DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended drawings submitted 9 September 2025 making the drawings more instructive and objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
Claims 1 -15 are currently pending, with claims 1 and 9 incorporating subject matter from claim 8. The claims have been appropriately amended to eliminate minor informalities, the examiner thanks the applicant for the correction and withdraws prior objections to claims 1 and 8.
Applicant argues that the combination of Jeon modified by Bartlett “fails to render the amended claim obvious” because “Bartlett is directed to a method and system for charge reminders including predictive plug-in behavior and smartphone-based reminders”. However, Bartlett is being used to modify Jeon.
Jeon discloses a method of controlling scheduled charging of an electric vehicle. Jeon ¶0030 discloses “climate-information-using charging-time-consumption recalculation unit 330 (e.g., the recalculation unit)… climate-information-using charging-time-consumption recalculation unit 330 may be configured to calculate the expected temperature (T.sub.Bat, pred1) at the expected primary scheduled charge start time”, indicating that the climate-information-using charging-time-consumption recalculation unit 330 performs actively adapting the power and duration of charging. Further ¶0046 teaches “correction may be repeatedly performed to adjust the expected battery temperature difference to be within a preset range”, indicating that the method as taught by Jeon maintains the component below a temperature threshold. This method necessitates electric vehicle architecture which connects to an electric vehicle charging station, the ability to monitor temperature of the charger and traction battery, and a battery controller in order to be implemented. Jeon does not disclose this architecture.
Bartlett discloses the necessary architecture to implement the method as taught by Jeon, and is supported in ¶0032 “battery temperature may be provided. The battery system controller 214 may be further configured to manage battery preconditioning while the vehicle is plugged into the charger. For example, the battery may be heated or cooled to a predetermined temperature using utility power prior to a drive cycle” indicating that the method and system taught by Bartlett has the functionality of being able to monitor temperature of power transfer components. This is further supported in ¶0038 “In addition to temperature and season, the system controller 148 may check a precondition schedule to determine when preconditioning is scheduled” allowing the system to adjust battery preconditioning settings based on the external temperature/season.
It is the combination of Jeon and Bartlett which discloses the claimed invention by using the available architecture of the electric vehicle and electric vehicle charging station, as taught by Bartlett, as a means for implementing the method of controlling scheduled charging of an electric vehicle based on a critical temperature limit, as taught by Jeon, for the purpose of improving the efficiency of transferring power from the grid to the vehicle to mitigate damage and overheating of the intermediate power transfer component. This would minimize maintenance costs of the charging site and improve customer experience when charging their electric vehicles.
Applicant's arguments filed 9 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4 June 2025 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 13 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 9. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 9 and 13 contain the limitation “on-board charger” which does not contain a written description nor an element number corresponding to the drawings which indicates what the inventor regards as an “on-board charger”. For the purpose of examination this has been interpreted as a power source which originates on the electric vehicle and charges the traction battery 124.
The remaining claims are rejected way of their dependency from claims 1, 9 and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al (US 20210053457 A1) modified by Bartlett et al (US 20200108724 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Jeon teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component (¶0026 “ FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing the configuration of a scheduled charge control apparatus”),
the method comprising:
- providing predicted operational information of the vehicle, the predicted operational information comprising a connected time period in which the vehicle is connected to the grid (¶0027 “The scheduled charge time determination unit 310 may be configured to calculate an expected primary scheduled charge start time based on an inexpensive charge time range, information regarding whether the inexpensive charge time range is used, and expected departure time information”),
- providing component data comprising power transfer characteristic of the intermediate power transfer component, the component data including at least a the critical temperature limit of the intermediate power transfer component (¶0030 “climate-information-using charging-time-consumption recalculation unit 330 (e.g., the recalculation unit) may be configured to calculate an expected temperature at the primary scheduled charge time based on the expected primary scheduled charge start time received from the scheduled charge time determination unit 310, the expected charge time consumption received from the charge time consumption calculation unit 320, charger temperature information, or climate information”),
- transferring power from the grid to the RESS and/or from the grid to the auxiliary load of the vehicle according to a power transfer model (¶0027 “scheduled charge time determination unit 310 may be configured to calculate an expected primary scheduled charge start time based on an inexpensive charge time range, information regarding whether the inexpensive charge time range is used, and expected departure time information. In some exemplary embodiments, the scheduled charge time determination unit 310 may be configured to determine scheduled charge time using a method of considering a departure time, an inexpensive charge time range, and an inexpensive charge range”),
wherein the power transfer model adapts the power transfer and a power transferring time from the grid during the connected time period in response to at least the component data (¶0026 “IG. 3 is a block diagram showing the configuration of a scheduled charge control apparatus according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure.”),
such that the temperature of the intermediate power transfer component is kept at least below the critical temperature limit (¶0030 “scheduled charge time determination unit 310, the expected charge time consumption received from the charge time consumption calculation unit 320, charger temperature information, or climate information”).
