20) so that said locking mechanism (20) is in the locking position.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the operation member (100) of Lin for the operation member (40+80) of Junichi, as this is a substitution of one know operation member for another, in order to obtain the predictable result of the working component (70) of Junichi being securely clamped to the operation member (100) of Lin by means of the locking mechanism (20) of said operation member (100). In making this substitution, please be advised that a rear shaft portion of the rod (10) of operation member (100) of Lin (wherein said rear shaft portion can be seen in Figure 2 of Lin) is detachably connected to the fitting hole (31a) of the connection shaft (31) of Junichi.
Based on the foregoing, when the working component (70) of Junichi is inserted into the modified chuck device (100+130) of the power tool (1) (the modified chuck device (100+130) comprising the operation member (100) of Lin and the striking mechanism (130) of Junichi), the working component (70) of Junichi presses the locking mechanism (20) of Lin and thus the locking mechanism (20) pushes the corresponding pushing member (50) and compresses the biasing member (51) so that the locking mechanism (20) enters a release position. Then, after the working component (70) is completely inserted, a recess portion (73a or 73b) of Junichi (shown in Figure 5 of Junichi) is aligned with the locking mechanism (20), and the pushing member (50) pushes the locking mechanism (20) so that said locking mechanism (20) is in the locking position.
Lastly, when the operation member (100) is moved forward (specifically the sleeve (40) thereof) with respect to the connection shaft (31), the operation member’s (100) sleeve (40) moves forward and a first limiting portion (44) (shown in Figure 6 of Lin) (which first limiting portion (44) is a mechanical structure that can perform the function of "limiting") is aligned with the locking mechanism (20) so that the working component (70) is removable.
Examiner’s Comment
A thorough search has been conducted re: the invention/claims. That being said, though no art rejections are considered to presently apply to claims 1-4, 6, 8-15, and 17-20, Examiner notes that no indication regarding the allowability of the subject matter of claims 1-4, 6, 8-15, and 17-20 with respect to the prior art is being made at this time due to the rejection(s) thereof based on 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-ATA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, particularly given that it is unclear what changes to the claims might be necessary to overcome the above-described issue(s) with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AJA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liu (US-20220080566-A1) shows in Figure 1 a chuck device (10) comprising a locking mechanism (40) having a locking position in which a working component (80 or 80+20) is locked; an operation member (11) operable to allow the locking mechanism (40) to leave the locking position; and a connection shaft (12) to which the operation member (11) is detachable connected; where the operation member (11) comprises a plurality of radially arranged openings (112, 116) for the locking mechanism (40) to pass through to enter an interior of the operation member (11).
/MICHAEL VITALE/Examiner, Art Unit 3722
/SUNIL K SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3722