Jeon does not teach a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the intermediate power transfer component comprises at least one of the following components: a junction box, a contactor, a charging switching unit, an on-board charger, a charging inlet, a cable, and a busbar.
Bartlett teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the intermediate power transfer component comprises at least one of the following components: a junction box (FIG 1 EVSE 138),
a contactor (FIG 1 EVSE Connector 140),
a charging switching unit (FIG 1 Power Electronics Module 126, ¶0014 “One or more power electronics modules 126 may be electrically coupled to the high-voltage bus 152. The power electronics modules 126 are also electrically coupled to the electric machines 114 and provide the ability to bi-directionally transfer energy between the traction battery 124 and the electric machines 114”),
an on-board charger (¶0014 “In a regenerative mode, the power electronics module 126 may convert the three-phase AC current from the electric machines 114 acting as generators to the DC voltage compatible with the traction battery 124.”),
a charging inlet (FIG 1 Charge Port 134),
a cable (¶0016 “The EVSE 138 may have a charge connector 140 for coupling to a charge port 134 of the vehicle 112”, FIG 1 depicts charge connector 140 connected via a line to EVSE 138 which functions as a cable),
and a busbar (¶0016 “charger 132 may condition the power supplied from the EVSE 138 to provide the proper voltage and current levels to the traction battery 124 and the high-voltage bus 152”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component as taught by Jeon, wherein the intermediate power transfer component comprises at least one of the following components: a junction box, a contactor, a charging switching unit, an on-board charger, a charging inlet, a cable, and a busbar as taught by Bartlett for the purpose of implementing the method in order to optimize scheduled charge time based on environmental temperature to improve battery health and longevity.
Regarding claim 2, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the method according to claim 1. Jeon as modified by Bartlett further teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein transferring power from the grid to the RESS is performed as charging (¶0027 “The scheduled charge time determination unit 310 may be configured to calculate an expected primary scheduled charge start time based on an inexpensive charge time range, information regarding whether the inexpensive charge time range is used, and expected departure time information”),
and the power transferring time from the grid to the RESS is referred to as charging time (¶0046 “a charging time may be recalculated using the corrected expected charge time and a full-charge success rate of scheduled charging may be increased”),
and the method further comprising:
- setting at least one of the charging time and the auxiliary powering time based on the predicted operational information of the vehicle(¶0027 “The scheduled charge time determination unit 310 may be configured to calculate an expected primary scheduled charge start time based on an inexpensive charge time range, information regarding whether the inexpensive charge time range is used, and expected departure time information”).
Jeon as modified by Bartlett does not teach a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein transferring power from the grid to the auxiliary load is performed as auxiliary powering,
and the power transferring time from the grid to the auxiliary load is referred to as auxiliary powering time.
Bartlett further teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load (FIG 1 auxiliary battery 130) of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein transferring power from the grid to the auxiliary load is performed as auxiliary powering, and the power transferring time from the grid to the auxiliary load is referred to as auxiliary powering time (¶0015 “output of the DC/DC converter module 128 may be electrically coupled to an auxiliary battery 130 (e.g., 12V battery) for charging the auxiliary battery 130”).
Jeon functionally teaches charging a battery using the grid, and referring to it as charging time. Bartlett contains an auxiliary battery, which is known in the art of electric vehicles for powering small electronics throughout the cabin of the electric vehicle. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS, as taught by Jeon, to transfer power from the grid to the auxiliary load, as taught by Bartlett, for the purpose of charging the auxiliary battery to power cabin electronics.
Regarding claim 3, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the method according to claim 1. Jeon as modified by Bartlett further teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the predicted operational information of the vehicle comprises a predicted initialization time of propelling the vehicle ending the connected time period, and wherein the power transferring time is set based on at least the predicted initialization time (¶0029 “Scheduled charging may be performed to complete charging prior to the set departure time while including as long an inexpensive charge time range as possible”).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the method according to claim 1. Jeon as modified by Bartlett further teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transfer model adapts the power transfer from the grid during the connected time period in response to the component data (¶0030 “climate-information-using charging-time-consumption recalculation unit 330 (e.g., the recalculation unit) may be configured to calculate an expected temperature at the primary scheduled charge time based on the expected primary scheduled charge start time received from the scheduled charge time determination unit 310, the expected charge time consumption received from the charge time consumption calculation unit 320, charger temperature information, or climate information”),
such that the temperature of the intermediate power transfer component is kept in a lower temperature interval (¶0044 “operation S470 is satisfied, if the temperature difference is equal to or less than the correction error E.sub.adj, the scheduled charge time correction unit 340 may be configured”).
The temperature of the intermediate power transfer component, as taught by Jeon FIG 4, uses the charger temperature to adjust charge time. Step S470 teaches the difference in charger temperature over that time period as being smaller than a predetermined margin. The method, as taught by Jeon as modified by Bartlett, would schedule charging to minimize fluctuations in temperature, particularly this would be true of higher temperatures and adjust charging time accordingly.
Regarding claim 7, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the method according to claim 1. Jeon as modified by Bartlett further teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transfer model further adapts the power transferring time during the connected time period in response to the ambient temperature (¶0030 “scheduled charge time determination unit 310, the expected charge time consumption received from the charge time consumption calculation unit 320, charger temperature information, or climate information”).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the method according to claim 1. Jeon as modified by Bartlett further teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the intermediate power transfer component comprises at least one of the following components: a junction box (Bartlett FIG 1 EVSE 138),
a contactor (Bartlett FIG 1 EVSE Connector 140),
a charging switching unit (FIG 1 Power Electronics Module 126, ¶0014 “One or more power electronics modules 126 may be electrically coupled to the high-voltage bus 152. The power electronics modules 126 are also electrically coupled to the electric machines 114 and provide the ability to bi-directionally transfer energy between the traction battery 124 and the electric machines 114”),
an on-board charger (Bartlett ¶0014 “In a regenerative mode, the power electronics module 126 may convert the three-phase AC current from the electric machines 114 acting as generators to the DC voltage compatible with the traction battery 124.”),
a charging inlet (Bartlett FIG 1 Charge Port 134),
a cable (Bartlett ¶0016 “The EVSE 138 may have a charge connector 140 for coupling to a charge port 134 of the vehicle 112”, FIG 1 depicts charge connector 140 connected via a line to EVSE 138 which functions as a cable),
and a busbar (¶0016 “charger 132 may condition the power supplied from the EVSE 138 to provide the proper voltage and current levels to the traction battery 124 and the high-voltage bus 152”).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon teaches a power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component (¶0026 “ FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing the configuration of a scheduled charge control apparatus”),
the power transferring system being configured to:
- provide predicted operational information of the vehicle, the predicted operational information comprising a connected time period in which the vehicle is connected to the grid (¶0027 “The scheduled charge time determination unit 310 may be configured to calculate an expected primary scheduled charge start time based on an inexpensive charge time range, information regarding whether the inexpensive charge time range is used, and expected departure time information”),
- provide component data comprising power transfer characteristic of the intermediate power transfer component, the component data including at least the critical temperature limit of the intermediate power transfer component (¶0030 “climate-information-using charging-time-consumption recalculation unit 330 (e.g., the recalculation unit) may be configured to calculate an expected temperature at the primary scheduled charge time based on the expected primary scheduled charge start time received from the scheduled charge time determination unit 310, the expected charge time consumption received from the charge time consumption calculation unit 320, charger temperature information, or climate information”),
- transfer power from the grid to the RESS and/or from the grid to the auxiliary load of the vehicle according to a power transfer model (¶0027 “scheduled charge time determination unit 310 may be configured to calculate an expected primary scheduled charge start time based on an inexpensive charge time range, information regarding whether the inexpensive charge time range is used, and expected departure time information. In some exemplary embodiments, the scheduled charge time determination unit 310 may be configured to determine scheduled charge time using a method of considering a departure time, an inexpensive charge time range, and an inexpensive charge range”),
wherein the power transfer model adapts the power transfer and a power transferring time from the grid during the connected time period in response to at least the component data (¶0026 “FIG. 3 is a block diagram showing the configuration of a scheduled charge control apparatus according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure.”),
such that the temperature of the intermediate power transfer component is kept at least below the critical temperature limit (¶0030 “scheduled charge time determination unit 310, the expected charge time consumption received from the charge time consumption calculation unit 320, charger temperature information, or climate information”).
Jeon does not teach a power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the intermediate power transfer component comprises at least one of the following components: a junction box, a contactor, a charging switching unit, an on-board charger, a charging inlet, a cable, and a busbar.
Bartlett teaches a power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the intermediate power transfer component comprises at least one of the following components: a junction box,
a contactor (FIG 1 EVSE Connector 140),
a charging switching unit (FIG 1 Power Electronics Module 126, ¶0014 “One or more power electronics modules 126 may be electrically coupled to the high-voltage bus 152. The power electronics modules 126 are also electrically coupled to the electric machines 114 and provide the ability to bi-directionally transfer energy between the traction battery 124 and the electric machines 114”),
an on-board charger (¶0014 “In a regenerative mode, the power electronics module 126 may convert the three-phase AC current from the electric machines 114 acting as generators to the DC voltage compatible with the traction battery 124.”),
a charging inlet (FIG 1 Charge Port 134),
a cable (¶0016 “The EVSE 138 may have a charge connector 140 for coupling to a charge port 134 of the vehicle 112”, FIG 1 depicts charge connector 140 connected via a line to EVSE 138 which functions as a cable),
and a busbar (¶0016 “charger 132 may condition the power supplied from the EVSE 138 to provide the proper voltage and current levels to the traction battery 124 and the high-voltage bus 152”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component as taught by Jeon, wherein the intermediate power transfer component comprises at least one of the following components: a junction box, a contactor, a charging switching unit, an on-board charger, a charging inlet, a cable, and a busbar as taught by Bartlett for the purpose of implementing the method in order to optimize scheduled charge time based on environmental temperature to improve battery health and longevity.
Regarding claim 11, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the power transferring system according to claim 9. Jeon as modified by Bartlett further teaches power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transfer model is configured to adapt the power transferring time during the connected time period in response to the component data (¶0030 “climate-information-using charging-time-consumption recalculation unit 330 (e.g., the recalculation unit) may be configured to calculate an expected temperature at the primary scheduled charge time based on the expected primary scheduled charge start time received from the scheduled charge time determination unit 310, the expected charge time consumption received from the charge time consumption calculation unit 320, charger temperature information, or climate information”),
such that the temperature of the intermediate power transfer component is kept in a lower temperature interval (¶0044 “operation S470 is satisfied, if the temperature difference is equal to or less than the correction error E.sub.adj, the scheduled charge time correction unit 340 may be configured”).
The temperature of the intermediate power transfer component, as taught by Jeon FIG 4, uses the charger temperature to adjust charge time. Step S470 teaches the difference in charger temperature over that time period as being smaller than a predetermined margin. The method, as taught by Jeon as modified by Bartlett, would schedule charging to minimize fluctuations in temperature, particularly this would be true of higher temperatures and adjust charging time accordingly.
Regarding claim 13, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the power transferring system according to claim 9. Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component comprising the at least one intermediate power transfer component such that the power transferring system is configured to transfer power from the grid to the RESS and/or the auxiliary load of the vehicle via the intermediate power transfer component, wherein the intermediate power transfer component comprises at least one of the following components: a junction box (Bartlett FIG 1 EVSE 138),
a contactor (Bartlett FIG 1 EVSE Connector 140),
a charging switching unit (Bartlett FIG 1 Power Electronics Module 126, ¶0014 “One or more power electronics modules 126 may be electrically coupled to the high-voltage bus 152. The power electronics modules 126 are also electrically coupled to the electric machines 114 and provide the ability to bi-directionally transfer energy between the traction battery 124 and the electric machines 114”),
an on-board charger (Bartlett ¶0014 “In a regenerative mode, the power electronics module 126 may convert the three-phase AC current from the electric machines 114 acting as generators to the DC voltage compatible with the traction battery 124.”),
a charging inlet (Bartlett FIG 1 Charge Port 134),
a cable (Bartlett ¶0016 “The EVSE 138 may have a charge connector 140 for coupling to a charge port 134 of the vehicle 112”, FIG 1 depicts charge connector 140 connected via a line to EVSE 138 which functions as a cable),
a busbar (Bartlett ¶0016 “charger 132 may condition the power supplied from the EVSE 138 to provide the proper voltage and current levels to the traction battery 124 and the high-voltage bus 152”).
Regarding claim 14, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component according to claim 1. Jeon as modified by Bartlett does not teach a control unit for a vehicle, the control unit being configured to perform a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component.
Bartlett further teaches a control unit for a vehicle, the control unit being configured to perform a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component (¶0016 “electrified vehicle 112 may be configured to recharge the traction battery 124 from an external power source 136. The external power source 136 may be a connection to an electrical outlet. The external power source 136 may be electrically coupled to a charge station or electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) 138”).
Jeon functionally teaches charging a battery using the grid, and referring to it as charging time. Bartlett contains an auxiliary battery, which is known in the art of electric vehicles for powering small electronics throughout the cabin of the electric vehicle. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS, as taught by Jeon, to transfer power from the grid to the auxiliary load, as taught by Bartlett, for the purpose of preserving the state of charge of the electric vehicle for enhanced user experience of being able to reach their intended destination.
Regarding claim 15, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the power transferring system according to claim 9. Jeon as modified by Bartlett further teaches a vehicle comprising a power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle (Bartlett FIG 1 vehicle 112 with EVSE 138).
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon modified by Bartlett, and further in view of Ando et al (US 20210284039 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the method according to claim 1. Jeon as modified by Bartlett does not teach a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transferring time is set based on a user-input.
Ando teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transferring time is set based on a user-input (¶0069 “Input apparatus 160 accepts an input from a user”, ¶0097 “user can set in charging and discharging controller 502, ON/OFF of cooling in charging and ON/OFF of cooling in power feed through input apparatus 160”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS, as taught by Jeon modified by Bartlett, wherein the power transferring time is set based on a user-input, as taught by Ando, for the purpose of the user being able to complete charging before the user-input departure time.
Regarding claim 10, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the power transferring system according to claim 9. Jeon as modified by Bartlett does not teach a power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component further comprising a user-input unit configured to receive a user-input of the power transferring time.
Ando teaches a power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component further comprising a user-input unit configured to receive a user-input of the power transferring time (¶0069 “Input apparatus 160 accepts an input from a user”, ¶0097 “user can set in charging and discharging controller 502, ON/OFF of cooling in charging and ON/OFF of cooling in power feed through input apparatus 160”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS, as taught by Jeon, wherein the power transferring time is set based on a user-input, as taught by Ando, for the purpose of the user being able to complete charging before the user-input departure time.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon modified by Bartlett, and further in view of Peng et al (US 20210203177 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the method according to claim 1. Jeon as modified by Bartlett further teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transfer model adapts the power transfer from the grid during the connected time period in response to the component data (¶0030 “scheduled charge time determination unit 310, the expected charge time consumption received from the charge time consumption calculation unit 320, charger temperature information, or climate information”).
Jeon as modified by Bartlett does not teach a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transfer model adapts the power transfer from the grid during the connected time period in response to the component data, such that the power transferring time is kept at a minimum.
Peng teaches a method for controlling power transfer from a grid to a RESS and/or an auxiliary load of a vehicle via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transfer model adapts the power transfer from the grid during the connected time period in response to the component data, such that the power transferring time is kept at a minimum (¶0111 “charging station 1240 may be a Level 1 charger that uses a 120 VAC plug and can be plugged into a standard outlet, a Level 2 charger that uses a 240 VAC (for residential) or 208 VAC (for commercial) plug, and/or a Level 3 fast charger that requires high-powered equipment but significantly decreases charging time”).
The method for controlling power transfer, as taught by Peng, uses a charging station with a fast charger such that the power transferring time is kept at a minimum. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the controlling power transfer method wherein the power transfer model adapts the power transfer in response to component data, as taught by Jeon, such that the power transferring time is kept at a minimum, as taught by Peng, for the purpose of reducing charge time during long-distance travel.
Regarding claim 12. Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches the power transferring system according to claim 9. Jeon as modified by Bartlett teaches a power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transfer model is configured to adapt the power transfer from the grid during the connected time period in response to the component data (¶0030 “climate-information-using charging-time-consumption recalculation unit 330 (e.g., the recalculation unit) may be configured to calculate an expected temperature at the primary scheduled charge time based on the expected primary scheduled charge start time received from the scheduled charge time determination unit 310, the expected charge time consumption received from the charge time consumption calculation unit 320, charger temperature information, or climate information”).
Jeon as modified by Bartlett does not teach a power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transfer model is configured to adapt the power transfer from the grid during the connected time period in response to the component data, such that the power transferring time is kept at a minimum.
Peng teaches a power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component wherein the power transfer model is configured to adapt the power transfer from the grid during the connected time period in response to the component data, such that the power transferring time is kept at a minimum (¶0111 “charging station 1240 may be a Level 1 charger that uses a 120 VAC plug and can be plugged into a standard outlet, a Level 2 charger that uses a 240 VAC (for residential) or 208 VAC (for commercial) plug, and/or a Level 3 fast charger that requires high-powered equipment but significantly decreases charging time”).
The method for controlling power transfer, as taught by Peng, uses a charging station with a fast charger such that the power transferring time is kept at a minimum. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the power transferring system for controlling power transfer from a grid to a rechargeable energy storage system, RESS, and/or an auxiliary load of the vehicle, via at least one intermediate power transfer component, as taught by Jeon modified by Bartlett, such that the power transferring time is kept at a minimum, as taught by Peng, for the purpose of reducing charge time during long-distance travel.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859